Customer Reviews for THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

The Model B Rotary Tumbler works equally well with dry or liquid case cleaners. with a barrel rotation of 30 rpm and a motor speed of 3,000 rpm, with enough room for over 250 .30-06 cases the rotary action is great for cleaning grimy primer pockets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
59 out of 60(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Review 1 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumler's tumbler

Date:November 21, 2006
I have used this tumbler to clean blackpowder fouled 45-70 & 40-65 cases. With ceramic media, it will clean and polish 100 cases in 1 1/2 hours. The tumbler is very quiet during operation and does not leak water on the shop floor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumler's Model B Rotary Tumbler

Date:June 23, 2007
This is my first rotary tumbler and compared to my previous vibratory type, this one really gets my pistol and rifle brass shining clean in a short amount of time. I'm using the Cabalas porcelain pellets and cleaner and could not be happier with the results. Cleanup is a little more tedious; however, the brass that comes out of the tumbler is well worth the little extra effort required when using a liquid cleaner.
I alos have some ground corncob from the pet store I've used as a test for dry cleaning it works ok too.
My last trip to the range the fella shooting next to me asked me how much new brass was; when I told him it was practice brass that was fired 3 times he asked about my cleaning equipment, he was amazed!
Excellent product, well built, and looks like it will outlast me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Augusta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tumbler

Date:July 3, 2007
This is my first rotary tumbler and I bought the Thumler's model because of its reputation. I have been using it extensively for the past few weeks without the slightest problem. I find it to be much quieter than my vibrator tumbler and does a better job of polishing the brass in a shorter time period. I shoot around 40,000 rounds per year so tumbling is a part of my life. Other brand name vibrating tumblers simply do not stand up to what I put them through. It will be interesting to see how well the Thumler handles the volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: FT WORTH, TEXAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THUMLER'S TUMBLER

Date:July 30, 2007
PROBABLY THE QUIETEST, EASIEST TO POLISH BRASS I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. I ALSO HAVE VIBRATORY POLISHER AND IT IS NOISY AND ANNOYING TO HAVE TO LISTEN TO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kamuela, HI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST OUT THERE

Date:August 1, 2007
I have had the Thumler's Tumbler for about 25 years. Have replaced the drive belts using vacuum cleaner drive belt and it still works. Have had numerous vibratory type polishers, they are faster, but noisier and break down in a short time.
Writing review because I'm finally going to buy a new one. Since I have been using wrong drive belts, I have put too much stress on the drive motor. If only all things could be as good or last as long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Newport, Ky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumler Tumbler B

Date:January 7, 2008
This tumbler works great not only can I clean my brass my kids uses to make their own rock jewler .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tumbler

Date:April 15, 2008
Overall quality good.runs quiet. cleans brass cases much quicker than any other tumbler I have owned. Had to lubricate nylon rollers before unit would operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lampasas, TEXAS!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Model B Thumler's Tumbler

Date:May 31, 2008
MADE IN THE USA!!! It was very loud and sqeeky at first, but I sprayed it with lube on the nylon pieces. I also placed the whole unit on a piece of cardboard because the metal base was loud on my bench and loud on the concrete floor. For a tumbler, this is very solid, and I feel that it is going to last a very, very, very long time. It's made of almost all metal. It cleans brass very nicely. It has a heavy rubber liner on the inside. Instructions included 'how to' info on rock polishing. There is also a parts list included. Removing the lid involves a little more work as there are six wing-nuts and washers to remove, but when it's on, it's on. I highly recommend this tumbler! MADE IN THE USA!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bit spendy, but does the job.

Date:June 17, 2008
A bit spendy, but does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: okc.ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumler's tumbler

Date:July 15, 2008
It is great at cleaning shells, makes my black powder shells look like new. the only problem is the seal on the lid. It is too thin and seals like it is glued on and is hard to pry off. I am cutting out a new seal out of hard rubber that should come off better.
Maybee
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Oh
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice machine

Date:May 4, 2009
I have purchased a number of tumblers to polish brass. The shaking variety seems to cut more quickly than the rotating type such as this tumber. However, the vibrating ones seem not to hold up as well. This machine holds more than the standard size vibrators, a definate plus. Also, there seems to be less to go wrong on this machine. Time will tell if this unit lasts longer than the vibrators but since the RCBS vibrating ones (all 3 that I have purchased) have failed in a few months of heavy use, I am betting that the Thumbler is a better buy for heavy use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

model B tumbler

Date:July 21, 2009
I was very disapointed. The unit was delivered to me with no instructions for brass cleaning. The rubber interior was coated with some sort of material that stuck to the brass like glue, ruined a batch of media and I had to manually clean each and every shell with brasso by hand. Once I cleaned whatever it was on the inside of the tumbler in works ok. Don't look to the manufacturer for any help either. They responded to my email for help after 3 days. I had already called them and Al acted like I was an idiot. This unit will work better as a rock tumbler. Maybe if the instructions said to clean the inside before putting brass in, this could have been avoided and my opinion would be a little better. Want to tumble rocks? This is the unit. Want to tumble brass? Get a vibrating tumbler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hickory NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumlers tumbler model B

