Customer Reviews for Hastings Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Hastings Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels

Hastings barrels are built to exact specifications so they are perfectly suited for replacing original manufacturer's barrels. No modification is necessary. Every model is constructed of 4130 chrome/moly steel, proof-tested, serial-numbered, highly-polished and blued. 12-gauge only. Rifle Sight Paradox - 1-in-34" twist (12 ga.),1-in-24" twist (20 ga.). Each of these barrels produces increased slug stability and amazing accuracy. Unsurpassed quality. Includes rifle sights, adjustable for windage and elevation. Paradox Muzzle Brake - New intergral muzzle brake now available. Recoil reduction 15-20%. Scope Mount Paradox - New improved scope-mounting system. Permits use of a normal eye-relief scope. Scope not included. Uses Weaver and similar style rings, not included. Cabela's Exclusive Express Rib Paradox - Safari-style barrel for fast eye travel down the barrel to the target. Ramp and rear sight are hand checkered.Two-position rear sight with instantaneous adjustment for in-close and long distance shooting. Sights are pre-set for point of aim at 50 meters using BRI Sabot 500 slugs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Review 1 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Carlinville,Il
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recoil

Date:September 14, 2009
The Hastings muzzlebrake barrel is ideal for 20ga. Acuracy is unsurpassed by any other slug barrel I have ever used. Ideal for youth or any other hunter needing low recoil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southwest Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Econo in name, Tops in Performance

Date:June 9, 2009
I bought the hastings 20" Econo Scope barrel for my Rem 870 and the performance was outstanding. I attached a Bushnell Holosight and can get 2" groups at 100 yds with 3" shotgun slugs. Really made my Rem Express into an all around firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Southern IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A little disappointed

Date:December 5, 2008
I bought the scope mount LT 20 Hastings rifled barrel with the muzzle brake, and maybe I expected too much, but I am disappointed with the accuracy of it. A friend has the same thing in the 12 gauge and he's getting about 1 1/4" groups at 50 yds and 3" groups at 100. I expected the same. After trying every type of sabot ammo that I could get my hands on (and probably spending about $200 in the process) the best I could get was about 2 1/2" groups at 50 yds and about 6" at 100. I live out in the country and have my own shooting range in my back yard, and I shoot alot. I feel I should be able to do about twice this good, especially after spending about $700 for the barrel, scope and rings. Would I buy it all again knowing what I know now?--probably, because its still better than the open sight barrel that I was using before, but not by a whole lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middleton, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The A-5 is out of the closet

Date:November 1, 2008
I purchased a rifled slug barrel for my '62 Browning A-5, the barrels swapped right out, without even a cuss. Then we went to the range, first shot, 1" to the right, two clicks on the windage and bingo dead center bullseye. The next four shots knocked empty 12 gauge shells off the rail at 25 yards, yeah you could say I was pleased. I continued on to put five more in a 2" circle at 50 yards, my guess is with the aid of a scope I could duplicate the 25 yard performance. I used the Hornady 300grn SST slugs. I would recomend this barrel to my minister, my hunting buddies and even my granddad, well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: western Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels

Date:October 17, 2008
I mounted one of the scope models on my 870 Express and couldn't be happier. Seemed to like the Win Partition Gold 3" and the Federal Tipped Barnes sabot rounds best. Inch to inch and a half group at 100 yards. I used it to drop a 5 by 5 elk last fall at 87 yards, right through the heart. The accuracy gives you confidence to take less than perfect shots. I am going to set up another shotgun this year, but will try the muzzle-break version. Kudos to Cabelas for carrying this product and for the great service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Livermore, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:October 13, 2008
I bought this barrel to use slugs for deer but the range I was shooting at would only let me use it on the 25 yd. line. (??) A friend of mine went with me and brought his shotgun (bore barrel) his groups were about 4"-6". My groups were about 2" (standing position) every round touched. It was one big hole. I can't wait to get this thing out to 100yds, seated with a rest. BUY this if you want accuracy with slugs. My only complaint is I wish it came with night sights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

slug barrel

Date:July 28, 2008
this barrel fires with a smooth recoil and control a standard barrel kicked so hard with that it hurt . It took several seconds to regain a target. This Barrel with paradox brake is the best i have fired, with sabots and slugs even the new remm,winn, and fed shells that have 1900 fps. This barrel is so rare in Ontario ,that I was offered double my money for it after a friend tried it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings Barrel

Date:July 14, 2008
This brought my groupings down to less than 1 inch at 100 yards and less than 1.5 inches at 150 yards. Just what the hunt doctor ordered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Orlando, Fl. to Tacoma, Wa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Who you callin a slug?

