Customer Reviews for RCBS RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RCBS RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo

Quickly remove primer-pocket crimps from military cases to form a perfectly round pocket. Includes swaging heads for large and small primers. Fits 7/8"-14 single-stage presses with RCBS-type single stage press shell holders.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
29 out of 36(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Review 21 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo

Date:March 2, 2010
I bought it specifically for 223 military brass. I was having lots of trouble priming, which was remedied easily with RCBS primer pocket swager combo. Instructions in pamphlet are difficult to follow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prescott Valley, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Swager

Date:April 26, 2010
works as published just follow the directions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoples Republic of California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Swager Combo

Date:May 4, 2010
Works great. You just NEED TO FOLLOW the instructions.
I've swaged @ 500 rounds so far with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does a great job

Date:July 6, 2010
I swaged close to 500 casings this last weekend and I did not bend any rods like other reviewers have stated. I think I might have come close a couple times had I not been paying attention to what I was doing. There were a couple times where the lock-nut for the swaging rod came loose and backed off. I noticed it immediately and was able to tighten it again.
Again it removes the crimp in the primer pocket perfectly. I did not have any difficulties with primers once I used this tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great IF.... you get HS rods

Date:August 25, 2010
this works great if you have a HS (high strength) after-market rod sold on ebay, gunbroker and other sites. the stock rod WILL bend and strip. with the HS rods you can swag thousands upon thousands. A+++ and sooo much better than cutting the brass crimp out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Worland, Wyo
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Does the job......

Date:January 6, 2011
It does the job its ment for. BUT seems to require alot of force to work and dislodge each case. In a 4 bed 2 story house it was to loud to use will my son was sleeping. Looking for a different way to swage primer pockets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pine Mountain Club, Ca.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:February 21, 2011
Like all RCBS products this one works as advertised. The instructions are a little light but if they are followed the die works flawlessly. I would suggest you make sure you understand the nomenclature of the parts first before beginning. The key is to put the shell into the swagger rod first then bring the swagger head up to the shell. The instructions warn that if this step is not followed the rod will bend which from reading the other reviews does occur. After I developed a rhythm I did 100 .223 cases in about the same time it takes to size and decap the same number.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS

Date:March 26, 2011
It gets the job done if you have plenty of time. It was a lot easier to look up video instructions online (YouTube) rather than reading them from a vague instruction sheet. Even with the utmost care, the rod is starting to get a slight warp in it after doing about 500 rounds. Overall it’s not that bad of a product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good swager die set

Date:April 15, 2011
It took some work to set it up right on my ancient press, but it now works easily and consistently. Swaging military brass is not a problem. The directions are included but not very specific.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Andreas, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCBS Swager

Date:May 4, 2011
Works great HOWEVER be sure it will work with your press. The base that removes the brass is tall and has a big diameter. It doesn't work with old style Lyman turret presses and some LEE presses without some modifying of the press. For the LEE I made a small piece of 3/4" pine base to cause a flat surface for the swager base to land flat and separate the tool from the brass square instead of crooked. Now it works excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth having.

Date:October 3, 2011
Works well but found that a cutter was also required for some cases. Warning about bending the guide rod in the instructions was well founded. If it works loose after repeated use, IT WILL BEND! Now trying to track down a replacement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Warroad Mn
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pocket swager

Date:January 9, 2012
very good for punching primer pockets
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Item

Date:January 11, 2012
This swager works great and is very sturdy. It leaves a good usable primer pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Home of the N.O.Saints. La.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It does the job

Date:January 13, 2012
I rarely have problems loading primers into brass with brand name markings. It's the brass (military) with just numbers stamped on them that gives me problems. The RCBS primer pocket swager resizes the primer hole and primers fit in with no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Casper, WY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:January 22, 2012
I purchased the primer pocket swager a couple months ago. Since that time I have sized and deprimed over 800 cases without a problem. Primers install nicely and the swagging process is quick. Sure beats reaming each primer pocket and you do not lose the metal around the pocket, just reshape it. I would recommend this product to any person shooting military ammunition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for RCBS Primer Pocket Swager Combo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:February 14, 2012
I have the "old" version, with the softer rod. I have swaged the primer pockets on a small lot of 223 Rem cartridges. The directions are a little vague, but a video is available that makes it all clear.
The bottom line is that you need to swage, then try to fit a primer in the pocket. If it does not fit, swage a little deeper. Repeat until the pocket accepts a primer.
Alternatively, obtain a cartridge that does not need swaging and see how it fits on the swager head. This will get you real close in adjusting the rod. Be careful not to try going too deep on the first try or you may bend things you don't want bent. Warning: A cartridge that does not need swaging may have a thinner web, so don't adjust the rod on anything that does not need swaging. Readjust the rod if you change cartridge lots or manufacturers.
The RCBS hardware is great (5 stars). The instructions that came with it are lacking (2 or 3 stars).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-36 of 36