Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns

WINCHESTER Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns

The bold new look of the Super X3 is more than just aesthetic. The stock, grip and forearm dimensions are slimmer for a lighter, more controlled feel. An alloy magazine tube and recoil spring system reduces weight by 1/2 lb. A new lightweight barrel further reduces weight with a narrow profile and a machined rib. .742" Back-Bored Technology balances shot uniformity and velocity. The new gunmetal grey Perma-Cote™ UT (Ultra Tough) finish is more durable than traditional blueing and protects against corrosion. Self-adjusting Active Valve ensures speed, recoil reduction and durability in all conditions. It’s capable of firing five rounds in about 1/2 second. The Super X3 mechanism has undergone tests where 5,000 rounds were fired without a single malfunction. Available: Super X3 Composite – A model preferred by many hunters because of its tough stock and forearm, trim dimensions and perfect balance. Dura-Touch Armor coating provides a sure grip in wet weather. A gunmetal-gray Perma-Cote UT finish is applied to external metal surfaces for extreme corrosion protection. The bolt is plated with electroless nickel for reduced friction and added corrosion resistance. An Inflex Technology recoil pad reduces felt recoil as much as 50% over that of inertia-operated autoloaders for faster follow-up shots and prolonged shooting comfort. Includes three Invector-Plus choke tubes (Full, Modified and Improved Cylinder), two length-of-pull stock spacers, drop and cast adjustment spacers and sling swivel studs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.552 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Review 1 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waverly, Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super X 3 Waterfowler

Date:February 24, 2012
I've had mine 3 yrs now. I waterfowl hunt a great deal in all kinds of weather.I've not had a single malfunction with this gun. I even hunt doves with 1 1/8 once loads.Handles them with no problem. This is the most dependable and comfortable shot gun I've ever purchased. You won't believe the recoil reduction,especially with 3 1/2 in loads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CAN'T STOP IT!

Date:January 18, 2011
I have the SX3 3.5 28" shadow gray. I have spent the last year trying to get this gun to jam. I have shot in every condition possible, from hot September dove hunts to cold (-10 F) January jump shooting ducks without cleaning it once! It will cycle everything, every time. Light field loads (1oz), reloads (various loads) to 3.5" goose shells with no problem what so ever. This gun is light with manageable recoil, and natural feel to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SX3

Date:December 29, 2013
I have had the SX3 3 1/2" waterfowler for four years now. It is an extremely versitile and lightweight shotgun. I've fired approx 1500 rounds thus far from light 2 3/4" to heavy 3 1/2" with only two jams. Very little recoil even when firing heavy 3 1/2" loads and great for quick follow up shots.
The gun is very easy to dismantle and reassemble for cleaning with few parts which can actually rust.
The only issue I have experienced thus far is that the Dura-Touch Armor coating is wearing off in a couple of places. Having said that, the gun has received a lot of use and I don't exactly baby it while in the field.
Overall, fantastic shotgun and I would highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sx3

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought this gun about 3 months ago and love it. My entire family has shot it with not one complaint the recoil is very minimal,the speed is amazing and the ability to regain your target is amazing. have put about 400 rounds threw it with not one problem. its been dove hunting and bluerock shooting and i cant wait for the ringnecks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Plastic parts

Date:August 19, 2013
I went to the new store opening in Denver this week and I bought a Winchester M-101 and my wife saw this Win SX3 and liked it, so I bought it with out looking at it.
The gun has a plastic sleeve in the gas operation system that looks flimsy and like it might not stand up to operating in extremely cold or hot weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite trap gun

Date:June 18, 2013
I have been shooting trap for years. I always loved semiautomatics and I usually used a Remington 11-87. This is definitely an improvement over the Remington. I love the carrier release button on the side. It loads seamlessly. I have 1000 rounds through it no problems. The gas piston does get very dirty but it cleans up easily. The gun disassembles and reassembles really easily. Glad I made the investment into this shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best shotgun on the market!!!

Date:February 11, 2013
Three years of water ice and mud and this gun doesn't stop. I shoot waterfowl, dove and trap with this gun and no malfunctions. It's light easy to operate cant say enough good things about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Auto for Waterfowl Period

Date:February 11, 2013
I just received the SX3 in duck blind camo for Christmas 2012. Hunted with it for the last half of Colorado's duck season and it performed better than I expected.
I shot at 9 ducks in the last days of the season and 8 of those I killed. I love the way this gun fits and swings. I went with the 28" barrel because it felt better than 26". Its jammed on me once so far and only jammed throwing the 3rd shell in after cycling the first to rounds.
The SX3 are still made in Belgium which is a big deal for me because I grew up shooting the Belgium made Browning A5. My A5 is 32 years old passed down to me from my dad and still going strong.
I rated this 4 stars because I think Winchester could have done a better job on the camo finish as the gun has only been on around 5 hunts and the camo finish is already wearing off in places.
Overall all though, this is the best auto I've hunted with since my A5. Highly recommend it if you hunt waterfowl.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shame on Browning and Winchester!

