Customer Reviews for FORSTER Forster Co-Ax Press

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

FORSTER Forster Co-Ax Press

A number of unique features set this press apart. Its snap-in, snap-out die-changing system lets you change from sizer die to seater die in seconds. A positive spent primer catcher passes all spent primers with their dirty carbon through a tube into a container, keeping working parts clean. Dual floating guide rods ensure perfect alignment. The press design has three times the mechanical advantage of an ordinary C-style press, delivering precise alignment of the die and case because the shell holder’s jaws float with the die, permitting the case to center with precision. The absence of frame supports and swinging primer arms creates obstruction-free ambidextrous operation. A unique Co-Ax priming system seats primers to factory specs with only .001" radial clearance and the seater is at a 90° angle to the case head so no primers flip or tip. Solid stop at top of stroke for consistent headspace. Dies and shell holder not included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.906 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 53(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Forster Co-Ax Press
Review 21 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CO-AX RELOADING PRESS

Date:May 31, 2011
After years of using a Rock Chucker a good press I gave it to my son along with most of my guns. I did think I would just use his when I needed to. I didn't think I would be doing much more shooting. Well it didn't work out like that. I then got this CO-AX and it is fast, positive, has a easy action and dead on. I should have started with one of these. I am very happy I choose this press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultimate Reloading

Date:May 16, 2011
Finally made the decision to purchase a Forster Co-ax Press. One of the best decisions I have ever made. You can tell by the design and function that this press is the most accurate out there. My only regret is that I waited all these years.
Personally I think this press should come with both shell holder jaws when you consider the price of the press. I also got the shorty handle which in my opinion is a must.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

forster co-ax press

Date:May 11, 2011
Best press out there.No need for all the extra parts you need with all the other presses.Wish I had bought this one first. You will not need all the shell holders and shell plates and it will load 300 rem. ultra mag with out loosing a finger Great press
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Seguin, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great single stage press

Date:May 11, 2011
I use this for precision reloads, and it works like a charm on my short action cases. It also works great with Forster Benchrest/ Ultra dies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jerome, ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect Press!!

Date:March 2, 2011
The Forster Press is everything the company claims. If you are reloading for accuracy this is a must have. The Co-Ax has extremely tight tolerences and produces very little run-out. It does take a little getting use to, but when you are comfortable with the workings of the press you will be kicking yourself for not getting it sooner. I reloaded a couple hundred 300 RUM shells the other night and actually enjoyed it again. Full length sizing use to be headache, not with the Co-Ax. Believe the reviews.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press!!!

Date:February 23, 2011
The COAX is a great press. It is taking me a little time to adjust from using the RCBS Rockchucker. You work from and insert cases into the front of the COAX as opposed to inserting the cases from the side like most O-style presses. Overall, I think the press is great and have been using it as my primary press for case resizing. I like the floating die design. Intuitively it makes sense that allowing the die to float and self-align with the case could reduce runout, but I have not measured the runout between the COAX and my other presses.
I purchased the press on sale. It is more expensive than some other quality presses of the O-frame style, but I am glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forster Coax is the one

Date:January 18, 2011
I have read over and over that once you work the Forster Coax press you will ask your self why you didn't make this the first press you bought. I am now in agreement. I use this press to load pistol as well as rifle ammo, it makes ammunition far superior to any factory ammo I have ever purchased. The priming system may not be the fastest, but it seats primers perfectly, every time.
Using the Forster lock rings, I use dies from virtually every manufacturer without any problem.
In my humble opinion, this purchase was worth every penny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forster Press is fantastic

Date:January 18, 2011
Recently upgraded to a forster press from an rcbs press. It is completely worth the money. Smooth and easy to operate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lander, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

After 6 years w/ my first...

Date:December 9, 2010
Just bought a second Forster press to dedicate to my most loaded cartridge. Second one for the rest!
Wish all my purchases made me this happy! Also, I buy Forster dies first, just can't beat a well made product and great people for service, too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Press

Date:May 26, 2010
This is excellent made press and which requires little muscle in the operation. Being able to quickly change dies and not needing shellholders are a bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Juneau, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forster Co-Ax Press

Date:May 16, 2010
Best Press I've ever owned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Deer hunter in Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forster co-ax press

Date:March 13, 2010
This is the best press I have ever used. Easy to set up , easy to adjust and maintain. The only fault I have with this great press is that sometimes a spent primer will hang up in the tube going to the spent primer catcher.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Forster Co-Ax Press

