Customer Reviews for LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

Loading handgun and rifle ammunition has never been easier. Just add a bullet and pull the lever – it’s that simple. All other operations are fully automatic. One loaded cartridge is produced with each pull of the lever. Primers, like the powder, are fed only if the case is present. There are no wasted primers or spilled powder. An alternate loading sequence lets you load only one case at a time. Change calibers in just minutes. A Pro Auto Disk Powder Measure and Auto Prime II priming system are included. All handgun calibers also include a Carbide Pistol Three Die Set. The .223 Rem includes a rifle charging die. Calibers: .38 Special/.357 Magnum, 9mm Luger, 40 Smith & Wesson, 44 Special/.44 Magnum, .45 ACP, .45 Long Colt, .223 (includes rifle charging die. Not available in carbide.)
Overall Customer Rating:
3.945 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
22
153 out of 183(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Review 21 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I think it is great!

Date:January 23, 2013
Bought this reloader as a first timer and knowing very well that is has hiccups with the primers, among a few other things. Have to admit I do not mind working on things; especially if they are of lower cost. After spending quite some time getting the dies in the correct position (Thank you leepresision on youtube!) and a frustrating time getting the spindle tightened (didn't know what was going on), I only now need to make sure the primer feed works every time (They will come in crooked or upside down if the spindle is notadjusted correctly or dirty). Keeping the primer feeder full as possible (And clean) and adjusting the spindle often helps a lot! Make sure you go through a few hundred bullets one at time so you know what the FEEL is. If something goes wrong, you will know instantly. Haven't timed myself, but I can do around 100 rounds in 15-2 minutes or so. If you need them faster, get a more expensive model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lee Poor 1000

Date:January 21, 2013
Well I just spent 12 hours of on line reviewing videos thinking I would have this down and get the Lee 1000 purring like a kitten. Then I spent 6 hours trying to get a few casings reloaded on a consistent bases. Well needless to say even after endless tries and a total cleaning could not get more than 2 bullets loaded in a row. Primer issues here again and again. Main reason. The next was getting the pimer extraction rod tight enough to stay in place to remove the primers. I had an upbeat attitude thinking I could get this press to work but sorry to say you need to find another press and don't bother with this thing. All the reviews are totally right. Junk Total Junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but for the money

Date:January 15, 2013
I bought this press even after some if its not so good reviews. I load 44 mag on it and it works great. The primer system does have a hiccup here and there but if you keep powder out of the primer seater and the primer feeder it will function flawlessly. If you are looking for a press to start with I would say go for it this is my first press and u have no complaints. Just take your time during the setup process and keep it clean and you will be golden.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Functional but finicky

Date:January 6, 2013
Obviously, this is the least expensive progressive press on the market. It is not a press that you will just pull out of the box and start cranking out lots of bullets. There is a definite learning curve that you will have to go through and YOU WILL GET VERY FRUSTRATED during this period. Most of the issues involve the priming system. Once you get past the learning curve and learn all the little tricks, it will work reasonable well. You have to be deliberate and observant to catch little problems before they turn into a big problems. I figure that I can now load about 3 to 4 bullets per minute (200 to 250 bullets per hour).
My recommendation would be that if you really aren't all that concerned with "high volume production", you might want to consider the classic turret press rather than the progressive press. A little slower but a lot less frustration. I've never used any of the other progressive presses from Dillon or Hornady so I don't know much about them other than they are a lot more expensive. If you really need to go with the Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press, just accept the fact that you will struggle with this press at first until you master all its little quirks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Pro 1000 -- a good loader

Date:December 18, 2012
Pros: low cost, easy to use, best use as partial progressive.
Cons: set up and adjustment takes some time.
Overall satisfied. Have used with .45 ACP and .223 REM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good press

Date:December 18, 2012
I own 4 of these. They are good presses, especially for the money. Can be a little tricky, and don't try to go to fast. I easily do 200 rds per hour. Take your time, and it should work perfectly. May need minor adjustments. Must get the case collator to speed up the process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:December 12, 2012
I do this commercially, approximately 4000 rounds per month, 45LC. I have more than one. As long as it's cleaned & lubed it works flawless. A great product for the price, can not find a better one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press

Date:December 11, 2012
You can;t beat the price I read all the review and checked out Youtube videos and followed their setups and was up and running in no time. I have run 500 rounds through with only minor learning problems. I'm having more fun loading my own ammo and going to the range and testing it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press for the money

Date:December 9, 2012
This is a great press for the money. I took the time reviewed the Lee instructional video's and the YouTube videos and within a week was loading 150 rounds an hour. The secret to great loads is just go nice and easy and not try to slam out 500 rnds an hr. Practice without any primers and powder first, get your dies set, run a few practice rounds, Then have at it. Do this and you'll love and enjoy this press for years to come. I love mine Works great. Thanks Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good once you get set up just right

