Customer Reviews for TacStar TacStar Magazine Extensions

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TacStar TacStar Magazine Extensions

Ideal for spring snow goose outings (where legal) or when preparing for international dove or duck hunts, these easy-to-install magazine extensions are great for fast-paced shooting action. Machined of chrome-moly steel tubing with a black sulfite finish. Available for Remington, Winchester and Benelli shotguns. Some Remington 870 Express models may require modification.Available:Remington 870/1100 – 8-roundRemington 870 – 10-roundRemington 1100 – 10-roundWinchester 1200 Defender – 7-roundBenelli Nova and Super Nova – 7-roundBenelli M1, M2, SBEI and SBEII – 8-round
Overall Customer Rating:
4.034 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
10
47 out of 59(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Review 1 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The BEST

Date:July 23, 2012
This is extension on the market by far!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MORE SHOOTING

Date:May 18, 2012
Was exactly what they claimed. used it while snow goose hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:April 1, 2012
Purchased the extension for my Benelli M1 Super 90 Tactical with pistol grip. The original magazine capacity was 5+1. Installation was very easy. Package came with extension tube, replacement spring, and tube extension bracket to support the tube to the barrel. Removed the original magazine tube, replaced spring, installed new tube and magazine tube bracket. No modifications were required. Fit and finish of the Tacstar magazine extension was a very close match to the shotgun plus after installation, the tube over all length nearly matched the barrel, slightly shorter.
My only concern is the tube bracket which has a threaded bolt and nut. Not sure how long that will last based on how often you remove the bracket to support shotgun cleaning. Part of the bracket is threaded to accept the bolt and during reinstallation, the bolt/bracket can be tightened independently but you also have to take care to include the nut during the tightening process.
Test fired the shotgun with nearly 2 boxes of number 8 shot shells and the shotgun and Tacstar magazine tube worked flawlessly. The magazine tube bracket migrated toward the muzzle about 1.5" from where it was originally installed, I guess I didn't tighten the bolt/bracket/nut sufficiently. The bracket was not able to move further forward on the muzzle due to the barrel muzzle flares out for the choke tube.
Magazine capacity after installation is 7+1. I believe there is a way to load an extra shell, ghost loading, to bring magazine capacity to 8+1 but this method does not involve the tube at all.
Very happy with the product. This is the second Tacstar product that I've purchased. I've previously purchased a Tacstar side saddle shell carrier for my Mossberg 590 and was pleased with the product as well. If home defense situation, I am confident of the Benelli and the magazine tube operation and reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love it!!!

Date:January 11, 2012
Adds 2 more rounds to my supernova. The gun looks better with it too. I put some JB-weld where the pipe is pressed in the nut. I think it will last a life time. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the money...

Date:January 10, 2012
I have these extensions on two Benelli Supernovas, a Win 1300, and a Rem 870. All of them are +2 models and have been GREAT additions to my shotguns. On the Supernovas, it lets me keep 5rnds in the mag of 3 1/2" 00buckshot for coyotes, or 5rnds of turkey shot. It holds 7-8 rnds of 2 3/4" for recreational clay shooting or pheasant hunting as well. The 1300 is a 3-gun race gun, so it sees a lot of abuse, and the 870 is mostly just a pheasant gun (holds down the safe mostly).
I have been using the extension on the 1300 for 6 or 7yrs now and I haven't had any issues. I was worried that I would break the tube away from the nut if I bumped the extension, but this shotty has taken a LOT of abuse over the years (flopping it down over barriers, quickly re-staging it on tables or against racks, etc etc while moving to the next weapon), and it's never even bobbled.
The +2's on the Benelli's are almost EXACTLY the same length as the 18.5" barrel I run for coyotes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mineral, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for home defense

Date:December 27, 2011
couple this with the 18" barrel for the Remington 870 and it is one impressive piece of firepower and capability. Yes, you do have to file down the two bumps on the magazine tube, but that is in the instructions for the extension tube. Remember, if all else fails, read the instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well made....but

Date:August 19, 2011
the mag extension itself is very nice. Good fit and finish and seems to be well made. My only complaint is that I did not see anywhere that some modifying of the gun in necessary. I had to file down the inside of the origional mag tube on my 870 so that shells could pass through and into the extension. Not a huge deal but it would have been nice to know rather than figuring it out on my own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

11-87 10 shot extension

Date:May 15, 2011
I purchased this for my 26" barreled 11-87. After installation I made a few observations. 1. The TacStar barrel nut is not serrated inside like the OEM, and may not stay tight. 2. The extension protrudes about 3/8" past the barrel. 3. The OEM magazine tube must be modified like the newer 870's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MIssoula MT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Looks great until you use it

Date:March 28, 2011
Great looking extension- the nut even looked like the original mag cap on my Benelli and there is sling stud on the barrel band. The extension worked great for a box or two of shells on a South Dakota snow goose hunt, then the pressed in tube separated from the nut (apparently other goose hunters had similar issues with separation in their reviews). Fortunately, I brought the factory cap along on the trip. The worst part was that the follower was ejected along with the spring and some of the shells out into the corn field. Eventually the parts were found and the gun was put back together and I finished out the hunt (which was very successful). On the return from the hunt, I returned the defective extension to the store- the receipt was lost during the trip and they could only exchange the item or give credit for the close out price. Over all I was very unhappy with the quality of the construction and feel a little let down that Cabelas would choose to recommend this item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hudson, WI
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Tracstar JUNK

