Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols

RUGER Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols

Single/double-action P-series pistols feature a rugged, reliable barrel lug that locks into the large side-ejection port. Recoil-operated, they have a Browning-style tilt-barrel action. Fixed sights. Ambidextrous manual safety. Available: P95™ Blue: 9mm Luger. Features blued slide and frame with bottom Picatinny accessory rail, synthetic grips and fixed sights. 15+1 capacity. Includes two magazines. P95™ Stainless: 9mm Luger. Features stainless slide and black frame with bottom Picatinny accessory rail, synthetic grips and fixed sights. 15+1 capacity. Includes two magazines.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
56 out of 60(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Review 21 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013

P-95 GREAT PISTOL

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I don't think you can purchase a better 9mm pistol for under 400 bucks. Purchase this pistol.... I'm happy with mine!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

P95 Best Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This was my first gun I bought. Love it, I put over 5000 rounds through it in a year with no problems. Great grip, accurate, shoots everything, and easy to clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012

Ruger Seimi-Autos

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I own a .45, (P-90), & 2-9mm's (P-95). I love all of them and I am a loyal customer of Ruger because of the overall quality of a well-built firearm that is still affordable.
I noticed S&W have Plastic Plungers for their recoil springs and a number of other brands as well that I will not name.
Quality, Affordability and tried and true USA craftsman's ship have me won over again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2012

Great guns

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I had a P-85 years ago and it was stolen. I was heart broken as it was my first handgun. A few years later I bought a .45 P-90 and I love it. The P-85 was super accurate as is the P-90. I put thousands of rounds through both and never had a jam. They shoot all types of ammo and are as accurate as any high end 1911s I've ever shot. My collection will soon have another P-series added to it. Great weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

One of my best purchases

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It's everything I expected out of A Ruger. It shoots fantastic and very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2012

P 95 - 9 mm rear sight adjustment

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
No one likes having to send a brand new firearm back to the manufacturer for repairs but if you have to, Cabela’s and Ruger make it a very pleasant experience.
I recently purchased a new P95 9mm pistol from Cabela’s. It’s well balanced, weighs just 35 ounces including the full clip, zero problems firing several brands of ammo, the trigger breaks at exactly 9 lb. but is so smooth it feels like only 6 or 7, and it grouped well at 40 feet though impacting right of the bull, thus the problem. The rear sight is supposed to be adjustable for windage, but on my pistol the rear sight was totally immovable, it would not budge.
I took it back to Cabela’s and they handled everything for me. They immediately sent it back to Ruger for repair and Ruger had it back to the store in exactly 3 weeks. The rear sight now adjusts perfectly, a slight backing out of the set screw and the sight slides smoothly in the dovetail. Ruger even included an extra magazine when they shipped it back, all packed in a new Ruger hard storage box.
This won’t be my last Ruger, nor will it be my last one from Cabela’s either. A+ service from both companies. Many thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2012

P345

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've had the P345 for about 2 years now. Excellent shooter, very accurate. It has shot every brand of ammo I've sent through it without a hiccup. I just purchased the SR1911. Haven't had it to the range yet.
The P345 is a keeper though.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Came back to a P95

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
A few years ago, I purchased a blued P95. The firearms bug bit me, and I traded it for a different firearm. I didn't realize what I had until it was gone.
Let's face it. The P95 isn't the most visually attractive firearm. The P95 does not have all the exterior bells and whistles of other firearms. It has one grip size. The safety makes the slide wider than other firearms of the same size. This is why I traded it away. I figured that a more expensive foreign brands had to be better.
I was wrong.
I bought other DA/SA, hammer fired semi-auto 9mm handguns. When firing them, I'd always compare it to my old P95. The P95 always came out on top, and is 1/2 the cost of the brand name imports.
The P95 may be an ugly duckling, but its not the appearance that is important. Feel in hand is excellent. Controls are in the right places & easy to use . The trigger gets better as it wears in.
The P95 is the only handgun I regret selling. I rectified my mistake with a purchase of a P95 stainless. I'm keeping this one for the rest of my life.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

