Customer Reviews for THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

The Model B Rotary Tumbler works equally well with dry or liquid case cleaners. with a barrel rotation of 30 rpm and a motor speed of 3,000 rpm, with enough room for over 250 .30-06 cases the rotary action is great for cleaning grimy primer pockets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
68 out of 69(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Review 1 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009

model B tumbler

By
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
I was very disapointed. The unit was delivered to me with no instructions for brass cleaning. The rubber interior was coated with some sort of material that stuck to the brass like glue, ruined a batch of media and I had to manually clean each and every shell with brasso by hand. Once I cleaned whatever it was on the inside of the tumbler in works ok. Don't look to the manufacturer for any help either. They responded to my email for help after 3 days. I had already called them and Al acted like I was an idiot. This unit will work better as a rock tumbler. Maybe if the instructions said to clean the inside before putting brass in, this could have been avoided and my opinion would be a little better. Want to tumble rocks? This is the unit. Want to tumble brass? Get a vibrating tumbler.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2015

Bad Quality Assurance

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I just received my tumbler and it appears to have a couple of defects strait from the manufacturer. First, the idle arm is bent badly however there is no damage to the packaging which makes me think it was in fact packed this way. Second, the metal plate you take on/off to load the canister either has the screws bent or the holes are not properly drilled in the lid so they do not line up well making it extremely difficult to remove the lid. I'm going to exchange it in hopes that this is a fluke however first impressions are very poor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Loud

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Gets the brass clean, but tends to be noisy and the motor gets pretty warm. This is also a rock polisher.
The assembly instructions are a little light on information, but reading the instructions and looking at the pics seems to work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2013

Better paint the inside...

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Pull the rubber liner when new and paint the inside. Seal the holes surrounding the welds on the top and bottom of the drum. Water will get inside in between the liner and the drum and it will rust. Mine rusted badly and is now almost usesless.
It does a wonderful job on the brass, but the design is poor and the buyer needs to spend time and $ to put it into the condition that the factory should have done.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2008

A bit spendy, but does the job.

By
Location: Los Angeles, CA
A bit spendy, but does the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Let'um Tumble

By
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This tumbler is like a miniature washing machine. The only thing I changed was to replace the "OEM" wing nuts with better quality ones. Other wise I would rate this Thumbler Tumbler 5 Stars !!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Quality Tumbler: solid, not overbuilt however

By
Location: Leawood, KS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I wet tumble my brass using either stainless steel pins (great for cleaning those primer pockets) or with ceramic media purchased at Cabela's. This tumbler is ideal as the watertight seal and rotary action insure the heavy media and brass are agitated correctly and adequately. The seal requires you to tighten 6 wing nuts which takes a little more time, but keeps the wet (or dry# media in the container and not in the air or on the floor! There is no commonly available rotary tumbler that is better than the model B and I have used both the way overpriced RCBS (a joke) and cheap facsimiles. With dry media it is much more quiet than vibratory tumblers and the capacity is surprising. Replacement parts are easily available. ...I would state the motor mount, size of motor and thickness of the sheet metal of the unit could be a little better, but no one elase has a better one. A quality unit though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010

Thumler's Tumbler.

By
Location: Seminole, Fl.
This machine on first inspection seems to be pretty well designed. It only has a couple design issues I would take with it. But I will accentuate the positive before I focus on the negative...
First, it's quiet for a tumbler. The rubber lining inside seems to do very well at insulating the noise you would expect it to make.
Second, despite the shaking visible on the upper part of the machine it doesn't walk or move at all. It's not mounted on any kind of feet, rubber or otherwise. The base is all sheet metal with the entire raw edge serving as the contact point. You could line it with weather stripping if you were concerned about it marring the surface it's on. But. in my experience, I set it on the garage floor and let it go. That way it can walk away as far as the plug will allow it. It could be rigidly mounted with a couple machine screws in a couple minutes.
Third, the little motor appears to be a pretty standard, heavy duty, long life center shaft motor. Again it's all very quiet, not in your bedroom kinda quiet, but suitably quiet to run in your immediate presence without disturbing you or requiring that you turn up the radio to drown out the noise.
Fourth, the design is completely modular. Almost everything can be removed or popped loose in order to do maintenance or repair with few or no tools at all.
The bad...
First, I think the motor mount ought to be a little sturdier. I am going to fashion a sheet metal bracket for the rear half of the motor. The one they shipped with my unit has threaded rods projecting out of the rear of the motor, so all I have to do is match the thread count and size. Not a big deal, and I might be just a little over zealous in securing things, but hey, I can do it cause I got power tools, hehehe...
Second, the rubber drive belt may last a long time. It might not. It doesn't look like it will, but I've only been using this gadget a few weeks. Time will tell and it looks pretty standard, so I expect it will be easy to procure if necessary.
So, Four positive traits and two so so negatives, I give it a four overall. Compared to the vibratory types I am sure it measures up to them as a five...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2010