Date:March 18, 2008
Have not fired the thing yet. More expensive than the Rem. 870 that's wearin it, so it better be good! Did NOT find any checkering on the sights as advertised, and wish there was some non reflective grooves on top of the rib. Slight gap (too big) between rear of rib and front edge of reciever. Nice blue finish though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: State College PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings Rifled Slug Barrel

Date:February 5, 2008
Excellent fit and finish at a great price. Took some patience to get the accuracy I expected, however. I choose the barrel with rifle sights (no canilever for scope) since I already had a scope on the receiver of my Model 37 Ithaca. It took many rounds before I began to get acceptible groups, but settled in to 2 1/2" groups at 100 yards shooting Hornaday 300 grain sabots.
I expect the whole process would have been easier and accuracy even better with the cantilever configuration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings RIFLED Slug Barrel

Date:February 4, 2008
These barrels are the best. Very accurate with a quality finish that will perform over the long haul.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Buffalo NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings rifled barrel

Date:January 28, 2008
Excellant barrel, but I prefer fiber optic sights. They should be provided or at least offered as an option.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cresco IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slugs best freind!!

Date:November 15, 2007
i baught this barrel for my browning A-5
took it out of the box put it on and without even touching the sites it was driving slugs in a 2" group.. at 100 yards. i thaught i was a good shot with my smooth bore! with a little practic and some age...caugh caugh... it seems to like the hornady slugs the best. breneke is what i use thou. they do just about as good with out my wallet hurting so bad. open sites all the way for me i party hunt and the deer wont stand still to much. Thanks Hastings for a great barrel!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jefferson Hills, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings barrel purchase

Date:September 15, 2007
After doing much research on slug gun hunting, I decided to purchase a Hastings rifled slug barrel for my Browning BPS 12 gauge and mount a Leupold shotgun scope VX-I 2-7x33mm on the cantilever. I used Warne Maxima series scope mounts as recommended by the Cabelas' sales associate.
After sighting-in at the gun range, I was impressed at the small groups I was shooting with magnum sabot slugs! All 5 slugs were in a 1" group at 50 yards. At 100 yards, all 5 slugs were in a 2" group. Several more trips to the range produced the same results.
Besides accuracy, the fit and finish was an excellent match to my Browning shotgun. Now I have two guns in one, a shotgun and a rifle! Can't wait until deer season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings

Date:March 29, 2007
I bought a Hastings Paradox barrel for my LC 1187 and I previously had a REM fully rifled barrel. There is no comparison. The Hastings is more accurate and has quite a bit more range. Folks, spend the extra money and you will be pleased in the long run.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: I live in Wisconsin and hunt in Wisconsin and Mich
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hastings slug barrels

Date:December 2, 2006
the hastings slug barrel performed flawlessly for my Remington 870 pump shotgun.I would buy another for another of my guns if I had to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Amherst, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hasting Slug Barrel

Date:November 22, 2006
I have a 1187 LC 12 ga and Remington does not make a slug to be used with this shotgun. I searched the web and found the Hasting website and ordered the barrel from Cabels. I have tried several brands of shells through this barrel. The lightfield slug performance was unbelievable and at a 100 yards I was placing them side by side. I would recommend this barrel to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it

Date:November 21, 2006
This is my first time with a slug barrel, and I have to say that I'm glad I bought it. althought it isn't acurate much pass 120 yard i do like the idea of giving my shotgun more range then with a regular smoothbore barrel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hastings 20 Ga Slug Barrel

Date:November 21, 2006
The Hastings 20 Ga. rifled Slug barrel is an excellant product. THe unit i received was for A Remington Mod 870LW with the canterlever scope mount. Fit and function with my gun was flawless. After mounting the scoppe of my choice a 2.5 - 7 variable , a trip to the range proved the barrel to delived accuracy of 1.5 inch groups at 100 yards. I am extreamly please with my choice of the Hastiong Barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hastings Rifled Slug Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester ,N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ONE GOOD BARRREL

Date:November 20, 2006
I purchased a Hastings rifled slug barrel. This is my first year with an awesome barrel. I have found great success with its performance this hunting season so far. I am looking forward to using it the rest of our gun season. I am sure this will help my hunting skills immensely.
Thanks,
Josh
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.