Customer Reviews for THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

THUMLER'S TUMBLER Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler

The Model B Rotary Tumbler works equally well with dry or liquid case cleaners. with a barrel rotation of 30 rpm and a motor speed of 3,000 rpm, with enough room for over 250 .30-06 cases the rotary action is great for cleaning grimy primer pockets.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.705 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
60 out of 61(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Review 1 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

model B tumbler

Date:July 21, 2009
I was very disapointed. The unit was delivered to me with no instructions for brass cleaning. The rubber interior was coated with some sort of material that stuck to the brass like glue, ruined a batch of media and I had to manually clean each and every shell with brasso by hand. Once I cleaned whatever it was on the inside of the tumbler in works ok. Don't look to the manufacturer for any help either. They responded to my email for help after 3 days. I had already called them and Al acted like I was an idiot. This unit will work better as a rock tumbler. Maybe if the instructions said to clean the inside before putting brass in, this could have been avoided and my opinion would be a little better. Want to tumble rocks? This is the unit. Want to tumble brass? Get a vibrating tumbler.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better paint the inside...

Date:November 26, 2013
Pull the rubber liner when new and paint the inside. Seal the holes surrounding the welds on the top and bottom of the drum. Water will get inside in between the liner and the drum and it will rust. Mine rusted badly and is now almost usesless.
It does a wonderful job on the brass, but the design is poor and the buyer needs to spend time and $ to put it into the condition that the factory should have done.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A bit spendy, but does the job.

Date:June 17, 2008
A bit spendy, but does the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Let'um Tumble

Date:May 29, 2012
This tumbler is like a miniature washing machine. The only thing I changed was to replace the "OEM" wing nuts with better quality ones. Other wise I would rate this Thumbler Tumbler 5 Stars !!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Leawood, KS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Tumbler: solid, not overbuilt however

Date:January 11, 2012
I wet tumble my brass using either stainless steel pins (great for cleaning those primer pockets) or with ceramic media purchased at Cabela's. This tumbler is ideal as the watertight seal and rotary action insure the heavy media and brass are agitated correctly and adequately. The seal requires you to tighten 6 wing nuts which takes a little more time, but keeps the wet (or dry# media in the container and not in the air or on the floor! There is no commonly available rotary tumbler that is better than the model B and I have used both the way overpriced RCBS (a joke) and cheap facsimiles. With dry media it is much more quiet than vibratory tumblers and the capacity is surprising. Replacement parts are easily available. ...I would state the motor mount, size of motor and thickness of the sheet metal of the unit could be a little better, but no one elase has a better one. A quality unit though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumler's Tumbler.

Date:April 12, 2010
This machine on first inspection seems to be pretty well designed. It only has a couple design issues I would take with it. But I will accentuate the positive before I focus on the negative...
First, it's quiet for a tumbler. The rubber lining inside seems to do very well at insulating the noise you would expect it to make.
Second, despite the shaking visible on the upper part of the machine it doesn't walk or move at all. It's not mounted on any kind of feet, rubber or otherwise. The base is all sheet metal with the entire raw edge serving as the contact point. You could line it with weather stripping if you were concerned about it marring the surface it's on. But. in my experience, I set it on the garage floor and let it go. That way it can walk away as far as the plug will allow it. It could be rigidly mounted with a couple machine screws in a couple minutes.
Third, the little motor appears to be a pretty standard, heavy duty, long life center shaft motor. Again it's all very quiet, not in your bedroom kinda quiet, but suitably quiet to run in your immediate presence without disturbing you or requiring that you turn up the radio to drown out the noise.
Fourth, the design is completely modular. Almost everything can be removed or popped loose in order to do maintenance or repair with few or no tools at all.
The bad...
First, I think the motor mount ought to be a little sturdier. I am going to fashion a sheet metal bracket for the rear half of the motor. The one they shipped with my unit has threaded rods projecting out of the rear of the motor, so all I have to do is match the thread count and size. Not a big deal, and I might be just a little over zealous in securing things, but hey, I can do it cause I got power tools, hehehe...
Second, the rubber drive belt may last a long time. It might not. It doesn't look like it will, but I've only been using this gadget a few weeks. Time will tell and it looks pretty standard, so I expect it will be easy to procure if necessary.
So, Four positive traits and two so so negatives, I give it a four overall. Compared to the vibratory types I am sure it measures up to them as a five...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: E.S ANGOLA,NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thumler's tumbler model b

Date:February 22, 2010
so far so good, just picked up from cabelas did not give 5 stars because only used 3 times so far but cleans up brass great including primer pockets tryed with media but gets stuck in brass.use with just liqud cleaner nice and quite, vibrator quit after 3 years so we'll see how long this tumbler lasts? do not like to have to dry brass in order to load. if this unit dosn't last going back to vibrator!thebone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aloha, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rotary tumbler

Date:January 6, 2010
All in all a really good tumbler. The only low point is the motor could use support at both ends. When I first used it the end without support bounced around extremely. Enough I was concerned about it. I bought a piece of rubber and wedged it under the un-supported end of the motor. Works much smoother now. Overall I am pleased with the tumbler. It could be even better if it had a screen piece which could be placed over the open end for draining.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bettr than vibrating tumbler

