Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

RUGER Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers

Ruger revolvers are renowned for dependability, accuracy and being generally great shooters. All have five-round cylinders unless specified. Available: SP101 - Model 5759: .327 Federal, 3" barrel, satin stainless steel, adjustable sights, black-rubber grips, six-round capacity. SP101 - Model 5718: .357 Magnum, 2-1/4" barrel, stainless steel, fixed sights, black-rubber grips. SP101 - Model 5720: .357 Magnum, hammerless, 2-1/4" barrel, stainless steel, fixed sights, black-rubber grips. SP101 - Model 5771: .357 Magnum, 4-1/4" barrel, rubber grips with hardwood inserts, adjustable rear/fiber optic front sights, five-round capacity. SP101 - Model 5719: .357 Magnum, 3" barrel, stainless steel, fixed sights, black-rubber grips.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Review 1 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Better 38 Special Than 357 Magnum

Date:November 24, 2014
I have many years experience with the SP101 and have found that it works far better as a +P38 Special than a 357 Magnum. My reasons are that:
357s do not develop sufficient velocity out of a 2.25" barrel in comparison to +P38 Specials.
The gun has a 38 Special length ejector and 357s frequently have to be cleared by hand.
The gun works well with 38 Specials in HKS speed loaders, but is more difficult with 357s. I find that Bianchi Speed Strips work best.
The gun is best in 2.25" or 3". The 4.2" is a bit of an odd duck that for some reason does not handle as well as the shorter barrels. I cannot get a good grip on it and have tried after market grips, but it still feels odd. I actually shoot the 2.25" better than te 4.2" at 25 yards. I frankly prefer an old Police Service Six to the SP101 4.2". For concealed carry, the 2.25: double action only is a hands down favorite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SP101 - Model 5718 2.25"

Date:September 29, 2014
Have a number of Ruger revolvers/pistol. Good quality, durable, only 4 stars instead of 5 on this one is due to lousy rear sight that can not be changed out, front sight standard ramp. Don't like them, never have, never will.
Here is my redneck girl solution: painted dot on ramp with white nail polish, used a permanent black marker to fill in rear sight. Now I can easily acquire good sight picture. I know .357 stubbies are for close up shooting, but it's more pleasant to practice with good sights so if time ever comes for defensive shooting muscle memory will kick in. Also changed out stock grip for vintage S&R gold Medallions cherry wood panels with rubber surround. Have a larger hand than most women, so replacement grips fill my hand w/o distracting from classic revolver good looks.
Overall would highly recommend for anyone who likes point & shoot revolver for self defense!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like Butter...

Date:October 29, 2013
This is a great revolver and love the stainless steel. Double action has quiet the trigger pull so accuracy decreases with use of double action. I prefer using hammer to cock back when I am looking for accurate grouping. Cleans up nice. Definitely go with the aftermarket Hogue grips or other upgrade as stock grips get slippery from use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect snub nose revolver.

Date:August 5, 2013
This revolver means business. Period. I bought this for my concealed carry and love it. With the bobbed hammer & 2 1/4" barrel it makes it ideal for C.C. Solid construction. Ruger didn't skimp on the construction of this.357 magnum.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Firearm

Date:July 31, 2013
I have had this gun for quite a while now, and I have to say it is probably my favorite revolver. I purchased the 3" version and have no regrets! It is built like a tank, and can choke down any load you throw in it with ease. I also have another revolver that is similarly built from another company, but I still feel the sp101 is the best bang for your buck!
Do not skip over this pistol, it really is amazing. The feel, the look, and the performance are unmatched.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Solid Pistol

Date:July 16, 2013
I have been looking for a revolver because my lady can't rack the slide on an auto (she broke her hand and now has no strength). I owned a Ruger Security Six back in the 70's and sold it to get a Glock. I wish I had never sold it, Ruger has always made a great revolver and the sp101 is no exception. I ordered the 3" barrel to get a little better distance. The trigger is smooth right out of the box and single action is a dream with this gun. My lady friend has no trouble with the gun either single or double action which is what we were looking for. We put about 80 rounds through the gun (.38 special and .38 special +p) and the gun was flawless. I noticed that the sight pattern that Ruger recommends is different from what I'm used to with my 1911, but at 15 feet they are all in the black. I have a little more difficulty at 50 feet, they tend to be low and left so I need to find where to hold. The folks at Cabela's were very helpful and were able to order a 3" for me, it was in the store in two weeks!
With out a doubt if you are looking for a great revolver this is your answer. Great purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SP-101

Date:June 1, 2013
If you are buying this for concealed carry, see if you can borrow one for a few days as it is considered "too heavy" by many in today's age of super light handguns. But, if you plan to carry this on the belt, and want a gun that is top power and shootable at self defense ranges, I believe this is it. This gun is compact and heavy for its size. If you get a lighter let alone smaller gun, you will have difficulty hitting anything with it especially when you relax your fundamentals in a real situation. In the end, a gun that can be carried by many under a non-tight fitting t-shirt and, even with a two inch barrel, a gun that has the same if not more power than a full sized 1911 45 ACP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME GUN

Date:February 19, 2013
Over 60 years and never holding a hand gun I decided with new laws it was time to invest in a weapon for a sport as well as safety. After much searching and investiagtion I elected to purchase the Ruger SP101 21/4 barrel. I have read the book, cleaned the gun and fired the gun...WHY DID I WAIT 60 YEARS to own this gun! I did use the 38P, was extremely pleased with the mild kick, the feel, weight and size of the gun. This little guy is great, solid and well made especially for the price. My future plans include the purchase of another Ruger! THANK YOU RUGER, well done!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SP101 - AWESOME!!!

