Customer Reviews for LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

Loading handgun and rifle ammunition has never been easier. Just add a bullet and pull the lever – it’s that simple. All other operations are fully automatic. One loaded cartridge is produced with each pull of the lever. Primers, like the powder, are fed only if the case is present. There are no wasted primers or spilled powder. An alternate loading sequence lets you load only one case at a time. Change calibers in just minutes. A Pro Auto Disk Powder Measure and Auto Prime II priming system are included. All handgun calibers also include a Carbide Pistol Three Die Set. The .223 Rem includes a rifle charging die. Calibers: .38 Special/.357 Magnum, 9mm Luger, 40 Smith & Wesson, 44 Special/.44 Magnum, .45 ACP, .45 Long Colt®, .223 (includes rifle charging die. Not available in carbide.)
Overall Customer Rating:
3.887 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 195 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
69
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
8
1 Star
25
161 out of 195(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Review 101 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2012

Lee Pro 1000

By
Location: ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This press will service you very well. Its not a Dillon but it is also 1/3 the price. The set-up was easy and it does put the rounds out. I would make sure you have a scale around to see how the powder disks drop a charge (there is no chart on them for powder). I would of given this 5 stars except for the disk and the shoot that the loaded ammo drops down does get backed-up when your pump'in them out. I am going to get on in 223 for mass shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2012

Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

By
Location: Texarkana,AR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I use press for 223 Rem. Had lots of trouble with case feeding and priming. Sent it back to Lee and they fixed it and returned it. It works very well now. I size my cases seperatly because I don't care to get lube all over everything.
This press should work great on pistol callbers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2012

Good machine for the money

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have loaded several hundred rounds so far. Unit was a little finicky to get setup and running smooth, but using the enclosed directions and a couple of the "how-to" video clips from Lee I got it adjusted and cranking out rounds. Only issue I have found is the primer feed tends to start jamming up when you get down to the last 10 or so primers. Found that using a small length of wire to keep a little pressure behind them keeps the primers feeding without tipping over and jamming up. I bought the unit for 40 S&W. Was not difficult to convert to 45 and 9mm with a few additional pieces.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2012

Works for the money

By
Location: CA
I have two of these presses, in 9mm and in 45. Once setup they work well as long as your powder is compatible. Flake powders like 700x will make your life miserable with this press. Stay with ball or stick powders and you will enjoy this press. Its not a Dillon but you can buy 6 of these for the price of one Dillion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

Good press with minor issues

By
Location: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is my first press aside from the lee hand press which grew old very quickly. As stated, the instructions are lacking but once the press was put toghether, it took only three adjustments for bullet depth and that was all it needed.
The priming system is a contrary, but nothing too complex. If you let the primer feed get close to running out of primers, then it wants to quit feeding them / get jammed. Not a huge problem, just stop and refill often. The other minor setback is the cartridge feed system. I had many problems with the linkage arm that pushes the empty into the shell plate. It slips out constantly even after adjusting it so i just removed it and slide them in manually, again, no biggie. All in all a huge advantage over hand presses and is still very cosistent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2012

great buy

By
Location: Tyler Tx
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this pro 1000 to add to my collection of lee presses. I now own a lee single stage, lee turret press, and this pro 1000. It is a great press for the money. A bit slow to get set up and tweaked but once I got it running it works great. Every once in a while it will give primer feed problems but its nothing major. Basically keep the primer feed tray full and it works great. Great press for the money!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Good press for the price

By
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I pick up the Pro 1000 a few months back and immediately went to town reloading. So far I have reloaded around 3000 rounds of 9mm and 1200 rounds of 223. All rounds are consistent and function flawlessly. Since the primer loading feature of this press is "iffy" I removed it and modified my process. I now prime before I use this press. I had no major issues with he priming feature, but it was difficult to keep running without slowing me down. No big deal. I added a factory crimp die (available from Cabelas) and moved my flaring and powder die forward one step. Now the stations are 1.) Flaring and powder. 2.) Bullet seating and minimum crimp. 3.) Lee factory crimp die. Then I go shoot. With proper setup and some patience this press can have you pumping out high quality ammo in a short time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