Date:December 7, 2009
The model B does an excellent job with brass. Far better than vibrating tumblers I used. The unit is solid except the quality of the rear roller has a lot to be desired. The tumbler drum wobbles and chafes against the roller. Makes a rubbing noise that can get annoying. Otherwise a good unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hickory NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thumlers tumbler model B

Date:July 31, 2009
I read most of the reviews of this product before purchasing. I did not have any of the reported problems with the product, like getting it to run or start, and my machine itself runs very quiet for a tumbler, I have had many tumblers over the last 40 years. I gave it four stars for two reasons. First, my first tumber arrived with a switch broken in shipment. Cabelas did a fantistic job in exchanging it, but the second arrived minus four wing nuts and washers. Yes, it was cheap enough to get four wing nuts and washers but the hardware should have been with the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Oh
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice machine

Date:May 4, 2009
I have purchased a number of tumblers to polish brass. The shaking variety seems to cut more quickly than the rotating type such as this tumber. However, the vibrating ones seem not to hold up as well. This machine holds more than the standard size vibrators, a definate plus. Also, there seems to be less to go wrong on this machine. Time will tell if this unit lasts longer than the vibrators but since the RCBS vibrating ones (all 3 that I have purchased) have failed in a few months of heavy use, I am betting that the Thumbler is a better buy for heavy use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tumbler

Date:April 15, 2008
Overall quality good.runs quiet. cleans brass cases much quicker than any other tumbler I have owned. Had to lubricate nylon rollers before unit would operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Augusta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tumbler

Date:July 3, 2007
This is my first rotary tumbler and I bought the Thumler's model because of its reputation. I have been using it extensively for the past few weeks without the slightest problem. I find it to be much quieter than my vibrator tumbler and does a better job of polishing the brass in a shorter time period. I shoot around 40,000 rounds per year so tumbling is a part of my life. Other brand name vibrating tumblers simply do not stand up to what I put them through. It will be interesting to see how well the Thumler handles the volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just be aware of the type media you use

Date:December 18, 2014
Love my tumbler and after reading many reviews, I purchased the steel media pins. What a surprise!! Oh, they cleaned my brass all right and fairly fast. It's just that nobody mentioned the fact in their reviews that your brass now looks like you just had it all sandblasted!! The thing that bothers me is, how much has the removal of brass and the minute nicking of the cases reduced the life of my cases?
As far as the tumbler goes, it's built to polish rocks 24-7. A load of dry media and 4 or 5 lbs. of cases isn't even a good load so I say, stick to the dry media and let it run for however long it takes. I just finished a load of 250 very dirty .44 mag cases for 9 1/2 hours and they do look like new - SHINY new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tumbler

Date:September 10, 2014
I have tried many types of media but when I tried the stainless pins, a little dish soap, and some water I fell in love. I have had my tumbler for over 30 years and with the stainless pins I will not want for anything else. In 2 to 4 hours my brass looks new inside and out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job and then some!

Date:August 1, 2014
This rig far exceeded my expectations in getting empty brass cleaned up. Well over 15K cases cleaned so far with complete reliability.
The only minor issue was resolved with a rubber grommet wedged under the unsupported end of the motor. Runs far more stable this way. And keep a magnet handy to pick up wayward media.
Cleaning times for straight wall cases is a minimum of 1 hour, bottlenecks is 2 hours using stainless media with a dash of dish washing liquid and lemi-shine. Any longer than that is really not needed.
Picking the cases out and dumping the media out of them can be tedious, especially with small cases like 9MM. Holding the cases upside down submerged in the 1/4 filled drum makes it easier. Need to watch for primer holes plugged with media, its removed with little effort.
I use the drying rack that fits in the clothes dryer to dry the cases. Scatter them evenly over a towel covering the fixture and hit the touch up cycle at max heat. 20 minutes later and all dry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tumbler

Date:April 12, 2014
Ok guys I received mine last week and I've read through some of the q&a here. This is the high speed version, it says so right on the box, mine rotates at 37 rpms. If you want clean brass inside and out along with clean primer pockets this is the tumbler to get.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 8, 2013
I reload a lot! Wish I would have purchased this a long time ago. Use the stainless steel media, some water, dash of dish soap, very small amount of Lemi-Shine, and you'll have shiny brass inside and out. Roll brass on towel. Blow with a hair dryer for a couple minutes. Repeat rolling on towel and hair dryer. Let sit for a couple hours and they're dry. No more primer pocket cleaning because this cleans them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Heavy Duty

Date:October 31, 2013
This machine can handle the heavy loads, well made and great people to deal with. They are more than happy to help with any of your questions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works like a champ...

Date:October 22, 2013
Set up was easy, loaded it up and it worked like a champ! Could use knobs instead of wing nuts to secure the lid. But it didn't and I got over the disappointment as soon as I set eyes on the gleaming brass nestled amidst the SS media (I had purchase earlier, in anticipation of the Thumler's arrival). The wife was away so I dried the brass in our convection oven at 200 degrees Farenheit. Haven't a clue a to what I shall do when I need to clean some brass and she's here at home. Anyway, the Thumler's Tumbler Model B Rotary Tumbler is a really good deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 61