Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles

REMINGTON Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles

Sometimes the hunting opportunity of a lifetime comes down to a few fleeting seconds. That’s when you want a fast-handling, fast-shooting rifle like the Remington 750™ Woodsmaster™. Its improved gas system delivers slick, super-fast cycling of the semiautomatic action. The efficiency of the system also mitigates felt recoil. A balanced, low-profile design makes it easy to maneuver and aim in cover. This rifle sports a beautiful American walnut stock and forend with machine-cut checkering and sling swivel studs. Open sights are standard and the receiver is drilled and tapped for Model 7400 scope mounts.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.312 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
10 out of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Review 1 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Beware!

Date:December 28, 2013
I purchased this rifle with the 18"barrel. I had a similar firearm,Remington 742, many years ago and was very happy with it. Make no mistake this is no 742, it has gone back to Remington twice for feeding issues. I can not take it in the field for I can not rely on it feeding the round, and if it does not sure it will fire. I have shot 100 very aggravating new rounds thru it and still can not rely on this firearm. Consider any other gun, pass on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

"BEWARE"

Date:November 28, 2013
Purchased in 30-06 ,Nov.2012, on hunt fired at 4pt.BUCK about 30yards. after second time, JAM,JAM,JAM !!! DID HARVEST THE BUCK,FORTUNATELY !!! Used 180gr.REM ammo,took gun back to store sent to a Remington authorized gunsmith for repair came back with same problem one year later complaining to store MANAGER about it they gave me all my money back and kept that 750 !!! THANK-YOU ,CABELA'S !!!!! I have bought many of guns and rifles ,this one is HIT & MISS ,mine was MISS !!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst gun buying experience ever. JAMOMATIC !!!

Date:January 28, 2013
Bought one in 3006 carbine. Will not extract after firing and sometimes will not feed. Sent it back to Remington it came back still doing the same thing. Tried different ammo tried new magazines nothing worked I ended up returning it for full refund. If your looking for reliability when hunting then look for something else!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Hit or Miss - Mine Missed

Date:June 19, 2012
Some people love this gun. Some hate it. I got one in .308 as a welcome home gift from Iraq. It would shoot very accurately, but virtually never functioned properly. I sent it back to Remington twice without any improvement. Frankly when I called the Remington Service Center, I believe they lied. I have had semi-autos since I was since Jr. High. I had M16s in the Army for over 20 years. I know how guns operate, how to shoot, and how to maintain a gun. Mine was junk and Remington would not make it right. I traded up to a bolt action from another company. I lost a lot of respect for Remington mostly because they wouldn't stand behind their gun and their lack of integrity. Like I said, some people love this gun. Some people hate it. It's hit or miss. Mine missed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:November 21, 2009
This gun is terrible it jams all the time even after sending it back to remington twice. Please save your money and not buy this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Jam Jam Jam

Date:January 10, 2014
Accurate rifle, but it tends to jam quite often. Personally, I experienced jams when the rifle attempted to eject shells and when trying to load the rifle straight from the magazine (without a round in the chamber).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OK rifle

Date:March 28, 2013
I am a bit disappointed in this rifle. I have wanted one in .30-06 since I can remember. It's a good, sturdy piece of hardware. But I cannot shoot anything less than 150gr in Hornady Superformance or the spent casing will not eject so obviously the next round is not chambered either. I have tried to use 125 gr reduced recoil rounds because the 150 gr tears a deer up even beyond 100 yards. I end up with a one-shot gun (old M-60 gunner here) when I use the 125. Fortunately I have not needed a follow-up shot. If I had it to do again, I would go with a good bolt-action. You will have no trouble with any of the very wide variety of .30-06 rounds available. I do like the rifle alot so I am going to keep it for mule deer and elk hunting but I will also be buying a bolt-action to use for pretty much anything else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

something to try

Date:April 5, 2014
MIGHT TRY THIS, I got the older remington 7400 which is like this. I ended up getting a bunch of federal vital shock ammo for a bargain and when I started shooting it it wouldn't cycle the second round in. SO I WENT BACK TO WINCHESTER SHELLS HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT. HOPE THAT WORKS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok but no AR Platform, That's for sure.

