Customer Reviews for LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

For devastating deer performance, turn to the Lightfield Ammunition Corporation for the hardest hitting and most accurate sabot slug available. 2-3/4" EXP cartridges have a two-sided sabot that keys to four tabs on the slug itself. When the shell is fired the pressure pushes the wad forward, locking the slug and sabot together, and forces the locked sabot/slug assembly to expand to the full barrel diameter and spin together as one unit. Just like a badminton birdie, the lighter wad or "shuttlecock" stays attached to the slug while in flight, giving the projectile stability while supersonic and prevents shockwave deflection when the projectile becomes subsonic. Upon impact, the maximum expansion of the soft lead slug (essentially a .62 cal. bullet) produces devastatingly lethal results. Per 5. Available: Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 12 ga. Shotgun Slugs Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 20 ga. Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating:
4.902 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
61 out of 61(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Review 1 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

highly accuracte and killer on deer

Date:May 19, 2014
the accuracy is incredible out of my 870 rifled barrel.
The on game performance has blown me away.
EVERY single deer I have shot with these dropped on the spot. Best sabot made, I won't even try another after finding these.
Get them, you wont be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Source For 20 Gauge Sabot Slugs

Date:March 20, 2013
I have been using Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 12 Gauge for many years and have always been very happy with their quality and performance. I use a Remington 11-87 with a fully rifled barrel and a scope. My 11 year old son just moved up to the 20 gauge world of shooting. So, naturally, my wife and I purchased him a Remington Model 870 with a fully rifled barrel and scope.
As a result, we went to many local stores that we normally frequent for our ammunition purchase and could only find a few boxes of Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 20 Gauge. One of the clerks at the last store we visited mentioned Cabela's and the rest is history.
We are very happy with our purchase of 20 boxes. The sabots yield consistant groups from 75 yards, which is as far as a shot that I will let my son take until he get older.
We plan on making another purchase from Cabela's when we run low on our current stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate sabot slugs

Date:January 15, 2013
I had problems obtaining accuracy with a Remington special purpose slug gun. A friend recommended I use these, stating he had another friend who used With success. Sighted in at 150 yards with a 3 inch group, I'll take that!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long-range Efficiency

Date:December 6, 2012
Using 3" magnum with a Mossberg 500 and Nikon Slughunter scope took down a doe @ 200+ yards. Superior consistency compared to any other slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one shot one kill

Date:December 6, 2012
i shoot the lightfield sabots out my ultra slug 12 gauge the results are devistating . on the range you can take out the bulleye at 100 yds in the field deer dont have a chance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well

Date:December 2, 2012
I shoot this slug through a Benelli Nova with a rifled slug barrel. I zeroed my scope at 50 yards and consistently shot a 1" group. I use this setup for deer and have taken a few. Each time the slug achieved maximum expansion. The impact is just devastating with the deer taking 100% of the slug's energy. Rarely, (only once), did the slug pass through the deer at ranges 20-50 yards. This gives my added confidence that I will be taking an ethical kill shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good to the very end

Date:November 15, 2012
Killed a 185 lb buck on opening day in Michigan today- 195 yards. Found him piled up at 255 yards. Absolutely obliterated everything in the chest cavity. Passed through and left a good blood trail- short as it was. Completely satisfied. Know your trajectory and these will do the rest. 24" fully rifled Encore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slugs

Date:November 11, 2012
These Lightfield slugs are great. I use them in an H&R tracker II shotgun. I got my first deer with them and know alot of people who use them. These slugs have alot of power to them. The weight of the slug is 1 and 1/4 ounces (normal slugs are an ounce) and that is why they have alot of recoil. They have great knock down power. I highly recomend. A gunsmith recommended them to me.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:September 24, 2012
dropped an 8 point at 162yards and dropped it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20 gauge ammo - Lightfield vs. Hornady vs. Federal

Date:September 23, 2012
Gun used: H&R 20 Ga Ultra Slug 3" Magnum w/24" Blue Rifled Barrel
Scope: Redfield Tracker 2-7 power
Ammo was tested @ 100 yards using a rifle rest
Lightfield Hybred 2.75 inch, 7/8 oz Sabot Slugs shot 3" groups @ 100 yards (White Box)
Hornady 20GA SST, 250 gr FTX Sabot Slug shot 3" groups @ 100 yards
Federal Premium Barnes Expander Sabot Slugs shot 5" groups @ 100 yards (worst of the three ammo's tested)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ceaderville, NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great slug!

