Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200

WINCHESTER Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200

This is the most popular hull for its reliable performance in original factory ammo and reloads. AAs are a mainstay of serious reloaders for trap, skeet and sporting clays. Each of these are 12-gauge, 2-3/4" shells that have been fired once with an 8-point crimp. AAHS (high strength) hulls. Per 200.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
55 out of 58(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Review 1 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009

AA hulls-red

By
Out of two hunderd hulls only 4 or 5 hulls crimped well enough to hold lead.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2016

Not once fired

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The hulls I received were definitely fired more than once. The markings were severely faded and had
some other marks and distortion on the plastic.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

Once Fired Shotshells

By
Location: Germantown, MD
Gender: Male
Many of these shells have definitely been fired more than once. Wondering if reloaders are sending Cabelas their shells for resale after they have done multiple loads in them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 27, 2015

But Cabela made it good!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
When I opened my order of these Winchester AA hulls, I was surprised to see that they all had a "waxy" coating. When I tried to load some 1 !/4 oz. loads every loaded shell either caved-in at the mouth or the lips rolled up into a tight curl. After about a box of failures (and after checking every other aspect of the loading process) we measured the shot column and found it to be longer that a regular AA hull. I cut and sawed one hull open lengthwise and found it not to be a true compression formed AA hull, but one of their "promotional" shells made with a section of plastic pipe, a pot metal head, & with the two glued together around a soft plastic base jammed into the pipe. These shells were labeled to hold 24 grams (about 5/6 oz.) of shot. Such hulls have little or no crimp memory and must use a very long wad indeed of a type I have not seen. Every hull of the 200 was the same. The whole lot was pretty much useless. I called Cabelas to ask about this and the young lady with whom I spoke seemed to be acquainted with the problem. She immediately told me to toss those junk hulls out and she would send me a replacement lot. CABELA CUSTOMER SERVICE REIGNS AGAIN! When the new lot arrives, I will update this report.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2011

12 Ga AA Hulls OK

By
Location: New England
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
No real issues with the shells as far as reloading, but was surprised to see, for once fired shells, most appeared to be fairly worn as far as the exterior printing on the hulls. Kind of unusual for fired only once. Its also possible that the hulls are stored in bulk and the AA logos on the hulls wore out from rubbing against each other. Most of the printing on the hulls were worn off or very faded. Other than that they loaded fine and crimped well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2016

Once fired hulls

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Not sure how I feel about these once fired hulls. I loaded 100 so far. Out of those, two were found to be a different brand and were discarded. Some appeared to be fired more than once, as there were some slits in the plastic at the crimp. I've shot AA's for many years, and this is an indication of multiple reloads. It's not a major issue, but I think I'll buy new AA's in the future and keep those hulls. The price is reasonable, and most of the hulls were OK, so I guess if you don't mind losing a few out of the order, then they are fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2015

Update on Review of July 27, 2015

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The box of Win. AA hulls arrived today and they were pretty much the same as the first shipment, except they had not been washed and no one had sorted out the ones that had been stepped upon. I wonder now if Winchester has stopped making compression formed AA shells altogether? These HS hulls are made of plastic hose but they are a little more substantial than Win. Super X "promotional shotshells."
According to my Lyman #5 Shotshell Reloading Handbook Winchester has a pink wad (WAA12SL) that is longer than the regular WAA12. Rem. has the TGT12. Federal the 12SO.
1. I will order out a bag of these and see if they will load the 1 1/8 loads without caving in.
2. If we can figure out a field load with these cases, we will load them up with 1 1/4 oz. shot and use them on birds. Mostly these don't get salvaged and the fact that they cannot be used over very often doesn't matter so much.
3. We will hoard the older, largely indestructible, compression formed cases like fine gold. We will use them only for clay pigeons so that they can be picked up and used again and again.
4. After this we will only purchase such empty hulls as we can find in the store or at gun shows. We need to check them visually and see exactly what we are getting.
5. I still appreciate Cabelas going the extra mile for me on this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2012

WAA12 Once-Fired Shotgun Sheels

By
Location: SW Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Recieved my shipment in about a week, in a well marked box. count was 216. Was very suprised that a loaded shell was among the empties. shells looked like they spent some time in storage as the printing was worn down. All were in once fired condition on inspection, they loaded well and fired and cycled well in my auto. Shell were loaded on a Mec jr. I will buy these again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2012

Good Value

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The shells were in good condition for reloading. Some looked like they had been reloaded before, but overall they were of good quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Winchester 12 Ga. Shells

By
great deal and work great. Bought up them since it was a great deal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2009

So far so good

By
Location: WV and FL
So far so good.. reloaded nicely, but have not had time to shoot them. did get a few over the 200rd..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009

AA hulls

By
Good condition when they came. but price is a little to high for me to buy them again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

good

By
Location: mi
thease shells are good the only probleam is you still have to resize them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

Winchester once fired hulls

By
Location: Long Island, New York
Great product for the money if you reload your own shotshells.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Once fired hulls

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Gender: Male
I reload a lot of shotgun shells and using once fired hulls makes it more cost reducing for me. These hulls are very clean and not deformed. I did not find any defects of any kind. If you are a reloader you will be very happy with these hulls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2015

great purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
winchester AA hulls are a very good shell to reload
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2015

shotshell hulls

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased two boxes of 200 each AA once fired hulls. Have only checked one of the boxes.
There were 203 hulls in the box and all were in excellent condition.
Good job Cabela's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2015

A very good value

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
These hulls were in good shape and reloaded very well.
I liked them so well I order a few hundred more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2015

Great value

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Just received my order of 400, packed in a box within
a box, not one damaged in shipment, look better
than once fired hulls ordered from others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Once-Fired AA 12-Ga. Shotshell Hulls – Per 200
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

"AA"

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I was searching for once fired "AA" hulls when I ran across them at Cabela's. I was pleased with the prompt shipment. I did not count them, but I am sure I received the correct quantity (400). I have loaded and shot all 400 hulls and have not had a problem with any of them. I have since reloaded them again and they are ready for another few rounds of shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 58