Customer Reviews for BIRCHWOOD CASEY Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish

BIRCHWOOD CASEY Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish

There is no better oil finish that fills pores and dries this quickly. Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish is the professional's choice for gunstock or furniture finishing for more than 30 years. Its unique blend of linseed and natural oils dries fast and will not cloud, yellow or crack with age and resists water to prevent damage. Tru-Oil Gun Stock Finish penetrates deeply and forms a tough, clear, hard finish that protects and enhances the beauty of fine woods. For a hand-rubbed, satin luster, simply buff with steel wool and rubbing compound. Excellent as a sealer for under butt plates, recoil pads and inlet actions to prevent stock damage. Size: 3-oz. bottle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Review 1 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Perfect for re-finishing a gun stock!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently used this to re-finish an old Ithaca Model 37 pump shotgun that had the factory finish on it. Once I got it stripped clean, once I had the checkering re-cut and once it was sanded to a finish that was ready for finishing I proceeded to apply (16) coats of the Tru-Oil. Man does it look nice, better than how the gun looked when it was new. Moving forward any stock damage caused from being in the field will be easy to repair now with the Tru-Oil.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Truely Unique

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have not found a substitute for Tru Oil. It is not cheap but a little goes a long way. It is one of the easiest products to use and gives a look like no other. If it becomes worn it is very easy to patch. I use it on my muzzle loader stocks after staining to give them an aged patina. It is easy to control the amount of shine with a fine Scotchbrite pad without removing the protective coating. One caution: be sure the bottle is sealed tightly and stored in a cool place, otherwise it will evaporate and gel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2015

made old look new

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
never refinished a gunstock before but this made the AK stock look amazing. I sanded completely down and applied around 15 coats using 00 steel wool when completely dry between coats. it will darken the wood slightly but mostly a clear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2012

Great Stuff!

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm refinishing my father's rifle to pass on to my grandson. This stuff works wonders. Spend some time sanding & doing your prep work, and you will be simply amazed at the outcome. This old rifle looks like it just came out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2012

better than I expected

By
did what it was suppose to very pleased
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

excellant product

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
i used item on shotgun it worked fine and did what it was advertised to do
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2012

Great Stuff

By
Location: Middlefield, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Tru-Oil made a couple of old stocks look like new again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2011

Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil

By
Location: Lincoln, Nr
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent product and easy to use!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2011

shine up the old wood

By
Location: bar mills maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very easy product to use play around with it to get the finish your looking for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Great finish

By
Location: Nebraska
Made a few old guns look new again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

tru oil

By
Location: Plattsburg, New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Ued it for years, Best on the market
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

geekwithagun

By
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used this to brighten up the stock on a beat up and abused WASR AK47. It certainly looks better after 2 coats but it seems that another 2 will be required for the looking I'm seeking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010

Birchwood Casey Finish

By
Location: Austin, Texas
Used the Tru-Oil Gun Stock Finish on my 1943 Mosin Nagant M91/30 rifle and totally restored it to a beautiful wood finish, I am planning on using it to restore an old Springfield Trapdoor 1873 rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010

Tru-Oil

By
Location: Missouri
Great product, easy to use, a little goes a long way.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010

Great Stuff

By
Location: waynesville, missouri
I purchased the Tru-Oil to jazz up an old gunstock and it worked just great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010

Best Finish I have found

By
Location: Indiana
If you are wanting to put the very best finish on a gun stock or any smaller wooden object this is the best product for the job. Rub a drop or two on with a finger and basically try to rub it away. No brush marks. Hard finsh. Can make it as shiny as you want it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

Good Stock Finish

By
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
This is the first time I have used any stock finish and this one seemed to work good. I didn't finish my whole stock, but used it to seal under the recoil pad, grip cap, and in the barrel channel. It went on easy and dried to a nice hard shinny surface.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010

Beautiful finish and easy to apply

By
I actually used this product to finish an electric guitar. It has a beautiful luster and is easy to apply. Just about idiot-proof.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009

STOCK FINISHING

By
Location: WESTCHESTER CO. NEW YORK
THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT AS FINISHING COAT OR SEVERAL COATING WHEN APPLIED WITH PAINT THINER AND ROTTON STONE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2009

Still the best

By
Location: Sturtevant, WI
Still the best stock refinisher or maintainance product out there. I applied 7 coats, (very light sanding with 0000 steel wool between coats) to my new Browning BPS Nickel plated 12 guage. It is the most beautiful gun I've ever owned. Use the gun stock wax to finish off the job. It works great on the outside metal parts too. No dirt grabbing oil to worry about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 23