Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs

WINCHESTER Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs

Super-X BRI® Sabot Slugs deliver excellent performance and moderate recoil in rifled barrel or rifled choke tube shotguns. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
48 out of 52(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Review 21 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

Winchester Super-x BRI Sabot Slugs

By
Location: Central New Jersey
I shot these shells in a new side by side 20ga. slug gun. They are very accurate and held a 1.2 inch group at 50yds and a bit under 2 inches at 100yds with about a 1.5 inch drop from 50 yds (sight in dist).
Shot two deer. First a 2yr old doe for meat. Placed slug behind left front shoulder and experience a 1 shot kill with an immediate drop of animal where standing. Distance 43 yds.
The next deer a 4 yr old 10 pointer, a mature deer that weighed 170 lbs. field dressed. This deer was shot moving (chasing does) at 72 yds. Shot hit to far forward, but broke both left front leg (point of entry) at shoulder and right front leg slightly lower on other side. Extracted from Right side of deer and held much of it's original weight and mushroomed perfectly.
Round recoils very lightly in this gun which weighs about 7 lbs.
Overall a great performer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009

Winchester Super-X Sabot Slugs

By
Location: Maine
These slugs fired well and grouped nicely at a far more reasonable price then some other slugs out there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

WINCHESTER 12ga BRI Sabots

By
Location: Rockland County, NY
First used these Winchester 3" BRI sabots about 20 years ago in my 12 GA. Mossberg 500. For those who may not recall, Mossberg was one of the first to offer a fully rifled 24" Cantilever Barrel called the Trophy, in fact they made this barrel for just about all the big name manufactures that resold them under their own name. BRI shoots superb, 3" shells grouped at 2 1/2" at 100 yards, incredible accuracy that was unheard of at that time out of a shotgun barrel, also there was a limited number of sabot makers, Today, Winchester sabots still group well in this gun. Opening day, I took a nice 7 point Buck at 40 yards with one broadside shot, broke a rib on both sides, took out both lungs passed thru left a 50 cent piece size hole on both sides dropped him in his tracks using the same 20 year old set up, now scoped with a 3x9x40 Bushnell. Buck field dressed at 160 Lbs. I will always shoot this round, even though it's not the fastest sabot on the market today it is one of the most accurate at 1500 FPS, still spells DEAD DEER, save your money and buy these jokers you won't be sorry.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009

Best Buy out There!

By
Location: Mid Maryland.
I believe the Winchester Super-X BRI sabots were one of the first sabots on the market. Admittedly, this design has evolved into many, many variations using partition bullets, pistol bullets and so on.
But, for the money and for manged recoil and for availability, the Winchester sabots win, hands down.
Have tried other combinations with my Ithaca Deer Slayer II, model 87, but these Winchesters are the ticket. Have no reservations taking a shot at 90+ yards.
The spent sabot mushrooms to almost double it original size which helps when recovering deer. Do not have to worry about flying "petals" or crumbling soft points.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009

Poor accuracy

By
Location: Circleville, Ohio
These slugs have not performed well for me. I have attempted to use the 20 gauge slug through a Mossberg rifled slug gun topped with a 2x-7x shotgun scope. I can get them to group at 50 yards. Then at 100yds they will not even hit a 3ft by 2ft sheet of cardboard. The barrel has been cleaned with the same result.
I cannot speak for the 12g version but the 20g version of this slug appears to be a waste of time and money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009

Winchester Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs

By
Used these slugs for the first time 2 years ago, and really liked them. Good grouping during target practice, and really tolerable recoil. Took 4 deer that year. 2 with one shot!
This brings up the one thing I did not care for from these slugs. All the shots went clean through the deer. The two'fer was at 40 yds. Beware of your backstop.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

Best grouping

By
Location: Wisconsin
Of all the slugs I have tried in my Browning BRI these group the best and don't kick at all for a 3" magnum.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009

Can't be beat!

