Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns

REMINGTON Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns

Remington's most-popular, most-trusted shotgun ever. The Model 870 Wingmaster Pump-Action Shotgun's receiver is machined from a single block of solid steel, making it the smoothest, most reliable pump-action on the market. This superior dependability has been trusted by hunters, shooters and law-enforcement professionals for years. Smooth-shucking twin-action bars deliver positive chambering and ejection. Gloss-finished American walnut stock and forend, and richly blued and highly polished receiver and barrel create a timeless look. 3" chamber. Vent-rib barrel with steel middle bead and ivory front bead sights. Improved cylinder, modified and full Rem™ choke tubes included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 86 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
78 out of 86(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 21 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2010

rem 870 super mag

By
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I went to cabelas and got the remington 870 super mag at a very cheap price... Ive used it for grouse and turkey... very light weight considering the hike distance... very accurate and reliable... although i did have it jam up on me the first time i used it... keep it oiled well and no other problem...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

best gun ever

By
Location: virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
only thing about this gun is the choke i had to chang it to a full choke tube.i shot some squirrels with it.this gun is very accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2010

Great shotgun

By
I own 2 of these one in 20ga (was my first gun) and one in 12ga. both work flawlessly even in some pretty bad conditions. my only complaint is they rust very easy. and if you want them to look nice keep them clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2010

Remington 870

By
Location: Elk River, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
You will never find a better gun than the 870. I have shot all the pumps and this one wins hands down. I have literally used my gun as a canoe paddle, walking stick, and anything else you could imagine in a duck blind. You just keep pumping shells in to it, and it keeps firing. I currently own 4 different 870s, i wouldnt trade them for anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2010

Remington 870 Special Purpose Synthetic

By
I like this gun.Nothing perfect about it, tis reliable,light,and good looking.For me it gets the job done when hunting waterfowl or small game.I'm not some princess who has to have the best gun like a Berreta or somrthing else totaly expensive.Just dont try to kick the shell out to quickly or it'll jam.Good,good gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010

Great Gun

By
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
A little more rickity than the benelli, but still very effective. Its all I used for about 6 years. Difficult to take a part, but they may have changed that since I owned one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2010

Best Pump Shotgun Ever Made

By
I have 3 870's. One 20 ga Wingmaster Lightweight Magnum from the early 80's, One 12 ga Wingmaster Magnum from the early 90's and one 12 ga Express Magnum from the early 2000's. I use them for dove, duck, goose, pheasant, grouse, and slug deer with an additional rifled slug barrel for my express. They are extremely easy to take apart and clean. If you keep them clean they will never fail you and will last forever. My dad has a Wingmaster that is from 1962 and we still use it. Great balance and easy to aim. Keep it clean and you will never need another shotgun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2010

Remington 870 Express Magnum

By
Location: Madison County, IL
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The Remington 870 is, in my opinion, without a doubt the top preforming pump-action shotgun available on the market to sportsmen today. I have had my 870 Express in 20 guage for over 8 years now, and have harvested more animals and busted more clay targets with this scattergun than all others in my cabinent combined. The reliability and ease of use and maintenance has been incredible and with a little common sense and humility in asking for help if you are unsure, there is no reason this firearm cannot be used and maintained properly and generate decades of service. As can be seen, I did only give the 870 four stars and this is for two reasons, mostly personal preferences I would personally love to have on mine. First, I do not like the fact that Remington only makes an 18 1/2" Factory Replacement Barrel for the Cantilever Scope Mount Barrel. While I can function with the 20" Fully Rifled Barrel, the ability to have my scope remain intact with the barrel would be amazing. I prefer to have a minimum of 22" of rifled barrel for increased precision and honestly feel even better with a 24" barrel. Second, I am curious to see how long Remington will continue to stay with a trigger that has just the standard trigger pull available, requiring gunsmithing tools to adjust. With the increase in popularity of such user-adjuster trigger pulls, I would think they would catch on to their popularity. In Illinois, we cannot use centerfire rifles to hunt big game, only smoke poles and scatterguns. With the exception of some large ducks and most sizes and ranges of geese, my 20 guage 870 with both Field and Rifled Barrels will allow me to hunt anything I want to in Illinois. Plus, if it's been around for over fifty years and has had more than 10,000,000 models sold - they must be doin somethin right.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2010

