Customer Reviews for BROWNING Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns

BROWNING Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns

Available in four shotgun gauges, there’s a Browning BPS to fit just about any hunting or competition need. All have strong, proven, forged- and machined-steel receivers. Reliable and unique bottom ejection with dual steel action bars for smooth and consistent cycling and use by right- or left-handed shooters. Easy-to-operate top tang safety. Available: BPS Hunter – Vent-rib barrel with a 3" chamber. Satin-finish walnut stock. Comes with three Invector Plus choke tubes. Available in 12-gauge model.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Review 1 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rush, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for beginner or veteran

Date:November 24, 2009
I just went out deer hunting with my browning bps upland special pump action invector model. it is a great gun because it is very light and has minimal recoil. and the shorter barrel helps when in a very small tree stand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sidney nabraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderful

Date:November 27, 2009
i love this gun!!! it is the the best of all my guns period. i am very small and i can carry it all day with out it bugging me.it is very easy to line up the beads and is very cushy to shoot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

browning bps shotgun

Date:January 7, 2010
i presently own two of these in 12 and 20 ga. configurations.
they have harvested everything from rabbit , squirrels , pheasant , and turket. to date i shot my biggest buck to date with the 12ga..the action is smooth , the top tang safety is handy for left or right handed shooters.the raised vent ribs are great for target acquisition . you can't go wrong with this one . enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:January 11, 2010
i got one of these bps and i love it. kills em all. i love how the bead looks and easy to line up. a little heavy but i like that so those 3 1/2s dont kill my shoulder. smooth gun and has never had it freeze. benilli's freeze before these do. minimum rust and ive put this thing through heck. underwater, in rain, mud puddles. name it and its been there. never missed up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: STL, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning BPS

Date:January 15, 2010
Browning has really out done its self with the BPS shotgun. Probably the smoothest and most refined pump action shotgun on the market today. They are a little more expensive than the competition, but as many of you know when it come to firearms you get what you pay for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minot, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FLAWLESS!

Date:February 23, 2010
I bought this gun to pheasant hunt in North Dakota when the weather is frigid. Most auto loading guns wont function when the weather is in the -20's and colder. Of course the BPS was flawless. Swings great and fits perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Gun

Date:March 17, 2010
Its a great gun. The only problems I have with it is that it could feel a little more sturdy, the pattern could be a little tighter with all of the chokes it comes with, but in all, its an amazing little gun. My dad has had one for over 37 years and hasn't had a problem with his yet (and its had it's fair share of abuse). The finish of the wood is beautiful (but like all duck hunters know that won't last for long). My personal thought about this gun is that although its on the expensive side it'll last as long as three cheaper ones, and several generations.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BPS

Date:April 5, 2010
I have hunted ducks with my BPS for five years now and it has been absolutely perfect. I've dropped it in the water, covered it in mud and hunted in the worst conditions and it will not jam. It has great balance and the action is smooth. I won't ever buy another duck gun. This gun is the top of the line for pump shotguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Devils Lake ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BPS; Great Shotgun With A Few Issues...

Date:June 23, 2010
Being left handed I have used BPS shotguns quite a bit over the years as the tang safety and bottom eject are lefty-friendly. They are a very good albeit very heavy pump shotgun with a few significant issues. The BPS is more susceptible to short stroking than any other pump I've used, probably the most difficult pump to re-assemble after breaking down for maintainance, threads of the magazine tube are shallow & fine making screwing tube cap on a chore, magazine tube very thin at the mouth, making it nearly impossible to take the spring retainer (press fit inside the tube) out w/o damaging the tube mouth. Thin & cheap plastic mag follower deteriorates within a couple seasons and mag spring requires constant cleaning & lubing or it will rust quickly. LOP (14.5") too long for most anyone under 6', unless built like an ape. Bottom eject means a pain to check chamber or to switch loads in the field....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern MN
Age: 25 and under
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Gun!

Date:July 30, 2010
i got this gun for christmas and i love it! i'm left handed so the bottom ejection is very nice and the thumb safety is a very nice feature! It will withstand some of the toughest conditions and it hasn't jammed on me yet!! Buy this gun if you are looking for a pump action gun and you don't want to deal with jamming!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Deserts of California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BPS

Date:September 11, 2010
Browning BPS Hunter 12 Gauge
This is a fantastic bird gun, and the best part is you can shoot it right or left handed!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best pump shotgun on the market

Date:September 19, 2010
Like most things browning make the BPS is of great quality. The action is the smoothest I've seen. I've fired over 20 000 rounds through mine and it still works just as if it were new. my friends have Remington 870's and they are well worn out after all these shots. the bottom ejection and top tang safety are great as the gun is as easy to use for both left and right hand shooters. the armor coating is great for those cold days in the marsh.
I have a Benelli Super Black Eagle 2 and I find myself using the good ol trusted BPs mre often.
Quality and craftsmanship is superior to the standard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: preston
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning BPS

