Customer Reviews for H & R H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

H & R H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles

For generations, the single-shot rifle has been the choice of the accomplished and self-assured hunter. And for years, H & R has honored that choice with centerfire rifles built to make that one shot count. For the varmint or big-game hunter, there are several attractive options in a wide range of rifle calibers. Wood models feature pistol-grip stocks made of American hardwood with walnut finish, ventilated recoil pads and sling swivel studs. .45-70 models have ramp front sights, adjustable rear sights and are tapped for scope mounts. Other calibers come with a rail for scope mounting, hammer extension and no iron sights.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Review 1 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

H&R 204 Ruger Single

Date:October 24, 2011
I bought a 204 Ruger single by H&R. From the lowest grain bullet to the largest grain bullet offered in 204 cal. All of bullets fired tumbled. Really poor quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good gun

Date:September 16, 2012
i have owned one in 30-06 for several years, and it is a very good gun overall. however, be VERY VERY careful if you shoot full loads, because it will "bite" you due to its light weight. i have switched to low recoil loads, and it is a lot more enjoyable now. like it so much that i am sending it back to factory to have a 44mag extra barrel installed. i grew up on single shot shotguns, so this is a natural to shot. BUY ONE!!!! just wish that they made more cal. choices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nail driver

Date:March 20, 2012
this gun with a good scope can drive nails (no joke) at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate/light weight/good for young hunters

Date:August 4, 2011
I found a H&R in 38-55. (The old target round from the late 1800's) With a scope, I can shoot 5 shot, sub 1" groups all day long at 100 yards. ( I handload and cast my own bullets)
The only problem that I have had is that the extractor sometimes does not eject the case after firing, requiring a cleaning rod up the bore. It does seem to be less frequent the more I shoot the rifle.
Still, for the weight, accuracy, lack of recoil, and being the perfect rifle for a young hunter, I wish I could find another in 38-55.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H&R Handi-Rifle

Date:June 6, 2011
About 6 months ago I bought a H&R Handi-Rifle (SB231) in a 30 caliber. It's not a bright and shinny expensive gun but it does what needs to be done. A single shot but that’s not all that bad. I load cast 120 gr. bullets for it and use a light load. Sure is a lot of fun to shoot! I put a scope on it but only because my old tired eyes don't see what they used to. 1" groups at 50 yards a little bigger at 100 yards. It's my pickup gun. Wouldn't give it up. I give it a 4 only because it doesn't have a lot of spit and polish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nothern,PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good for price

Date:July 15, 2010
I have the .243 version and it shoots terrific only ever had to get it tuned once.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primitive Weapons Approved in LA, MS

Date:January 6, 2010
Bought this for primitive weapons season in Louisiana. Some other states are following suit. Requirement is larger than .38 caliber. Most folks buy .45-70, .444 or .450M. I got the .45-70.
I agree. A muzzleloader with a scope and electronic ignition is not primitive, but a gun invented in 1889 and a round that is 139 years old fired with iron sights is.
I don't believe in scopes on big bore and lever guns. This one is very compact. About 37" total. Real comfortable in the hands and in carry here in the Bayou. Iron sights point perfect and no adjustment was needed.
Shoot remington 405 grain factory loads at 1300 fps and they produce 17.1 ft/lbs of recoil. They are the lightest available recoil factory loads that are non-black powder loads. Not much higher than a .308. I added 1 lb. of lead shot poured into a guitar slide with clear tape wrapped to extend the "tube" and also added a sims slip on recoil pad. This reduced recoil in heaps. This is my favorite gun to shoot and I bring it in lew of my scoped bolt gun often. Even with the lead added to the stock, I have carried this gun from dawn till dusk "swamp stomping". I carried it 8 miles on a two day Florida wild boar hunt through thick hardwood bottoms and it was perfect.
Really easy to clean and you can wax the wood and it is rain proof. Don't buy into the stainless/synthetic hype.
Deadly on hogs and will break a deers shoulder with ease. There is a video of the "slow" remingtons going through a 15" oak tree.
People hand load the .45-70 to high velocity for use with scopes out to 200 yards, but I find that pointless. Animals don't seem to care about the velocity and most of my shots are within 100 yards. I gun hunt sort of bow hunt style and prefer the challenge of getting close shots with this gun or my lever action rossi model 92 copy in .357 magnum (180 grain partition gold) and I can shoot a lower recoiling round into the heart/lung area instead of a power mag round super wildcat hand load into the deers be-hind.
I might buy another one of these in .30-30 for regular gun season and shelve my browning bolt gun, which will only be now used for stand hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money