By
Location: Wisconsin
I have been shooting these out of a 1187 with a Remington full rifle cantilever and have shot 17 deer with them. The knock down power has been the best I have used. Every once and a while I will get a wild one on the range but at 100 yards I'm talking no more than 5" off group. And that is only few and far between. When guys complain of wild shots you should check your weapon. I saw a guy that had been shooting hundreds and his rifled barel was a smooth bore from the deposits!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009

SABOT SLUGGER

By
Location: AZ
I HAVE SHOT THESE THROUGH MY SAIGA 12 AT TARGETS OVER 100 YARDS AWAY AND ALL I CAN SAY IS "BANG"
GREAT SLUG
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2009

12 ga. BRI slugs

By
Location: MI
There were a lot of reviews saying these slugs are the greatest thing since sliced bread, NOT.
Rem 1100,12 ga. Hastings rifled barrel w/builtin muzzle brake
cantilevered scope mt. Bench shooting on lead sled 100 yd.
1 out of 7 went where you aimed the rest were like flyers ,
anywhere on a 2x2 ft target, no ryme or reason.50 rds shot.
I have also tried rem ultra slugs and hornady tipped slugs
with the same results. Ihave lots of slugs to try yet in my
quest to find a slug that will group.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2009

Great product

By
I have hunted with the 20ga. BRI sabots for about 5 years now. They do not kick very much at all. Their ballistics are not the best, but I can tell you they do their job out to 100yds. I have never had a deer run out of my sight and most drop in their tracks. I would highly reccomend these to anyone, especially recoil-sensitive shooters. The slugs are kind of slow but with their flat tip they hit hard and mushroom very nicely.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2009

good for the price

By
Location: TN
The bullet does the job . Killed 2 six points and one 10 point so far using them if i aim well they are perfect. I recommend them for someone who wants a good bullet but also isn't made of money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009

good

By
Location: ny
shoot the exacty the same as light fields
can mix and match ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

Winchester Super-X BRI sabot slugs

By
Location: Syracuse, NY
These slugs are awesome! I took 2 deer with them this season and the farthest they went were 10 yards...1 dropped instantly. They are very accurate and shoot the best out of my Winchester 1300 pump shotgun. While practicing with them this past summer, I hit a 5" steel plate at 120 yards (measured with my rangefinder) with my first shot. These are all I will be using for years to come.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008

Recommended

By
Location: New Jersey
Shoot 1.5" groups on 50 yards from 5(!) shots. No recoil. Recommended to everybody especially young and recoil-sensitive hunters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008

Extremely effective slug

By
Location: Pike County, PA
I have been using this slug for a month now and have found it to be very effective. I have shot several groups of 1.5" at 100 yards. They did particularly great out of the Savage and Mossberg barrels. I shot a deer two weeks ago and it feel within 20 yards. I began using these on the recommendation of a friend so obviously they are worth telling others about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2008

PERFECT shotgun shell

By
Location: Kokomo, Indiana
I have used these shells for 8 years now, I have taken deer from 20 yards to 150 yards with the 20 gauge sabot slugs. I have excellent accuracy and experienced little drop even past 150 yards with my Remington 870 riffled barrel. My first buck ever was at 150 yards, and dropped him were he stood! These sabot slugs are extremely efficient and the price is unparalled.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2008

Well Worth The Money

By
Location: Monticello, IA
I have used both the rifled and sabot slugs in several different guns and barrels over the last several years of deer hunting in eastern Iowa and have yet to find a more consistant and affordable slug than the Winchester Super-X. I have run Remington 870's, Winchester 1300's, and Mossberg 500's (all with smooth bore & rifled barrels) and have had the same results -- DEAD DEER. The price and accuracy are unmatched by any other slug. You hear of people paying $25 a box for some fancy plastic tipped, copper plated, 3 oz, hollow point that looks to pretty to shoot. The Super Xs are simple in design, priced affardably, and just plain work!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

win. BRI Sabots

By
Location: NY
Great sabot for the money. Have killed several deer them them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Winchester® Super-X® BRI Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2008

Super-X BRI sabot

By
Location: Indiana
Put a fully rifled slug barrel on my 1187 and tried many many different slugs to no satisfaction these included remington, federal, hastings and other winchester slugs. But the BRI sabot shined way above the rest consistant 2" groups at 50 yds and 4" groups at 100 yds with open sights. Amazing, hope too have a scope mounted before this deer season if not I will go with what I have
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 52