Date:January 28, 2013
Do NOT buy this gun. Browning/Winchester claims that the barrel finish is "more durable than traditional blueing and protects against corrosion" and "the toughest finish ever applied to a shotgun". Instead, the finish is as rough as medium sandpaper and is porous. If you hunt in the rain, the barrel will rust through the pores. Even wiping the finish with an oiled rag won't prevent the rust because the oil won't reach the pores.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

None Better

Date:January 7, 2013
I have two hunting buddies with SBEII's. Ask them how many times my shotgun has jammed or given me problems? Now ask them? This gun is worked hard and put away wet....and has NEVER had a misfire or jam. You will not regret buying this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding

Date:December 27, 2012
What a great shotgun, put a choke master in it and patterned the gun at 60 yards and could not believe what a nice pattern I got out of every duck load I tried. Easy to clean and runs everything you put in it and shoots very very fast and smooth. Forget all the hype about Beretta and other overseas shotguns, think Browning and Winchester. First time out in the duck marsh my new gun fell out of the boat and was about 5 feet under the nasty muddy water, after 15 mins of using my feet to feel for the gun I found it. I removed the barrel and opened the action and used the same muddy water to rinse out the mud and it was about 15 F that morning. Thinking my gun would not shot more then a shell at a time until I could clean it, we had big flocks of ducks coming in and my SX3 just barked BANG BANG BANG all day long. I got a deal on this gun and after the rebates it cost less then half of a Benelli or Beretta and does the same thing. Dont wast your money on Marketing hype and get an SX3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Shotgun

Date:December 8, 2012
I purchased my SX3 last year and have used it duck hunting, trap & skeet shooting. It mounts and swings very well for myself. Has cycled heavy steel.shot loads and lighter loads without any issues. I had used a Winchester 1300 pump for 20 years with no problems and have handed it down to my son & sure I will be getting alot years using the SX3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun!

Date:August 26, 2012
I bought this gun a year ago and have shot ducks, geese, pheasant with it in a variety of conditions. The gun fires flawlessly evertime. I have not had one jam since I bought it and have probably fired at least 500 rounds through it. I take it apart and clean it after each use as you should with any semi auto.
I hunt with friends who shoot guns that were $500 more and up. I dont see how any one of them is worth $500 more than this gun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Recommend without a doubt

Date:July 27, 2012
this gun does it all if your looking to shot clays black birds pheasant duck or geese youve found your gun period
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Gibbstown NJ
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

winchester sx3 black shadow

Date:November 10, 2011
Great reliable light gun to use for deer hunting and so on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific Gun!

Date:November 2, 2011
I picked up an SX3 black shadow the other day and it is great! I got the 3 1/2 in. version and was a little concerned with lighter 2 3/4 loads. It cycled 7/8 oz. target loads with ease! I tried about 5 different loads and all were fine. I had a few shells hang on ejection but I attribute that more to just needing to be broken in a little better.
I put 125 rounds through it that first day with very little fatigue. Its a soft shooter. I did make the mistake of not getting the butt deep enough into my shoulder pocket a few times and that area is now a little sore. Can't blame the gun for that though.
All in all, this is a great gun. I mildly wish I would've bought the Composite, but oh well. The money I saved will by a lot of shells!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quebec, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful gun

Date:August 12, 2011
I bought an SX3 waterfowl. Shoots everything from target load to 3 1/2 turkey load. Easy to clean. Recommended 100%
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alton, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great all purpose bird gun!

Date:July 15, 2011
I've very recently gotten into shot gunning and migratory bird hunting. In April 2011 I purchased a Super X 3 3.5 inch 28 inch composite shotgun and have already put close to 700 rounds through this gun with little to no complaints. I would highly recommend this gun for anyone looking for a great all around gun. I have had maybe 3 shells "jam" in those 700 rounds. I can honestly say that at least 2 of those shells were operator error when loading them into the gun and may have even been just bad shells themselves. I have put mostly 2 3/4 inch shells through it one box of 3 inch waterfowl loads and a handful of 3.5 inch loads. This gun handles em all! Even the 7/8oz dove/target loads cycle fine. Can't wait till September to hit the dove fields and the duck blind a little later!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central SD
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SUPER X3

Date:April 9, 2011
I have had this gun for a year and a half and love it. never had any issues with it what so ever. I only clean my gun at the end of the seasons and never had any issues. I use for Pheasant, Ducks, Geese and Trap so alot of different loads Low and High Brass and never jam. I guess the only issue is I go through to much ammo. I also have an 11-87 and the weight for walking fields and in mud is nice. The only I would change is Winchester needs to provide more accessories for this gun. In my opinion its a must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® SX3 Semiautomatic Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wallingford, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Semi-Auto

Date:March 26, 2011
I purchased a X3 composite to be my workhorse gun for turkey, pheasant and ducks. I got out to the range today and it met all my expectations. It cycled 2 3/4, 3, 3 1/2 shells flawlessly. I can't believe how fast it fires. It is a perfect weight and fits nicely to my body. I am looking forward to using it for CT turkey season in a few weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29