Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns

Remington's most-popular, most-trusted shotgun ever. The Model 870 Wingmaster Pump-Action Shotgun's receiver is machined from a single block of solid steel, making it the smoothest, most reliable pump-action on the market. This superior dependability has been trusted by hunters, shooters and law-enforcement professionals for years. Smooth-shucking twin-action bars deliver positive chambering and ejection. Gloss-finished American walnut stock and forend, and richly blued and highly polished receiver and barrel create a timeless look. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel with steel middle bead and ivory front bead sights. Improved cylinder, modified and full Rem™ choke tubes included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
78 out of 86(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2009

rem870

By
I got this gun for Christmas and it is one of the best guns I have ever shot. I use it for shooting trap to hunting and it always comes through for me. Remington is an excelent gun maker and their guns will always have a place in my gun safe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009

GOOD purchess

By
Location: adamsville tennessee
i got the laminate super magnum express and all i can say is i have shot ever thing from birds to varmits with it i use it to turkey hunt it is my home protection gun also it is a all around every day any time any weather gun. best shot gun in the world !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2009

amazing!

By
i bought this gun last saturday i took it straight out of the box and went hunting with it ...it is easy to shoulder and fire. i got some quail with it. i love this gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2009

excellent

By
Location: sand springs, ok
i have owned this gun for a while and i have never had a problem. i have dropped it in the water and the sand. i picked it up and BOOM BOOM BOOM it still worked perfectly. this is an excellent gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2009

31 years of the 870 wingmaster and it never fails

By
Location: marion, Massachusetts
my dad bought an remington 870 wingmaster in the early 70's and he gave it to me. the shotgun was in mint condition. today i use the shotgun for waterfowl and trap shooting. the gun always fire and it shoots any shotgun shells out there. i went trap shooting yesterday and shot a two 25/25 !!!! back to back !!!! it holds up to 3inch mag. it is the best waterfowl and trap shooting shotgun ever delveloped. the gun has many years to come until i give it to my kids.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009

I love this gun !!!!!!!

By
I love my rem 870 because it has the most accurate aim. I also support this gun because it has a very good stock to me. It helps me on the trap feild also!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

870

By
Location: Mesa AZ
I bought this gun and I will sell it as soon as possible. I jams more than it shoots and I will never buy another. I bought a Benelli Nova and I love it it has never had a hiccup. I would recommend getting a Nova over a 870 anyday!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010

remington 870 express

By
Location: KS
I got this gun a year ago and it works great. The only advice I would give is to keep it oiled really good because if u dont it will get stuck and jam. I would give it 5 stars if it didn't need oiled that often
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2010

A Real Working Mans Gun

By
Location: Ohio
This gun is unbeatable in its price range. I have had an Express for about 15 years now and not one single complaint. It has only ever malfunctioned one time, a piece in the trigger assembly broke and had to be taken to the gunsmith for repair, but considering it happened after firing 5,000 rounds I can not complain.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2010

Great gun

By
Location: Saint Louis, MO
I have recently bought the 870 super mag on sale at my local store. I took it duckhunting a couple of days later, and it worked great. The recoil was very managable even with the 3 1/2s I was using.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2010

870 Wingmaster

By
I've had my grandfather's Remington 870 Wingmaster 16 ga for over 25 years and have never experienced anything other than sheer joy and uncanny reliabilty with it. As a result, I just purchased my son a brand new 28 ga Wingmaster so he can join me in pheasant and rabbit hunting next year. The fit, finish and quality is every bit as fantastic as my "old" 16 ga. There's never been a more reliable pump-shotgun produced - ever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2010

Great Shotgun

By
Location: Lincoln, NE
This is my first shotgun that I have purchased and have had nothing but great luck with it. The first pro about this shotgun is the price. You cant find a better shotgun priced as low as this one. Remington has been shelling out 870s for a long time and they have perfected it. Another great thing is the durability. This waterfowl season was my first ever, and I didnt realize how banged up your equipment can get. But the shotgun stood up to everything and still looks great. A few scuffs on it, but I wouldnt change anything about it. I do recommend getting the Super Mag in order to shoot 3 1/2" shells. Just a nice perk to be able to really reach out there and get that goose that doesnt want to fully commit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2010

870 Express Super mag

By
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
I bought my 870 express super mag real tree apg in November of 2009, brand new thought i was buying a great gun always really liked 870s. Got it out of the box took it out and shoot a few rounds and the gun jammed it wouldn't let me eject the round i just fired, mailed it off to the Remington's gun smith and got it back he had ruined the inside finish of my chamber and didnt fix the issiue. So I E-mailed Remington to tell them about the issiue I didnt even get a responce they sent me a number to call so i called the number and they werent any use. They said mail it in and that was it i called back and i asked them if enstead of fixing the gun they'd just mail me a replacement after all i did pay for a new gun and they wouldnt do it. They made me feel like an idiot for asking( why isnt that a liget , thing to ask for after all i did pay good money for a gun would work) I am 20 years old and have a lot of time left to buy guns but this really made me think twice about Remington.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2010

I thought Rem shotguns were supposed to be good

By
Location: Minnesota
I think maybe older remington shotguns had better quality. I bought this 870 and it would jam with almost every shot. after firing a shell, you had to use all your might to get the chamber open. I tryed all different brands of ammo, and still jams. I ended up taking a 12 gauge mop brush, wrapping it with ultra fine steel wool, connecting it to mi drill, and running it back and forth through the chamber with it spinning. I did this for quite a bit. now it doesn't start jamming until you have about 35 rounds through it.
old Rem might have been quality, but new rem shotguns are something to stay away from. your better off with mossberg than rem
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

No problems

By
Location: Central Missouri
I purchased my 870 in June 09, after my brother had purchased one in May. Both guns have had several boxes of ammo through them with no problems. It is a great gun. I'm not sure about the issues that other reviewers are having, but I would recommend a Remington 870 to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2010

Remington 20ga. Remington 870 wingmaster

By
this is a great starter gun and i killed a lot of birds with this gun in just 2 1/2 years hunting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010

best shotgun ever

By
Location: Kanses city,MO
i got this gun with a laminated stock and its amazingly reliable, a bit heavy, but its very well ballanced, very reliable.
i would reccomend this gun to anybody, its great for turkey,duck,upland hunters and if you put a rifled barrel i wouldnt doubt it would be a great hog gun all the way up to taking moose.
very good gun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010

reminton 870 exprees

By
Location: ut
These guns are indistuckible Had mine for a long time
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010

trash

By
Location: Pea Ridge, AR
remington shotguns what has happend? once they were trusty. 11-87= problems nation wide. 870= pump jam, even if the gun is cleaned all the time. seen to many problems in the last few years. will have to say im gonna try out benelli, great ratings. remington rifles are still pretty trustworthy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010

The 870: best pump shotgun ever, period!

By
Location: Devils Lake ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I started hunting back in the mid 60's and having no use for autos, have tried or used pretty much every pump shotgun that has come down the pike. Additionally I'm a 30 year LEO with the vast majority being a patrol supervisor and SWAT team leader, so I have more than passing familiarity with defensive shotguns. The pump shotgun I choose for hunting, professional use, and home defense is the 12 gauge 870. The 870 is simply the best, most reliable, easiest to maintain pump shotgun ever made, period...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 86