Customer Reviews for LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

LIGHTFIELD Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs

For devastating deer performance, turn to the Lightfield Ammunition Corporation for the hardest hitting and most accurate sabot slug available. 2-3/4" EXP cartridges have a two-sided sabot that keys to four tabs on the slug itself. When the shell is fired the pressure pushes the wad forward, locking the slug and sabot together, and forces the locked sabot/slug assembly to expand to the full barrel diameter and spin together as one unit. Just like a badminton birdie, the lighter wad or "shuttlecock" stays attached to the slug while in flight, giving the projectile stability while supersonic and prevents shockwave deflection when the projectile becomes subsonic. Upon impact, the maximum expansion of the soft lead slug (essentially a .62 cal. bullet) produces devastatingly lethal results. Per 5. Available: Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 12 ga. Shotgun Slugs Lightfield Hybred EXP 2-3/4" Saboted 20 ga. Shotgun Slugs
Overall Customer Rating:
4.861 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 79 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
79 out of 79(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Review 1 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good balance loads

Date:January 12, 2016
Good strait shooting, price to high
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best sabot

Date:December 22, 2015
I spent $150 on different sabot slugs to find the best shooting in my Remington 870. The Lightfield Hybred™ EXP was the most accurate of any brand. At 50 yards using a bench rest and lead sled these would group within 1.5 inches consistently. Also shot the best in my Beretta Extrema with rifled barrel. I have not shot a deer with them yet, but looking at other reviews I'm sure they will be deadly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:December 22, 2015
Dropped every deer I ever shot with these. Leaves massive holes. Shots are 100yd max
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT ROUND!!!

Date:December 15, 2015
HARD HITTING, AND ACCURATE CUTS HOLES AT 100 OUT OF ULTRA SLUGGER! LOVE IT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great slugs

Date:December 1, 2015
No other slug hits harder. You'll never have to follow a blood trail too far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:November 25, 2015
been using them for years on my remington 870 and just started on my 12 gauge H&R- good knockdown power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:November 24, 2015
Experience was great. Deer didn't go 50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stunningly accurate

Date:November 8, 2015
I just purchased a mossberg scoped 12 gauge rifled barrel and sighted in with federal powershok sabots and got a 3-4 inch group. I wanted expanding ammo so i tried winchester dual bond. Horrid. repeated 38 inch groups at 100 yards. I tried these after reading the reviews. After 3 shots to zero it i had 3 touching in the bullseye at 100 yards and the flyer was 3/4 inch away from those. With these I no longer have any excuse for missing. These things are phenomenal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Slug

Date:March 3, 2015
These slugs in my opinion are the best slugs out there. From 30-150 yards these sligs mushroom perfectly. I used the 3/4" in a remington 870. The 12 gauge I used had very little recoil and dead accurate. Best slug for whitetail hunts. Would recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:December 16, 2014
I have been using these for years and they have never let me down. Very accurate and great knock down power. Leave a good trail also. The 2 - 3/4" are all you need. The best out there IMO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug

Date:December 16, 2014
These shoot great out of my Remington 1100 and really do the job on whitetails. They are the only slugs I use now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite deer slug

Date:December 16, 2014
Lightfields are the only slug I use when deer hunting. Always consistent accuracy, powerful knockdown. I have never lost a deer when hit with a Lightfield.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield Hybred EXP sabot slugs

Date:November 25, 2014
I have been using these slugs for years. They are very accurate and deadly on deer size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lightfield 12 GA Sabot Slugs

Date:November 18, 2014
I have been using the Lightfield 12 GA sabots for five years in an 870 remington . These sabots are very accurate and have unbelieveable knock down power on whitetail deer .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:November 18, 2014
I have taken 5 deer in 2 seasons with these slugs. I have pulled the trigger 6 times(ok I missed one cleanly!). The wound channels are impressive. By the way, I am shooting a 20 gauge and I never would have guessed they could be so lethal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devastating and accurate

Date:October 1, 2014
I shot a buck last year that went under my stand and around a tree trunk and all I had was a shot at the top of his hips before he was completely blocked by the tree trunk . There was a void left that was the size of an egg plant. I took the shot because I have been using Lightfield Hybreds for about five years and I knew the deer was going down within ten feet of where it was hit.
What I am saying is that the meat was not bloodshot, it was completely gone.
Later that day I filled my antlerless tag with an 85 yard shot at a facing yearling doe that hit her square in the chest. There was the contents of the deer's lower intestines blown all the way back out of the entrance wound.
I have a few boxes of the three inch 12 gauge Hybreds left from last year, but I am going to go with the 2-3/4 inch or even the reduced recoil 12 gauge Lightfields this year.
The three inch rounds are unnecessarily more powerful than I need them to be. We have shot deer at up to 150 yards with the 2-3/4 Hybreds and they go down like the earth is yanked out from under their feet.
I shoot them out of a scoped Ithaca DS II and also using an Ithaca DS rifled barrel on a take down frame that has an aperture sight and they are good for about a half inch group at 50 yards and around an inch and a quarter at a hundred.
Out of the scoped DS II they can be shot into groups that are barely larger than a quarter from outside to outside at fifty yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

highly accuracte and killer on deer

Date:May 19, 2014
the accuracy is incredible out of my 870 rifled barrel.
The on game performance has blown me away.
EVERY single deer I have shot with these dropped on the spot. Best sabot made, I won't even try another after finding these.
Get them, you wont be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Source For 20 Gauge Sabot Slugs

Date:March 20, 2013
I have been using Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 12 Gauge for many years and have always been very happy with their quality and performance. I use a Remington 11-87 with a fully rifled barrel and a scope. My 11 year old son just moved up to the 20 gauge world of shooting. So, naturally, my wife and I purchased him a Remington Model 870 with a fully rifled barrel and scope.
As a result, we went to many local stores that we normally frequent for our ammunition purchase and could only find a few boxes of Lightfield Sabot Slugs in 20 Gauge. One of the clerks at the last store we visited mentioned Cabela's and the rest is history.
We are very happy with our purchase of 20 boxes. The sabots yield consistant groups from 75 yards, which is as far as a shot that I will let my son take until he get older.
We plan on making another purchase from Cabela's when we run low on our current stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate sabot slugs

Date:January 15, 2013
I had problems obtaining accuracy with a Remington special purpose slug gun. A friend recommended I use these, stating he had another friend who used With success. Sighted in at 150 yards with a 3 inch group, I'll take that!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lightfield Hybred™ EXP Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long-range Efficiency

Date:December 6, 2012
Using 3" magnum with a Mossberg 500 and Nikon Slughunter scope took down a doe @ 200+ yards. Superior consistency compared to any other slug.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 79