Customer Reviews for RUGER Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

RUGER Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles

Ruger’s 10/22 .22-cal. Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles are America’s favorite. With proven performance, they’re ideally suited for informal target shooting, plinking, small-game hunting and action-shooting events. Detachable rotary magazine is renowned for its reliability. Hammer-forged, alloy-steel barrel is durable for long-lasting use. Polymer trigger housing and aluminum receiver. Push-button manual safety. Priced right making Ruger’s tradition of excellence affordable. Available: 10/22 Carbine – Open rifle sights. Gold bead front sight with adjustable rear sight. Contoured butt pad for comfortable shooting. Comes with one 10-round BX-1 rotary magazine. Black synthetic or hardwood stock. 10/22 I-TAC – All the reliable features that come standard with the 10/22 series and then some. Folding, six-position ATI stock can be positioned how you want it, no matter the situation, and it folds for easy transport. Threaded barrel with flash supressor. Comes with one 25-round BX-25 rotary magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
75 out of 77(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Review 1 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane Wa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 10-22

Date:January 11, 2012
This gun is undoubtably the nicest .22 rifle avaiable to the general working man. It is spot on at 50 yds with the hard sights and with a good scope you can achieve near same hole accuracy. This gun must be one of the most accesorised guns available. It is a great shooter out of the box...or whatever you turn it into.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plan on some tune ups.

Date:November 2, 2014
Had to do upgrades. Volequartsen hammer, so the trigger wouldn't feel like I was pulling on a wrench, Volequartsen extractor so it wouldn't stovepipe, pistol grip stock because the bend in my wrist was weird, only three fingers on the checkered hand grip, and the length of pull was short, a scope because although I liked the iron sights (except for the fact that the front dovetail was loose and I had to superglue it) they were a blur because of my aging eyes, a problem the scope fixed, and trouble with the BX 25 mag, which left the rounds nose downward so they would not feed, but stayed stuck in the mag, if it was loaded more than 20 or so, but a sanded down .22 SPENT cartridge inserted as a bearing in the wheel the spring is wound around (a fix I found on the internet) helped, and I think with some breaking in the mag will work out OK, but when it runs, it's a fun rifle.
It's easy to clean and runs OK dirty when it's tuned in. If you don't mind spending a little (or maybe a lot) extra...yeah, it can be part of the fun, but put more into it than I first planned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome rifle

Date:October 7, 2014
Love this rifle it was my first gun that I ever bought and im so glad that I did because this rifle is a trooper, it is very lightweight, my only problem is that it gets super hot on the barrel but I have killed hundreds of squirrel with this gun and I greatly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice plinker

Date:March 1, 2014
Purchased this gun to go with my Mark I pistol, I am very happy with this gun I have had it about 6 years now. I recently have put a Vortex scope on it and it has been very reliable and fun addition to my collection. I don't know if it is as accurate as my old Remington bolt action but it is close. I have two aftermarket 25 round magazines that required a little filing around the lip but they work flawlessly now. Many things you can do to modify this rifle, I don't think you can go wrong with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great!

Date:December 23, 2013
This is my first .22 rifle. I've taken it to the range a couple of time and put at least 700 rounds through it so far. I have to admit, I was expecting it to jam but it fed and ejected beautifully. Sights were spot on out of the box. Magazine is very easy to load. I might even sell my .22 revolver because I expect I will only be interested in plinking with this rifle. Great purchase, I would definitely recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best .22 Rifle

Date:December 12, 2013
This was the first gun I purchased to start my collection. Now I have two of them. I would say this is the best first rifle for anyone. They are easy to shoot and break down for cleaning and not too heavy for a kid to use. You can get almost any accessory you can think of and it eats up any ammo without issues. I recommend the new BX25 magazine from Ruger. They are flawless and don't misfeed like some of the aftermarket ones do. The price has gone up over the years, but it is still the best rifle for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10/22 Carbine

