Customer Reviews for LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

Loading handgun and rifle ammunition has never been easier. Just add a bullet and pull the lever – it’s that simple. All other operations are fully automatic. One loaded cartridge is produced with each pull of the lever. Primers, like the powder, are fed only if the case is present. There are no wasted primers or spilled powder. An alternate loading sequence lets you load only one case at a time. Change calibers in just minutes. A Pro Auto Disk Powder Measure and Auto Prime II priming system are included. All handgun calibers also include a Carbide Pistol Three Die Set. The .223 Rem includes a rifle charging die. Calibers: .38 Special/.357 Magnum, 9mm Luger, 40 Smith & Wesson, 44 Special/.44 Magnum, .45 ACP, .45 Long Colt, .223 (includes rifle charging die. Not available in carbide.)
Overall Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 185 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
23
154 out of 185(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Review 101 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Tyler Tx
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:January 12, 2012
I purchased this pro 1000 to add to my collection of lee presses. I now own a lee single stage, lee turret press, and this pro 1000. It is a great press for the money. A bit slow to get set up and tweaked but once I got it running it works great. Every once in a while it will give primer feed problems but its nothing major. Basically keep the primer feed tray full and it works great. Great press for the money!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good press for the price

Date:January 11, 2012
I pick up the Pro 1000 a few months back and immediately went to town reloading. So far I have reloaded around 3000 rounds of 9mm and 1200 rounds of 223. All rounds are consistent and function flawlessly. Since the primer loading feature of this press is "iffy" I removed it and modified my process. I now prime before I use this press. I had no major issues with he priming feature, but it was difficult to keep running without slowing me down. No big deal. I added a factory crimp die (available from Cabelas) and moved my flaring and powder die forward one step. Now the stations are 1.) Flaring and powder. 2.) Bullet seating and minimum crimp. 3.) Lee factory crimp die. Then I go shoot. With proper setup and some patience this press can have you pumping out high quality ammo in a short time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hot Springs, AR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I have 2 Lee Pro 1000

Date:January 11, 2012
I own 2 Lee Pro 1000 reloaders. One is set up for 9 mm and the other for .223 Rem. I shoot competitively in IDPA, USPSA and Multi-Gun plug P-Dog hunting. I have loaded several thousand rounds through each. They work fine. The biggest issue is the primer feeder. Keep the ramp clean and smooth and it works OK. When working as a progressive press you need to watch that the primer falls down the hole or at least clear of the base. If a primer lands near the priming plunger it will not allow the new primers to be fully seated. If you fail to catch this later the round may not go off as the high primer won't detonate. But for the price this loader is hard to beat. I do not regret my purchase and will continue to load many thousand more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

solid purchase

Date:January 9, 2012
After getting all the adjustments just right, (takes some time...) a very good re-loader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bloomingdale, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the price.

Date:November 27, 2011
I purchased this press to load more 9mm ammo since I shoot that the most. I didn't want to use my single stage RCBS rock chucker for 9mm in large quantities. I found the press to be more than acceptable FOR THE PRICE. I found that slow and deliberate use of this press works the best paying attention to make sure the primer feeds and seats correctly. I also need to blow powder from the shell plate carrier and primer feeding area every 25 rounds or so. Plenty of tips and tricks on the internet to help with tweaking this press and making it a winner in my book.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great press for the price

Date:November 27, 2011
Great press for the price, couple of minor problems with the primer feeder but nothing that can't be overcome. Great buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: salem, or
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:June 8, 2011
Got this, then i looked on you tube, some people were real satisfied with the reloader and others weren't; myself, i really like it and it works great. The only thing i would like to see improved would be the primer tool. Wish it would be easier to change calibers easily....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Blaine, MN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loads Rounds Quickly

Date:June 1, 2011
Tested with 9mm. Loads rounds very quickly compared to a single stage press. Takes a little tweaking to get started. As long as powder doesn't get spilled it works great. If you spill powder on the shell plate stop and clean it up first. My only gripe is that expelled primers don't have a tube to direct them out the front bottom or some other way to not have to drill extra holes in mounting area to dispose of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Orange, CA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Easy I Bought A 2nd One!