I have 2 Lee Pro 1000

By
Location: Hot Springs, AR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I own 2 Lee Pro 1000 reloaders. One is set up for 9 mm and the other for .223 Rem. I shoot competitively in IDPA, USPSA and Multi-Gun plug P-Dog hunting. I have loaded several thousand rounds through each. They work fine. The biggest issue is the primer feeder. Keep the ramp clean and smooth and it works OK. When working as a progressive press you need to watch that the primer falls down the hole or at least clear of the base. If a primer lands near the priming plunger it will not allow the new primers to be fully seated. If you fail to catch this later the round may not go off as the high primer won't detonate. But for the price this loader is hard to beat. I do not regret my purchase and will continue to load many thousand more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

solid purchase

By
After getting all the adjustments just right, (takes some time...) a very good re-loader.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Great for the price.

By
Location: Bloomingdale, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this press to load more 9mm ammo since I shoot that the most. I didn't want to use my single stage RCBS rock chucker for 9mm in large quantities. I found the press to be more than acceptable FOR THE PRICE. I found that slow and deliberate use of this press works the best paying attention to make sure the primer feeds and seats correctly. I also need to blow powder from the shell plate carrier and primer feeding area every 25 rounds or so. Plenty of tips and tricks on the internet to help with tweaking this press and making it a winner in my book.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2011

Great press for the price

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Great press for the price, couple of minor problems with the primer feeder but nothing that can't be overcome. Great buy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2011

good buy

By
Location: salem, or
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Got this, then i looked on you tube, some people were real satisfied with the reloader and others weren't; myself, i really like it and it works great. The only thing i would like to see improved would be the primer tool. Wish it would be easier to change calibers easily....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2011

Loads Rounds Quickly

By
Location: Blaine, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Tested with 9mm. Loads rounds very quickly compared to a single stage press. Takes a little tweaking to get started. As long as powder doesn't get spilled it works great. If you spill powder on the shell plate stop and clean it up first. My only gripe is that expelled primers don't have a tube to direct them out the front bottom or some other way to not have to drill extra holes in mounting area to dispose of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2011

So Easy I Bought A 2nd One!

By
Location: Orange, CA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I Started Off Reading All The Reviews Here, Then Did Some Google Searching.
Finally Decided That This Was The Press For Me.
You Can Not Beat The Price!
Set Up Was Relatively Easy, Did Not Need The Directions As I Was Following A Forum Post With Detailed Instructions And Pictures.
Within 30 Minutes I Had Drilled The Mounting Holes, Bolted It Down And Was Filling With Powder/Primers/Brass.
My 1st Few Rounds Made I Also, As Some Here Had A Problem, But After A Few Minor Adjustments I Cranked Out 500 Rounds In 2.5 Hours.
I Am Now 10K Rounds In The Press, No Problems Yet.
Primer Feed Gives Me No Issues, Assuming That You Keep It Full As I Always Have. I Have Only Had One Fail To Prime, And It Was Because The Brass I Was Reloading Was A Nightmare To De-prime Thus Not Fully Ejecting The Spent Primer.
The Powder Disk System Works Flawlessly With "Titegroup" No Variations. Not So Much With Flake Powders Like 700X. Yet They Both Do Drop And Fire With The Same Result.
If You Decide To Purchase This Press, You Will Not Be Disappointed.
Search Google To Find Some Forum Posts With Better Instructions On Set Up, And Adjustments From The Start, And You Will Have A Great Press.
My ONLY 2 Gripes Is That The Foot Print Is TOP Heavy And To SHALLOW. You Really Want A Sturdy Bench To Bolt This To. ( I Cracked, And Ripped The Press Off Of 2 Others )
The Finish On MY Press Has Started To Tarnish/Light Rust On The Shell Plate, De-prime Die, And The Shell Plate. I Do Keep It Set Up 24/7 Indoors, This Could Be From Unknown Factors, But Still Not A Plus.
Overall: Great Price, Great Value!
I Already Bought Another One For .45 ACP
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

