Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols

RUGER Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols

Ruger’s classic .22 LR pistols. The Mark III pistols are simple, rugged and boast the perfect combination of proven design and reliability.  22/45 pistols have all the smooth-shooting characteristics of the Mark III, but have a grip nearly identical to the familiar 1911. Both designs are great for target shooting or small-game hunting. All have a Ruger-original loaded-chamber indicator and include two 10-round magazines. 10+1 capacity.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
38 out of 45(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Review 1 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good price, cheap to shoot and great for beginners

Date:November 26, 2011
If you are looking for a pistol for plinking or target practice this is an excellent choice. It is cheap to shoot and it feeds a lot of bulk ammo out there. There is very little recoil which gives you great control over rapid firing. The best thing about the low recoil is that it takes away the intimidation factor for beginners. My girlfriend has always been afraid of my larger caliber handguns but didn't hesitate to pick this gun up and now she can't wait to go shooting again. It is also pretty accurate. I managed to make a four inch group at 75 feet. The trigger pull is short, clean and has a crisp break, reminds me of a rifle trigger. Would recommend this to anyone with kids who love to shoot as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 22/45 markIII Lite Aluminum Another winner!!

Date:June 27, 2014
Wow!!!! Bought this beauty today.Super light a just a touch over 20 ounces.Great companion for the 10/22 Ruger Takedown .22 cal rifle.This is a great backpack gun as is the rifle.This gun has a threaded barrel and you can attach a suppressor if you like.It also has an attachment you can install for a sight.I have had lots of 22's over the years and the Mark III line-up is fantastic.I ran about 100 rounds today{i could not wait} and as expected accurate and flawless.It is another in a long line of Ruger firearms that i am proud to say that i own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best .22lr pistol for the money

Date:May 26, 2014
I have a 1951, a 1973 and a 2014 all are excellent guns that have never failed to fire or eject, These guns will eat anything you put into them. Would never but any other .22 pistol for any price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol..!! VERY ACCURATE..!!

Date:December 8, 2013
I bought the 10140 model from Cabela's Hazelwood MO store 12-2-2013. Shot and sighted it in at 25ft. Only had to move rear sight one click to the left. Shoots dime-sized groups at this distance now. Yes at first it is a pain to take apart and clean. Took me about four times to get all the steps in order. But once you know the steps it is easy. Ruger's website has detailed videos on how to take it apart and reassemble the gun. I would recommend this pistol to anyone that is looking for a good 22lr plinker or for short range small game hunting. This pistol shoots the best with CCI Mini-Mag ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger MK II is the standard

Date:November 2, 2013
I have MKII Target and a MKIII Slab-Side. They are the best shooting .22 semi-auto pistols ever. Yes, they are a little difficult to take down and reassemble. But, just read the directions and after a few times, you will get the hang of it.
As for shooting, it eats every thing I put through it. Not a real fan of the sights. I too have had them come loose. A little paint and lock-tight made a world of difference.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Range Practice Gun.

Date:October 23, 2013
I purchased a 10107 at Cabelas about a year ago and have used it as a training tool for large caliber pistols, both revolver and semi-automatic. It will allow you to develop good trigger control and shooting habits. Use the Ruger video site and owners manual for maintenance and be sure to clean after every use. I have had issues with cheap ammo during the shortage but now that the better grade stuff is available again, it seems to work much better. Some minor issues with ejection on soft tip and hollow point ammo but use high velocity stuff and you'll be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Take the time to learn how to assemble

Date:June 12, 2013
I've found this gun quit excellent, after shooting it in 3 different meets placed 2nd twice and 3rd once. Not bad for an old man with bad eyes. As for cleaning once you learn the “secret” cleaning it easier than my basic blot action rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth

Date:June 3, 2013
I purchased the Stainless Mark III to have another 22 to shoot at the range. I put 200 rounds through it Sunday and it was flawless. The trigger pul was amazing and It was sighted in right out of the box. I think I can now sell my other 22 pistol because I don't think I will ever get it out of the range bag again. Used a Utube video to make it easier to clean the first time and to avoid the head aches I kept hearing about. My opinion is this gun is Saaaweeeeet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:June 3, 2013
Had to offer my 2 cents after all the negative reviews. This is a great gun, well built, and shoots great. Used locktite on the front site as it loosened easily. As far as disassembly, its easy. reassembly is easy if you follow directions. I used to clean it all the time. After talking to target shooters, the point of impact changes after about 50 rounds in 22s. so with non corrosive powders unless it jams, why clean it. I haven't cleaned mine in about 10 thousand rounds with brick ammo, and it still functions flawlessly(I wipe off the accessible parts with solvent occasionally). I have the mk3 hunter, love it. everyone who has shot it loves it. Great gun. as far as assembly, if you don't read when to insert the mag and point it vertically, then youll have problems. and that is not a fault of the gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger hits the Mark