Date:April 17, 2011
I Started Off Reading All The Reviews Here, Then Did Some Google Searching.
Finally Decided That This Was The Press For Me.
You Can Not Beat The Price!
Set Up Was Relatively Easy, Did Not Need The Directions As I Was Following A Forum Post With Detailed Instructions And Pictures.
Within 30 Minutes I Had Drilled The Mounting Holes, Bolted It Down And Was Filling With Powder/Primers/Brass.
My 1st Few Rounds Made I Also, As Some Here Had A Problem, But After A Few Minor Adjustments I Cranked Out 500 Rounds In 2.5 Hours.
I Am Now 10K Rounds In The Press, No Problems Yet.
Primer Feed Gives Me No Issues, Assuming That You Keep It Full As I Always Have. I Have Only Had One Fail To Prime, And It Was Because The Brass I Was Reloading Was A Nightmare To De-prime Thus Not Fully Ejecting The Spent Primer.
The Powder Disk System Works Flawlessly With "Titegroup" No Variations. Not So Much With Flake Powders Like 700X. Yet They Both Do Drop And Fire With The Same Result.
If You Decide To Purchase This Press, You Will Not Be Disappointed.
Search Google To Find Some Forum Posts With Better Instructions On Set Up, And Adjustments From The Start, And You Will Have A Great Press.
My ONLY 2 Gripes Is That The Foot Print Is TOP Heavy And To SHALLOW. You Really Want A Sturdy Bench To Bolt This To. ( I Cracked, And Ripped The Press Off Of 2 Others )
The Finish On MY Press Has Started To Tarnish/Light Rust On The Shell Plate, De-prime Die, And The Shell Plate. I Do Keep It Set Up 24/7 Indoors, This Could Be From Unknown Factors, But Still Not A Plus.
Overall: Great Price, Great Value!
I Already Bought Another One For .45 ACP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Berlin, Wi.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Steal at this price

Date:March 2, 2011
After the set up, a simple process, I loaded a few 38s to get the dies set where I wanted them. I can now easily load 100 cases in less than 1/2 hour. This press outperforms my previous green progressive at a fraction of the cost, and far less problems. This one has yet to send a primer halfway across the room due to spring load, since there is none involved, just gravity feed. I have loaded about 450 rounds without a failure. My last press never performed this well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yauco, Puerto Rico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

223 Lee Pro 1000 Loader

Date:February 21, 2011
You must keep an eye on the primer chute, keep it full and rolling, other than that, is a great loader. I have loaded hundreds of rounds and shoot great. I use this one only for 223 rem. I own another Lee Pro 1000 Loader for pistol reloading. They both work great. I give it 4 stars because of the primer issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good reloading press

Date:February 15, 2011
This is the first reloading press I have owned. The main reason I decided to go with it was price as compared to other progressive presses out there and some very helpful online videos. Some notes about this press.. It does take some time and tinkering to get it set up however never having reloaded a single round I was able to do it and make my first 250 rounds in a weekend. That may sound like a lot of time but this included a lot of time spent weighing powder learning how the automatic powder system performed.
I wouldn't say the press is a jewel but it is plenty sufficient for the task. You can't treat it like a powered heavy duty machine because it isn't designed for that use. It does take a little getting used to the "feel" of the press while reloading. One thing I would like to have seen on the press is a positive lock on the die holder which only has a spring loaded ball keeping it from rotating which makes locking the dies in position a two handed process.
I'm not sure why this press is getting so many poor ratings. It works and used in the manner it was designed to be used is a perfectly fine piece of machinery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Vashon, Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:January 28, 2011
Setup for 9mm was simple. After reading a number of tips by others on the web I was able to get this up and running smoothly.
I set up an inexpensive single stage Lee press with a Universal Depriming and Decapping Die to simplify getting my range brass ready for cleaning.
I'm planning to get another Pro 1000 setup for 45 ACP.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Key West, Fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Pro 1000

Date:January 24, 2011
I have been using the Pro 1000 in 38 Spl for several months now. Set up was simple, but it took several attempts and minor adjustments to get things running smoothly. The main issue stems around the primer system. Upon set up it is helpful to wax the feed ramp to make it as slippery as possible. The system will work reliably as long as you have enough primers to fill the feed ramp back to at least the primer tray. If not, there does not seem to be enough weight to reliably feed the primer ram. The system is gravity fed, relying on the weight of at least 15 or so primers to force the next primer onto the ram.
Once in a while the case dropping out of the feeder does not get seated properly and it hangs up on the sizing die. The key with this press is to pay attention to the steps and don't rush it. It is quite easy to make 150 rds per hour. If you try to go much faster than that you are likely to have some issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Albquerque, NM
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product - Lee Pro 1000

Date:December 16, 2010
I bought the Lee Pro 1000 about two weeks ago. Since I have received it I have loaded approximately 900 rounds of 9mm shells and 100 of 40 cal. I also went to the range and shot many of the reloaded 9mm rounds. To my surprise and pleasure all but 2 fired perfectly. One round I had to cock twice but the round went off the second time. The other I had left the powder out and hence the bullet went into the barrel and lodged there because only the primer went off. Obviously, an error on my part not the product. I am extremely pleased with my purchase. Yes, it takes a little adjusting and getting use to but once I learned how to use the press I have had some very good production. Also, once set no further adjustments are necessary unless other components change. I do plan to have only the one press and get additional dies for the different caliber pistols I own.
I have purchasd some additional dies and die rings for changing out the whole caliber set. I do wish it would be easier to change the primer trough for larger primers rather than having to purchase a whole new caliper unit. Also, since I am getting the different caliber die sets it would be nice to be able to get the progressive shell plate included with each set purchased. There is a shell plate but it is for the single loading turrent press rather than the progressive.
At this point I highly recommend buying the Lee Pro 1000. It is extremely good quality and a better purchase than any other similar product I have researched.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little press for the money.

