Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun

REMINGTON Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun

The original Remington Sportsman shotgun was legendary for its workhorse performance, reliability and smooth operation. Remington has returned to those roots with the Model 11-87 Sportsman Field semiautomatic shotgun. It capitalizes on the enduring versatility and uncompromising standards that Remington autoloaders are known for. The 12-gauge, 28"-barrel version and 20-gauge, 26"-barrel version boasts a matte-blue finish, handsome satin-finish walnut stock and forend, fleur-di-lis checkering, a nickel-plated bolt and gold-plated trigger. The 12-gauge, 28"-barrel synthetic version has a matte-black finish, rubber overmolded grip panels on the stock and forend, and a black, padded sling. All have vent ribs with dual beads and accept Rem™ Chokes(modified choke included.).
Overall Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
17 out of 24(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Review 1 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun

Date:January 6, 2014
I have had this gun for around 10 years without any problems. I use mine for duck and dove hunting. During the past duck seasons this gun has taken some abuse over the last 10 years or so, but I clean and oil it and it continues to work great. I can't tell you the last time it jammed or that I had any problem with it . I have friends that have guns that cost alot more and they seem to have more issues than I ever have had... One friend's Benelli seemed to jam frequently especially when shooting 3 1/2s and one friends Browning jams frequently and the camo paint started to peel off of the stock and forend. Overall, I think this has been a great purchase for me and I would recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun!

Date:January 2, 2014
I purchased my 12 gauge 11-87 premier in 1996, and it was my first auto loading shotgun. It is a very soft shooter, and its a breeze to take down and clean. I can honestly say that I have never had even a minor issue with it. From day one it has reliably cycled every load that I have put in it, from light target loads to heavy waterfowl loads. I shoot well over 1000 rounds a year, and this shotgun has been a workhorse. I'm sure it will one day find itself in the hands of one of my grandchildren.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Better options exist

Date:December 23, 2013
It is heavy, crude and a pain to clean. It also jams fairly often despite full break down cleanings and proper lubrication.
Despite that, I still liked this gun for the 10+ yrs I owned it. The reason for three stars is that there are much better guns out there, Benelli, Baretta, Versa Max, Win/Browning, Mossberg etc.
Granted, those guns cost more but you can get a Stoeger 3500 for less, and it totally blows the 1187 out of the water.
If you buy this gun, do yourself a favor and don't shoot any of the other autos because you'll likely be buying two guns instead of one!
My 1187 after years of use has:
1. Sharp ridges in the receiver that cut your fingers if you are not super careful during cleaning.
2. A butt stock that loosens and twists every couple of seasons.
3. rusts easily, (like before I can get it home to clean, matte black porous finish)
4. Recoil pad tore off (first year, pain to fix because the plastic where it screwed on broke.)
5. Jams frequently (its better right after a full solvent cleaning, but it will average one jam per box of shells I would guess, I think the receiver is worn out from several thousand shots, hence the sharp edges)
On the bright side, it does fit my short frame well, and it points nice and the recoil isn't bad at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 11-87 20ga

Date:November 6, 2013
I picked one up at the start of hunting season(2013) and haven't had any issues at all. I've fired target and game loads, all functions are flawless. Only complaint is the lack of clarity in the manual about the actuator ring... I've just been leaving it out for 3 inch shells and in for 2 3/4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Couldn't ask for more!

Date:October 21, 2013
This gun has been a beast! Only problem I ever had was when I ran it with fresh rem oil... took it home cleaned it and have run it dry ever since and it has functioned flawlessly! The rem oil also wore out my camo finish but thats my fault. Every Manufacturer has problems just do your research and make the best choice for you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Never Failed

Date:February 14, 2013
I have owned this gun for 16+ yrs now. I can't even think of the # of rounds that I have shot. Ducks geese turkey pheasant trap. Never Never had a problem. Going to buy another for deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OLD VS. NEW

Date:January 20, 2013
BOUGHT A NEW REM 1187 LAST YR.BROUGHT IT HOME CLEANED IT. tHE TRIGGER RELEASE WOULD NOT WORK. SINGLE SHOT. THE OLD GUNS NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM. SENT IT BACK TO REM WHERE THEY REWORKED THE ACTION AND TRIGGER. rECEIVED IT BACK IN ABOUT 8WORK DAYS. SECOND TIME OUT AFTER ALL THIS THE RECOIL PAD STARTED TO SWING OFF FROM THE STOCK,WORKED MOST OF THE ISSUES OUT BUT THIS IS NOT LIKE THE OLD ONES, REMINGTON NEEDS TO LOOK AT THERE QC DEPT. THIS AREA NEEDS WORK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy this gun.!