Date:November 17, 2013
I purchased this 10/22 Carbine somewhere back around 1966 and I have never had a problem with it. Since then I have shot an awful lot of squirrels with it, with and without the scope. A lot of them from the bathroom window using CB Shorts. Using the shorts you have to feed them one at a time, but still very accurate. Bushy tail rats make a very good stew, just don't tell the Mrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger10/22

Date:August 20, 2013
I own several models. Carbine and take downs. They work and work well. If you want a semi auto .22, this one is hard to beat for the money. The design has not changed in years because it is simple, reliable and easy to work with. You can never go wrong with a Ruger 10/22.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 10-22

Date:August 19, 2013
I bought this gun a few days ago and took it out today and shot it. I was looking for a new squirrel hunting gun and this is not it because the accuracy is simply not there. I used 7 types of ammo and CCI Blazer was the only one that would produce a group at 25 yards that was almost tight enough to utilize to hunt squirrel. I gave it 3 stars because it always fires and feeds anything.
With that said, if you are looking for a very accurate 22 for hunting buy a Marlin. Every Marlin I shot will outshoot any other 22. I recommend a Model 60 because I have put 19 rounds in a 3/8 inch hole at 25 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best .22 rifle ever made!!

Date:July 24, 2013
I own a few of these and there is not much else to say except... "errabody need a 10-22!!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok needs some work

Date:June 20, 2013
After 200 rounds still gets jamed up not all the time it could be the rounds that I am using they are about 10 yrs old if not older .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ruger 10/22 takedown scope trouble

Date:June 15, 2013
I loved my new takedown until I put the scope on it. Now, the base is too high and covers the iron sights up. You can't put the butt/receiver in the case with the scope and I had a terrible time sighting the gun in. I finally got the adjustment ring tight enough that I could just barely put the gun together and it shot pretty well. Try to repeat the process and you better have 50 rounds of ammo to sight in again. I think Ruger and Cabelas would have been better off deleting the scope provision from this gun. I'm taking the scope and mount off so I have a reliable weapon. Oh, the stock plug in the pistol grip fell out on the first shot, wasn't glued in well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ruger 10/22 Take Down

Date:April 10, 2013
Very good rifle. Very hard to find these days.
Pros:
1. Packs easily.
2. Assembles in the dark easily.
3. Uses most brands of .22lr ammunition: Only one so far it does not like is the PMC Standard Velocity .22lr.
Cons:
1.The Synth stock is not adjustable for length of pull. It is one size fits all and is hard for my 8 year old son to shoot well and a is a little too short for me.
2. It needs an automatic bolt hold open after last shot. The fiddling around with the bolt hold open is just not good.
3. The stock should have mold cut outs to hold extra 10 shot magazines and/or the inside of the stock should be able to hold items such as a knife, fire starting, cordage, cover (plastic bag) and extra ammo.
4. New barrels cannot be ordered for the take down model yet from Ruger.
5. Take the bright red logo off the padded storage case, this acts as a advertisment of what is in the bag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Gun, Quality that will last.

Date:March 6, 2013
When my grandfather passed, we were going through his belongings and found the 10/22 carbine he had given my father as a kid in the early 70's. My father gave it to me. 12 more years and thousands of rounds later, it still fires flawlessly and accurately. If you are looking for a reliable semiauto plinker, you need look no further than the 10/22. It will reliably serve you and your kids for decades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10/22 rugar

Date:January 25, 2013
I got this gun last year, installed a bull barrell, and a few other tricks, now it's a tack driver with 2" grouping at over 100 yds, fun and cheep to shoot get one you won't be dissapointed
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun - very reliable, very accurate

