Customer Reviews for BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

BERGER BULLETS Berger Bullets

Preferred by benchrest competitors and varmint shooters worldwide for their superior accuracy, Berger Bullets is now offering lethal Match VLD rounds for big-game hunters. Match VLD bullets have a sharp nose that penetrates up to 3" before expansion begins, resulting in deeper wound channels of up to 18" in vital areas for maximum hemorrhaging. Offered in calibers from .20 to .30, each has a J-4 jacket with nearly perfect wall concentricity that’s uniformly less than .0003". Cores are cut from 99.9% pure lead, then shaped and swaged through special dies to create a bullet that’s round to .0002". Per 100. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 146 reviews
5 Stars
127
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
136 out of 146(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Berger Bullets
Review 1 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Been shooting Berger for 5 years

Date:February 2, 2016
I've had great luck shooting Berger bullets for 5 years now in my 7mm REM Mag and .300 RUM. Now switching my .25-06 to Berger as well. They group better and I've had great luck hunting with them here and in Africa.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wow - great bullet

Date:January 5, 2016
I am using these with my 6.5 Creedmoor and they have easily beat all the other Bullets I have tried (working up a new load)...5 rounds touching at 100 yards. BUT, I have to put each round in by hand - I am using a LMT semi-auto and the tips get pretty messed up as they hit ramp and go into battery. Maybe not the best round for Semi-auto platforms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bullet

Date:December 9, 2015
This 140 grain 6.5 caliber actually didn't do well in the 260 rem I was working a load up for. BUT, I've shot Bergers for years and they are exception for accuracy. Maybe not the best bullet for extreme long range performance on game. but lets be real, how many hunters actually shoot game at over 500-600 yds. I have, but I've also reloaded for 49 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Whatever you shoot its down!

Date:November 12, 2015
Shot my biggest mule deer with the .30 175 grain. Shot out of my handed down 300 win mag, Estimated 305 on the hoof!!! Hit the high shoulder and it took out about a 8" of spine before an exit hole . Don't know the weight retention but does is matter? If a bullet does the job and drops the game who cares! Best of all had my 9 year old with me!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Berger Bullets

Date:November 3, 2015
Very good bullet. I have only used them for traget practice so far out to 600 yards. I will be using them on a Cow Elk soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance

Date:October 20, 2015
The Wyoming Elk Hunt was a great success in no small part due to the performance of Berger's 190 gr VLD Hunting bullet for my 300 WSM. The very small entrance wound behind the left shoulder in to the vitals region was devastating at 230 yards. The Bull made it about 50 yards and collapsed along the canyon side. The retained weight of the bullet found along the right chest wall was very small. There was no shoot through. None was needed. Those with complaints I would counsel to use the appropriate caliber and grain of bullet. Longer range shots need heavier bullets for long range performance. Smaller animals need smaller calibers with lighter weight bullets.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I had high expectations, But.....

Date:October 8, 2015
In my recent trip to New Zealand I used my Sauer 308 Winchester with 155 grain VLD's @ 2650 fps to harvest a bull tahr. He was quartering to me with the 1st shot entering his mid front shoulder and exiting the opposite side back leg at 108 yds. He then ran over a small knob. About 20 minutes later while searching for him he popped out at 180 yds and presented a broadside shot which I made a good shot in the middle of his front shoulder breaking it with the bullet passing completely thru. He then proceeded to run straight away and I took a not so ideal shot up his butt out of desperation. He managed to go about 50 more yards before expiring. Upon inspection the 3 shots all passed thru with pin holes on both entrance and exiting. Inside was a soup of bloody tissue and bowels from my 3 shots. Maybe I needed to have more velocity for the Berger VLD to work as it was intended, but I cannot see myself using it again. The year before I used a Nosler partition to harvest another bull tahr with devastating results as he was dead before he hit the ground. I had high expectations and thought the fancier Berger VLD would had performed much better instead of just making pin holes, I went with the Berger VLD because of its high BC for better ballistics with hopes of extending my kill range. They seem to be devastating for others but not in my case.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Berger bullets on Elk

Date:October 1, 2015
I shot an elk at 407 yards with the 168 gr Berger at ~2,950 FPS. Hit the mark with a double lung broad side shot and the bull went over 400 yards. Entrance hole and exit hole were 1' in diameter with very little blood trail. It appeared there was very good internal damage ,however, 400 yards seems like a long way for making a quality shot.
Great accurate bullet, and this is the first animal I've taken with this bullet. Not sure if it's the bullet for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet

Date:September 29, 2015
Very good bullet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best

Date:September 29, 2015
Rifles shoot at their best when using Berger bullets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

140 hunting vld

Date:August 11, 2015
These are great bullets. Shoot them in a 24" lilja ar-10 gas gun. Shoots sub half moa even seated to mag length. Bergers bullets are hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bullets on the market

Date:April 14, 2015
Long time user of Berger bullets in both hunting and long range competition shooting. Always consistent in B/O and weight. A little expensive but the best always cost more. I recommend these to any serious reloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very poor

Date:March 10, 2015
Very poor terminal performance on whitetail deer on two hunts excellent bullet placement on my part ...both in heart area. bullets did not perform as Berger claims.They claim their bullet will do massive terminal damage to organs as they fragment.. Both deer died a long way from where they shot. cause of death in both was a very slow bleed out. Berger two strikes and you are permanently out . NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great accuracy and on game performance

Date:March 3, 2015
The Berger VLD Hunting bullets are extremely accurate in my rifle and have excellent retained energy at longer ranges with their high BC. Their on game performance is excellent too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Bullet

Date:February 24, 2015
These Berger 7mm 180gr. Hunting VLD's are great. Easy to load, extremely accurate. Too late for deer this season but can't wait for the next season.
Easy MOA or less out past 200 yards so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullets

Date:January 27, 2015
They are a better bullet especially from a ballistic coefficient stand point. This usually equates to better accuracy and less drop. The Berger 185's have almost the same drop and come ups as the 168 SMK's. That's pretty amazing. A better bullet but you pay for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very well made bullets

Date:January 27, 2015
I have been hesitant in the past to try these due to the higher price, but they are worth it as my groups have shrunk since my switch. The adage "you get what you pay for" is alive and well with Berger Bullets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Bullets

Date:January 26, 2015
I have used these bullets for moose in a .300 RUM, coyotes and deer in a .270 Win, and smaller varmints in a .223 Rem. All have performed as they should. This is especially true in the larger game - everything I have shot in the realm of larger game has had the classic "penetration, then fragmentation" effect Berger bullets are known for.
As a bonus, these bullets also tend to be the most accurate in all rifles that I try them in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

extremely poor hunting bullet

Date:January 13, 2015
Berger Bullet Co. says that their bullets will penetrate 3-4 inches and then fragment causing severe organ damage. In theory that's a great idea. ONLY, if the theory works. On two consecutive whitetail hunts two perfectly placed heart shots failed to provide clean effective and humane kills. The first buck went over 150 yds before its life ended. The second buck went over 500 yds . In both cases slow bleeds were the causes of death. In both cases the bullets did not penetrate to the heart area. They both failed miserably to do the job..270 cal 130 grain hunting vld on top of 58 grs h4831sc powder... Berger go back to the drawing board.Never Again!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Berger Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bullets on the Market

Date:January 6, 2015
Most accurate and deadly bullets I have ever used. These bullets shoot like a Match bullet, but hit game like a hammer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 146