Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns

WINCHESTER Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns

The bold new look of the Super X3 is more than just aesthetic. The stock, grip and forearm dimensions are slimmer for a lighter, more controlled feel. An alloy magazine tube and recoil spring system reduces weight by 1/2 lb. A new lightweight barrel further reduces weight with a narrow profile and a machined rib. .742" Back-Bored Technology balances shot uniformity and velocity. The new gunmetal grey Perma-Cote™ UT (Ultra Tough) finish is more durable than traditional blueing and protects against corrosion. Self-adjusting Active Valve ensures speed, recoil reduction and durability in all conditions. It’s capable of firing five rounds in about 1/2 second. The Super X3 mechanism has undergone tests where 5,000 rounds were fired without a single malfunction. Available: Super X3 Composite – A model preferred by many hunters because of its tough stock and forearm, trim dimensions and perfect balance. Dura-Touch Armor coating provides a sure grip in wet weather. A gunmetal-gray Perma-Cote UT finish is applied to external metal surfaces for extreme corrosion protection. The bolt is plated with electroless nickel for reduced friction and added corrosion resistance. An Inflex Technology recoil pad reduces felt recoil as much as 50% over that of inertia-operated autoloaders for faster follow-up shots and prolonged shooting comfort. Includes three Invector-Plus choke tubes (Full, Modified and Improved Cylinder), two length-of-pull stock spacers, drop and cast adjustment spacers and sling swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Winchester SX3 Waterfowl

Date:March 10, 2010
Have shot mine for 2 years now, about 300 3" and 3 1/2" mags per season, another 1000 trap loads. Cycles all loads without problems in all weather. Only malfunctions I have had were operator error where I didn't have the barrel locknut on the forearm screwed down all the way. Both issues happened on the first shot after cleaning, so I know I was the problem. I've been diligent since, no issues. Love the light weight, easy to make the long haul out to the pit compared to my old 1100. Adjustable fit, swings nicely (28" barrel) but also points quick for upland game hunting. Extremely light recoil compared to other autos I've tested or owned. I don't notice 3" duck loads at all, barely notice 3 1/2s. Camo is starting to show some wear and discoloration where my hand hold the gun. I noticed this after some extended trap shooting activities so it may have something to do with hand oils or powder residues. I have light corrosion on the sling mounts, likely due to my lack of cleaning them thoroughly after every hunt. Casualties of hunting the salt marsh in Utah. I clean it after every other hunt, wipedown with oil after every hunt. This gun gets used, not a showpiece.
Best traits are fit, reliability, weight, low (no) recoil, easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ergonomics

Date:October 14, 2010
I finally decided to buy a 3 1/2" gun and I settled on the SX3 after shouldering the other guns that are supposed to be more reliable. I'm only 5' 6" tall so I have a problem with the long length of pull on many guns. This gun felt good and I really liked the balance with the alloy receiver. I was concerned about the recoil with the big shells in such a light gun but no more worries. It kicks less than shooting 3" shells out of a pump gun. Now I won't have to switch to my O/U shotgun when I get done with goose hunting and go after pheasants on the same property. I wish Winchester would put a TRU-GLOW front sight on the gun though. I have them on all my other shotguns and I like them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

low brass jamming

Date:October 30, 2010
i baught a sx2 and it jammed when the guy who sold it to me said it wold shoot low brass fine it didnt start cycling tell about 200 round my remington 1187 is a much better gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased

Date:November 1, 2010
This is the first auto loader I've owned so I have nothing to compare it to. However, I did some extensive research before purchasing and I'm very satisfied with my choice. I purchased the gun for skeet shooting and duck hunting. First day in the field I fired 42 shots through it with no issues. The gun is very reliable and durable. Every time I pull the trigger she shoots! Bang! Bang! Bang!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa,IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Are you a hardcore waterfowler

Date:November 9, 2010
If you are a hardcore waterfowl, this gun has your name on it, mines been through water mud she keeps on making the birds fall like rain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best "bang" for your buck

Date:December 8, 2010
I had an SX2 that I bought off a budy that shot it alot. I used it for two years and loved it. I traded for an SX3 because of the killer looks and the reliability of my SX2. I have cycled lots and lots of 2 3/4" shells through both these guns hunting pheasants here in SD and have yet to encounter a problem even with very minimal cleaning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CAN'T STOP IT!

