Customer Reviews for REMINGTON Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs

REMINGTON Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs

Since the advent of the deer slug, hunters have been looking for ways to reduce the felt recoil. The Copper Solid™ Sabot Slug combines the angled petal score design of the Copper Solid™ Muzzleloader bullet with the ballistic coefficient of a deep penetrating slug round. It delivers maximum performance with 100% weight retention, 2X controlled expansion and super accuracy. It produces groups of 2-1/2" or less from Remington's® fully-rifled slug barrels. Per 5 rounds.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 96 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
92 out of 96(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Review 41 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Slugs Ever

Date:December 7, 2009
Remington Copper Solid slugs shoot 3" 100yd groups from my Mossberg 500. Their performance on deer is devastating. Small entry hole, with a big exit hole. One shot kills every time, as long as you hit the vitals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richfield, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Slug

Date:December 7, 2009
Long range accurate @130
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elverson, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Premier Copper Solid Sabot Slugs

Date:December 7, 2009
These slugs are absolutely incredible i shot an 8 pointer this year at 115 yards head on and the slug punched through the heart and right lung of him and cleanly exited behind the shoulder. He didnt go more than 40 yards before dropping in his tracks. Id reccomend these slugs to anybody. Ill never use another slug again!! Way to go Remington!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Piqua, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dcast

Date:December 7, 2009
These slugs are amazing!!! 09' is my first year using these slugs, and plan to as long as Remington continues to make them. My first deer with them was a nice doe at 75yrds (I typically wouldn't try to shoot a deer with a slug at that distance) and she dropped instantly without a quiver just like I like it!!! This round went clean through both front shoulders and didn't mangle the meet or anything else other than the lungs. I'm a little suspect of those posting it blows huge holes through a deer ecspecially after hitting my doe in both shoulders without any mess. This Remington round is a excellent round and it will not ruin your "Trophy Buck" so don't be afraid to use them. I also took a decent six point this year with them also, and the same thing as the doe clean kill!!!
The really amazing thing was I shot a coyote at 150Yrds and spun it around twice before it hit the ground!!! I shoot an 870 fully rifled slug barrel with a scope. Sighting these slugs in are easy just follow what the box says their trajectory chart was spot on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great slug!

Date:November 25, 2009
I have been shooting Brenneke slugs for years with my 11-87 and have been satisfied with the results. I finally bought a rifled barrel and scope this year and decided to try sabot slugs. After reading numerous reviews I decided to test Winchester Supreme, Lightfield Hybred and the Remington Copper Solid slugs. I couldn't get a grouping the size of a plate with the Winchester. The Lightfield were okay, but the Remington Copper Solids truly do have rifle-like accuracy. I had shot groups with the holes overlapping at 100 yds. They are spendy, but put a price on a successful hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Copper Solid Slugs

Date:November 18, 2009
Rifle like accuracy out of my 11-87 slug gun. Terminal performance is devistating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alabama
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!

Date:October 19, 2009
A buck and a boar last season and ready for this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very accurate, with knock down power

Date:September 30, 2009
I have these slugs sighted in at 70yd. making a little under a 2" group. last year my father dropped a 10pointer right where he stood at 70yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SF- Bay Area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3" Copper Solid

Date:February 9, 2009
I use the 3" with my Benelli Nova Pump with a rifled barrel. They work great and drop pigs. I have also taken several coyotes, one at 104 yards and one at 133 yards, no hold over just aimed for center of mass. Obviously accuracy is very good in my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: central Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Copper Solid Slugs

Date:December 24, 2008
My Tar Hunt barreled 870 DSG is partial to 3" magnum Remington copper solid slugs. I've tried many others types of slugs at the bench, but this gun favors Remington copper. Groups of 2"-3" at 100 yards are the norm. The rifling twist rate of this barrel might not be right for other slug types especially some of the really high velocity ones as they seem to fly anywhere. Doesn't matter how fast the slug is, if I can't keep it on the paper, it's not going to get a chance in the field. Sixteen does and three very nice Iowa bucks in the past three seasons are testimony that deer standing broadside out to 150 yards are DEAD with this gun and Remington copper solids. They are a little pricey, but I wouldn't use free ammunition if it couldn't hit the target.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Copper Solids

Date:December 19, 2008
I've got a T/C Encore Rifled slug barrel and have shot almost every slug possible through it. The accuracy of these is up with the best of 'em. The recoil is mild and manageable (comparatively speaking). Out of all the slugs on the market, these are my top pick and now they're all I'll shoot through my particular barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toledo, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slugs -

Date:December 8, 2008
These are truly great slugs. Took a nice 8 pt buck with them. One shot through the boiler room, about 35 yds. Left a huge blood trail for 40 yards. Deer was down and out. Recoil is manageable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 25, 2008
Remington Premier Copper Solid Sabots are probably the most underrated shotgun ammunition out there today. I shot these more accurately than other, more expensive rounds (Hornady SST and Winchester Supreme) and they are absolutely destructive downrange. I had the privilege of taking a tall racked, 200+ pound whitetail with it last season. It was walking broadside about 85 yards away when my slug hit it just behind the shoulder. The buck stumbled forward about three feet, crumpled, and never moved again. All-in-all, an amazing product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eastern Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the extra money!

Date:November 23, 2008
I started using this slug after the Hornady SST cost me a big buck. These slugs pattern great and have incredible knock-down power. I would recommend these sabots to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: western New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome knock down power

Date:November 18, 2008
used this sabot for the first time on a big doe on the run at about 40yrds one shot droped her on the spot,very accurate too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: albany,ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

remington copper solids

Date:November 16, 2008
I used the 3" magnum for the first time this year. I have an 870 with fully rifled barrel. Did not like how Hornady sst's shot in it, so decided to try Remington slugs. I had seen good reviews on this round here. Well, they do shoot well in the gun, and the terminal performance is unreal. I shot a large spike whitetail at 40yds in lungs, broadside. The shot was squeezing through heavy pine. This buck dropped like struck by lightning, and did not move. Stone dead when I got to him. The exit hole was wider, and when field dressing, the lungs completly blown apart. Impressive to say the least
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

another one bites the dust

Date:November 12, 2008
I shot a nice 2x2 last year at 120 yards. Dubble lung shot and knicked the heart. Dropped him right in his tracks. I went to the range with my moss 500 in 20ga(no scope), at 100yds i was hitting 1" groups consistently. 20 rounds and saw no difference. If you can manage the kick, the hollow point is the way to go. I think ive found the sabot for me!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington Premier Copper Solid Sabot Slugs

Date:November 9, 2008
If you want a slug that is consistent round after round, look no futher. At 100 yards, I shot six rounds in a four inch circle. I used SST's that had nightmare like results. If you want to fill a tag, venture out with Remington Copper Solids.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sharp shooter

Date:August 25, 2008
These are what you want. Straight shooting, reliable ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Remington® Premier® Copper Solid™ Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington copper solids

Date:July 24, 2008
I just got a new 870 with and slug barrell and a scope and I tried many different types of slugs and nothing else seemed to shoot as well out of my gun as these copper solids. So the first day I took these out hunting i shot a nice doe at about 10 yards and I couldn't believe the damage they caused. I have recommened to a few other people sience and they have all had great success with them and I will be shooting these for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 96