Date:May 8, 2013
I just got my Ruger Mark III 22/45 and it is just a Joy to shoot. First thing I did was field strip it out of the box and give it a good cleaning. I am not sure why people are having trouble taking it down, I read the directions and watched one video on YouTube and it was easy. I don’t have a lot of experience with firearms (less than six month) but this was anything other than intimidating. At the range this was very accurate and zeroed in at 21 feet. I was able to keep a one inch group. So far I have sent 400 rounds down range between the wife and myself and have had any misfire. We have only used bulk CCI to date. The wife also found this pistol easy to shoot and has the same experience as me. We would both recommend this to others.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy with this purchase !

Date:January 3, 2013
Great little pistol by Ruger, no complaints at all, though the first time breaking it down to clean was interesting, as others have complained about, but second time went great, no issues at all. I fed it all types of ammo, put a few hundred rounds through it with no issues.
Thank you Ruger, and as always, Thank you Cabelas !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger Mark III 22/45 evil features conquered!

Date:December 31, 2012
I wanted a Ruger MK3 22/45 (Model 10107) mainly because I was spending too much money shooting .45ACP and .40S&W ammo. I finally found one at the Cabela’s in Reno, Nv. I took possession of my 22/45 three days ago, knew I wasn’t going to shoot it before today so I figured I might as well tackle the evil design features I’ve heard so much about.
I read the manual that comes with the gun, watched the videos on Ruger’s website and decided to take it apart and clean the factory gunk off of it. First, the evil pin you hear so much about is actually the bolt stop that is connected to the mainspring housing. Pulling out the mainspring housing was a snap but It took a couple good hits with a mallet and non marring drift punch to get the evil pin out so I could finish field stripping it. After cleaning, I spent an hour and a half trying to put it back together. The problem being getting that pin back in and closing the mainspring housing. After about an hour I managed to get the pin back in but couldn’t get the mainspring housing back where it belonged.
Six Youtube video’s later, about 40 minutes worth, after learning the “secrets” such as what parts (mainly the hammer) need to be where, how that evil pin actually goes back in and what part the magazine and trigger play in getting it back together, I managed to complete the reassembly.
I disassembled and assembled it another few times and figured out how to position the evil pin and mainspring housing to get it back in. After the 3rd time I could remove the evil pin with out a the drift punch and easily put it back in. Yesterday, I took it apart and put it back together with only a slight struggle.
I shot it today for the first time. Great little pistol. The sights were off, a little low and to the left, but easily taken care of with the adjustable sights that were rock solid after I zeroed it in. I shot up 200 rds of Federal Champion brass plated and had no feed or ejection problems. Just to see what would happen, I shot 200 rounds of 35-40 year old Remington Mohawk lead bullets. Except for two duds, the 22/45 function flawlessly. The magazine disconnect made taking the magazine out a pain but after a few times it came out much smoother. If it becomes bothersome, the magazine disconnect can be removed, although it would probably void Ruger’s warranty.
I took the gun apart without needing any tools, except a light tap from a rubber mallet to separate the grip frame from the barrel, cleaned it and put it back together without incident. Just to make sure, I took it apart and put it back together again in less than 5 minutes.
After I was finished I again looked at the manual that came with the gun and found all the info I needed, all the secrets from the video on Ruger's web site and the Youtube videos, is actually in that manual. Unfortunately, it isn’t written in a manner in which the info jumped out at me, but it’s there.
I like puzzles so I didn’t mind what it took to finally figure it out, hence the 5 star rating. I recommend this pistol but only if you have the patience and time needed to figure out how to take it apart and put it back together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE Best Target Pistol

