Customer Reviews for BROWNING Browning® BAR Safari Rifle

BROWNING Browning® BAR Safari Rifle

Browning’s classic gas-operated, autoloading BAR with a safari-style profile. The engraved forged steel receiver is accented with scroll engraving and is drilled and tapped for scope mounts. The gloss-finish, select walnut stock and forearm feature generous diamond-pattern cut checkering and a recoil pad. 22" barrel. Multilug rotary bolt. Detachable box-style magazine.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Review 1 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rochester, Mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning BAR - 270

Date:March 13, 2010
I purchased my Browning BAR 270 about 5x years ago and am very pleased with all aspects of this gun. I purchased the short trac barrel and use the open sights for deer hunting up in northern Minnesota. It works great for hunting both in the deep woods or for long range shooting in the open clearings. This gun is the first semi-automatic rifle that I have purchased strictly for deer hunting and I would now recommend it to any serious hunter. This gun has converted me to be a true Browning fan.
Curt G.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albertville, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning BAR Safari - .308

Date:April 1, 2010
I purchased my Browning BAR Safari .308 in August 2008 and equipped it with a lower priced Nikon 3-9x40 Scope. I zeroed it at 25 yards with a rest and was typically getting 4 shot groupings where all 4 shots overlapped each other or close to it. As far as accuracy goes this rifle is at the top of my list.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denham Springs, La.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Semi Auto!

Date:November 25, 2010
I purchsed the Safari Grade in .270 caliber.
Ive run over a hundred rounds thru it and never any type of foul up.
It is extremely accurate, dependable and a pleasure to shoot.
Plenty accurate enough for any hunting situation and gives you the advantage of that quick follow up shot if you need it without having to slide a bolt or pump another bullet into the chamber.
Fine with a scope or great rifle in thick or heavy woods if you choose to use open sights!
If you are looking for a semi auto to hunt with and you want to stay with the traditional looks and design of a hunting weapon, do yourself a favor and get yourself a BAR! You wont regret it!
I seriously doubt that there is a more dependable, accurate, or better looking semi auto being sold today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Omaha
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Rifle!

Date:March 10, 2011
Purchased a Safari about 2 years ago...probably put about 5-600 rounds through it. Never jammed or hiccuped. I was impressed with its accuracy...really impressed with how far I can now reach in the 300 win mag. No recoil compared to a BA. This one is a keeper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Boise, ID
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible Rifle

Date:May 12, 2011
I own the BAR II in .338 WinMag.
Pros: Very accurate & tight grouping at 100 yards. The recoil is less than you would expect; the buttstock absorbs a lot of it. The wood does not scratch easily.
Cons: Nothing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: plainview tx
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

browing bar safari rifle

Date:September 24, 2011
i love my browing 270 rifle, it is my first big rifle to own, it doesn't kick much, and i plan on watching my first big game animal drop with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota Black Hills
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best there is

Date:January 25, 2012
low recoil highlights this awesome weapon. Ive hit deer on the run many times with my trusty BAR in 30-06.Its a great investment and a lot of fun.1in groups at 200 yards with my 3x9 Leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Strongly agree with previous raters

Date:March 8, 2013
Have to strongly agree with previous BAR raters. If you are looking for a top notch semi-auto, the BAR is the gun for you. Bought my 270 BAR in 1995 and it still fires like it just came out of the box. Dropped many Maine white tails with it, both open sights and with a Leupold 3X7 scope. Avoid other brand jam-o-matics. You can't go wrong with a Browning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I have ever shot!

Date:January 28, 2014
Virtually no recoil. My 30-.06 still fires like it just came out of the box! Many Michigan Whitetails served on my table because of it. Longest shot with a Leupold 3x9x50mm.......400 yards. It's a higher price now than when I purchased mine but if you want accuracyfor a trophy or some steak...you will not go wrong here if you can afford it! I have some carpal-tunnel in my forearm now, use a shooting stick, weight does bother me with the stick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® BAR Safari Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beautiful Shooter but.

Date:March 17, 2014
This was by far the smoothest shooting and handling rifle I ever owned. Very accurate for a semi autoloader, and very effective (30-06 cal). The reason I only give it 3 stars is it was always in trouble. Within 10 years the rifle butt came loose and fell off, the firing pin needed to be replaced, the trigger assembly fell out, and the wood fore piece came loose. All were repaired by a gun smith as I didn't want to tie it up for any length of time.
So I give it 5 starts for accuracy and handling, one star for reliability, ave =3.
I finally sold it, however, would I want to own another? Yes I would,I think I just had a lemon.
This is a beautiful gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.