Date:July 31, 2009
I read most of the reviews of this product before purchasing. I did not have any of the reported problems with the product, like getting it to run or start, and my machine itself runs very quiet for a tumbler, I have had many tumblers over the last 40 years. I gave it four stars for two reasons. First, my first tumber arrived with a switch broken in shipment. Cabelas did a fantistic job in exchanging it, but the second arrived minus four wing nuts and washers. Yes, it was cheap enough to get four wing nuts and washers but the hardware should have been with the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Up State New York where the Hunting is FANTASTIC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pay for Quality & this Is Quality, Works Perfect

Date:October 20, 2009
I had a Vibrator one for years and then switch to the ceramic Beads to get the brass cleaner and the Old one was not doing what i was looking for. So I bought this after reading a pile of reviewes and this Unit Is Just Fantastic, Very Well Buit to last, it cleans out the Primer pocket and the Brass never looked better.
Then With just a new set of fine wire mesh Sives It was so easy to Drain out all the Ceramic Beads and the Primer pockets were very easy to get the beads out of by just a simple tap.
The Brass was clean inside and out with no dust at all. Granted you still had to was the brass off and then it just Drained in the Next SiveIi had and the Brass was all done in less thean 4 hours from start to finish. The Tumble Brite It came with Is magic.
So The Old addage goes if you want Quality you have to pay for Quality and this is exactly what i was looking for, But to add to the Mix I also bought the duel set of drums so i was able to do bottle Necks in one drum and streight waqll casings in the second Drum This way I was able to do both at once not just one Type that would get jammed in the other. So The two tumbler set Is another great feature of this Item..
Oh and it's so QUIT too..d No need to place it outside so you willnot go crazy from the sound.. Blaster
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean machine

Date:November 14, 2009
Had mine over 25 years, NO problems. Just replaced the belt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bettr than vibrating tumbler

Date:December 7, 2009
The model B does an excellent job with brass. Far better than vibrating tumblers I used. The unit is solid except the quality of the rear roller has a lot to be desired. The tumbler drum wobbles and chafes against the roller. Makes a rubbing noise that can get annoying. Otherwise a good unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Whitetail Country, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Made the way they used to make things... TOUGH

Date:December 21, 2009
First let me lead off with: I am not paid by or an employee of Thumler Corp or Cabelas. That said, what a perfect machine! Does exactly what I need without problems. I routinely load it with 8 to 10lb ceramic media, 3 to 4lb water/cleaner and 5 to 10lb of brass and it operates flawlessly. I can easily tell it will last for a good 20 years. One thing to be aware of: no rubber nubs on the bottom of the machine. Do not put it on your kitchen table and let it run all night or you may be sleeping on the couch for a couple days. I use mine to reload 357sig and 7mm-08.
One thing i did to ensure silent operation: bought some white lithium spray grease from the auto parts store, removed both axles and sprayed the grease under the idlers. Make sure you work it under the plastic. Then just wipe it down, put the machine together and your done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rotary tumbler

Date:January 6, 2010
All in all a really good tumbler. The only low point is the motor could use support at both ends. When I first used it the end without support bounced around extremely. Enough I was concerned about it. I bought a piece of rubber and wedged it under the un-supported end of the motor. Works much smoother now. Overall I am pleased with the tumbler. It could be even better if it had a screen piece which could be placed over the open end for draining.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WESTCHESTER CO. NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

35 YEARS OLD AND STILL GOING

Date:February 20, 2010
I HAVE OWNED THIS TUMBLER FOR 35 YEARS AND ALL THAT I REPLACED WAS THE BELT .THAT I WAS ABLE TO MATCH AT A SEWING MACHINE SHOP . THE MEDIA I ALSO REPLACED . I MOUNT IT ON THREE RUBBER MOUNTS THAT YOU USE SO FURNITURE DOES NOT MOVE , OIL VERY LIGHTLY THE MOTOR AND THE BUSHINGS AND AWAY WE GO !! . I HAD A VIBRATOR CLEANER THAT WOULD WAKE UP THE DEAD . WOULD BE NICE IF THE COVER WAS A SNAP FIT OR QUICK TWIST ..IT WILL DO A FINE JOBE ON THE BRASS CLEANING AND MOLY COATING BULLETS .PUT THE BULLETS IN PLASTIC JARS WITH STEEL SHOT AND MOLY FILL TO TOP TURN JAR TOP TIGHT AND LET TUMBLE IN THE MEDIA IN TWENTY MIN . THEY ARE READY TO GO .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: E.S ANGOLA,NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumler's tumbler model b

Date:February 22, 2010
so far so good, just picked up from cabelas did not give 5 stars because only used 3 times so far but cleans up brass great including primer pockets tryed with media but gets stuck in brass.use with just liqud cleaner nice and quite, vibrator quit after 3 years so we'll see how long this tumbler lasts? do not like to have to dry brass in order to load. if this unit dosn't last going back to vibrator!thebone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 60