Solid gun for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this gun for my first handgun. I had a rifle and a shotgun prior to this and wanted something to ease me into the handgun market. I wanted something cheaper that I wouldn't feel bad about mistreating and from all the reviews I read of this gun it was solid. Some people went as far as to say it's the handgun version of the AK-47. Not very expensive, not the most accurate, high tech gun out there but a very solid gun. It's built like a tank and shoots great. I've run about 1000 rounds through it at this point and I have yet to have a hang up on the gun firing multiple types of fairly cheap ammo.
Furthermore, since it's a pretty large gun it makes it really easy to clean, take apart and operate. Great for a beginner. The size also makes for a pretty comfortable shooting gun- not a ton of recoil.
The decocker is great. I'm a guy who likes the peace of mind of a safety and the decocker allows you to take it out of single action without manually lowering the hammer.
The drawbacks are that it's pretty big and heavy. I wouldn't recommend this as a carry gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2012

Great First Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
After much research, I finally broke down and purchased a pistol for home defense and target practice. The P95 9mm with 15 round mag was a great choice. Very good accuracy and no malfunctions using various loads and brands. Easy to break down, clean and reassemble. If you are a first time pistol buyer looking for a top notch 9mm at a decent price, you can't go wrong with the P95 Ruger. I now have peace-of-mind stashed in my nightstand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2012

Great bang for the buck

By
I have used the P95 stainless for the past 2 years without a hitch. It is a workhorse. It takes any ammo I have run through it, without a hickup. It is a little chunky for conceled carry. I added a Hogue slipon rubber grip and it improved handling considerably. It's easy to strip down and clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2012

Love this gun

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Love this gun so far! I got it out to the range put about 100 or so rounds through it with no problems. It's easy to take apart and clean and it came with an extra magazine. Cant go wrong with a Ruger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2012

first 9mm is a keeper

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
out of the box dead on accurate. little on the chunky side but fits well in my hand which by the way is a bit on the smaller side. slide is easy to rack and has a great trigger pull and reset. love this gun!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Ruger hand Gun

By
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have only fired about 200 rounds. I like the triger pull my other hand gun is a 22 cal target hand gun and I wanted a 9mm with light triger. The Ruger is not as light as the 22 but is clean and crisp. i also like the way the Ruger feels in my hand and find it easy to point and aim.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2012

My first 9mm

By
Location: Portage, IN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have been shooting for 3 months. I got a U22 Neos first, got the hang of that gun in no time and now im hooked. Needed something with more power. Great reviews and price is why I got it. No regrets, easy to field strip and clean, accurate, no failures. This gun has been flawless for my first 500 rds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2012

Nice Gun and Price

By
Location: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I got the plain basic blued P95 in 9mm. This is my first non-rimfire handgun and I am very happy with it and pleased with the price. Performed very nice with no jams and is very light weight. The rounds took some effort to load but that is normal with brand new clips. Overall very happy with the quality and price and is an excellent handgun for someone who wants a basic no frills pistol at a great price from a very reputable company like Ruger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2012

Best Way to purchase a gun

By
Location: Mossyrock,WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
My husband and myself recent purchased a 9mm Ruger handgun from Cabela's. We selected the gun on-line that we wanted, called the 1800 phone number. The person at the 1800 number was informative and helpful. She lets us know that the store would call us within 72 hours. We were called later that day, the gun was available in the Lacey store. It would be available for our review. The next day we went to the store. Again, the personnel in the store were helpful and we purchased the gun. This has been a most pleasant experience and is the only way to purchase a weapon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2012

very pleased so far

By
I just bought the stainless P95 a couple days ago. I've put 200 rounds through it and have had the usual jams here and there while breaking it in. The breakdown is pretty easy (looked it up on youtube). It's my first handgun other than a .22 and I'm impressed on how accurate it has been right out of the box. I would definitely recommend this gun for those of you looking for a cheaper 9mm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

I love this pistol

By
If you are looking for a reliable pistol but do not wish to spend a fortune, the Ruger P95PR is the bargain you have been waiting for. This pistol works flawlesly, is very accurate and gives little recoil. The magazine holds 15 rounds and never jams. It is easy to clean and maintain. It is a bit too big for concealment but is perfect for home protection. I recommend this pistol without reservations.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Ruger P-Series Semiautomatic Centerfire Pistols
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Terrific Weapon

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought the P95 for myself back in October. I've been .through around 500 rounds and love it. Light, On target and fast.
Great Bang for the Buck, highly recommended
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 60