Date:October 23, 2012
I enjoy a good Ruger firearm, and since my youth shooting years all of my rimfire guns were of the Ruger brand. If you want a cheap shooting target pistol, than this is your gun. If you want something to train your son/daughter/beginner shooter, this is your gun. If you want to be able to shoot over 100 yards with a .22 pistol, this is your gun. If you hear negative things about the disassembly of this pistol, no worries, numbers of youtubers have made videos to make the process easier. I think the market lacks a good .22 pistol, because you wont find one better than the Ruger MK series.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Over 2000 rounds and it still shoots smooth

Date:August 2, 2012
Sold my mark 2 about 30 years ago. In May I got the Ruger Mark 3 Target Package. The first 3 times I shot it , my hand was sore from reloading 150-200 rds.. After getting the McFadden Ultimate Clip Loader, I was shooting a whole bulk box of 550 rds per visit. This Ruger is a blast to shoot. You get nice groupings. I love the fact that the sights are adjustable. This pistol is well balanced and fits well into my hand. After getting a Red Dot sight, all of my used paper targets are missing their bull's eye. Go to the Ruger web sight and check out the video's under ,"TEC TIPS" . You get step by step instructions on field striping and cleaning this pistol. Over all I am very happy with this Ruger. It feels great to be shooting again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mk III Hunter

Date:June 7, 2012
I have had the Mark III Hunter now for over 2 years. I have shot over 1,500 rounds of ammo through this gun and only a few times have I had the shells not feed correctly.
I use it for coon hunting as well as on my trapline and it works great!
This gun is very accurate! It is more accurate than the shooter a lot of the time!
I use Blazer ammo and it works flawlessly
Well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Barsness township, mn
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What's all the fuss about

Date:March 18, 2012
I bought a new ruger mark 3 for two reasons. Because I heard they were the most reliable shooting 22 on the market, and because I heard that they were "so difficult" to take apart and reassemble and I love a good challenge. I got home with the gun filled up a clip and shot off all 10 rounds without a problem. I went on u-tube and found a video for disassembly and simply followed the instructions. I will agree that the first time things were a bit stiff, but as can be expected for a new gun. I didn't need a hammer or anything like that. I proceeded to disassemble and reassemble the gun 4 or 5 more times to get the procedure burned into my brain and by the end I thought it went quite easily. Granted I am a block layer and have strong hands, and maybe a 12 year old girl may have more of a problem. But as far as I'm concerned a nice tight fitting gun is better than a sloppy rattle box any day of the week. I really don't understand the people who have such a problem with it. Great gun, recommend it to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St.Charles, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best customer service

Date:March 10, 2012
This was my first purchase of a gun. Mr.Hagan took the extra time to explain the gun. He also explained the ammo that would be best for my circumstances. He really understands what he is selling. He is the only salesman I would consider buying from in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lewiston, ME
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Greatest target gun ever bought

Date:March 4, 2012
The Ruger is the best balanced handgun I have ever purchased. It is extremely comfortable in my hands and my wife's also. The trigger is very smooth which makes it very accurate to shoot. We would highly recommend the Ruger to anybody looking for a great target gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best of the Best

Date:January 27, 2012
I resently purchased my first Ruger Mark111 Hunter. I find it very well made and accurate with some sight adjustments I just love it. I agree with the others about the break down and reassembly, but I just studied the manual and watched Rugers video and had no problem at all. It will take any make ammo I put through it with not one problem.Several members at the range have tried it and just love it . I think I will see more of them at the range.I feel sorry for the guys that can't figure out the assembly as they are loosing out on one fantastic weapon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Rimfire Pistol in the business!!

Date:January 17, 2012
I own 4 different brands of .22lr pistols, and the Ruger Mark III's are the cream of the crop!
The Ruger Mark I, Mark II, and Mark III are far and away the most RELIABLE of any .22lr pistol I have ever used. Regardless of whether you're using premium match ammo, or bulk boxed budget ammo, the Ruger Rimfire pistols WILL deliver.
I purchased my first Mark II in 1999, a stainless standard barrel model. I purchased an original Mark I in 2002, and I then purchased 2 more Mark II's in 2005, a blued bull barrel for rimfire competitions, and a stainless "Government" model. In 2010, my wife and I purchased a pair of Mark III's, hers a "Hunter", and mine a "Competition" #same slab sided barrel as the old "Goverment" model I have, but better sights and grips#. These pistols are absolutely amazing.
These pistols are fantastic. They're reliable, easy to clean, and incredibly accurate. I can feed 500rnds in an afternoon through any one of my Ruger Mark I/II/III's, and they keep smiling and punching holes in the 10ring.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 45