Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols

RUGER Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols

Ruger’s classic .22 LR pistols. The Mark III pistols are simple, rugged and boast the perfect combination of proven design and reliability. 22/45 pistols have all the smooth-shooting characteristics of the Mark III, but have a grip nearly identical to the familiar 1911. Both designs are great for target shooting or small-game hunting. Ruger-original loaded-chamber indicator. Includes two 10-round magazines.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.396 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
43 out of 53(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Review 1 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2011

Good price, cheap to shoot and great for beginners

By
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
If you are looking for a pistol for plinking or target practice this is an excellent choice. It is cheap to shoot and it feeds a lot of bulk ammo out there. There is very little recoil which gives you great control over rapid firing. The best thing about the low recoil is that it takes away the intimidation factor for beginners. My girlfriend has always been afraid of my larger caliber handguns but didn't hesitate to pick this gun up and now she can't wait to go shooting again. It is also pretty accurate. I managed to make a four inch group at 75 feet. The trigger pull is short, clean and has a crisp break, reminds me of a rifle trigger. Would recommend this to anyone with kids who love to shoot as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2016

MK111 Hunter

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Absolutely flawless and will last a lifetime. Don't let mechanically challenged people scare you away because they say it's hard to clean. It's simple to clean if you know the secret.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2015

What a honey of a gun

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The title says it all! Model 10101 blue target MKIII. so little recoil due to weight. Excellent trigger. Great sights. It took a few rounds(40 to 50) to break this weapon in but when it started to run it ran like a champ. After about 100 rounds of break in the next 30 rounds could be covered with a quarter. I was shooting at 15 yards. You will not be disappointed with this gun. Ruger has made winner with this weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2015

Perfect for plinking until....

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I love the feel, accuracy and reliability of this gun. However, after breaking it down to clean, I could not get it back together without significant force. I finally sent it back to Ruger and it came back with some machining work on the handle release ready to fire. Excellent customer service. Makes me think that slight variations lead to one customer saying 'what's the problem' and another reporting nightmare cleanings. In case you are wondering if I am stupid, bad with my hands, or can't use tools, for whatever it's worth, I am a surgeon who shoots a lot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2015

Nice Pistol

By
Was worried about buying this after reading all the reviews that said these guys couldn't take it apart. Not sure what they're talking about. An 8yr old could break it down and it shoots great. Trigger is nice. Only dislike is the rail, has a spot in the middle with no groove so you may have an optic too far forward or to the rear of the rail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2015

Ruger MkIII good and bad

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I really want to like this gun. It shoots accurate, well balanced, a total joy for both my young sons to shoot, but the breakdown/cleaning procedures are a nightmare. LOOK FOR VIDEOS ON BREAKDOWN/CLEANING to clarify what is not clear on the instructions, I spent hours taking this apart. Also be very careful when working the slide on the action, the edges where it closes are sharp and it can open a finger before you realize one was in the way. Cabela's has several other 22 pistols based on a more modern slide action and are easier to take down and clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015

Please, PLEASE get rid of the magazine safety!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Gender: Male
I've had other Ruger .22 autos over the years, both Mark I and 22/45, and I always enjoyed them. I just bought the Mark III 22/45 and, as always, found it reliable and accurate.
Two problems, however are very annoying:
(1) The magazine safety makes dry firing and disassembly a real chore (and yes, dry firing is approved on these guns). The magazine safety is a useless, awkward device that adds nothing to safety but adds boatloads of aggravation.
(2) When a loaded mag is inserted with the bolt locked back, the loaded chamber indicator seems to prevent chambering a round in the proper way; that is, by retracting and releasing the bolt. This encourages the bad habit of using the bolt stop as a slide release, which can lead to an incompletely chambered round, also known as "dead man's gun".
I know some states have placed ridiculous constraints on gun manufacturers, but couldn't they spare the rest of us? I just wish they'd return to the simpler design of yesteryear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2015

Impresive Pistol!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent recreational "plinker". Reasonably priced, fun to shoot! I normally use higher priced CCI mini mags but had allot of bulk cheaper .22 ammo and decided to use some of that up and half expecting frequent jams, etc. This pistol cleanly fired all of that bulk ammo and ejected each with no problems and no jams! Very impressed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2015

Mark lll target stainless 10103

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Out of the box my gun had a misaligned front sight by about 3 degrees clockwise. There is no correcting that because the front sight screw hole is drilled and tapped at that incorrect position.The Rear Sight Base is in a dovetail which is machined at correct alignment for the Grip Frame. In order to get enough windage correction, I loosened the Rear Sight Base Set Screw and drifted the Sight Base to the right, then by adjusting the rear sight all the way to the right I got enough windage adjustment to put the POI on target.
Sharp edges on the bolt cocking wings and their slots in the rear of the receiver(along with all machined edges) had me bleeding so a trip to my gunsmith for de-horning and a lighter Hammer Spring was necessary. Greasing the hammer surface lightens the cocking effort.
A curious soft "click" during trigger take-up was not fixable, but doesn't concern me. A trigger up-grade is on order.
I studied the instruction manual carefully and viewed many on-line tutorials to do disassembly and assembly. No mention of the simple fact that the holes for the bolt stop pin in the grip frame and the receiver MUST align. Check alignment by partially inserting the bolt stop pin from the top before attempting to install the Mainspring Housing Assembly. Patience is the key to learning this procedure. Study the INSTRUCTION MANUAL.
Given all the negatives concerning my gun, I still give it 4 stars because it shoots like a dream and runs like a charm on every high velocity ammo. I seldom disassemble it completely but do clean it after each shooting session. Removing the Barrel from the Grip Frame is not necessary in order to clean the bore from the chamber end.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2014