Date:March 14, 2011
After a little over a year of purchasing the browning hunter model with walnut stock and bluing i decided i liked this so much and did not have the heart to bring it out to abuse while wading and water related hunting i purchased the stalker model with synthetic stock and parkerized metal. comparing this gun to other pump models in current production i like this the most for the money. i feel it has the most going for it and seems to be stronger in the most important parts. i like the bottom ejection which isnt for every one i couls see how switching from a side ejection to this could be different but it allows to be shot from both shoulders which is great for my girlfriend since she is left handed and me for when that turkey comes from the right side instead of the left . it makes it nice also when your hunting in the blind so your not throwing shells in your hunting buddies face. if you are looking at purchasing a new......... or used pump gun i think you should take a look at this and the other gun your looking at and make a comparison and see if you think its worth the extra dough for a better gun but again its not for every one it is a little heavier and everyone has there own opinion so just get into cabelas touch them all make a list of all you like and then go home get on the net look up the guns and read other reviews and also make sure you look at finding parts and how easy it is to get them so i reccomend you get a brand with some years behind it to prove its durability and probability of seeing it in the future.its a shame to see folks buy the latest and greatest plastic junk and a year or two later its history.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Belleville, MI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun with excellent feal

Date:April 22, 2011
Bought this gun for trap and turkey hunting. Thrilled with feal and smooth action. I was concered about the bottom feed and ejection but it works great. Have fired over 500 rounds without any problems. When it comes to cleaning it couldn't be easier. If you are looking for a lightweight fun shooter this is it! Turkey season just started here so we shall have to see how it ends. My wife even complemented on how much she liked the looks of it.(she doesn't care for guns)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wilmington, NC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Gun I've Ever Shot

Date:November 3, 2011
Since I bought my BPS 4 years ago, it hasn't even given me any trouble. It's such a smooth cycling gun in all conditions. Everything from clay loads to slugs to 3.5in goose loads, this gun does the trick. I have shot other pump shotguns and nothing comes close to my Browning BPS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Danville, KY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st Choice

Date:November 27, 2011
This shotgun is one that will not disappoint. I have used my BPS Stalker to hunt waterfowl and it drops them better than anything I have seen with factory choke tubes. I recommend 3 inch shells for easiest cycling, but 3 1/2 isn't a problem. Recoil is not a factor with this gun unlike the Nova. My BPS has been used in every type of weather: freezing rain and cold days in the winter. My friend was using my BPS while his 870 was being worked on, the gun went under water while hunting on that day, and the next time we saw birds it dropped them without any problems. The next season he had a BPS and the 870 sat at the house. Only con to this shotgun is the trigger guard. When using bulky cold weather gloves, it is hard to comfortably find and pull the trigger when birds surprise you. My daughter is getting into waterfowl hunting, so I know she will be receiving a BPS that will last her a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Louis
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You can't beat this gun

Date:December 1, 2011
I've had my BPS for 11 years, I have several shotguns, OUs, Autos, & Pumps, but for the last 7 or 8 years this is the only gun I shoot. period, It's a bit heavy for quail & pheasant hunting, but it shoots good and it holds up. I'm a southpaw so the safety and bottom eject is a +. I have the cammo model and after 11 years of blind and field use it still looks pretty good. It feels similar to a winchester model 12 to me only tighter pump action and 3 and 1/2 in shells. Worth every penny, you can't kill this gun unless you run over it with your truck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Favorite Shotgun

Date:December 29, 2011
I have a 12 gauge bps duck blind 28" barrel and a kicks extended choke. I would not trade my gun for anything. It Is by far the best shotgun I have yet to shoot. It is comfortable, easy reaction time, loads smooth, slides smooth, and an awesome gun to fire. I am currently looking into getting another one but in a 20 gauge to get my girlfriend into shooting as well as use as a slug gun for deer season. I also love the fact that it is a bottom ejection. The fact that I'm left handed makes it difficult to find some guns but I have had my shotgun for over 2 years and it is definitely my pride and joy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Palatine, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this Gun

Date:February 21, 2012
I recently purchased a 10 gauge in the BPS. Very light and easy to handle. Great waterfowl gun. Not much kick for the load of shot you are putting out in the air. Love the safety on the top of the gun and be used right handed and left both. One issue I have with the gun is that you cannot breach load the gun. You have to always put the shell in the tube before you can load the shell into the barrel. Just a personal preference of mine, but I can live through that. Great gun and hopefully will last a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Browning® BPS Pump-Action Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tallahassee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

changed my life!!

Date:February 22, 2012
Only reason im writing this review is because i dropped it in the ocean on accident. Found it after hour in mud and saltwater all over it 20 minutes into shooting time. Rinsed off the mud with more ocean water. Loaded it up and smiled because i found the gun ended up killing 2 reds and bufflehead shooting mud with my pellets. I took it home hit it with some fresh water and rem oil.....Used it for the rest of the waterfowl season didnt jam or misfire once. Still till this day i dont see rust. If you want a gun that you dont have to worry about rusting or oiling up this is it but it does cost more than most pumps (camo 12ga 26" 3.5mag).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23