Customer Reviews for LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

LEE Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press

Loading handgun and rifle ammunition has never been easier. Just add a bullet and pull the lever – it’s that simple. All other operations are fully automatic. One loaded cartridge is produced with each pull of the lever. Primers, like the powder, are fed only if the case is present. There are no wasted primers or spilled powder. An alternate loading sequence lets you load only one case at a time. Change calibers in just minutes. A Pro Auto Disk Powder Measure and Auto Prime II priming system are included. All handgun calibers also include a Carbide Pistol Three Die Set. The .223 Rem includes a rifle charging die. Calibers: .38 Special/.357 Magnum, 9mm Luger, 40 Smith & Wesson, 44 Special/.44 Magnum, .45 ACP, .45 Long Colt®, .223 (includes rifle charging die. Not available in carbide.)
Overall Customer Rating:
3.911 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 191 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
24
158 out of 191(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 88 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Review 21 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

What a hassel

Date:June 9, 2013
I tried this re loader, Have to say I would never buy this same one again, I had to tear down and clean the primer feeder about every 15 to 20 rounds, Then it kept jamming up. When I first set it up, I worked like a champ for about the first 20 rounds, then things went down hill from there, Finally gave up after trying to keep it going, Even had a friend come buy and help to no avail, He has been loading for almost 20 years, he advised me to just send it back..... I honestly gave it a 110% chance..
I tried every thing by the book and even watch videos. still could not get it to work right..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very user friendly and mechanically brilliant

Date:June 3, 2013
I have basic reloading knowledge, I have reloaded a few times before. I purchased this in store and when I got home immediately unboxed. The first thing I did was take out all the paperwork and read through it, which I would suggest doing. Within an hour and a half I had it assembled, mounted and pumped out my first round.
Please go slow when you start, learn what every action feels like, that way if a problem happens you can fix it immediately. I have never had a failure or a primer issue. The other suggestion I have is watch Lee's videos on YouTube it helped out immensely with setup and accuracy.
This is a great press and already have recommended it. Just make sure you have an accurate powder scale because the powder charger is a little "iffy" to learn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You get what you pay for

Date:May 1, 2013
Press is easy to set up, works great other than the primer feed. I cannot seem to get the primers to feed properly, the go in crooked or not at all most of the time. Very frustrating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Pro 1000 9mm

Date:April 2, 2013
I like the press, but, like alot of the reviews, the priming system is hard to get use to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great press

Date:March 19, 2013
I am new to reloading and this was the first press I have owned. I have used a single stage and turret press before.
This press was a little tricky to set up but as long as your patient and double check your clearances you shouldn't have any problems.
I love the press and really enjoy reloading with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

load master 9mm

Date:February 5, 2013
I gave 5 stars because it looks really cool mounted on my workbench, I have not use the machine yet, trying to buy components is next to impossible, as soon as I get to use the machine I will reevaluate my review.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee pro 1000 for 9mm, excellent value

Date:February 5, 2013
As a newbie with reloading, I didn't know what to expect when blindly purchasing the pro 1000 based on the reveiws. Took my time, watch some online videos and took a leap of faith. Well, it paid off and couldn't be happier.
Sure, there's other units that maybe able to crank out a few more per hour, or fit and finish is little better and not as finicky, but for what I paid, excellent set up.
Here's some of the PROs:
1.Initial price!
2.Enough online support via lee and other outlets
3. Replacement parts are easily attainable and cheap
4. Enough accessories to even speed up the process of relaoding that won't kill the wallet, i.e. bullet feeder, brass funnel.
Now the CONs:
1. Set up time. Here's where it can frustrate some. Out of the box, there is assembly required, and required some tooling, wrenches and socket sets so on so forth. Most likely, if you're getting into reloading, you should possess at a very minimum, something alittle above an entry level/understanding of mechanical function. The instructions, are not very helpful and do require patience, hence the reason why the online support is very helpful whether from lee or some third party.
2. Primer tray. You need to keep the primer tray FULL or at least the chut full to avoid missed or crushed primers.
The key with this unit, is to take your time. Once you have it dailed in, it plays like a tune.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad machine

Date:February 5, 2013
Doesn't work. Can't adjust. Cases easily stuck. Too much poor construction.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I think it is great!

