Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

REMINGTON Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles

Sometimes the hunting opportunity of a lifetime comes down to a few fleeting seconds. That’s when you want a fast-handling, fast-shooting rifle like the Remington 750™ Woodsmaster™. Its improved gas system delivers slick, super-fast cycling of the semiautomatic action. The efficiency of the system also mitigates felt recoil. A balanced, low-profile design makes it easy to maneuver and aim in cover. This rifle sports a beautiful American walnut stock and forend with machine-cut checkering and sling swivel studs. Open sights are standard and the receiver is drilled and tapped for Model 7400 scope mounts.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
12 out of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Review 1 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2015

Most unreliable gun ever. Jam, Jam, and Jam.

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought it in .308 and have it for about a year now. Extractor already has been replaced by me. It jams like crazy and I wonder how much Remington cares about design or level of engineering competency. Seems the ammo will hit and get stuck on the second step of the barrel feed. Did it ever occur to the designers to smooth it down or ramp a it a little? These guns have a reputation for jams. So the tip of the bullet gets disfigured and accuracy goes out the window. Accuracy is all over the place. Worst gun ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014

excellent buy

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have about 100 rounds through my Remington 750. No misfires, jams, or misfeeds. Sighted in easily. I find the magazine to be very convenient.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2014

My Go To Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is an awesome rifle. Mine is a 30-06 caliber. I have one in the 742 and 7400 models. No problems at all. Killed deer, moose, and bear with no problems. I shoot only Remington core-lok ammo in 150 and 180 grain. 180s seem a bit more accurate. Very good gun out to 200 yards. No trouble with jamming. Recommend removing all lubricant from the action. Some think more oil will help but it's actually the reverse. Run them dry. No one shoots this gun enough to wear one out anyway. Good hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2014

something to try

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
MIGHT TRY THIS, I got the older remington 7400 which is like this. I ended up getting a bunch of federal vital shock ammo for a bargain and when I started shooting it it wouldn't cycle the second round in. SO I WENT BACK TO WINCHESTER SHELLS HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT. HOPE THAT WORKS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014

Jam Jam Jam

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Accurate rifle, but it tends to jam quite often. Personally, I experienced jams when the rifle attempted to eject shells and when trying to load the rifle straight from the magazine (without a round in the chamber).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2014

Rem 750 auto

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Beautiful gun, had some feeding problem but Remington took it in and fixed it and gave me a new clip for it and never miss fires now. I have shot over 200 rds in it and love it. I have the 35 Whelen and shoot 225 gr up to 250 gr rounds and what a buck stopper this gun is. Drops elk like a cannon hit it. Has less recoil than my Rem 3006 put out because of the auto function. It has sights but I put on a bushnell Elite 200 and cant beat that package. I have owned it now for 6 yrs and hunt each yr with it. I purchased a 10 rd clip from Cheaper than Dirt and works great in it. You will like this set up for sure!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013

Beware!

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this rifle with the 18"barrel. I had a similar firearm,Remington 742, many years ago and was very happy with it. Make no mistake this is no 742, it has gone back to Remington twice for feeding issues. I can not take it in the field for I can not rely on it feeding the round, and if it does not sure it will fire. I have shot 100 very aggravating new rounds thru it and still can not rely on this firearm. Consider any other gun, pass on this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2013

"BEWARE"

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased in 30-06 ,Nov.2012, on hunt fired at 4pt.BUCK about 30yards. after second time, JAM,JAM,JAM !!! DID HARVEST THE BUCK,FORTUNATELY !!! Used 180gr.REM ammo,took gun back to store sent to a Remington authorized gunsmith for repair came back with same problem one year later complaining to store MANAGER about it they gave me all my money back and kept that 750 !!! THANK-YOU ,CABELA'S !!!!! I have bought many of guns and rifles ,this one is HIT & MISS ,mine was MISS !!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2013

OK rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am a bit disappointed in this rifle. I have wanted one in .30-06 since I can remember. It's a good, sturdy piece of hardware. But I cannot shoot anything less than 150gr in Hornady Superformance or the spent casing will not eject so obviously the next round is not chambered either. I have tried to use 125 gr reduced recoil rounds because the 150 gr tears a deer up even beyond 100 yards. I end up with a one-shot gun (old M-60 gunner here) when I use the 125. Fortunately I have not needed a follow-up shot. If I had it to do again, I would go with a good bolt-action. You will have no trouble with any of the very wide variety of .30-06 rounds available. I do like the rifle alot so I am going to keep it for mule deer and elk hunting but I will also be buying a bolt-action to use for pretty much anything else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2013

Ok but no AR Platform, That's for sure.

