Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels

REMINGTON Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels

Model 870 Barrels with 3" chambers will fit both magnum and 2-3/4" receivers and will handle both 2-3/4" and 3" shells with a magnum receiver. (An M at the end of the serial number = magnum receiver.) Use only 2-3/4" shells when barrels are used on 2-3/4" receivers. 870 Special Field barrels and other model 870 barrels are not interchangeable. The 20-ga. lightweight barrels will not fit 20-ga. standard guns. Light contour barrels for the 870 Wingmaster have a weight reduction of more than a 1/2 lb. to improve balance, portability and handling without sacrificing strength or durability. The Model 870 Super Slug with Scope is 23" long with a 3" chamber capable of handling 2-3/4" or 3" sabot slugs. Mounted and boresighted 2-7x32 scope. Fits 870 Wingmaster, Special Purpose and Express models.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(250 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 250 reviews
5 Stars
199
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
5
238 out of 250(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 115 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Review 1 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Rusted Barrel

Date:January 3, 2013
Unfortunately, I took this barrel in the rain a week after I got it and before the end of the day it started to pit. I wiped it down as soon as I got home and the spots would not come off. The rest of my Wingmaster 870 was fine and it is going on 35 years old and never been refinished. I am going to try to return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kanab, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not for early model 870

Date:May 10, 2010
Does not fit early model 870 guns with numbers ending with "N" or "X"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Geneva, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The rail is cocked

Date:October 31, 2009
I purchased on of the 20-21" rifled cantilever barrels for my 870 wingmaster. The barrel looks nice, but I could not get the scope dialed-in any closer than 3" left of the bullseye at 50 yards. I removed and replaced the scope three times with identical results. I then noticed that the mounting rail for the scope is cocked to the right. The back of the rail is about 1/8" left of being centered, explaining the left of bullseye pattern.
I assumed that this was fluke result and ordered a replacement barrel from Cabela's. Wrong. Replacement barrel arrived and was similarly misaligned. Apparently a quality control issue at Remington. What to do?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

870 BARREL

Date:January 9, 2008
The product I bought does not pattern at all. I have fired at least 30 rounds from this barrel of several different loads. None pattern within a 6" group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor performance

Date:September 19, 2007
My experience with the 18" 20 gauge rifled barrel was miserable. It could not hold a 10” group at 75yds. I tried (5) different brands of slugs. I also used a bench vise. This barrel was horrible. I am glad I bought it at Cabelas because they are willing to take it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barrel good scope bad

Date:May 14, 2013
Barrel is great fits my 870 perfectly. Scope is junk. Product arrived and the rings were loose. The reticle does not stay put and after one round is off. Cabelas staff was great and refunded the entire amount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Morris, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SOME ASSEMBLY AND REPAIR NEEDED 12ga REM 870 slug

Date:January 11, 2012
After recieving this barrel time was of the essance for my son's youth deer season in IL . I do agree I should have placed my order sooner. The cantilever mount was assembled off of zero. After finding the problem with no time to attempt a resolution with customer service. I disassembled the two screws holding the mount to barrel cleaned the adhesive of some type from the barrel and mount. Then reassembled with blue locktite at mating surfaces and hardware. Problem resolved, grouped 1in or less free hand at 50yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Maryville, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Eye relief Scope

Date:February 18, 2011
The 870 Slug barrel and scope had a low price, however when used in the field the low quality of the scope proved ineffective in taking down deer in Iowa. Very short eye relief and not very clear in low light conditions. I will replace the scope with see thru rings and a red dot type scope.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: MI.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The Rail is not lined up

Date:January 4, 2010
I purchased a 870 20Ga barrel with a rifled cantilever but I can not dial the scope in it shoots to the left 12" at 50 yards the cantilever rail is not lined up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

barrel great, scope junk

Date:January 13, 2008
as regards to the barrel, its awesome and shots good. as for the scope, you should take it off when you get it and throw it in the trash. my scope broke after shooting 6 slugs. buy the barrel and put a quality scope on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: CANTON, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD BARREL

Date:October 10, 2007
THE BARREL WORKS GREAT! TIGHT GROUPS AT 100 YARDS WITH REMINGTON BUCKHAMMERS!! BUT THE SCOPE IS JUNK!
THE RECTIL MOVES INSIDE THE SCOPE WHEN IT IS ON THE GUN BY JUST BUMPING THE SIDE!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Northern Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Forget the scope!