Date:January 23, 2013
Bought this reloader as a first timer and knowing very well that is has hiccups with the primers, among a few other things. Have to admit I do not mind working on things; especially if they are of lower cost. After spending quite some time getting the dies in the correct position (Thank you leepresision on youtube!) and a frustrating time getting the spindle tightened (didn't know what was going on), I only now need to make sure the primer feed works every time (They will come in crooked or upside down if the spindle is notadjusted correctly or dirty). Keeping the primer feeder full as possible (And clean) and adjusting the spindle often helps a lot! Make sure you go through a few hundred bullets one at time so you know what the FEEL is. If something goes wrong, you will know instantly. Haven't timed myself, but I can do around 100 rounds in 15-2 minutes or so. If you need them faster, get a more expensive model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lee Poor 1000

Date:January 21, 2013
Well I just spent 12 hours of on line reviewing videos thinking I would have this down and get the Lee 1000 purring like a kitten. Then I spent 6 hours trying to get a few casings reloaded on a consistent bases. Well needless to say even after endless tries and a total cleaning could not get more than 2 bullets loaded in a row. Primer issues here again and again. Main reason. The next was getting the pimer extraction rod tight enough to stay in place to remove the primers. I had an upbeat attitude thinking I could get this press to work but sorry to say you need to find another press and don't bother with this thing. All the reviews are totally right. Junk Total Junk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good but for the money

Date:January 15, 2013
I bought this press even after some if its not so good reviews. I load 44 mag on it and it works great. The primer system does have a hiccup here and there but if you keep powder out of the primer seater and the primer feeder it will function flawlessly. If you are looking for a press to start with I would say go for it this is my first press and u have no complaints. Just take your time during the setup process and keep it clean and you will be golden.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Functional but finicky

Date:January 6, 2013
Obviously, this is the least expensive progressive press on the market. It is not a press that you will just pull out of the box and start cranking out lots of bullets. There is a definite learning curve that you will have to go through and YOU WILL GET VERY FRUSTRATED during this period. Most of the issues involve the priming system. Once you get past the learning curve and learn all the little tricks, it will work reasonable well. You have to be deliberate and observant to catch little problems before they turn into a big problems. I figure that I can now load about 3 to 4 bullets per minute (200 to 250 bullets per hour).
My recommendation would be that if you really aren't all that concerned with "high volume production", you might want to consider the classic turret press rather than the progressive press. A little slower but a lot less frustration. I've never used any of the other progressive presses from Dillon or Hornady so I don't know much about them other than they are a lot more expensive. If you really need to go with the Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press, just accept the fact that you will struggle with this press at first until you master all its little quirks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lee Pro 1000 -- a good loader

Date:December 18, 2012
Pros: low cost, easy to use, best use as partial progressive.
Cons: set up and adjustment takes some time.
Overall satisfied. Have used with .45 ACP and .223 REM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good press

Date:December 18, 2012
I own 4 of these. They are good presses, especially for the money. Can be a little tricky, and don't try to go to fast. I easily do 200 rds per hour. Take your time, and it should work perfectly. May need minor adjustments. Must get the case collator to speed up the process.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:December 12, 2012
I do this commercially, approximately 4000 rounds per month, 45LC. I have more than one. As long as it's cleaned & lubed it works flawless. A great product for the price, can not find a better one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press

Date:December 11, 2012
You can;t beat the price I read all the review and checked out Youtube videos and followed their setups and was up and running in no time. I have run 500 rounds through with only minor learning problems. I'm having more fun loading my own ammo and going to the range and testing it out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Press for the money

Date:December 9, 2012
This is a great press for the money. I took the time reviewed the Lee instructional video's and the YouTube videos and within a week was loading 150 rounds an hour. The secret to great loads is just go nice and easy and not try to slam out 500 rnds an hr. Practice without any primers and powder first, get your dies set, run a few practice rounds, Then have at it. Do this and you'll love and enjoy this press for years to come. I love mine Works great. Thanks Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good once you get set up just right

Date:December 5, 2012
The press is good over all I like it. BUT if a primmer don't set perfect you have powder everywhere and you have to to a complete tear down and clean it, I keep a vac in there to suck up extra powder. Once you get all the bugs worked out and know what to watch for then its great but you have to watch for depriming, and priming, and also watch for it bottle necking the brass when it put in the bullet but thins is not very often, but mainly when you are on last round. Now that I have used it for a while I like it, but hated it the first week.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Get what you pay for

Date:October 17, 2012
I bought this, took it out of the box and packed it back up for return immediately. It was very oily and everything was full of cardboard fibers/dust including the dies, primer system and powder measure. The ram was almost impossible to move. Everything just looked and felt cheap. I have no doubt that it can be made to work well but if I wanted to clean and get a press working I would buy a used one at a garage sale. I have since bought a more expensive blue press and there is absolutely no comparison between the two.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lee Pro 1000 Progressive Press
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Loader for the Money

Date:October 15, 2012
It took a couple hours to adjust everything, primmer feeder was the bigest problem if you keep the primer tray full seems to work better. Now I have two Lee 1000, (45 acp, and 40 S&W loaders, got the 40 S&W last monday, takes about 30 min to load 100 bullets. This is a great loader, anyone with a little loading experance should be able to use this loader with little to no problems.
Would Recommend this loader to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 191