Ruger 22/45 markIII Lite Aluminum Another winner!!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Wow!!!! Bought this beauty today.Super light a just a touch over 20 ounces.Great companion for the 10/22 Ruger Takedown .22 cal rifle.This is a great backpack gun as is the rifle.This gun has a threaded barrel and you can attach a suppressor if you like.It also has an attachment you can install for a sight.I have had lots of 22's over the years and the Mark III line-up is fantastic.I ran about 100 rounds today{i could not wait} and as expected accurate and flawless.It is another in a long line of Ruger firearms that i am proud to say that i own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2014

Best .22lr pistol for the money

By
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have a 1951, a 1973 and a 2014 all are excellent guns that have never failed to fire or eject, These guns will eat anything you put into them. Would never but any other .22 pistol for any price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2013

Great pistol..!! VERY ACCURATE..!!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the 10140 model from Cabela's Hazelwood MO store 12-2-2013. Shot and sighted it in at 25ft. Only had to move rear sight one click to the left. Shoots dime-sized groups at this distance now. Yes at first it is a pain to take apart and clean. Took me about four times to get all the steps in order. But once you know the steps it is easy. Ruger's website has detailed videos on how to take it apart and reassemble the gun. I would recommend this pistol to anyone that is looking for a good 22lr plinker or for short range small game hunting. This pistol shoots the best with CCI Mini-Mag ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2013

22/45 W/Picatinny Rail Model 10149

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased my Ruger model 10149 on a Friday and was back at Cabela’s on Sunday to return it to the factory. The gun would not shoot more than 3 rounds before jamming, the mags would not eject without the use of a pocket knife to pry them free, and the slide release would sometimes only come have way down which was a bear to get knocked loose. I was informed that this was the third Ruger model 10149 returned in the past 2 days for the same issues. Be very careful with a purchase of this model Ruger until they workout the many bugs. Shooting your new gun should be enjoyable this experience was not!
The service rep at Cabela’s was very helpful with the paperwork to send the gun back to Ruger. As always I give Cabela’s service 5 stars!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2013

Another Ruger Product with a REALLY poor trigger!

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
It appears that the 22/45 has the same REALLY poor trigger that the 10/22 has. 6+ lbs. trigger pull and rough as sandpaper with creep to boot. For what they charge, you would think that Ruger could at least put a reasonably good trigger on their .22 products!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2013

Ruger MK II is the standard

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
I have MKII Target and a MKIII Slab-Side. They are the best shooting .22 semi-auto pistols ever. Yes, they are a little difficult to take down and reassemble. But, just read the directions and after a few times, you will get the hang of it.
As for shooting, it eats every thing I put through it. Not a real fan of the sights. I too have had them come loose. A little paint and lock-tight made a world of difference.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2013

Great Range Practice Gun.

By
Country: United States
I purchased a 10107 at Cabelas about a year ago and have used it as a training tool for large caliber pistols, both revolver and semi-automatic. It will allow you to develop good trigger control and shooting habits. Use the Ruger video site and owners manual for maintenance and be sure to clean after every use. I have had issues with cheap ammo during the shortage but now that the better grade stuff is available again, it seems to work much better. Some minor issues with ejection on soft tip and hollow point ammo but use high velocity stuff and you'll be fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2013

Take the time to learn how to assemble

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've found this gun quit excellent, after shooting it in 3 different meets placed 2nd twice and 3rd once. Not bad for an old man with bad eyes. As for cleaning once you learn the “secret” cleaning it easier than my basic blot action rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2013

Smooth

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the Stainless Mark III to have another 22 to shoot at the range. I put 200 rounds through it Sunday and it was flawless. The trigger pul was amazing and It was sighted in right out of the box. I think I can now sell my other 22 pistol because I don't think I will ever get it out of the range bag again. Used a Utube video to make it easier to clean the first time and to avoid the head aches I kept hearing about. My opinion is this gun is Saaaweeeeet!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2013

Great gun

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Had to offer my 2 cents after all the negative reviews. This is a great gun, well built, and shoots great. Used locktite on the front site as it loosened easily. As far as disassembly, its easy. reassembly is easy if you follow directions. I used to clean it all the time. After talking to target shooters, the point of impact changes after about 50 rounds in 22s. so with non corrosive powders unless it jams, why clean it. I haven't cleaned mine in about 10 thousand rounds with brick ammo, and it still functions flawlessly(I wipe off the accessible parts with solvent occasionally). I have the mk3 hunter, love it. everyone who has shot it loves it. Great gun. as far as assembly, if you don't read when to insert the mag and point it vertically, then youll have problems. and that is not a fault of the gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® Mark III™ and 22/45™ Semiautomatic Rimfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2013

Ruger hits the Mark

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I just got my Ruger Mark III 22/45 and it is just a Joy to shoot. First thing I did was field strip it out of the box and give it a good cleaning. I am not sure why people are having trouble taking it down, I read the directions and watched one video on YouTube and it was easy. I don’t have a lot of experience with firearms (less than six month) but this was anything other than intimidating. At the range this was very accurate and zeroed in at 21 feet. I was able to keep a one inch group. So far I have sent 400 rounds down range between the wife and myself and have had any misfire. We have only used bulk CCI to date. The wife also found this pistol easy to shoot and has the same experience as me. We would both recommend this to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 53