Awesome870

By
Location: Dixiland
i have many of these, all work great. mossbergs also work good too. get one of each.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010

favorite gun

By
Location: hicktown, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
im 14 but im pretty small this gun is the best shooting and probably my favorite gun. i use it small gaming and for turkey.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2010

great gun

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this gun is not only great for skeet but it is also is great for turkey hunting i assure you if you buy this gun you will be impressed
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2010

Nice for the price

By
Location: New York City, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
With rifled barrel my 12ga 870 is very accurate. I can shoot over 100 yards no problem. This thing is like a rifle. Some reviews say gun jams, but I have not had this happen. Tried all different kinds of ammo with no problem. I really like this shotgun and the price makes it even better. It is actually more accurate than some higher priced shotguns. I got mine in 2009 and have had nothing but good experiences. Action is smooth, parts fit together well, and it can take a beating. Beware, I'm not sure about all 870 models, but mine is not drilled/tapped for a scope. A saddle mount is available but if you are going for deer this won't work well. So if you want a percise scope you will have to break out the drill press and taps, or have it professionally worked.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010

AWESOME

By
Location: Smoot,WY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have 3 of these guns now and none of them have ever had even the slightest hiccup even with 3 1/2 shells in the super mag. They work in the worst wheather and never rust. total iv had at least 2000 rounds through them most in hunting situations. Great gun i think its worth the extra money for the super mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010

4th 870

By
Location: Oaks, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Just recently purchased my 4th 870. Can't say enough good things about them. My dad has one from the early 60's and it still shoots true.
870 #4 is an all camo turkey gun, I put a TruGlo tube on it and it shoots 4x6's at 40 yds with real good patterns. gobble gobble
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2011

Old Reliable

By
Location: Midwest
Gender: Male
I have taken this gun through many hard conditions, shot all kinds of different loads through it, and skimped on my cleaning a little, but needless to say this gun is always accurate, smooth cycling, and downright deadly. My go to gun for all shotgun hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2011

wish i still had my old one

By
Location: rolla mo
ive always loved the 870 express shotguns . not sure when they went to the mat finish on the barrels but i know i hate it. i take pretty good care of my guns but i really have to spend more time keeping the outside of this one lubed or it will rust. the experts told me it was due to the rough cheep mat finnish. i bought a 12 and 20 ga for me and my son 2 years ago and both of them after about 3 boxes of shells are hard to extract an empty. the ejecter on the 20 ga however hasnt jammed the gun yet ,just barely gets the hull out of the gun and drops the empty between your feet. the 870 shotguns ive had in the past worked like nothing ive ever seen and would outlast ten mossbergs and i never had one to rust either. im going to get a new gun soon and im thinking on a BPS. i know you can have problems with any gun but when a person buys two guns that have the same sticky extraction problems that a lot of others are having with the newer remingtons, theirs gotta be something wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

Super mag waterfowl

By
Location: belleville il
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have owned remington shotguns all my life i needed a new waterfowl gun so i bought the super mag waterfowl in mosy oak duckblind the best shotgun i have ever bought. it chews through the 3 1/2 like nothin. i perfier this shottie over my super nova. i use a kicks black cloud mod choke tube with black cloud #2 3 1/2 i bring down birds at 50-60 yards. i just love remington shotguns!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2011

GREAT PUMP SHOTGUN.

By
Location: Alliance,Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
A GREAT SHOTGUN I'VE PUT HUNDREDS MAYBE EVEN THOUSANDS OF ROUNDS THROUGH MINE. AND NEVER LET ME DOWN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011

Great performance for the price!

By
Location: Norwich, KS
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I bought an 870 Express:laminate stock and it's a worker! The pricing was great and affordable.
The forearm pump slides very easily but I recommend lubing up all moving parts to ensure maximum performance. I haven't dropped it yet(thankfully). I am going to buy sometime a rifled barrel to shoot slugs out of it. I can't hardly seem to miss with it! Also one of my main favorites: it's just plain fun to shoot! Remington has done it again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Remington® Model 870™ Wingmaster® Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011

870

By
Location: Lake Geneva , Wi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Good solid Shotgun
Pumps Nice , Smooth Action ,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 86