Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns

The time-proven 870 has been around for almost half a century. It’s become the best-selling shotgun ever, with over nine million made. Statements like these command respect from every shotgun enthusiast – that’s why the 870 design will never be outdated. All Model 870s feature smooth-shucking twin action bars and a receiver milled from a solid-steel billet. Select models are Cabela’s exclusive. Available: Model 870 Wingmaster® – The breathtaking original, with gloss-finished hardwood stock and forend, polished bolt and high-luster blued steel. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel with steel middle bead and ivory front bead sights. IC, M and F Rem™ Chokes included. Model 870 Express® – A rugged workhorse, with a low-glare, bead-blasted blue-oxide finish. Available in laminate wood, synthetic and satin-finished hardwood. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel. Laminate stock models come with Truglo® front bead site, M, F and IC Rem choke tubes. Synthetic stock models have a R3 recoil pad, Truglo front bead sight and Modified Rem Choke. Satin-finish hardwood left-hand model has a single-bead front sight and Modified Rem Choke. Model 870 Express Super Magnum™ – This smooth-cycling hunter handles everything from 2-3/4" dove loads to 3-1/2" turkey tamers. Available in black or Realtree APG™ synthetic. Vent-rib barrel with Truglo front bead sight. Modified Rem Choke and R3 recoil pad included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
75 out of 82(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rem870

Date:November 22, 2009
I got this gun for Christmas and it is one of the best guns I have ever shot. I use it for shooting trap to hunting and it always comes through for me. Remington is an excelent gun maker and their guns will always have a place in my gun safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: adamsville tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD purchess

Date:December 1, 2009
i got the laminate super magnum express and all i can say is i have shot ever thing from birds to varmits with it i use it to turkey hunt it is my home protection gun also it is a all around every day any time any weather gun. best shot gun in the world !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing!

Date:December 5, 2009
i bought this gun last saturday i took it straight out of the box and went hunting with it ...it is easy to shoulder and fire. i got some quail with it. i love this gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sand springs, ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:December 11, 2009
i have owned this gun for a while and i have never had a problem. i have dropped it in the water and the sand. i picked it up and BOOM BOOM BOOM it still worked perfectly. this is an excellent gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: marion, Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

31 years of the 870 wingmaster and it never fails

Date:December 14, 2009
my dad bought an remington 870 wingmaster in the early 70's and he gave it to me. the shotgun was in mint condition. today i use the shotgun for waterfowl and trap shooting. the gun always fire and it shoots any shotgun shells out there. i went trap shooting yesterday and shot a two 25/25 !!!! back to back !!!! it holds up to 3inch mag. it is the best waterfowl and trap shooting shotgun ever delveloped. the gun has many years to come until i give it to my kids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun !!!!!!!

Date:December 15, 2009
I love my rem 870 because it has the most accurate aim. I also support this gun because it has a very good stock to me. It helps me on the trap feild also!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mesa AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

870

Date:December 31, 2009
I bought this gun and I will sell it as soon as possible. I jams more than it shoots and I will never buy another. I bought a Benelli Nova and I love it it has never had a hiccup. I would recommend getting a Nova over a 870 anyday!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remington 870 express

Date:January 1, 2010
I got this gun a year ago and it works great. The only advice I would give is to keep it oiled really good because if u dont it will get stuck and jam. I would give it 5 stars if it didn't need oiled that often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Real Working Mans Gun

Date:January 20, 2010
This gun is unbeatable in its price range. I have had an Express for about 15 years now and not one single complaint. It has only ever malfunctioned one time, a piece in the trigger assembly broke and had to be taken to the gunsmith for repair, but considering it happened after firing 5,000 rounds I can not complain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:January 22, 2010
I have recently bought the 870 super mag on sale at my local store. I took it duckhunting a couple of days later, and it worked great. The recoil was very managable even with the 3 1/2s I was using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