A Steal at this price

By
Location: New Berlin, Wi.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
After the set up, a simple process, I loaded a few 38s to get the dies set where I wanted them. I can now easily load 100 cases in less than 1/2 hour. This press outperforms my previous green progressive at a fraction of the cost, and far less problems. This one has yet to send a primer halfway across the room due to spring load, since there is none involved, just gravity feed. I have loaded about 450 rounds without a failure. My last press never performed this well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011

223 Lee Pro 1000 Loader

By
Location: Yauco, Puerto Rico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
You must keep an eye on the primer chute, keep it full and rolling, other than that, is a great loader. I have loaded hundreds of rounds and shoot great. I use this one only for 223 rem. I own another Lee Pro 1000 Loader for pistol reloading. They both work great. I give it 4 stars because of the primer issue.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2011

Good reloading press

By
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the first reloading press I have owned. The main reason I decided to go with it was price as compared to other progressive presses out there and some very helpful online videos. Some notes about this press.. It does take some time and tinkering to get it set up however never having reloaded a single round I was able to do it and make my first 250 rounds in a weekend. That may sound like a lot of time but this included a lot of time spent weighing powder learning how the automatic powder system performed.
I wouldn't say the press is a jewel but it is plenty sufficient for the task. You can't treat it like a powered heavy duty machine because it isn't designed for that use. It does take a little getting used to the "feel" of the press while reloading. One thing I would like to have seen on the press is a positive lock on the die holder which only has a spring loaded ball keeping it from rotating which makes locking the dies in position a two handed process.
I'm not sure why this press is getting so many poor ratings. It works and used in the manner it was designed to be used is a perfectly fine piece of machinery.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2011

Great Value!

By
Location: Vashon, Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Setup for 9mm was simple. After reading a number of tips by others on the web I was able to get this up and running smoothly.
I set up an inexpensive single stage Lee press with a Universal Depriming and Decapping Die to simplify getting my range brass ready for cleaning.
I'm planning to get another Pro 1000 setup for 45 ACP.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Lee Pro 1000

By
Location: Key West, Fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using the Pro 1000 in 38 Spl for several months now. Set up was simple, but it took several attempts and minor adjustments to get things running smoothly. The main issue stems around the primer system. Upon set up it is helpful to wax the feed ramp to make it as slippery as possible. The system will work reliably as long as you have enough primers to fill the feed ramp back to at least the primer tray. If not, there does not seem to be enough weight to reliably feed the primer ram. The system is gravity fed, relying on the weight of at least 15 or so primers to force the next primer onto the ram.
Once in a while the case dropping out of the feeder does not get seated properly and it hangs up on the sizing die. The key with this press is to pay attention to the steps and don't rush it. It is quite easy to make 150 rds per hour. If you try to go much faster than that you are likely to have some issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010

Great product - Lee Pro 1000

By
Location: Albquerque, NM
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought the Lee Pro 1000 about two weeks ago. Since I have received it I have loaded approximately 900 rounds of 9mm shells and 100 of 40 cal. I also went to the range and shot many of the reloaded 9mm rounds. To my surprise and pleasure all but 2 fired perfectly. One round I had to cock twice but the round went off the second time. The other I had left the powder out and hence the bullet went into the barrel and lodged there because only the primer went off. Obviously, an error on my part not the product. I am extremely pleased with my purchase. Yes, it takes a little adjusting and getting use to but once I learned how to use the press I have had some very good production. Also, once set no further adjustments are necessary unless other components change. I do plan to have only the one press and get additional dies for the different caliber pistols I own.
I have purchasd some additional dies and die rings for changing out the whole caliber set. I do wish it would be easier to change the primer trough for larger primers rather than having to purchase a whole new caliper unit. Also, since I am getting the different caliber die sets it would be nice to be able to get the progressive shell plate included with each set purchased. There is a shell plate but it is for the single loading turrent press rather than the progressive.
At this point I highly recommend buying the Lee Pro 1000. It is extremely good quality and a better purchase than any other similar product I have researched.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 101-120 of 195