Date:January 18, 2011
I have the SX3 3.5 28" shadow gray. I have spent the last year trying to get this gun to jam. I have shot in every condition possible, from hot September dove hunts to cold (-10 F) January jump shooting ducks without cleaning it once! It will cycle everything, every time. Light field loads (1oz), reloads (various loads) to 3.5" goose shells with no problem what so ever. This gun is light with manageable recoil, and natural feel to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wichita, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Automatic Limits

Date:February 7, 2011
Best purchase I have ever made!! I have been hammering geese with this gun since the day I bought it. Havent had any issues at all. I bought a black cloud choke to go with it and the combo is an instant limit during any season. I cant wait to get a gobbler in front of this bad boy this spring
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun but no Accesssories

Date:February 13, 2011
Have owned the Battleship Grey SX3 for over a year. Fired everything from the lightest target loads to the 3-1/2" Magnums for Turkey and Goose. It works flawlessly.
Would have rated it 5 Stars, but there are no accessories available for it either from Winchester or the Aftermarket.
Additionally, none of the Large Retail Outfitters that sell the gun carry the Accessory barrels (which are overpriced on Wichester's Website) either in store or online.
Plus, unless there has been a recent policy change, the Turkey barrel is not offered as an accessory.
Bottom line is if you are looking for One Shotgun with specific barrels for specific game or perhaps a replacement stock or so, this is not it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, UT
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Killer

Date:March 10, 2011
I took my Winchester SX3 out to Missouri last week on a snow goose hunt and the geese didn't know what hit them. The gun cycled the 3" mag shells without a problem, and the recoil was very minimal. We had rain, wind, freezing temps, sun and the gun performed perfectly. I highly recommend this gun to anyone that wants a fast cycling, low recoil, and flawless operating gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wallingford, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Semi-Auto

Date:March 26, 2011
I purchased a X3 composite to be my workhorse gun for turkey, pheasant and ducks. I got out to the range today and it met all my expectations. It cycled 2 3/4, 3, 3 1/2 shells flawlessly. I can't believe how fast it fires. It is a perfect weight and fits nicely to my body. I am looking forward to using it for CT turkey season in a few weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SUPER X3

Date:April 9, 2011
I have had this gun for a year and a half and love it. never had any issues with it what so ever. I only clean my gun at the end of the seasons and never had any issues. I use for Pheasant, Ducks, Geese and Trap so alot of different loads Low and High Brass and never jam. I guess the only issue is I go through to much ammo. I also have an 11-87 and the weight for walking fields and in mud is nice. The only I would change is Winchester needs to provide more accessories for this gun. In my opinion its a must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alton, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great all purpose bird gun!

Date:July 15, 2011
I've very recently gotten into shot gunning and migratory bird hunting. In April 2011 I purchased a Super X 3 3.5 inch 28 inch composite shotgun and have already put close to 700 rounds through this gun with little to no complaints. I would highly recommend this gun for anyone looking for a great all around gun. I have had maybe 3 shells "jam" in those 700 rounds. I can honestly say that at least 2 of those shells were operator error when loading them into the gun and may have even been just bad shells themselves. I have put mostly 2 3/4 inch shells through it one box of 3 inch waterfowl loads and a handful of 3.5 inch loads. This gun handles em all! Even the 7/8oz dove/target loads cycle fine. Can't wait till September to hit the dove fields and the duck blind a little later!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quebec, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful gun

Date:August 12, 2011
I bought an SX3 waterfowl. Shoots everything from target load to 3 1/2 turkey load. Easy to clean. Recommended 100%
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific Gun!

Date:November 2, 2011
I picked up an SX3 black shadow the other day and it is great! I got the 3 1/2 in. version and was a little concerned with lighter 2 3/4 loads. It cycled 7/8 oz. target loads with ease! I tried about 5 different loads and all were fine. I had a few shells hang on ejection but I attribute that more to just needing to be broken in a little better.
I put 125 rounds through it that first day with very little fatigue. Its a soft shooter. I did make the mistake of not getting the butt deep enough into my shoulder pocket a few times and that area is now a little sore. Can't blame the gun for that though.
All in all, this is a great gun. I mildly wish I would've bought the Composite, but oh well. The money I saved will by a lot of shells!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gibbstown NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester sx3 black shadow

Date:November 10, 2011
Great reliable light gun to use for deer hunting and so on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waverly, Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super X 3 Waterfowler

Date:February 24, 2012
I've had mine 3 yrs now. I waterfowl hunt a great deal in all kinds of weather.I've not had a single malfunction with this gun. I even hunt doves with 1 1/8 once loads.Handles them with no problem. This is the most dependable and comfortable shot gun I've ever purchased. You won't believe the recoil reduction,especially with 3 1/2 in loads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommend without a doubt

Date:July 27, 2012
this gun does it all if your looking to shot clays black birds pheasant duck or geese youve found your gun period
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun!

Date:August 26, 2012
I bought this gun a year ago and have shot ducks, geese, pheasant with it in a variety of conditions. The gun fires flawlessly evertime. I have not had one jam since I bought it and have probably fired at least 500 rounds through it. I take it apart and clean it after each use as you should with any semi auto.
I hunt with friends who shoot guns that were $500 more and up. I dont see how any one of them is worth $500 more than this gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shotgun

Date:December 8, 2012
I purchased my SX3 last year and have used it duck hunting, trap & skeet shooting. It mounts and swings very well for myself. Has cycled heavy steel.shot loads and lighter loads without any issues. I had used a Winchester 1300 pump for 20 years with no problems and have handed it down to my son & sure I will be getting alot years using the SX3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29