Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns

The time-proven 870 has been around for almost half a century. It’s become the best-selling shotgun ever, with over nine million made. Statements like these command respect from every shotgun enthusiast – that’s why the 870 design will never be outdated. All Model 870s feature smooth-shucking twin action bars and a receiver milled from a solid-steel billet. Select models are Cabela’s exclusive. Available: Model 870 Wingmaster® – The breathtaking original, with gloss-finished hardwood stock and forend, polished bolt and high-luster blued steel. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel with steel middle bead and ivory front bead sights. IC, M and F Rem™ Chokes included. Model 870 Express® – A rugged workhorse, with a low-glare, bead-blasted blue-oxide finish. Available in laminate wood, synthetic and satin-finished hardwood. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel. Laminate stock models come with Truglo® front bead site, M, F and IC Rem choke tubes. Synthetic stock models have a R3 recoil pad, Truglo front bead sight and Modified Rem Choke. Satin-finish hardwood left-hand model has a single-bead front sight and Modified Rem Choke. Model 870 Express Super Magnum™ – This smooth-cycling hunter handles everything from 2-3/4" dove loads to 3-1/2" turkey tamers. Available in black or Realtree APG™ synthetic. Vent-rib barrel with Truglo front bead sight. Modified Rem Choke and R3 recoil pad included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
76 out of 83(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 21 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

rem 870 super mag

Date:June 29, 2010
I went to cabelas and got the remington 870 super mag at a very cheap price... Ive used it for grouse and turkey... very light weight considering the hike distance... very accurate and reliable... although i did have it jam up on me the first time i used it... keep it oiled well and no other problem...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best gun ever

Date:August 25, 2010
only thing about this gun is the choke i had to chang it to a full choke tube.i shot some squirrels with it.this gun is very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great shotgun

Date:August 27, 2010
I own 2 of these one in 20ga (was my first gun) and one in 12ga. both work flawlessly even in some pretty bad conditions. my only complaint is they rust very easy. and if you want them to look nice keep them clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk River, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 870

Date:September 7, 2010
You will never find a better gun than the 870. I have shot all the pumps and this one wins hands down. I have literally used my gun as a canoe paddle, walking stick, and anything else you could imagine in a duck blind. You just keep pumping shells in to it, and it keeps firing. I currently own 4 different 870s, i wouldnt trade them for anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 870 Special Purpose Synthetic

Date:September 13, 2010
I like this gun.Nothing perfect about it, tis reliable,light,and good looking.For me it gets the job done when hunting waterfowl or small game.I'm not some princess who has to have the best gun like a Berreta or somrthing else totaly expensive.Just dont try to kick the shell out to quickly or it'll jam.Good,good gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:September 23, 2010
A little more rickity than the benelli, but still very effective. Its all I used for about 6 years. Difficult to take a part, but they may have changed that since I owned one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Pump Shotgun Ever Made

Date:September 28, 2010
I have 3 870's. One 20 ga Wingmaster Lightweight Magnum from the early 80's, One 12 ga Wingmaster Magnum from the early 90's and one 12 ga Express Magnum from the early 2000's. I use them for dove, duck, goose, pheasant, grouse, and slug deer with an additional rifled slug barrel for my express. They are extremely easy to take apart and clean. If you keep them clean they will never fail you and will last forever. My dad has a Wingmaster that is from 1962 and we still use it. Great balance and easy to aim. Keep it clean and you will never need another shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Madison County, IL
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 870 Express Magnum

Date:October 8, 2010
The Remington 870 is, in my opinion, without a doubt the top preforming pump-action shotgun available on the market to sportsmen today. I have had my 870 Express in 20 guage for over 8 years now, and have harvested more animals and busted more clay targets with this scattergun than all others in my cabinent combined. The reliability and ease of use and maintenance has been incredible and with a little common sense and humility in asking for help if you are unsure, there is no reason this firearm cannot be used and maintained properly and generate decades of service. As can be seen, I did only give the 870 four stars and this is for two reasons, mostly personal preferences I would personally love to have on mine. First, I do not like the fact that Remington only makes an 18 1/2" Factory Replacement Barrel for the Cantilever Scope Mount Barrel. While I can function with the 20" Fully Rifled Barrel, the ability to have my scope remain intact with the barrel would be amazing. I prefer to have a minimum of 22" of rifled barrel for increased precision and honestly feel even better with a 24" barrel. Second, I am curious to see how long Remington will continue to stay with a trigger that has just the standard trigger pull available, requiring gunsmithing tools to adjust. With the increase in popularity of such user-adjuster trigger pulls, I would think they would catch on to their popularity. In Illinois, we cannot use centerfire rifles to hunt big game, only smoke poles and scatterguns. With the exception of some large ducks and most sizes and ranges of geese, my 20 guage 870 with both Field and Rifled Barrels will allow me to hunt anything I want to in Illinois. Plus, if it's been around for over fifty years and has had more than 10,000,000 models sold - they must be doin somethin right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dixiland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome870

