Customer Reviews for BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

Preferred by benchrest competitors and varmint shooters worldwide for their superior accuracy, Berger Bullets is now offering lethal Match VLD rounds for big-game hunters. Match VLD bullets have a sharp nose that penetrates up to 3" before expansion begins, resulting in deeper wound channels of up to 18" in vital areas for maximum hemorrhaging. Offered in calibers from .20 to .30, each has a J-4 jacket with nearly perfect wall concentricity that’s uniformly less than .0003". Cores are cut from 99.9% pure lead, then shaped and swaged through special dies to create a bullet that’s round to .0002". Per 100. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
111
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
118 out of 124(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Berger Bullets
Review 1 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly on game

Date:November 7, 2014
I use 168 gr 7mm Bergers for hunting at target shooting with a 280AI 2800 fps muzzle at 100 yards they shoot .25" group. According to the Berger techs I spoke with they will perform down to 1800 fps. That makes this gun at 6000 ft 45 degrees temp. effective out to about 975 yards give or take a few for barometric pressure and humidity . Don't know if I would shoot at an animal that far personally but steel at 1000 yards is great accuracy.
I have watch friends shooting the exact same bullets in a 7mm Rem Mag shoot a deer 410 yards, Antelope 560 yards, Elk 635 yards, and I shot my deer at 358 yards, all dropped like rocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm 168gr VLD Hunting bullets

Date:November 4, 2014
Very accurate bullet, Yes they like to be seated correctly but most having problems with Berger bullets is not the powder or seating depth,,,Its there rate of twist there barrel has. Most factory rifles tend to have twist rates on the slower end where these bullets like faster twist rifling. I shoot these in a 7mm mag with a 1 in 9 twist and seated 30 thousands off rifling and get sub MOA. I have even played with 10 to 50 thousands off and still will shoot at 1 MOA. Now in my 270 wsm the barrel is 1 & 10 twist and groups are around 1.5" to 2" groups. But berger calls for 1 & 9.25 or faster so this explains the bullet not grouping. Have not tried these on game as of yet so I do not have any experience on that end to share. Again check your twist rate and bergers website for proper rates for each bullet. Will save you some time, money and aggravation if the bullet will work in your rifle. With proper twist rates I have not found a rifle that will not shoot these under 1 moa or even better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Game stopper

Date:October 28, 2014
I recently went on a Elk hunt and used these 185 Bergers on a cow Elk stopped her dead in her tracks .
I also used these on antalope in New Mexico was a 500yd shoot Buck never moved .
Note make sure shoot is placed were you want it dos make a big exit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great combination Long Range Shooting purchases

Date:September 27, 2014
It was so good to find Cabela's was carrying the latest Berger VLD bullets! I found a combination of rifle, powder and bullet for long range shooting that works excellent in my 300 Win. Mag. I also purchased my .300 in Remington 700 at Cabela's and feel very comfortable shooting at targets at 1000 yds plus. I recommend extensive practice before hunting big game at these distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome choice!!

Date:September 24, 2014
finally a hunting bullet with the accuracy of a paper puncher. great job Berger this bullet is awesome at the long ranges they were designed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berger 168 Hunter VLD .308 Bullets

Date:September 23, 2014
I have been using Berger Bullets for long range for the last 3 years. Been using the 210gr VLD with my 300 Winchester Mag. for long range and took a buffalo with them 2 years ago.
This year purchased a 308 Rem SPS Tactical; With a little work this rifle is shooting one hole groups and now long range beyond 1000 yards. TTGC Range.
Berger Support is beyond comparison. Call them up and their support is Fantastic.
I am Glad these are now available at Cabelas ! Strongly recommend these for long range shooting and all of Colorado Big game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

berger

Date:July 29, 2014
amazing wound cavity on a deer that was taken at over 1000 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Rate

Date:June 19, 2014
Worth the wait on backorder! Berger bullets require some experimenting with seating depth but when you find the "jump" (or lack of) they like, they shoot extremely well..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Money

Date:June 18, 2014
With Berger Bullets , you get what you pay for. Well designed, great quality control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good long range bullet

Date:March 25, 2014
Good bullet for my .243. Devastating on ground hogs. I have shot this in 15 - 20 mph winds out to 700 yds with surprisingly good accuracy. The VLD design works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Bullets

Date:March 11, 2014
Deadly accurate, and Awesome Expansion and Killing Power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berger bullets

Date:March 4, 2014
I have been shooting Berger bullets for about 8 years. I have a 300 rem. ultra mag and a rem. 22-250 that I reload. It seems like I start out with about 5 different kinds of bullets and always Berger bullets are the most accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

308 long range

Date:February 3, 2014
175 BT LR 41.5 grains benchmark took these things to 600 yds 1'' to 1.5'' 800 yards 1.75'' to 3'' groups.
These bullets are rite on in my 12 twist remmy going for 1000 yds next.
Thanks cabelas and berger.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

308 LONG RANGE

Date:January 22, 2014
Berger 175 BT LR 41.5 grains of benchmark 2.810 col ran threw a concentricity tool to less than .0001 best bullet thus far for my 12 twist rem 700,Zeiss Conquest... 300 yds. 1 hole cant believe how accurate these things are . Cant hardly wait to take these things out to 4 , 5 , even 800 yds., GREAT BULLETS,VERRY ACCURATE
Thanks Cabela's for great service each and every time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Berger Maybe

Date:January 1, 2014
Still struggling with the vld's. I know its recommended to have the bullet into the rifling, but I have experimented with a couple of rifles and am not getting sufficient accuracy to start long range work with it. Still have half a box to stumble into something, but If I cant find an accurate load by then, I will go back to Nosler and Hornady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top quality...

Date:December 31, 2013
Superior consistency, very little variation in weight if any in sample weighing. Superb quality control, ogive measurements are consistent from bullet to bullet. A great product that produces outstanding results. Make sure to measure your throat and do a test batch to find what your rifle likes. Berger explains this on their site. I did and it brought my groups down to 1.8" at 300 yards with consistency from a bench. Outstanding for my old eyes! Can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

READ THE PRODUCT LABELS BEFORE PURCHASE.

Date:November 5, 2013
THESE BULLETS LOOK OUTSTANDING BUT I DID NOT SEE THE NOTE ABOUT THE BERAL TWIST BEFOR PURCHASE. MY RIFEL HAS A TWIST OTHER THEN RECOMMENDED ON THE BOX.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very poor!!!

Date:October 24, 2013
Used in a Rem. 700 7mm rem mag. 168 grain hunting vld. Shot elk this year very poor knock down. Entered chest and broke up into very tiny pieces. Elk ran for 700 yards before expiring. Good thing there was snow bled very little. Bullet did not exit very small pieces were lodged in skin. I feel animal had to suffer more than with any other bullet. Going back to Barnes Bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding product

Date:August 20, 2013
accurate and deadly on all game. stands up to all of the advertised features and is easy to reload.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berger 6.5mm 140gr VLD

Date:August 20, 2013
These bullets have been incredible in my .264 Mag and 6.5x284. I use them for both long range target shooting and deer. Like all Berger VLD's they are sensitive to seating depth. Usually a .005" jump or a .003 jam works best. The terminal ballistics of this bullet have been what keeps me using it on game animals. I wouldn't use it on elk for fear of a shoulder shot, but on large KS deer from any angle, the deer are usually DRT at the shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 124