By
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I own the carbine version in .308 with the walnut stuck. Overall it is a fine piece of hardware with good Remington craftsmanship.
After trying a few different scopes, I found it very difficult to sight in and hold tight groups. This gun NEEDS a good scope and good mounts. I put a small picatinny rail on top as well and that did the trick.
I have also had problems with jams. Use good ammo as well and you'll have a gun that holds decent groups out at 100 yards. As a former Marine I have too shot the AR Platform many times, and this is NO AR Platform so one has to keep that in mind. It will give you a good chance for follow up shots and that is about it. Don't expect it to cycle as smooth but It does shoot well when the rifle is maintained properly.
It makes for a great overall hardwoods gun for deer and other big game. It gets the job done so I gave it 4 stars. If you're hunting open country and shooting from ridge to ridge I'd go with a bolt action gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2013

Worst gun buying experience ever. JAMOMATIC !!!

By
Bought one in 3006 carbine. Will not extract after firing and sometimes will not feed. Sent it back to Remington it came back still doing the same thing. Tried different ammo tried new magazines nothing worked I ended up returning it for full refund. If your looking for reliability when hunting then look for something else!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2012

Hit or Miss - Mine Missed

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Some people love this gun. Some hate it. I got one in .308 as a welcome home gift from Iraq. It would shoot very accurately, but virtually never functioned properly. I sent it back to Remington twice without any improvement. Frankly when I called the Remington Service Center, I believe they lied. I have had semi-autos since I was since Jr. High. I had M16s in the Army for over 20 years. I know how guns operate, how to shoot, and how to maintain a gun. Mine was junk and Remington would not make it right. I traded up to a bolt action from another company. I lost a lot of respect for Remington mostly because they wouldn't stand behind their gun and their lack of integrity. Like I said, some people love this gun. Some people hate it. It's hit or miss. Mine missed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

remarkable rifle

By
Location: nova scotia canada
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i used afriends remington 750 very nice gun i use a742 for 25 pluse years remarkable 308 weapon I would highly recomend this rifle to a freind
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2010

awsome

By
I love this gun. it barily kicks, its very acurite its pretty light and it looks cool. i love it!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010

Reliable & Accurate

By
Location: IN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this rifle because I always wanted a semi auto 30-06 hunting rifle. I had some reservations about buying the rifle because of some negative reviews about the previous models regarding reliability and accuracy. My rifle is the 22" synthetic and has been 100% reliable. The accuracy stays around one inch at 100 yards give or take depending on the ammunition used. 168gr match is under an inch, but regular hunting loads are just over an inch. I'm using 220gr handloads in this rifle for a bear hunt in Canada and that round functions very well in this rifle. With it being a semi auto it also cuts down on some of the recoil which is nice with modern 30-06 loads.
Buy it, you won't regret it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2010

Great gun, great results!

By
Location: Redfield, SD
Bought this gun a few years ago after shooting my brother in law's older 742 Woodsmaster. I bought the synthetic stocked 750 and topped it off with a Nikon Monarch with a BDC reticle. This year I took 3 deer with 3 shots. The last two were back to back shots on the last day of the season with just a couple of hours left to hunt. I dropped two nice does at 80 and 100 yards to complete the season. Gun functioned well even in -15 degree wind chills! Thanks Remington for another quality gun - I'll be shooting this one for years to come!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2009

Great Rifle

By
Location: Manchester, NH
I'm not sure what the other reviewer's problem was but I have had nothing but great results with my Remington Model 750. It shoots accurately and I have never had any malfunction of any kind. A friend of mine who owns an identical rifle has had equally great results. I'd recommend this rifle in a heartbeat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2009

Another one of Remmy's great firearms.

By
The 750 is the same as all of Remington's fine auto rifles. I currently own a 742, 7400, Model Four and now the 750 in 35 Whelen and in 30 plus years of hunting have never had one single fail to fire or jam. The person that posted the first review more than likey does not know what they are talking about or doesn't own this rifle at all. Or is shooting non recommended ammo or doesn't know the proper way to clean and care for firearms.
The Remington 750 is as always one of Remingtons great firearms!
Buy it and try it! If it doesn't function...
send it back.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 750™ Woodmaster™ Semiautomatic Rifles
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2009

Horrible

By
This gun is terrible it jams all the time even after sending it back to remington twice. Please save your money and not buy this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.