Date:March 10, 2011
3 out of the 4 tracstar 8 shot magazine extensions for Benelli's broke after 25 rounds while snow goose hunting. Kind of a bummer when you don't bring your original parts with. I do not and will not recommend this to anyone, not even an enemy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

terrible

Date:March 10, 2011
Won't always allow me to put 7 rounds in it.. stops at 3 and 5 rounds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ARKANSAS THE SNOW GOOSE HUNTERS DREAM
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WORKS GREAT WITH 870

Date:February 7, 2011
870 WILL HOLD 8 3 1/2 OR 10 3INCH OR 12 2 3/4 EASY TO USE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Rogers, Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too Heavy

Date:January 24, 2011
Made the gun unbalanced not for me....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Chicago
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

10 shot extension

Date:May 10, 2010
This turned my 1100 into too much fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hog Creek, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TacStar Magazine Extensions

Date:May 6, 2010
As with most all of Cabelas products, this one is a good one as well. I have had excellent experiences with Cabelas over the years and will continue to do so. Come gift giving times throughout the year when folks ask me what I want, I just tell them Cabelas gift cards.
I have not ran alot of shells thru my TacStar Magazine Extension yet, but the few I have.....its nice to have that confidence. I am a little old fashioned in the fact that a shotgun is the finest "all around" weapon made, so my Benelli SBE with my TacStar magazine extension is the most accessible weapon in my home. Most recently was a night time hog hunt in heavy brush on a creek with some buddies.
Weapon of choice was the shotgun loaded with 3in Mag. shells. There is no escape from the seven rounds of 3in the TacStar provides for my Benelli. I was the only one with a shotgun, and some of the guys thought I was crazy, but at 35 yards or less, in the dark-----the others learned-----there will be more shotguns with TacStars next time.
The TacStar is easy to install and seems to be very strong for years of enjoyment. On my Benelli SBE, it will now hold eight 2 3/4in. shells, seven 3in. shells, and if I am not mistaken---six 3 1/2in. shells. Most folks think the TacStar adds alot of weight to the gun. I would have to say NO, but when you add a handful more shells than you are used to, YES , but well worth it.
I would/will recommend Cabelas and TacStar.
For close contact, night time hog hunts, I wish they made them all the way out to the end of the 28in. barrell----and had a plug for it to reduce to 3 shells come dove season. ha ha ha.
Thanks again Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Livingston, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not recommended

Date:April 29, 2010
I installed this TacStar magazine extender on a Benelli Super Nova 12 gauge Slug Gun. On exactly my 8th shot using 31/2" magnums (cheap bird shot), the chrome moly tube separated from the knurled attachment nut. I even had a TacStar magazine-to-barrel security clamp in place which did not even stop this action. In all reality, this product has the high potential of being very good. However, what TacStar (Lyman) needs to do with their construction is NOT just press the chrome moly steel tube into the knurled nut. This unit should be one piece or welded or maybe even attached with some set screws. The fit on my Benelli was very good, however. What I have decided to do, is just leave the stock magazine plug out and use my Benelli that way. This magazine extender has a tendency to add a great deal of unwanted weight to the forward end of the shot gun. Cabela's refunded my money. It is my understanding that there are better magazine extenders in the after market products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: DFW, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just what I needed

Date:April 12, 2010
This is a quick and easy way to change a simple bird gun into a home defense system. A quick prayer and 10 rounds of 000 buck should take care of pretty much anything that might find its way into my home. I've had one for years and my only issue with it is that it rusted over time. Obviously this issue did not prevent me from buying another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: New Germany, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SBE 1 /8 round mag extender

Date:March 28, 2010
I got the 8 shot TacStar mag extender for a South Dakota spring snow goose hunt and it installed really easy and matched my gun pretty good. But it only made my gun hold 2 more 3.5 shells. And on my second day out there and probably on my 3rd box of shells the extender completely came apart. I mean the tube which is pressed onto the cap that screws on to your gun fell apart. I was shooting and I saw something go flying off my gun, when I realized what happened I started looking for it on the ground, and only found the tube the spring was nowhere in sight. So i had to settle with a gun that only shot 3 shells for the next 3 days. Needless to say i was pretty angry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Tac-Star Magazine Extension Tube

Date:March 23, 2010
This product is garbage and does not work with 3.5 inch shells in Benelli SBE. Out of dozens and dozens of chances this spring it cycled correctly one or two times. The main problem is it cannot feed the 6th shell into the chamber and gets hung up on the 5th and 4th shells sometimes too. Next year I will buy a different extension tube from a different company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TacStar Magazine Extensions
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Magazine extension

Date:March 22, 2010
I fit this to my Benelli SBE for spring snow goose hunting in Missouri. It fit perfectly and cycled shells without incident. I can hold 7 - 3.5 inch shells now which is a confidence builder when your under the "white tornado!" Very nice addition.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 59