Date:October 28, 2010
I would rate this press at 4 1/2 stars.
I was recently given a Lee Pro 1000 press by a friend that uses a high end press. He just wanted to get rid of it because he needed the space in his garage. He took it in on a deal some time back and never used it. It was very dirty and had a small film of rust on all the steel parts and needed to be cleaned up very badly. The press would not function and the ram would hang in mid stroke. Being a machinist I saw the potential in restoring this press and knew that it would be no big deal to completely disassemble, polish all the parts, and re-assemble. I used red scotch bright to polish the steel parts and lost no parent metal. It was a great success! I also reworked the three shell plate carrier's that came with it. 44cal, 45ACP, 9mm Lugar. The two powder drops were ok and needed nothing. All that I have had to buy were the dies that I needed. (available at Cabelas) The press was ready to go!
Upon my first attempt to make some bullets my experience was much like many that I have read on this forum. I just had problems making the dang thing work. Anyway I kept at it, not to be outdone by this machine that I just put all this effort into, and I re-inspected the nylon hex ratchet in the bottom end and the drive bolt and found that they needed to be replaced. This fixed the problem. The machine was in sound mechanical condition at this point and all I needed to do was learn how it worked and its particular characteristics. Yes I had all the problems with the primer tray and the problems with the ejection tray and so forth... I had problems learning how to use the stroke lever properly. If you short stroke the press even slightly it will cause problems. If you slam the stroke too hard you will screw up... In short you have to get the feel of this machine as with all other machines out there in order to get the results you are after. A smooth stroke with consistent speed is the key. This principle will apply to almost anything in the way of manually operated machines. My first 50 rounds of 44 special took better than 6 hours to make but they were good rounds. I just made another 100 rounds that took about an hour. As I gain experience with this machine I believe that 200 to 250 rounds an hour is quite possible without sacrificing quality. This press is not intended for making match grade ammunition but it will give you a consistent product with acceptable accuracy.
Read what some of the other guys have said on this forum that have had success with this press and you can learn a lot from their tips and tricks. This press may not be top of the line but it is affordable for those of us who's pockets are not quite that deep. It is a good bang for the buck in my opinion. I plan on purchasing another one from Cabelas due to my positive experience with the Lee Pro 1000 and its affordability. Replacement parts are readily available from Lee Precision.
Catholicseymour
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A few more tips and tricks

Date:September 25, 2010
I recently received a Lee Pro 1000 loader from Cabelas. Like a lot of people, I found the initial experience to be a little frustrating, but once the kinks were ironed out, it runs like a Swiss watch. My first recommendation would be to sit down and with no powder, primers or bullets, run a few cases through it and figure out what all the little components actually do. Some pretty simple yet ingenius methods used to make it operate. Once you see it in operation you will find the instructions will make a lot more sense. Lots of things from other people are covered in the reviews. Read them. One problem I encountered that I didn't see mentioned was that 44 Mag cartridges with 240 gr bullets would tip out of the discharge chute over the flat portion at the top of the ramp. I bent a small piece of wire and fastened it on the case feeder stud to sort of extend the angled portion of the ramp. Works like a charm. If your primers are not seating deep enough. a small, thin piece of metal (a piece of a can cover) taped to the base of the press below the primer pin will increase the depth. Make sure the carrier is all the way onto the ram though first. The piece must be smaller in diameter and centered on the pin, or could be glued to the bottom of the pin itself. I had trouble with the case mouth not expanding enough, even when the die was down as far as it would go. The expander plug from the 44 spc. die is longer, and if used, takes care of ithe problem just fine. Hope this stuff helps . Get her tuned, and it'll be a pleasure to use. Great machine for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Augusta, GA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Pro 1000 Reloader

Date:August 22, 2010
It took me about 2 weeks to learn the idiosyncracies of this reloader, including the optimal amont of lube on .223 cases and setup of automatic case feeder, powder thrower, and primer feed. All the information is in the instructions, but some simple tables for die setup could replace a lot of text. The accompanying pictures should be reshot and relabeled. As other reviews mention, the videos on Lee's website help. I made/fired 500/150 9 mm, 150/150 .233, and 500/300 .45 APC so far and have had no feed, fire or ejection problems . I don't believe it will make match grade ammo, due to variations in the automatic powder thrower output, but it will make a lot of ammo quickly. If I were to recommend it to a friend, I would also offer to help my friend set it up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Everett, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great!

Date:June 7, 2010
I am new to reloading, this press was my first venture into the process. It was a bit tricky to get setup, but watching the videos on the Lee website was a tremendous help. I've shot about 100 rounds of the ammo I have made with no problems! Good press that turns out consistent ammo quickly. Great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mystic, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the effort

Date:April 17, 2010
My first reloading press. After one day I was ready to return it. Too many things going on and if it is just not "so", you destroy more materials than you make.
However, once I got the hang of it, what a pleasure to use! A "4" rather than a "5" because it is a pain in the neck to change calibers. Many good YOUTUBE videos. The instructions, like everyone lese has mentioned, are a definite weak point when getting started. Also, weigh your charges. Do not rely on the "disk" for different powders until you verify the weight of the delivered charge. Skip the bullet-feeder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 101-120 of 185