Date:November 30, 2009
I've got 3 of these NEF's 25-06, 243 and a 223 youth. The two adult rifles shoot sub MOA with factory loads and the 223 is close. The light weight of the youth rifle makes it a little difficult to hold still for that kind of accuracy. I think a heavier stock might make the youth rifle shoot a straight a little easier.
Only complaint would be the trigger. I sent mine in to NEF to have the triggers dropped to the factories minimum which is about 3.5lbs. That made to a very nice crisp trigger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H & R Rifles

Date:August 29, 2013
I have owned several of these and have never had a single problem. Sent one 45-70 in and had extra barrels fitted in 204 Ruger, 308 Win. & .500 S & W. They all shoot great. My 100 lb. daughter hunts with the 308. She's shot 5 pigs and an 8 point buck and has never needed more than the first shot. Forget that these are inexpensive guns. You could spend 4 times their cost and not have a better rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST RIFLE I OWN

Date:July 31, 2013
I bought this rile in the 45-70 about 2 weeks before the H&R factory closed in Gardner,Mass.. I reasoned that the fella who assembled it knew he would be getting laid off and wanted to put some work out that he knew he would be remembered for. It has the best metal to metal and metal to wood fits I have ever seen on firearms or anything else. I closed the door on a Rolls Royce once at a casino I was working at. Closing the breech on this rifle is exactly like that. The blue is perfect as well as the fit and finish on the rest of it. I take very good care of it. I clean it each and every day I take it out. I wait 3 days and clean it again,and wait 3 days and clean it a 3rd time. We learned this in the USAF because crud will work out of the metal.
It fires perfectly on the bullseye at 100 yds.. I have not had to touch the Williams sight on it. I have let 3 other guys fire it one shot because firing the 405 Remington soft point rds. in it is almost a religious experience. It reaches to your shoulder and pushes against it rather than the sharp whack of the recoil of other rifles. I don't like to let others hold or fire it. I'm sorta like my wife was with our newborne daughter. I know others know how to do it,but my baby is special. I still believe they are being built by the new folks. I have heard good remarks on them too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Escalante, UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Gun for the $$

Date:March 4, 2012
This is a great weapon. I have it in .223remington, had a few small problems, the ejector stopped working, firing pin went out on me, and the break open lever rattles. Sent the gun back in, and they sent me a brand new one. Have a Barska 6-24 scope on it and oh my! You have 1 shot, and that is all you need. The gun is heavy with a bull barrel, = no recoil. Can make groups that would make youre head spin shooting hand loads. "Pay head to the man who carries a single-shot rifle, he likely knows how to use it"-dont remember who said it, but for those who want to shoot a long ways and with a little style, buy this rifle!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar City, UT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Favorite Rifles

Date:December 25, 2011
I own 3 of these guns
A 17HMR with Buffalo Classic sights and stock. (Peep sight),
A .223 with a reflex sight
And a 45-70 with buckhorn sights as pictured here.
They are my favorites. Each with a different flavor. If price is considered, they are the finest guns in the world. They are accurate,reliable and dirt cheap. I have other great and more expensive gunes, but the break-open single shot action and the svelte lines make these durn nice to shoot.
As far as minor detractions: Some of these guns have a rattling ejection lever - a simple fix with a spring washer. The first shot of the 45-70 told me that front sling stud must go. I have removed mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great accuracy

Date:June 15, 2010
i got this gun for christmas it ws my first gun i really liked it it was just my size and i got a nikon scope with it and it shoots great not to much kick but it responds with power and accuracy over all its a great gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for H&R Single-Shot Centerfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NEF Handi

Date:December 31, 2009
You definitely get your money's worth with these rifles. They shoot very well and you get excellent customer service through Remington.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.