Date:September 24, 2007
Don't waste your time with the scope. Broke after 8 shots!
Barrel is fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Replacement Shotgun Barrell

Date:June 4, 2007
The barrel itself was probably fine but it didn't fit the gun. Apparently because we have an older model Remington the newer barrels won't fit.
We didn't know this and it took quite a bit of research but finally found the reason for it.
So, you should probably mention that the new shotgun barrels will not fit the older model remingtons with serial #'s ending in X or N.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great barrel, bad scope

Date:June 4, 2013
The barrel itself has a great design and fits perfectly. The included scope is a rifle scope with short eye relief. Remington should know better. Don't waste money on the scoped version. It was the only Remington option Cabelas sold when I bought mine, though now it looks like they sell the barrel only, which is the better option. Couple it with the Bushnell Banner scope (6" eye relief) for a great outfit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Quebec Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recoil to account for

Date:November 16, 2009
The cantalever mount is not solid enough for the recoil that a 12g slug produces. While the barrel is well made and easy to interchange with bird barrels the scope cantalever is not solid enough. I ruined a brand new scope sighting the shotgun as the recoil creates tremendous G force at the end of the canatlever. SOLUTION: Drill and tap cantalever mount into reciever at gunsmith. This will redcuce the shock the scope recieves. BTW the scope was a top quality SHOTGUN rated unit. Also be sure to pull the barrel toward you with maximum strenth when fasteningit into place with the cap as it wll waver from side to side otherwise and reduce accuracy. Try the Honaday sabot slugs. 2 inch group at 100yards.
GOOD LUCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Bullard, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Fit but not pretty

Date:September 14, 2009
Ordered a 30" Vent Rib Express with Rem Choke. Fit & Function were perfect, but the finish was not as nice as my receiver. My Receiver has a nice deep blued finish and the barrel had a rougher black finish. Sent back for refund.
3 of 5 because it fit and functioned, but not as pretty as the rest of the gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: covington Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

16ga. shotgun replacement barrel

Date:March 2, 2008
The barrel was to thick to fit. Had to sand the inside of the
forarm to get it to over the barrel so i could open and close the
action. Had to remove about 1/8 "to 1/4" of wood so it would
clear the barrel. but works fine know.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: arkansas zone 4
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sluggn

Date:January 8, 2008
Here is tha deal! these barrels work great with remington ammunition! I repeat remington ammunition! the copper solid is a good round as is the buck hammer! anything else and you might not hit the broadside of a barn! I have found that these barrels rifling is not as raised as the other manufactures and have a different twist rate. so dont try the hornady sst or the winchester xp3 you will just be chasing your tail! trust me,my group of friends spent about 500 dollars in bullets to figure all this out! i personaly shoot a ithica barrel on my win sx2! works awesome ! i have three friends with these barrels and another buddy whom has a barrel for his 11-87! between the three 870's and the 11-87 we came to realize only shoot the rem ammo! the buck hammer was favored by my friends! hope this helps!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remmington 870 Shotgun Barrel

Date:December 27, 2007
I have a Remmington 870 20 gage shotgun. I booked a guided deer hunt where I was required to shoot slugs instead of rifle bullets. So I purchased a barrel for shooting slugs for my shotgum. Craftmanship was good, the barrel fit like a glove on my shot gun. The only thing I had to do was site the gun-in. The barrel seems to have good accuracy out to a 100 yards with open iron sites.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 870 Replacement Shotgun Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Central VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

870 20 GA Fully Rifled Cantilever Barrel w/ Scope

Date:October 13, 2007
Barrel/scope combo was supposed to be laser bore sighted at the factory. The scope wasn't even finger tight on the barrel I got. Don't know whether it's the cheap scope or the cantilever rail but even at maxed out scope adjustment, gun still shoots about 8" high at 50 yards! Hopefully a quality scope will correct the problem.
Otherwise, fit and finish of the barrel is very nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 250