Date:January 5, 2013
Had my new Ruger SP101 .357 2.25" barrel to range today for first time. Shot fifty .38, fify .38+P and seven .357 (I only brought 7 loose cartridges), all at 7 yds (21 ft). The gun felt awesome in my hands and I had never had a more pleasurable handgun experience. I could not believe the groups I was shooting with my first snubbie. The recoil from .38 was neglible. .38 +P was extremely managable. I was nervous about letting the .357 mags fly, but too my great surprise NOT HORRIBLE at all as some have written. Only 7 rounds but what have fireddmore if I had the rounds. I am so glad I got a snubbie that can shoot the .357 as well as the 38 ammo. By the way I was using the grips that come with the gun as in the stock photos. At home very easy to clean. Oh man what a gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good buy

Date:October 27, 2012
I owned 3 other Rugers, and really like this one. Built solid, shoots .357 comfortably, .38 are a breeze. I
Have owned two other 2 inch snubbies, couldn't hit squat with them, but with the 3 inch version of this gun, I am much more accurate. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Weapon

Date:October 5, 2012
I reload both 38 and 357's for this gun. I have put well over 2K rounds combined through it. The full load 357's are hard on your hand. They mid loads are easier to handle but would not be recommended for extended periods. This is due to the small grips and light weight of the gun. Aftermarket grips are available that make it easier to handle. It is easy to take down and clean. I have the short barrel version with a hammer and love it. It is is easy to carry due to it's compact size. However, I recommend getting the hammerless version for carry if that is your primary reason for owning this weapon. It is built like a tank and shows no signs of slowing down. I would definitely recommend it to someone thinking of owning a first revolver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 101

Date:April 4, 2012
I now own and love the Ruger SP101 in 357/38. It is good looking, high quality handgun and built strong. You will be delighted owning one of these Rugers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Weapon

Date:March 28, 2012
Have put a box of shells through the pistol and it have never missed fired my wife has shot it and once again she can out shot me with pistols.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best on the market!

Date:March 3, 2012
My wife and I own 4 Ruger SP-101's, two in .357mag, one in .32H&R (discontinued#, and one in .327 Federal. We also own 3 other snub nosed revolvers in the same class: S&W 60 Ladysmith #twice the price#, and two Taurus 85's.
Frankly, the accuracy of the Ruger SP-101's supercedes that of any snubnosed revolver on the market, as well as the durability/reliability, and the apparent quality. The fit and finish is actually better than the more expensive S&W #especially on my wife's Limited Edition Engraved SP-101#.
At 20yrds, I can punch cloverleaf 5 shot groups in under 10sec with any one of our SP-101's.
I carry mine IWB SOB about 100 days out of a year #about 1/2 of my total carry).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SP-101 - You won't be sorry!

Date:February 18, 2012
I have 2 of these - 3-inch barrel with external hammer, and 2.25-inch barrel with internal hammer. As Rugers, these revolvers are sharp-looking & built like tanks. Shooting .357 mag ammo is more pleasant after replacing factory grips (which themselves are excellent) with bulkier Hogue grips.
These are not a pocket guns due to size & weight, but excellent choices for holster carry & home defense. Smooth triggers - very accurate - just plain fun to shoot. Need to grab one handgun & head for the hills? Take an SP-101 & a box of +P hollow points. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough as nails

Date:February 17, 2012
Typical of Ruger products you get a quality firearm at a good price. Most of you already know this but if you buy the .357 you can load and shoot the lighter .38 all day long. I would recommend the 3" model because it gives you a little extra weight forward. The only down side is finding a holster for it, but there are plenty for the 2 1/4. Tough as nails and you would be hard pressed to wear it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thumb Area, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SP101 .357 Magnum 3"

Date:February 11, 2012
I couldn't believe the tight pattern that I was shooting right out of box. It was like an extension of my body. Love carrying it, and I love shooting it!! This beats the 1 7/8" to 2" barrels all day long for consistent accuracy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Horry, SC
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:November 26, 2011
I compete with friends, for fun, in target shooting from 15 ft, and always come out the winner, I'm probably the best shooter of the lot, and the only one that has the Ruger, the other guy's revolvers no type info, but I'm sure it has alot to do with my Ruger..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine Gun and great value

Date:August 31, 2011
Well made and tough as nails. I did put a set of Crimson Trace laser sights on it. I also had a trigger job done to it. I did not deduct from the 5 stars for the trigger work because that was my decision and all my handguns have had work done on them to suite me. Good gun go buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® SP101® Double-Action Centerfire Revolvers
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger SP101 .357 Mag with Crimson Trace® Lasergrip

Date:January 23, 2011
If you fire this gun, You will own this gun. Hands down, the best .357 mag on the market today. This Ruger is built like a tank, and can handle any .357 magnum rounds, to the .38 special+p without a hiccup.
My wife wanted a conceal weapon, and after a lot of research and trial and error the .380 was not her weapon of choice. She fell in love with the Ruger SP101. The weight and recoil is easy to get used to, she carries it daily.
When I don't carry my Beretta 96A1, I have the Ruger with me. A sweet gun. Going to buy the .44 mag here soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23