Date:December 5, 2012
The press is good over all I like it. BUT if a primmer don't set perfect you have powder everywhere and you have to to a complete tear down and clean it, I keep a vac in there to suck up extra powder. Once you get all the bugs worked out and know what to watch for then its great but you have to watch for depriming, and priming, and also watch for it bottle necking the brass when it put in the bullet but thins is not very often, but mainly when you are on last round. Now that I have used it for a while I like it, but hated it the first week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get what you pay for

Date:October 17, 2012
I bought this, took it out of the box and packed it back up for return immediately. It was very oily and everything was full of cardboard fibers/dust including the dies, primer system and powder measure. The ram was almost impossible to move. Everything just looked and felt cheap. I have no doubt that it can be made to work well but if I wanted to clean and get a press working I would buy a used one at a garage sale. I have since bought a more expensive blue press and there is absolutely no comparison between the two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Loader for the Money

Date:October 15, 2012
It took a couple hours to adjust everything, primmer feeder was the bigest problem if you keep the primer tray full seems to work better. Now I have two Lee 1000, (45 acp, and 40 S&W loaders, got the 40 S&W last monday, takes about 30 min to load 100 bullets. This is a great loader, anyone with a little loading experance should be able to use this loader with little to no problems.
Would Recommend this loader to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm Pro 1000

Date:October 7, 2012
It took several hours to adjust everything and with VERY POOR instructions.Primmer feeder was a little catchy to get feeding properly but after a while I got it going. Now I am pumping out bullets.Easy to use once you get it set up. I would say WELL worth the money.
I would get the Brass hopper and maybe even the bullet feeder for it.
George
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Press Better Price

Date:September 19, 2012
Takes some effort getting dialed in but once done reloading is fast and easy. I now have 3 lee presses and they all work great. Lee's customer service is fantastic as well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:September 4, 2012
it works good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

caution !!!!!!!!!!!

Date:September 1, 2012
i got this press approx. a year ago and as yet am not 100% satisfied . its toted as being ready to load out of the box with minimal set up but this is not the case ! , It is however a tinkerers dream as constant and diligent attention HAS to be paid to every stage of operation !! , even when it seemingly is working well dont drop your guard as a single flake of powder from the leaky powder charger will wreak havoc or the ram will pull from the carrier or a case wont feed or the plate wont index fully or a case wont eject and get damaged , the list goes on and on !!! , and it all starts over again with a simple bullet or caliber change ! , youll spend more time fixing it than producing any reloads and as far as im concerned thats un- acceptable !!! , and if you get the bullet feeder expect more " fun " . I always liked lee products but its obvious this one should have had all the quirks worked out before release to the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth it...

Date:August 12, 2012
After all the attension to detail I took and set up as per the instructions - I still had problems getting it to go for any length of time.... The short time it did work, the loads were acceptable. The disc powder feed will spill some powder naturally by design. This will lead to powder build up in the primer feed causing primer setting issues. The shell plate does noty always make a complete cycle and requires help from you... This is just to start... It becomes obvious (quickly) why serious shooters insist on a Dillon... Sorry Lee,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee pro 1000

Date:July 23, 2012
This thing is Sweet it works ivery good but you have to take your time setting it up and read all the instructions and you'll have zero problems. Be sure to make complete pulls on the lever both up and down that's a mustand take your time until you get comfortable with it if you do have a problem the tech staff at lee will walk you through it all within the same phone call very good staff I reload 40cal. And I am up to 250 an hour already it's sweet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pull and pause....

Date:July 14, 2012
When I first set up this press I had issues... feeding brass, feeding and setting primers, tearing casings to shreds, powder all over the place, primers underfoot and on and on. Then I decided to go to bed and start the next day. I fed one casing all the way through the process SLOWLY to see exactly what was happening at each station. When a primer didn't feed properly, I d to figure out why. Same with all the other hiccups I was having. Within an hour or so, I had it. I can now really pump the rounds out with confidence that they are good rounds. The key for me was a slow lever pull with a deliberate push at the bottom of the stroke and the same at the top. Gotta feel the primer set. If you don't feel it, stop and check it out. I keep my eye on the primer set, the powder drop, and the initial brass feed. Go slow and the problems go away. I love this press.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice beginner

Date:April 23, 2012
I received my lee progressive reloader within a week of the order, it was fairly easy to assemble, but the return chain is very weak and it will break if you don't leave enough slack, the brass itself is enough to reset the powder disc. Overall a great reloader!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 183