870 Wingmaster

Date:January 29, 2010
I've had my grandfather's Remington 870 Wingmaster 16 ga for over 25 years and have never experienced anything other than sheer joy and uncanny reliabilty with it. As a result, I just purchased my son a brand new 28 ga Wingmaster so he can join me in pheasant and rabbit hunting next year. The fit, finish and quality is every bit as fantastic as my "old" 16 ga. There's never been a more reliable pump-shotgun produced - ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shotgun

Date:February 5, 2010
This is my first shotgun that I have purchased and have had nothing but great luck with it. The first pro about this shotgun is the price. You cant find a better shotgun priced as low as this one. Remington has been shelling out 870s for a long time and they have perfected it. Another great thing is the durability. This waterfowl season was my first ever, and I didnt realize how banged up your equipment can get. But the shotgun stood up to everything and still looks great. A few scuffs on it, but I wouldnt change anything about it. I do recommend getting the Super Mag in order to shoot 3 1/2" shells. Just a nice perk to be able to really reach out there and get that goose that doesnt want to fully commit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

870 Express Super mag

Date:February 9, 2010
I bought my 870 express super mag real tree apg in November of 2009, brand new thought i was buying a great gun always really liked 870s. Got it out of the box took it out and shoot a few rounds and the gun jammed it wouldn't let me eject the round i just fired, mailed it off to the Remington's gun smith and got it back he had ruined the inside finish of my chamber and didnt fix the issiue. So I E-mailed Remington to tell them about the issiue I didnt even get a responce they sent me a number to call so i called the number and they werent any use. They said mail it in and that was it i called back and i asked them if enstead of fixing the gun they'd just mail me a replacement after all i did pay for a new gun and they wouldnt do it. They made me feel like an idiot for asking( why isnt that a liget , thing to ask for after all i did pay good money for a gun would work) I am 20 years old and have a lot of time left to buy guns but this really made me think twice about Remington.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I thought Rem shotguns were supposed to be good

Date:February 14, 2010
I think maybe older remington shotguns had better quality. I bought this 870 and it would jam with almost every shot. after firing a shell, you had to use all your might to get the chamber open. I tryed all different brands of ammo, and still jams. I ended up taking a 12 gauge mop brush, wrapping it with ultra fine steel wool, connecting it to mi drill, and running it back and forth through the chamber with it spinning. I did this for quite a bit. now it doesn't start jamming until you have about 35 rounds through it.
old Rem might have been quality, but new rem shotguns are something to stay away from. your better off with mossberg than rem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems

Date:February 20, 2010
I purchased my 870 in June 09, after my brother had purchased one in May. Both guns have had several boxes of ammo through them with no problems. It is a great gun. I'm not sure about the issues that other reviewers are having, but I would recommend a Remington 870 to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 20ga. Remington 870 wingmaster

Date:February 21, 2010
this is a great starter gun and i killed a lot of birds with this gun in just 2 1/2 years hunting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kanses city,MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best shotgun ever

Date:March 15, 2010
i got this gun with a laminated stock and its amazingly reliable, a bit heavy, but its very well ballanced, very reliable.
i would reccomend this gun to anybody, its great for turkey,duck,upland hunters and if you put a rifled barrel i wouldnt doubt it would be a great hog gun all the way up to taking moose.
very good gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reminton 870 exprees

Date:April 8, 2010
These guns are indistuckible Had mine for a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pea Ridge, AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

trash

Date:May 19, 2010
remington shotguns what has happend? once they were trusty. 11-87= problems nation wide. 870= pump jam, even if the gun is cleaned all the time. seen to many problems in the last few years. will have to say im gonna try out benelli, great ratings. remington rifles are still pretty trustworthy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Devils Lake ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The 870: best pump shotgun ever, period!

Date:June 23, 2010
I started hunting back in the mid 60's and having no use for autos, have tried or used pretty much every pump shotgun that has come down the pike. Additionally I'm a 30 year LEO with the vast majority being a patrol supervisor and SWAT team leader, so I have more than passing familiarity with defensive shotguns. The pump shotgun I choose for hunting, professional use, and home defense is the 12 gauge 870. The 870 is simply the best, most reliable, easiest to maintain pump shotgun ever made, period...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 82