Date:February 3, 2010
This is a very well-made press. For me, the best thing about the press is the snap-in/snap-out quick die-change feature but, save yourself some time and frustration by not purchasing additional Forster Die Lock Rings. The basic problem with these rings is the material from which they are made (aluminum) and the screw head design (phillips head). The screw needs to be tightened enough to hold the die in place, which can lead to stripped head slots and a difficult time holding the die in place while tightening the screw. A much better option is to purchase Hornady Sure-Loc Die Lock Rings, of which both the screw (with an Allen wrench head) and the ring are made of steel. You will need to place the ring on the die so that the screw is on the right side of the die for the Lock Ring Detent Ball (part #30), to work properly. The "flat" edge of the ring will be facing you. You will also need to screw down the Lock Ring Retaining Screw (part #28), until the correct pressure is applied against the round, knurled side of the retaining ring by the detent ball of the press. Otherwise, a very good product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pittsburgh (city of champions), pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best there is

Date:January 18, 2010
the engineering, design, accuracy and operational ease of this press is the best there is, period.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waco,Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very well designed

Date:December 15, 2009
I have been using a RCBS Rockchucker for 29yrs and had heard this press was really nice so I got one and am quite impressed. I am not sure that it makes the ammo any better but it is very simple and easy to use changing dies is easier and the way the primers drop into a catch bottle is much cleaner than the RCBS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reloader's Dream Come True!

Date:November 22, 2009
I won't bore you with another long review restating the obvious excellence of this amazing reloading press. Know this: Had I known how sweet the Forester Co-Ax Press is, I would have made the switch many years ago. Suffice to say this press is smooth as silk and turns out a superb result. My only complaint is that I run out of cartridges to reload! The Forester is so much fun that I don't want to stop. Some problem huh? I give this my highest recommendation. Truly, a reloader's dream come true.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great press

Date:September 9, 2009
i have been reloading for 38 years and this is the best single stage press i have ever owned . it really works great .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why did I wait so long....

Date:July 14, 2009
I've heard good things about this press for decades, and never bought one.
I've had several single stage, turret and progressives previously and nothing compares to the ease of using this press.
Die swaps are +/- 2 seconds.
The amount of leverage is massive. I had a case not quite line up with the resizing die and nearly crushed it flat with a single finger.
Because of the leverage, make sure you have a sold mounting setup. The bench I had worked for 15+ years with every other make/model of press, but... A few cases later I ripped the press off the bench as the screws came out of the 3/4 plywood. I added a 2" hardwood block below the 3/4 ply and ran the screws into that and things are much more stable now.
The dies are designed to 'float' a bit but ONLY if you put the notched part of the locking ring to the front of the press. Once I figured that out, no more case misalignment.
I was skeptical of the universal case jaws... I am skeptical no longer. I will not have to hunt for the exact numbered shell holder on my old press any more.
The priming system takes a bit of fiddling to get the holder adjusted just so the first few times. Once you get the hang of 'tight enough but not too tight' it works very well.
So a bit of a learning curve on this press, and its not the cheapest one out there. However, I don't think I'll want for another single stage press ever again.
I hear dad's voice in my head.:
You pay for cheap tools twice. Once when you buy them, and once when you replace them with what you should have bought the first time.
I should have bought this press 20 years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

for accuracy

Date:July 6, 2009
I use this press to mainly load .223 for a bolt action gun built to shoot prairie dogs. It certainly adds to the accuracy of my loads for the reason that it is extremly consistent. With loads from this press, shots on prairie dogs past 500 yards are attainable with my accurized Model 70 in .223. I also load .22-250 Ackley Improved with this press. If you are aiming to maximize accuracy and consistency I do not know of a finer press to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Forster Co-Ax Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Press I have ever used!

Date:April 8, 2009
higher price doesnt always mean a better product, but in this case...the extra expense is well worth it. I have had the good opportunity to use a fair share of presses, single stage and progressive stage from a good amount of companies. With this experience I have to say that the Forester CO-AX is by far the best single stage press available. Granted, do not buy this press if you plan on reloading for a 9mm or even .223 for plinking...a Dillon progressive is the best in that market. The Forester is for the reloader that is going for a amazingly accurate load and consistency. I personally use this press for reloading for the .300 winmag and I have seen some of the tightest groups ever fired from my rifle after owning this press and Forsters ultimate seater die and resizer. The press is amazingly well built, easy to assemble and calibrate, and just feels great to the touch. Alot smaller than it appears in the picture, but dont let size fool you. All around great company and press...could not want anything more out of a single stage press. Thanks Forster for making an excellent product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 53