Date:December 17, 2012
I bought an 11-87 in Dec 2011, it was sent back to Remington a month later (I missed the whole waterfowl season). Wen to range in Oct, gun broke again.. This is the 2nd time it has gone back to shop in under a year of being new. Garbage, don't buy this gun....!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tried and True

Date:November 27, 2012
My brother has one, my father in law has one. When it came time to purchase a new shotgun, it was only natural that I select an 1187. You MUST shoot at least 100 rounds before you evaluate this shotgun. I have not had a single issue after the first 100 rounds. I switch between 2 3/4, 3, 3 1/2 inch shells with no problems. My only complaint is if you look at it funny, it rusts. It rusts very easily. I am told it has something to do with the matte finish opposed to the bluing, but it's pretty bad. I always use Remoil, so I'm switching to something to else to see if that fixes the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful Firearm for Budget Watchers

Date:October 25, 2012
I got a 20 gauge semi because I'm starting to get a little tired of the recoil while skeet shooting with a 12 gauge o/u. Have shot 3/4 oz, 7/8 oz., and 1 1/8 oz loads through it. No jams. Takes any load. You need to clean some of the shipping grease off the moving parts and coat with Rem Oil. Taking it upland bird shooting and am excited about that. Not too heavy to carry over land, but appears to have close to 1 pound over some of the other 20 gauge semis. Lighter recoil and fires any round. No regrets on this great purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington USA - the perfect gas shotgun

Date:August 11, 2012
I have a 12 gauge 11-87 with walnut stock, Matte black metal work & nickel bolt........this is a classy, wonderful gun for the money. Had a $75 Remington rebate for an added bonus. Cycles 2 3/4" or 3" shells perfectly, minimal kick for a 12 due to the heavy 8.25 lb. weight. Clean & oil it from time to time and expect this gun to last a lifetime. It's a Remington 1100, what's not to love. Made in the USA by a company that knows as much about shotguns as any co. in the world.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the Classic American shotgun

Date:August 3, 2012
I've had several Remington shotguns over the years, but none with this many features for the money. A classic , solid gas gun from Remington....what else is there? the gun cycles well with light bird loads or heavier turkey or waterfowl 3" shells. Beautiful low-gloss walnut accent
the matte finish on the metalwork. A very understated
& modest look to what is a real workhorse. From the
legendary 1100 that spawned the 11-87 version, every hunter needs a Remington automatic shotgun in their collection. It will shoot for 100 years if taken care of & put untold amount of game on the table.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

11-87 Premier (Left Hand)

Date:June 7, 2012
I have had the Premier 11-87 now for 6 years. I bought this gun when I was 18 and didn't really look into it.
It is a really beautiful gun, but it will not eject shells consistently. I have kept the gun in good condition and it still has problems cycling even heavy loads.
I wish I would have listened to the people online that said that they had problems with the 11-87 ejecting shells!
Go with a Benelli Super Black Eagle II or a Vinci. You will not be disappointed with those choices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replaced My Benneli

Date:January 20, 2012
Had a Benneli and it never felt right to me, kind of long and awkward. Traded it in on this Remi 1187 and could not be happier! Light weight and points so nice I am a better shot now. Use it for birds and coyotes just change the choke and shoots any ammo flawlessly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manhattan, KS
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 11-87

Date:November 19, 2011
I bought one of these to replace an old Winchester that I have had for almost 20 years. I took it out of the box and assembled it and found that the gas seal was missing. I called Remington and had one at my door that same week. I installed the gas seal and took it to the trap range. It cycled flawlessly. 2 weeks later I took it to South Dakota for a pheasant hunt. In South Dakota you have to use non-toxic shot on public land. I put a few boxes of 3 inch, high velocity steel through it and barely felt the recoil. Nice shotgun, handles well, and have not had an issue cycling either low-base 8's or the heavy 3 inch shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fantastic Shotgun!

Date:November 3, 2011
My German Shorthaired Pointers and I go beyond quail and pheasant with this 11-87. I have the black synthetic version. Perfect gun, perfect dogs for waterfowl and small game.
Amazing hunting experiences - looking forward to more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chehalis
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11-87

Date:December 28, 2010
I have had my 11-87 3 1/2 in Supermag for 2 years now and its everything anyone could want!!! I shoot cases and cases of heavy loads for waterfowl and also cases of trap loads every year. I use this gun more than anyone can imagine, NEVER ONE FLAW remington is the only shotgun ill ever own or buy. I wont have to worry about that the way my gun works now!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR QUALITY

Date:December 19, 2010
COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTED IN THE REMINGTON PRODUCT, AFTER THE FIRST HUNT THE CAMO FINISH STARTED RUBBING OFF. REMINGTINGTON STATED IT WAS NORMAL WEAR, AND PUT A NEW STOCK AND FOREARM ON IT, AND THE FINISH HAS AGAIN RUBBED OFF. NOW THE RECOIL PAD HAS TURNED INTO A STICKY MESS. IT IS A SHAME TO SEE THE TYPE OF PRODUCTS REMINGTON IS TURNING OUT. I HAVE 15 YEAR OLD REMINGTONS THAT LOOK BETTER THAN MY NEW REMINGTON.
SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY FROM A COMPANY WHO CARES ABOUT THE QUALITY OF THE PRODUCTS THEY SELL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: wi.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

remington has lost its good reputatuion

Date:December 17, 2010
i own 3 old remingtons, 1 870 20 ga wingmaster, and 1 12ga 870 special purpose, and 1 243 sprotsman78, excellent dependable guns, these are old guns, when remington made the best, not no more. i own a 11-87 sportsman slug gun, rifled barrell, cantilever barrell. the thing would never shoot slugs, i tried everything, over $200 spent on slugs, the dealer sent the gun back to rem., they supposedly put a new barrell on it, same results, at 100 yds, you might get 1 in the bullseye,in a 3 shot group, the other 2 would be between 5-8" off, no more remingtons for me, anyone see "remington under fire" very unfortunate, i always liked remington guns, i won't buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® 11-87 Sportsman® Semiautomatic Shotgun
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 11/87

Date:December 10, 2010
Dollar for dollar the best semi auto shotgun on the market
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24