Customer Reviews for BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

Preferred by benchrest competitors and varmint shooters worldwide for their superior accuracy, Berger Bullets is now offering lethal Match VLD rounds for big-game hunters. Match VLD bullets have a sharp nose that penetrates up to 3" before expansion begins, resulting in deeper wound channels of up to 18" in vital areas for maximum hemorrhaging. Offered in calibers from .20 to .30, each has a J-4 jacket with nearly perfect wall concentricity that’s uniformly less than .0003". Cores are cut from 99.9% pure lead, then shaped and swaged through special dies to create a bullet that’s round to .0002". Per 100. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 136 reviews
5 Stars
120
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
128 out of 136(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Berger Bullets
Review 1 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

140 hunting vld

Date:August 11, 2015
These are great bullets. Shoot them in a 24" lilja ar-10 gas gun. Shoots sub half moa even seated to mag length. Bergers bullets are hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bullets on the market

Date:April 14, 2015
Long time user of Berger bullets in both hunting and long range competition shooting. Always consistent in B/O and weight. A little expensive but the best always cost more. I recommend these to any serious reloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very poor

Date:March 10, 2015
Very poor terminal performance on whitetail deer on two hunts excellent bullet placement on my part ...both in heart area. bullets did not perform as Berger claims.They claim their bullet will do massive terminal damage to organs as they fragment.. Both deer died a long way from where they shot. cause of death in both was a very slow bleed out. Berger two strikes and you are permanently out . NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great accuracy and on game performance

Date:March 3, 2015
The Berger VLD Hunting bullets are extremely accurate in my rifle and have excellent retained energy at longer ranges with their high BC. Their on game performance is excellent too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Bullet

Date:February 24, 2015
These Berger 7mm 180gr. Hunting VLD's are great. Easy to load, extremely accurate. Too late for deer this season but can't wait for the next season.
Easy MOA or less out past 200 yards so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:January 27, 2015
They are a better bullet especially from a ballistic coefficient stand point. This usually equates to better accuracy and less drop. The Berger 185's have almost the same drop and come ups as the 168 SMK's. That's pretty amazing. A better bullet but you pay for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very well made bullets

Date:January 27, 2015
I have been hesitant in the past to try these due to the higher price, but they are worth it as my groups have shrunk since my switch. The adage "you get what you pay for" is alive and well with Berger Bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Bullets

Date:January 26, 2015
I have used these bullets for moose in a .300 RUM, coyotes and deer in a .270 Win, and smaller varmints in a .223 Rem. All have performed as they should. This is especially true in the larger game - everything I have shot in the realm of larger game has had the classic "penetration, then fragmentation" effect Berger bullets are known for.
As a bonus, these bullets also tend to be the most accurate in all rifles that I try them in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

extremely poor hunting bullet

Date:January 13, 2015
Berger Bullet Co. says that their bullets will penetrate 3-4 inches and then fragment causing severe organ damage. In theory that's a great idea. ONLY, if the theory works. On two consecutive whitetail hunts two perfectly placed heart shots failed to provide clean effective and humane kills. The first buck went over 150 yds before its life ended. The second buck went over 500 yds . In both cases slow bleeds were the causes of death. In both cases the bullets did not penetrate to the heart area. They both failed miserably to do the job..270 cal 130 grain hunting vld on top of 58 grs h4831sc powder... Berger go back to the drawing board.Never Again!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bullets on the Market

Date:January 6, 2015
Most accurate and deadly bullets I have ever used. These bullets shoot like a Match bullet, but hit game like a hammer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

High quality bullet

Date:January 5, 2015
In my opinion this is one of the best VLD bullets on the market. Bought for reloading my 260 Remington. This is a high quality bullet that helps obtain maximum accuracy and tight groups. Very consistent bullet weights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Satisfied

Date:November 25, 2014
Shooting the 168gr hunting VLD out of my Sendero 7mm Mag. Very accurate when loaded with a stiff dose of Retumbo. This bullet is devistating. Very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly on game

Date:November 7, 2014
I use 168 gr 7mm Bergers for hunting at target shooting with a 280AI 2800 fps muzzle at 100 yards they shoot .25" group. According to the Berger techs I spoke with they will perform down to 1800 fps. That makes this gun at 6000 ft 45 degrees temp. effective out to about 975 yards give or take a few for barometric pressure and humidity . Don't know if I would shoot at an animal that far personally but steel at 1000 yards is great accuracy.
I have watch friends shooting the exact same bullets in a 7mm Rem Mag shoot a deer 410 yards, Antelope 560 yards, Elk 635 yards, and I shot my deer at 358 yards, all dropped like rocks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm 168gr VLD Hunting bullets

Date:November 4, 2014
Very accurate bullet, Yes they like to be seated correctly but most having problems with Berger bullets is not the powder or seating depth,,,Its there rate of twist there barrel has. Most factory rifles tend to have twist rates on the slower end where these bullets like faster twist rifling. I shoot these in a 7mm mag with a 1 in 9 twist and seated 30 thousands off rifling and get sub MOA. I have even played with 10 to 50 thousands off and still will shoot at 1 MOA. Now in my 270 wsm the barrel is 1 & 10 twist and groups are around 1.5" to 2" groups. But berger calls for 1 & 9.25 or faster so this explains the bullet not grouping. Have not tried these on game as of yet so I do not have any experience on that end to share. Again check your twist rate and bergers website for proper rates for each bullet. Will save you some time, money and aggravation if the bullet will work in your rifle. With proper twist rates I have not found a rifle that will not shoot these under 1 moa or even better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Game stopper

Date:October 28, 2014
I recently went on a Elk hunt and used these 185 Bergers on a cow Elk stopped her dead in her tracks .
I also used these on antalope in New Mexico was a 500yd shoot Buck never moved .
Note make sure shoot is placed were you want it dos make a big exit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great combination Long Range Shooting purchases

Date:September 27, 2014
It was so good to find Cabela's was carrying the latest Berger VLD bullets! I found a combination of rifle, powder and bullet for long range shooting that works excellent in my 300 Win. Mag. I also purchased my .300 in Remington 700 at Cabela's and feel very comfortable shooting at targets at 1000 yds plus. I recommend extensive practice before hunting big game at these distances.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome choice!!

Date:September 24, 2014
finally a hunting bullet with the accuracy of a paper puncher. great job Berger this bullet is awesome at the long ranges they were designed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berger 168 Hunter VLD .308 Bullets

Date:September 23, 2014
I have been using Berger Bullets for long range for the last 3 years. Been using the 210gr VLD with my 300 Winchester Mag. for long range and took a buffalo with them 2 years ago.
This year purchased a 308 Rem SPS Tactical; With a little work this rifle is shooting one hole groups and now long range beyond 1000 yards. TTGC Range.
Berger Support is beyond comparison. Call them up and their support is Fantastic.
I am Glad these are now available at Cabelas ! Strongly recommend these for long range shooting and all of Colorado Big game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

berger

Date:July 29, 2014
amazing wound cavity on a deer that was taken at over 1000 yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Rate

Date:June 19, 2014
Worth the wait on backorder! Berger bullets require some experimenting with seating depth but when you find the "jump" (or lack of) they like, they shoot extremely well..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 136