thumler's tumbler model b

By
Location: E.S ANGOLA,NEW YORK
so far so good, just picked up from cabelas did not give 5 stars because only used 3 times so far but cleans up brass great including primer pockets tryed with media but gets stuck in brass.use with just liqud cleaner nice and quite, vibrator quit after 3 years so we'll see how long this tumbler lasts? do not like to have to dry brass in order to load. if this unit dosn't last going back to vibrator!thebone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

Rotary tumbler

By
Location: Aloha, Oregon
All in all a really good tumbler. The only low point is the motor could use support at both ends. When I first used it the end without support bounced around extremely. Enough I was concerned about it. I bought a piece of rubber and wedged it under the un-supported end of the motor. Works much smoother now. Overall I am pleased with the tumbler. It could be even better if it had a screen piece which could be placed over the open end for draining.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

bettr than vibrating tumbler

By
The model B does an excellent job with brass. Far better than vibrating tumblers I used. The unit is solid except the quality of the rear roller has a lot to be desired. The tumbler drum wobbles and chafes against the roller. Makes a rubbing noise that can get annoying. Otherwise a good unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2009

Thumlers tumbler model B

By
Location: Hickory NC
I read most of the reviews of this product before purchasing. I did not have any of the reported problems with the product, like getting it to run or start, and my machine itself runs very quiet for a tumbler, I have had many tumblers over the last 40 years. I gave it four stars for two reasons. First, my first tumber arrived with a switch broken in shipment. Cabelas did a fantistic job in exchanging it, but the second arrived minus four wing nuts and washers. Yes, it was cheap enough to get four wing nuts and washers but the hardware should have been with the machine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Nice machine

By
Location: Dayton, Oh
I have purchased a number of tumblers to polish brass. The shaking variety seems to cut more quickly than the rotating type such as this tumber. However, the vibrating ones seem not to hold up as well. This machine holds more than the standard size vibrators, a definate plus. Also, there seems to be less to go wrong on this machine. Time will tell if this unit lasts longer than the vibrators but since the RCBS vibrating ones (all 3 that I have purchased) have failed in a few months of heavy use, I am betting that the Thumbler is a better buy for heavy use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2008

tumbler

By
Overall quality good.runs quiet. cleans brass cases much quicker than any other tumbler I have owned. Had to lubricate nylon rollers before unit would operate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2007

Tumbler

By
Location: Augusta, GA
This is my first rotary tumbler and I bought the Thumler's model because of its reputation. I have been using it extensively for the past few weeks without the slightest problem. I find it to be much quieter than my vibrator tumbler and does a better job of polishing the brass in a shorter time period. I shoot around 40,000 rounds per year so tumbling is a part of my life. Other brand name vibrating tumblers simply do not stand up to what I put them through. It will be interesting to see how well the Thumler handles the volume.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

Excellent so far

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Effortless and like brand new brass. Used 1 tbsp of detergent and 1 9mm case of Lemi shine and almost 1 gal of water. 2 1/2 hours later done. Came out exactly as advertised . Clean as new inside and out including primer pockets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2015

my first rock tumbler

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Just finishing my first load of tumbled rocks. Beautiful. Easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

WORKING STRONG

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is my second Model B tumbler, my 25 year old tumbler is still working but getting a bit worn after years of hard work. New one is faster and works great. brass is polished in half the time as the older model. Got what I wanted and expected..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

Awesome looking brass

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This tumbler produces the best looking brass cases I've ever seen. They are clean inside and out, including primer pockets. It runs reasonably quiet and I have had no trouble with it at all. Combine the Model B tumbler with a rotary media separator to remove the stainless steel pins and you have a combo that can't be beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

second best purchase ever

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I can honestly say my second best purchase. I had to buy this after my 40 year old Thumler's tumbler started to wear out. Checking replacement parts I found it wiser to get a new one and repair the first one with minor parts. I now have two and both are running. These tumblers are real workhorses! I highly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 69