Customer Reviews for LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

For devastating deer performance, turn to the Lightfield Ammunition Corporation for the hardest hitting and most accurate sabot slug available. 2-3/4" EXP cartridges have a two-sided sabot that keys to four tabs on the slug itself. When the shell is fired the pressure pushes the wad forward, locking the slug and sabot together, and forces the locked sabot/slug assembly to expand to the full barrel diameter and spin together as one unit. Just like a badminton birdie, the lighter wad or "shuttlecock" stays attached to the slug while in flight, giving the projectile stability while supersonic and prevents shockwave deflection when the projectile becomes subsonic. Upon impact, the maximum expansion of the soft lead slug (essentially a .62 cal. bullet) produces devastatingly lethal results. Per 5. Available: Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 12 ga. Shotgun Slugs Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 20 ga. Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating:
4.912 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
68 out of 68(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Review 1 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:December 16, 2014
I have been using these for years and they have never let me down. Very accurate and great knock down power. Leave a good trail also. The 2 - 3/4" are all you need. The best out there IMO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:December 16, 2014
These shoot great out of my Remington 1100 and really do the job on whitetails. They are the only slugs I use now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite deer slug

Date:December 16, 2014
Lightfields are the only slug I use when deer hunting. Always consistent accuracy, powerful knockdown. I have never lost a deer when hit with a Lightfield.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield Hybred EXP sabot slugs

Date:November 25, 2014
I have been using these slugs for years. They are very accurate and deadly on deer size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield 12 GA Sabot Slugs

Date:November 18, 2014
I have been using the Lightfield 12 GA sabots for five years in an 870 remington . These sabots are very accurate and have unbelieveable knock down power on whitetail deer .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:November 18, 2014
I have taken 5 deer in 2 seasons with these slugs. I have pulled the trigger 6 times(ok I missed one cleanly!). The wound channels are impressive. By the way, I am shooting a 20 gauge and I never would have guessed they could be so lethal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devastating and accurate

Date:October 1, 2014
I shot a buck last year that went under my stand and around a tree trunk and all I had was a shot at the top of his hips before he was completely blocked by the tree trunk . There was a void left that was the size of an egg plant. I took the shot because I have been using Lightfield Hybreds for about five years and I knew the deer was going down within ten feet of where it was hit.
What I am saying is that the meat was not bloodshot, it was completely gone.
Later that day I filled my antlerless tag with an 85 yard shot at a facing yearling doe that hit her square in the chest. There was the contents of the deer's lower intestines blown all the way back out of the entrance wound.
I have a few boxes of the three inch 12 gauge Hybreds left from last year, but I am going to go with the 2-3/4 inch or even the reduced recoil 12 gauge Lightfields this year.
The three inch rounds are unnecessarily more powerful than I need them to be. We have shot deer at up to 150 yards with the 2-3/4 Hybreds and they go down like the earth is yanked out from under their feet.
I shoot them out of a scoped Ithaca DS II and also using an Ithaca DS rifled barrel on a take down frame that has an aperture sight and they are good for about a half inch group at 50 yards and around an inch and a quarter at a hundred.
Out of the scoped DS II they can be shot into groups that are barely larger than a quarter from outside to outside at fifty yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

highly accuracte and killer on deer

Date:May 19, 2014
the accuracy is incredible out of my 870 rifled barrel.
The on game performance has blown me away.
EVERY single deer I have shot with these dropped on the spot. Best sabot made, I won't even try another after finding these.
Get them, you wont be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Source For 20 Gauge Sabot Slugs

Date:March 20, 2013
I have been using Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 12 Gauge for many years and have always been very happy with their quality and performance. I use a Remington 11-87 with a fully rifled barrel and a scope. My 11 year old son just moved up to the 20 gauge world of shooting. So, naturally, my wife and I purchased him a Remington Model 870 with a fully rifled barrel and scope.
As a result, we went to many local stores that we normally frequent for our ammunition purchase and could only find a few boxes of Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 20 Gauge. One of the clerks at the last store we visited mentioned Cabela's and the rest is history.
We are very happy with our purchase of 20 boxes. The sabots yield consistant groups from 75 yards, which is as far as a shot that I will let my son take until he get older.
We plan on making another purchase from Cabela's when we run low on our current stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate sabot slugs

Date:January 15, 2013
I had problems obtaining accuracy with a Remington special purpose slug gun. A friend recommended I use these, stating he had another friend who used With success. Sighted in at 150 yards with a 3 inch group, I'll take that!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long-range Efficiency

Date:December 6, 2012
Using 3" magnum with a Mossberg 500 and Nikon Slughunter scope took down a doe @ 200+ yards. Superior consistency compared to any other slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one shot one kill

Date:December 6, 2012
i shoot the lightfield sabots out my ultra slug 12 gauge the results are devistating . on the range you can take out the bulleye at 100 yds in the field deer dont have a chance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well

Date:December 2, 2012
I shoot this slug through a Benelli Nova with a rifled slug barrel. I zeroed my scope at 50 yards and consistently shot a 1" group. I use this setup for deer and have taken a few. Each time the slug achieved maximum expansion. The impact is just devastating with the deer taking 100% of the slug's energy. Rarely, (only once), did the slug pass through the deer at ranges 20-50 yards. This gives my added confidence that I will be taking an ethical kill shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good to the very end

Date:November 15, 2012
Killed a 185 lb buck on opening day in Michigan today- 195 yards. Found him piled up at 255 yards. Absolutely obliterated everything in the chest cavity. Passed through and left a good blood trail- short as it was. Completely satisfied. Know your trajectory and these will do the rest. 24" fully rifled Encore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slugs

Date:November 11, 2012
These Lightfield slugs are great. I use them in an H&R tracker II shotgun. I got my first deer with them and know alot of people who use them. These slugs have alot of power to them. The weight of the slug is 1 and 1/4 ounces (normal slugs are an ounce) and that is why they have alot of recoil. They have great knock down power. I highly recomend. A gunsmith recommended them to me.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:September 24, 2012
dropped an 8 point at 162yards and dropped it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20 gauge ammo - Lightfield vs. Hornady vs. Federal

Date:September 23, 2012
Gun used: H&R 20 Ga Ultra Slug 3" Magnum w/24" Blue Rifled Barrel
Scope: Redfield Tracker 2-7 power
Ammo was tested @ 100 yards using a rifle rest
Lightfield Hybred 2.75 inch, 7/8 oz Sabot Slugs shot 3" groups @ 100 yards (White Box)
Hornady 20GA SST, 250 gr FTX Sabot Slug shot 3" groups @ 100 yards
Federal Premium Barnes Expander Sabot Slugs shot 5" groups @ 100 yards (worst of the three ammo's tested)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ceaderville, NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great slug!

Date:April 10, 2012
One of the most accurate slugs on the market. Great performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield Hybred Slugs

Date:March 28, 2012
I have a Remington 870 with a Hastings rifled slug barrel that I use in shotgun only areas. I tried numerous rifled slugs to see which ones grouped the best in my gun. Lightfiled not only came out on top, but by a far margin! I was truly impressed with these slugs, as I have never had slug gun shoot 1 ragged hole. I sighted in at 25 yds and a 3-shot group was a single ragged hole, When I moved out to 100 yds, I was thinking I would be happy with a 2" group, but I was amazed that all 3 shots were touching. I have found the slugs that I will shoot in this gun from now on. THANK YOU LIGHTFIELD FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reading, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bullseye

Date:January 16, 2012
When I purchased my slug gun 10 years ago I purchased Lightfield slugs sighted in the gun and haven't switched ammo ever. Can't remeber how many Pa. deer I've taken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 68