Customer Reviews for Hornady Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hornady Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box

Introducing two of the best and most affordable dangerous-game loads on the market – DGS (Dangerous Game Solid) and DGX (Dangerous Game Expandable). Both are made of hard lead/antimony alloy surrounded by a copper-coated steel jacket with flat meplats for penetration and energy transfer. Recoil-proof spire points are also available. Per 20 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
85 out of 94(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Review 1 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana Pastor & Prairie Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 16, 2006
I wanted a little more out of my 25-06 and my 30-06 but accuracy is my main concern after saftey. Sometimes it's hard to get under a hundred yards on the prairie. This ammo shot superbly through both of my rifles. I was very pleasantly surprized. Recoil increase was barely minimal. I can't reload better than this so it was worth every penny. I have shot several deer with this ammo and it never failed to bring them down quickly. It gave me all the confidence I needed. Way to go Hornady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Two Rivers, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Light magnum a big hit

Date:November 8, 2006
I have used the Light magnum in two calibers. .270 Winchester and also 7mm-08. The accurracy and performance are both excellent. I have made many one shot kills on Whitetail, Mule Deer, and antelope. Antelope out to 400 yards with the .270 Winchester. I have, and will continue to recomend this ammo. Hey, how about heavier interbond loads for the .270 Winchester! I think it make my .270 Winchester a better Elk rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bluemont, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sundevil94

Date:November 20, 2006
These bullets are very accurate out of Remington 700 without too much recoil. Very flat shooting and very tight groups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornaday Light Magnum Ammo

Date:November 20, 2006
Excellent performance in terms of accuracy (tight groups) and killing power on deer in my Winchester Model 70 30-06 (165 gr.) and Remington Model 700 .243 (100 gr.). Did not group so well in my Browning BLR 7mm-08 so I had to stick with standard Remington ammo. I don't think this reflects negatively on the ammo at all. I have trouble getting tight groups in general with the lever action.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great round.

Date:November 20, 2006
I've used this round for the past two years and have been very happy with it's performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Clifton Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AMMO

Date:November 20, 2006
THIS IS GREAT AMMOM i USED IT ON A ELK HUNT IN COLORADO WORKED WELL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady 30-06 Light Magnum Ammo

Date:November 21, 2006
I decided to try out some new 30-06 ammo for an upcoming mule deer hunt in Colorado. I ordered Hornady's 165-gr. Interbond Light Magnum. On the range it shot really well, grouping about 2.5" at 200 yards. I got my mule deer buck at a laser measured 268 yards. Complete pass through of the bullet and the deer didn't go ten yards before it went down. GREAT AMMO, well worth the price. It's the only ammo I will use for deer in my 30-06 from now on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ashford, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This ammo is the best!

Date:November 21, 2006
I purchased .308 150 Gr. SST and I love it very accurate in my T3 Lite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Light Magnum Ammunition

Date:November 21, 2006
Ammunition performed excellent on recent elk hunt. Far superior in performance to regular 30-06 ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sacramento, california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect round

Date:November 21, 2006
this ammo performed flawlessly on my recent hunt for california whitetail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton Junction, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Light Magnum Rifle Ammunition

Date:November 21, 2006
I purhased a box of the 139 grain Hornady Interbond 270 Winchester Light Magnum Rifle Ammunition in anticipation of my upcoming winter deer hunt. I was amazed to see how tight my 5 shot group was at 100 yards using my Remington 700 Mountain Rifle which has a short and light contour barrel. This ammunition put 5 shots in a little more than 0.75 of an inch at 100 yards! Now that's performance!! I've used Hornady ammunition in the past with great range and field performance, and this particular load looks like it will become my new favorite in this handy little rifle! I've found that Hornady loads the most accurate and consistent rifle ammunition in the market, and have the utmost confidence in it when the moment comes to take a shot at that trophy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Light Magnum Rifle Ammo

Date:November 22, 2006
I have had good success both in the field and on the range with this ammunition in most rifles and calibers. The velocity may be hard to duplicate with handloads. Of course every rifle is unique and some may not shoot this ammo as well as other brands but I think it is worth a try for that extra power that may be appreciated in a given hunting situation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: KANSAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO AS ALWAYS

Date:November 25, 2006
I HAVE USED HORNADAY AMMO FOR MANY YEARS NOW. I HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED WITH IT....NOW MY SHOT PLACEMENT IS A DIFFERENT ISSUE, BUT I CAN'T BLAME THAT ON THE AMMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vinton, Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang

Date:December 1, 2006
Plain and simple, if you can't, don't, won't, hand load, then this is the load for you. No matter what you shoot now! Take away the debate over what is best to shoot large game with, in example, this November in Colorado 2 buddies unloaded full clips on an elk as it ran past them, 1 shot hit at less than 25 yards. Still running wide open my Light Mag. hit at 180 yards and dropped the 732 lb Elk without it taking another step. Rolled up like a paper towel. When skinning out we found one shot from my buddies without any shock damage to tissue & absolutely no blood! He is buying Hornady Light Mag from now on.
My daughter never tracks her whitetails using the 270 IB Light Mag. Check the Ballistics at Hornady�s web site under rifle ammo. It�s all our family takes in the field. No tracking, no suffrage, no lost animals, no problem. Hornady � Accurate, Dependable, Deadly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hornaday light magnum ammo is awsome

Date:December 13, 2006
11/06
we shot this ammo for the first time this year for the Missouri whitetail season,and it performed superbly. The accuracy was groups of one inch or less at 100 yards in four different Remington 280's and the deer dropped in their tracks they never knew what hit them. We have tried many different loads and for the performance we are now solid Hornaday fans. You get what you pay for and these rounds deliver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Moscow, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flawless GAME STOPPER!!!!!

Date:December 19, 2006
I hunt white tail, and wild hogs in east Texas. Hornady Light Mag Ammo has always put the "meat on the table." Deadly accurate, and a "One shot Show Stopper!!" I use it in a Ruger M77 Ultralight .257 Roberts, and in this light small package it is deadly!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oppenheim,newyork
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deadly

Date:December 30, 2006
i use 139grain sp 7mm-08 and is very acurrate,and one shot one kill,way to go hornady,and to cabelas fast shipping and great service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of Game Taken - Excellent Performance

Date:March 6, 2007
Hornady Light Mag. ammo is the best factory ammo I have ever used. In my Ruger #1 257 Roberts it will outshoot any handload I have worked up and there are at least 30 of them in different bullet and powder configurations. The 257 has taken many whitetail, mule deer and a few wild hogs as well as a couple of head shot turkey and the result has always been the same - quick and humane kills. In my 7X57 Mauser it shoots with the kind of accuracy that was formerly achieved only with handloads. The velocity is right in line with the advertised velocities - tested on my chronograph they are typically 10 to 30 fps faster than stated in full lenght barrels. Don't let the price or the hype keep you from trying this excellent ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I don't know what this meand?

Date:April 3, 2007
We tested the ammo and it does a great job. I'm a newby, so what I say doesn't matter, but my guy is a reloader and he says there's no need to work up a load for my rifle with this ammo. Good stuff. Worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady Light Magnum™ Rifle Ammunition – Per box
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent choice

Date:April 20, 2007
I chose the 165 gr Interbond load for elk on an upcoming hunt - this round is definitely not your normal '06 round - it does pack a lot more wallop when you shoot - but it has given me 1/2 " groups out of my Win model 70 - i have the greatest confidence with this round and am waiting for the chance on a good bull - chose hornady after good sucess with one of their whitetail loads, the 150 gr custom SST - two bucks dropped in their tracks at 150 yds - I don't believe you could go wrong with either
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 94