Date:April 10, 2012
One of the most accurate slugs on the market. Great performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield Hybred Slugs

Date:March 28, 2012
I have a Remington 870 with a Hastings rifled slug barrel that I use in shotgun only areas. I tried numerous rifled slugs to see which ones grouped the best in my gun. Lightfiled not only came out on top, but by a far margin! I was truly impressed with these slugs, as I have never had slug gun shoot 1 ragged hole. I sighted in at 25 yds and a 3-shot group was a single ragged hole, When I moved out to 100 yds, I was thinking I would be happy with a 2" group, but I was amazed that all 3 shots were touching. I have found the slugs that I will shoot in this gun from now on. THANK YOU LIGHTFIELD FOR SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reading, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bullseye

Date:January 16, 2012
When I purchased my slug gun 10 years ago I purchased Lightfield slugs sighted in the gun and haven't switched ammo ever. Can't remeber how many Pa. deer I've taken.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Performance From a Sabot Slug

Date:November 17, 2011
Shooting a Benelli M1 w/ a Benelli rifled barrel and iron sights. I used to shoot Hornady SST's and opted for the less sexy, better performing Lightfield's after reading reviews and hours of tireless deer tracking with fatal contact (lost two nice bucks using Hornady's).
I was a skeptic with the Lightfield's because they weren't as flashy but the performance both on paper and in the field is second to none. A one inch 5 shot group with open sights at 75 yards gave me optimism but the piling up deer made me a believer. No chasing, no blood, strictly carnage. I've tried Rem's, Fed's, Hornady and Win's; I'll stick to Lightfields thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tacoma Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They work just like advertised

Date:November 14, 2011
I have an Ithaca 87 Deerslayer II and my buddy has a Hastings cantilever rifled barrel on his Ithaca 37 and we both shoot these Lightfield slug loads. They shoot about an inch at 50 yards from the Deerslayer II and almost, but not quite as well, from the Hastings barrel. We were walking into an area earlier this year and spotted a deer at almost exactly 100 yards, it dropped as soon as he shot, i mean just crumpled.
They are that good. We are from Washington State and hunt a shotgun only area. Oh, and we like our Ithaca 37s. These guns are both 12 gauge, but my all time favorite bird gun is a model 37 20 gauge w/25 inch barrel.
I will warn you though, they do have significant recoil out of a gun like an Ithaca, if you are recoil sensitive you had better stick with the reduced recoil ones. I have never shot any of those, I have three or four boxes of them laying around, but they are going to be more than sufficient for any deer on this planet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fennville MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield

Date:November 12, 2011
"I shoot these slugs out of a Remington 870 12 gauge
I can shoot a 2 inch group at 100 yards and have no hesitations shooting 150 plus with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knock down power

Date:November 3, 2011
Since I do not have a 12 gage, these slugs have knock down power. No chasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ultimate DSG w/The Ultimate DS(Devistating Slug)

Date:September 2, 2011
The Set-up:
The Gun --> TC PH Encore
|
The Scope --> Bushnell Trophy XLT - Circle X
|
The Ammo --> Lightfield Hybrid EXP
|
The Results: If it is Brown it is down
|
The description:
I used this combination last year deer hunting and had not seen anything all morning and then there it was a doe getting pushed down a hill towards me by some coyotes and when the deer got within 25yrds of my tree stand I let her have it right behind the shoulder quartering away and got to tell you if you are one or want to be one of those hunter like i am that like clean take downs and does not like to watch an animal suffer, then this round is for you. I pulled the trigger and, well I have to be honest she stood there for about a sec then she dropped where she stood. The round left and golf ball size hole for the entrance and a pie plate hole for the exit if you want to hunt ethically and put the animal down as quickly as possible then this round is for you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

lightfield sabot

Date:February 11, 2011
Excellent load for a TC Encore and a Leupold scope. 100 yd shots group in at baseball size.
What a combo . 2 shots ,2 deer 2010
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: southern new jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one shot one down

Date:February 7, 2011
evertime I use these slugs I have a deer on the ground. very good slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 61