Date:January 24, 2013
I recently purchased the 10/22 I-Tac tactical version rifle at my local Cabela's. I have taken it to the range twice and put about 350 rounds through it. It jammed once when I put one-too-many bullets in the BX-25 magazine by accident, but beyond that, has performed perfectly.
I'm giving it 5 stars because it is an excellent gun that has really worked well, is easy to aim and it shoots exactly where I aim it. I think the gun deserves it. That said, I did initially struggle with this gun but here's why:
This is my first real gun - I've shot BB guns but that's about it. I wanted to ease into firearms with a smaller caliber before buying a high-powered rifle. This gun feels great, the adjustable stock is very light and comfortable to hold.
Being new at this, I didn't think to look (don't laugh!) at the gun to see whether there were iron sights when I bought it. Yeah... there are no iron sights on the I-Tac version, unlike most of the other versions of the 10/22. So that was an expense I didn't expect. A decent set of iron sights that fit on a rail (there's no place for a sight on the barrel) runs around $100-200. You can buy airsoft sights that may work, but they are hard to find separate from an airsoft gun.
The I-Tac version comes with one BX-25 magazine, an instruction book, a gun lock with a doodad to lock the chamber open, and three rails.
One rail fits to the receiver with four screws. It's reversible with a loop scope side for an elevated scope mount and a Weaver style rail on the other side. I put that rail on the receiver with the Weaver side up, and put a cheap Aim Sports red dot reflex sight on it. I believe the sight is for airsoft, but it has worked beautifully and kept its zero so far. Installing the sight on the Weaver rail was super easy.
The other rails are supposed to somehow fit to the forward end of the stock, on the top. Unfortunately, installing one onto the top gets trickier. I had to find a hex screwdriver that would unscrew the top part of the forward stock and then remove the plastic place-holder where the rail is supposed to go. Once I got it back together, I realized that the gun didn't come with additional screws for that front top rail, so that was a short trip to the hardware store. I felt a little bit like I'd bought an erector set in the shape of a gun, but it was a fun adventure. I feel a lot more comfortable taking apart the gun now.
I purchased a Magpul AFG2 for my forward grip and that has really helped both me and my petite girlfriend (also a new gun owner) aim the rifle more comfortably as it allows your support hand to angle forward ergonomically and pull the rifle back into your shoulder for a more secure and stable shot.
Once I got the dot sighted in, the rifle was very accurate out to about 15 yards, which is where I wanted to start out. I need to re-sight it for 25 on my next trip to the range, but for now, it works great. With a higher power magnified scope, I expect it will be a great long-distance plinker. I'm really enjoying the 10/22, it has been a positive learning experience for me and my girlfriend really likes the rifle too. As a beginning shooter, I feel really comfortable learning with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The one gun I never considered trading or selling.

Date:January 22, 2013
My dad gave me a Ruger 10/22 carbine for Christmas, 1965. At first I was disappointed since I had never heard of Ruger; I wanted a Winchester or Remington. He explained that it had much in common with the M1 carbine he carried in WW 2 in Europe and that Ruger built an excellent rifle. Dad chose wisely. In the 46 years I have owned it I have traded or sold many rifles and pistols but never once considered selling my Ruger 10/22. Buy one, enjoy it and pass it on to an heir.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ruger 10/22 Takedown Rifle

Date:January 5, 2013
Just picked up my Ruger 10/22 takedown. What a great rifle. It shoots great. Comes apart easy. I read that after firing it was hard to take apart so I used high temp. nickle non seize grease on the barrel that slides into the receiver. After shooting 200 rounds, the barrel was hot, it came right apart. Would recommend anyone buying a 22 to look at this one. Cabela's had the best price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent after Minor Upgrades

Date:December 12, 2012
This is my first rifle that I've owned, but not the first one I've operated. I was looking for something reliable that was inexpensive to shoot. The Ruger 10/22 Takedown fit the bill perfectly. The case is an awesome edition, making it easy to transport. After getting annoyed by several jams, I upgraded the extractor to the Volquartsen and added the automatic bolt release as well. Shoots like a dream and the jams are gone. Added a scope and a couple of BX25 magazines. Inexpensive and fun. I put 50 rounds through a target the size of a golf ball at 25 yards. The 50 yard range is next. Love it. I think my brother wants one now!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruger® 10/22® .22 LR Semiautomatic Rimfire Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple is better

Date:December 11, 2012
Excellent rifle, got the carbine version, taken it out plenty now. Never has jammed. Very accurate with all ammo, lightweight and durrable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 77