Customer Reviews for BIRCHWOOD CASEY Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish

BIRCHWOOD CASEY Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish

There is no better oil finish that fills pores and dries this quickly. Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish is the professional's choice for gunstock or furniture finishing for more than 30 years. Its unique blend of linseed and natural oils dries fast and will not cloud, yellow or crack with age and resists water to prevent damage. Tru-Oil Gun Stock Finish penetrates deeply and forms a tough, clear, hard finish that protects and enhances the beauty of fine woods. For a hand-rubbed, satin luster, simply buff with steel wool and rubbing compound. Excellent as a sealer for under butt plates, recoil pads and inlet actions to prevent stock damage. Size: 3-oz. bottle.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Review 1 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff!

Date:October 31, 2012
I'm refinishing my father's rifle to pass on to my grandson. This stuff works wonders. Spend some time sanding & doing your prep work, and you will be simply amazed at the outcome. This old rifle looks like it just came out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than I expected

Date:June 5, 2012
did what it was suppose to very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellant product

Date:May 17, 2012
i used item on shotgun it worked fine and did what it was advertised to do
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middlefield, OH
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff

Date:January 24, 2012
Tru-Oil made a couple of old stocks look like new again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, Nr
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil

Date:April 8, 2011
Excellent product and easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: bar mills maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shine up the old wood

Date:April 1, 2011
Very easy product to use play around with it to get the finish your looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great finish

Date:February 13, 2011
Made a few old guns look new again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Plattsburg, New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tru oil

Date:February 8, 2011
Ued it for years, Best on the market
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

geekwithagun

Date:January 31, 2011
I used this to brighten up the stock on a beat up and abused WASR AK47. It certainly looks better after 2 coats but it seems that another 2 will be required for the looking I'm seeking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Birchwood Casey Finish

Date:March 19, 2010
Used the Tru-Oil Gun Stock Finish on my 1943 Mosin Nagant M91/30 rifle and totally restored it to a beautiful wood finish, I am planning on using it to restore an old Springfield Trapdoor 1873 rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tru-Oil

Date:February 17, 2010
Great product, easy to use, a little goes a long way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: waynesville, missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stuff

Date:January 25, 2010
I purchased the Tru-Oil to jazz up an old gunstock and it worked just great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Finish I have found

Date:January 19, 2010
If you are wanting to put the very best finish on a gun stock or any smaller wooden object this is the best product for the job. Rub a drop or two on with a finger and basically try to rub it away. No brush marks. Hard finsh. Can make it as shiny as you want it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stock Finish

Date:January 11, 2010
This is the first time I have used any stock finish and this one seemed to work good. I didn't finish my whole stock, but used it to seal under the recoil pad, grip cap, and in the barrel channel. It went on easy and dried to a nice hard shinny surface.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful finish and easy to apply

Date:January 5, 2010
I actually used this product to finish an electric guitar. It has a beautiful luster and is easy to apply. Just about idiot-proof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WESTCHESTER CO. NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

STOCK FINISHING

Date:May 28, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT AS FINISHING COAT OR SEVERAL COATING WHEN APPLIED WITH PAINT THINER AND ROTTON STONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sturtevant, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still the best

Date:March 12, 2009
Still the best stock refinisher or maintainance product out there. I applied 7 coats, (very light sanding with 0000 steel wool between coats) to my new Browning BPS Nickel plated 12 guage. It is the most beautiful gun I've ever owned. Use the gun stock wax to finish off the job. It works great on the outside metal parts too. No dirt grabbing oil to worry about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NEW YORK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TRU-OIL GUN STOCK FINISH

Date:January 3, 2009
THATS THE ONLY STOCK FINISH I USE AND WILL ALWAYS USE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: eastwindsor, ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

gun stock finish kit

Date:November 30, 2008
i got the refinishing kit and it took some time but the results were amazing!! it comes with a step by step guide and tips from the pros. you may want to stock up on some more sand paper but the kit comes with the basics to get you through the project. if i had more rifles i would do them all with this product!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Birchwood Casey Tru-Oil® Gun Stock Finish
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Green Bay, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Finish

Date:August 23, 2008
I have used this on restoring old Garand stocks, and assuming you have done a good job on stripping off the old finish and preparing the stock it does a great job. After 3 or 4 coats, I top it off with old-fashioned paste wax. The wood is just beautiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.