Date:March 21, 2013
I own the carbine version in .308 with the walnut stuck. Overall it is a fine piece of hardware with good Remington craftsmanship.
After trying a few different scopes, I found it very difficult to sight in and hold tight groups. This gun NEEDS a good scope and good mounts. I put a small picatinny rail on top as well and that did the trick.
I have also had problems with jams. Use good ammo as well and you'll have a gun that holds decent groups out at 100 yards. As a former Marine I have too shot the AR Platform many times, and this is NO AR Platform so one has to keep that in mind. It will give you a good chance for follow up shots and that is about it. Don't expect it to cycle as smooth but It does shoot well when the rifle is maintained properly.
It makes for a great overall hardwoods gun for deer and other big game. It gets the job done so I gave it 4 stars. If you're hunting open country and shooting from ridge to ridge I'd go with a bolt action gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Rem 750 auto

Date:January 10, 2014
Beautiful gun, had some feeding problem but Remington took it in and fixed it and gave me a new clip for it and never miss fires now. I have shot over 200 rds in it and love it. I have the 35 Whelen and shoot 225 gr up to 250 gr rounds and what a buck stopper this gun is. Drops elk like a cannon hit it. Has less recoil than my Rem 3006 put out because of the auto function. It has sights but I put on a bushnell Elite 200 and cant beat that package. I have owned it now for 6 yrs and hunt each yr with it. I purchased a 10 rd clip from Cheaper than Dirt and works great in it. You will like this set up for sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nova scotia canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remarkable rifle

Date:December 18, 2010
i used afriends remington 750 very nice gun i use a742 for 25 pluse years remarkable 308 weapon I would highly recomend this rifle to a freind
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:September 21, 2010
I love this gun. it barily kicks, its very acurite its pretty light and it looks cool. i love it!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable & Accurate

Date:August 10, 2010
I bought this rifle because I always wanted a semi auto 30-06 hunting rifle. I had some reservations about buying the rifle because of some negative reviews about the previous models regarding reliability and accuracy. My rifle is the 22" synthetic and has been 100% reliable. The accuracy stays around one inch at 100 yards give or take depending on the ammunition used. 168gr match is under an inch, but regular hunting loads are just over an inch. I'm using 220gr handloads in this rifle for a bear hunt in Canada and that round functions very well in this rifle. With it being a semi auto it also cuts down on some of the recoil which is nice with modern 30-06 loads.
Buy it, you won't regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redfield, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, great results!

Date:January 13, 2010
Bought this gun a few years ago after shooting my brother in law's older 742 Woodsmaster. I bought the synthetic stocked 750 and topped it off with a Nikon Monarch with a BDC reticle. This year I took 3 deer with 3 shots. The last two were back to back shots on the last day of the season with just a couple of hours left to hunt. I dropped two nice does at 80 and 100 yards to complete the season. Gun functioned well even in -15 degree wind chills! Thanks Remington for another quality gun - I'll be shooting this one for years to come!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manchester, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:December 11, 2009
I'm not sure what the other reviewer's problem was but I have had nothing but great results with my Remington Model 750. It shoots accurately and I have never had any malfunction of any kind. A friend of mine who owns an identical rifle has had equally great results. I'd recommend this rifle in a heartbeat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another one of Remmy's great firearms.

Date:December 11, 2009
The 750 is the same as all of Remington's fine auto rifles. I currently own a 742, 7400, Model Four and now the 750 in 35 Whelen and in 30 plus years of hunting have never had one single fail to fire or jam. The person that posted the first review more than likey does not know what they are talking about or doesn't own this rifle at all. Or is shooting non recommended ammo or doesn't know the proper way to clean and care for firearms.
The Remington 750 is as always one of Remingtons great firearms!
Buy it and try it! If it doesn't function...
send it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.