Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition

REMINGTON Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition

Bank on classic Remington quality and reliability with their .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition. Perfect for tournament competition, training new shooters or roaming target-rich woodlands for small varmints. Built for shot-after-shot performance and versatility using the same level of care that's put into Remington's centerfire ammo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(647 Reviews) 647
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 647 reviews
5 Stars
392
4 Stars
142
3 Stars
43
2 Stars
30
1 Star
40
564 out of 647(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Review 1 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2016

King of misfires

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought 2 boxes of these and probably half of the failed to fire in an ar-15 conversion kit. Complete junk. switched to winchester ammo and cci and they all ran like champs. Will never buy this garbage again
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

ridiculous price

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Ammo itself is just OK for plinking. No way should it be priced at the same price as CCI minimags. Just last year it was 5 cents a round, everywhere, and now it's double. What in the world is going on?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-8points
5out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Thunderbolt inconsistant

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
On a couple occasions I have used this ammo in the various 22's that I have. Every time, this ammo leaves behind a lot of lead in the barrel. One time in my Ruger SR22, there was so much lead I almost could not get the cleaning rod in to clean the gun. But . . .I later found that if after using some Thunderbolt ammo, if I fire a dozen rounds of jacketed ammo, this clears much of the lead build up making for easier cleaning.
Thunderbolt ammo is all quit inconsistent in terms of velocity, which of course effects accuracy. This has been a problem will all Remington .22 LR ammo, but Thunderbolt is the worst of them.
If you can get it for cheap, it just good for fooling around and plinking.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2015

bad

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
this ammo is pretty crummy that's all I can say about it. when you can buy some cci ammo and its out there and you cant go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Golden bullet?

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I dont know why it's the golden bullet! Misfires left and right. Dirty, expensive, and not accurate! Don't get me wrong, I love Remington ammo! I have a bunch of thunderbolts and they're great! It jus seems like the goldens are a waste of money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2015

terrible

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought the bucket of golden bullet its was bad. My 1911 would eat any other ammo besides these. The heads are loose and kept jamming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2014

Poor quality.

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Bullets were loose in the shipping bag...despite numerous attempts, it was not possible to figure out HOW the bullets were supposed to fit in the flimsy cardboard packaging that was supposed to contain them. The bullets were filthy,,,can't imagine cleaning my gun after firing these bullets. Can't return them either. Thanks :(
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2014

Very poor quality

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought 2 boxes of 525 rounds. Using a Ruger 10/22 and S&W 22A, there were about 8% FTF. I would try the FTF round in both guns, sometimes 2 or 3 times. Some fired, some didn't. Also a lot of FTE, especially with the 10/22. I will not buy Remington rimfire ammo again. I long for the days of plentiful Mini Mags. I've shot them for over 40 years and they always work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Misleading= I got screwed

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Purchased this item after seeing the brief description and the picture. The picture shows a box of 22LR, just not the 50 round box, they had the 525 round box displayed. After completing my purchase, only being allowed to purchase one box, and getting charged way to much for shipping I realized that I just paid way over for 50 rounds of 22 ammo. Was not happy about this deal to say the least at what I paid per round for 22 ammo. Promise it won't happen again to me from here.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2013

Bad stuff

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I would not buy this ammo unless you are really desperate. Have had nothing but problems with this ammo in all my semi-auto rifles. Jams, blowback in the breech , really dirty ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2013

Misleading Advertisement

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Why would anyone put a picture of 22lr 525 round box and then at bottom of description put 100 rounds? Please put right picture with right item!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2012

Junk

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
First round jammed in my Ruger 10/22 LR. First time ever. Now I'm stuck with poor ammo
No Star (not an option)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2012

Not sure about these

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought these to use in an ultralight 22. The rifle weighs only 16 oz. so I wanted to try a low velocity round in it. While more potent rounds from different manufacturers worked will, I had several misfires with these. I don't want to judge, since it may be due to a weaker firing mechanism than usual, but that was my experience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2012

Will not cycle in a Rem. 597

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I tried the yellowjacket and the viper ammo. Neither of these REMINGTON rounds will cycle through a REMINGTON 597 with REMINGTON brand 30rd magazines. Every other round jams. Seriously.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2012

Too many no-fires

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought four boxes of this ammo for target practice at the indoor range. I take 50 rounds twice a week and shoot either a Taurus revolver or Ruger Mark III. Consistently, one round fails to fire each week. I try three times to get it to fire (3 dents in the rim!). Sometimes the round will fire on the second try, sometimes on the third, but most of the time the round is a dud. That's a 2% failure rate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2012

Use in Bolt actions only!

By
Location: Lake Luzerne, New York
With a semi auto rifle this remington ammo seized up the action on my rifle which in turn needed attention from the gunsmith. It was so dirty that the gun needed to be cleaned after 100 shots. It was very accurate, but it was too dirty for that semi auto. I think I will use the rest in my bolt action and switch to something else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2011

Problems

By
Location: Dacula, Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i purchased two Sig Sauer Misquito's for target practice. i purchased 10 boxes of .22LR HV 525RND BRCK ammunition to fire in my Misquito's. Jams are frequent. Some simply don't fire. Some don't fit in the chamber and they shoot dirty causing problems with the operation of the slides. I have also had similiar problems with firing them in my Henry Golden Boy rifle. Don't waste your money thinking you are saving because the price of these bullets is so low.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2011

Save Your $

By
Location: Oak Lawn, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
As for “Thunderbolts” 22LR, save your money. These now have to be the worst 22LR ammo you can buy. I bought two value packs and they were consistent, I had a 1 in 25 rounds was a FTF (failure to fire). Then there are the rounds that fire but feel like they were packed with half the required power, plus the powder is extremely dirty, I might as well been shooting black power. I will be giving my remaining 700 rounds to a friend that only shoots cans at 35'..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2011

Too Many Misfires

By
Location: CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been shooting for over fifty years. This .22 ammunition is by far the worst I have experienced. The failure rate is between 5 and 10 percent. I have had the same results in at least five different firearms. I would definitely not reccommend this ammunition to anyone unless improvements are made.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® .22 LR Rimfire Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2011

Too many duds

By
Location: Eugene, OR
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Got a bulk box as a gift, otherwise would have taken back. Too many dud's from a S&W k frame and a Buckmaster. Didn't try a bolt action. Figure a 6% failure rate. Have been shooting for 45 years, the Mfg needs to step up quality control like in the old days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 647