Date:October 12, 2010
i have many of these, all work great. mossbergs also work good too. get one of each.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: hicktown, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

favorite gun

Date:November 30, 2010
im 14 but im pretty small this gun is the best shooting and probably my favorite gun. i use it small gaming and for turkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:December 4, 2010
this gun is not only great for skeet but it is also is great for turkey hunting i assure you if you buy this gun you will be impressed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York City, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice for the price

Date:December 14, 2010
With rifled barrel my 12ga 870 is very accurate. I can shoot over 100 yards no problem. This thing is like a rifle. Some reviews say gun jams, but I have not had this happen. Tried all different kinds of ammo with no problem. I really like this shotgun and the price makes it even better. It is actually more accurate than some higher priced shotguns. I got mine in 2009 and have had nothing but good experiences. Action is smooth, parts fit together well, and it can take a beating. Beware, I'm not sure about all 870 models, but mine is not drilled/tapped for a scope. A saddle mount is available but if you are going for deer this won't work well. So if you want a percise scope you will have to break out the drill press and taps, or have it professionally worked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Smoot,WY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME

Date:December 15, 2010
I have 3 of these guns now and none of them have ever had even the slightest hiccup even with 3 1/2 shells in the super mag. They work in the worst wheather and never rust. total iv had at least 2000 rounds through them most in hunting situations. Great gun i think its worth the extra money for the super mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oaks, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4th 870

Date:December 30, 2010
Just recently purchased my 4th 870. Can't say enough good things about them. My dad has one from the early 60's and it still shoots true.
870 #4 is an all camo turkey gun, I put a TruGlo tube on it and it shoots 4x6's at 40 yds with real good patterns. gobble gobble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midwest
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Old Reliable

Date:January 16, 2011
I have taken this gun through many hard conditions, shot all kinds of different loads through it, and skimped on my cleaning a little, but needless to say this gun is always accurate, smooth cycling, and downright deadly. My go to gun for all shotgun hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: rolla mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wish i still had my old one

Date:January 26, 2011
ive always loved the 870 express shotguns . not sure when they went to the mat finish on the barrels but i know i hate it. i take pretty good care of my guns but i really have to spend more time keeping the outside of this one lubed or it will rust. the experts told me it was due to the rough cheep mat finnish. i bought a 12 and 20 ga for me and my son 2 years ago and both of them after about 3 boxes of shells are hard to extract an empty. the ejecter on the 20 ga however hasnt jammed the gun yet ,just barely gets the hull out of the gun and drops the empty between your feet. the 870 shotguns ive had in the past worked like nothing ive ever seen and would outlast ten mossbergs and i never had one to rust either. im going to get a new gun soon and im thinking on a BPS. i know you can have problems with any gun but when a person buys two guns that have the same sticky extraction problems that a lot of others are having with the newer remingtons, theirs gotta be something wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: belleville il
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super mag waterfowl

Date:February 17, 2011
I have owned remington shotguns all my life i needed a new waterfowl gun so i bought the super mag waterfowl in mosy oak duckblind the best shotgun i have ever bought. it chews through the 3 1/2 like nothin. i perfier this shottie over my super nova. i use a kicks black cloud mod choke tube with black cloud #2 3 1/2 i bring down birds at 50-60 yards. i just love remington shotguns!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alliance,Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT PUMP SHOTGUN.

Date:February 25, 2011
A GREAT SHOTGUN I'VE PUT HUNDREDS MAYBE EVEN THOUSANDS OF ROUNDS THROUGH MINE. AND NEVER LET ME DOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Norwich, KS
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great performance for the price!

Date:March 29, 2011
I bought an 870 Express:laminate stock and it's a worker! The pricing was great and affordable.
The forearm pump slides very easily but I recommend lubing up all moving parts to ensure maximum performance. I haven't dropped it yet(thankfully). I am going to buy sometime a rifled barrel to shoot slugs out of it. I can't hardly seem to miss with it! Also one of my main favorites: it's just plain fun to shoot! Remington has done it again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Remington® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lake Geneva , Wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

870

Date:May 17, 2011
Good solid Shotgun
Pumps Nice , Smooth Action ,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 83