Customer Reviews for HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

A favorite of handloaders since 1946, Hodgdon powders have long delivered superior match-grade accuracy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.878 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(294 Reviews) 294
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 294 reviews
5 Stars
269
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
289 out of 294(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Review 161 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Surprise AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:November 7, 2011
I use H4198 for low pressure 45-70 loads and consistently get good groups without damaging my shoulder. Great value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 162 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Connecticut, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Varget

Date:November 8, 2011
I have been reloading my .223 Rem, cartridges with Varget, for about a year. I have fired many 5 shot groups at 100 yards that measure less than 1/2 inch. I have 3 shot groups that are in one hole. My rifle is accurate, but I never got groups this tight until I used Varget. For me Varget is working out fine, and I highly recommend it. I can buy it at Cabela's E. Hartford, CT store, so I don't have to pay a Haz-Mat fee. At Cabela's I find that it's priced better than other stores in my area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 163 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Varget powder

Date:January 9, 2012
Varget powder works really well with 5.56x45 reloading. If you're thinking of giving it a try, I recommend that you do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 164 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Andalusia,AL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

titegroup powder

Date:January 9, 2012
very good powder for plinking . low charge weight means
you can load alot of rounds I have had good luck with
this powder and will use more. can load everything
from 380acp to 357 mag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 165 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hillsdale, MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H335

Date:January 10, 2012
I use this for volume reloading of .223. AR's are very hungry. It meters very uniformly and was developed specifically for the .223. Some complain that it burns dirty but I haven't found it to be significantly worse than anything else. It's lower price helps keep the cost of reloads down. It can be a little touchy at max loads in hot weather, so be careful in those conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 166 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tite Group & Varget

Date:January 11, 2012
Tite Group & Varget are my two main powders. I use Tite Group in 4 different calibers. It's not position sensitive, so it's great for large case, small drop powders like 38 spl. It also meters very well.
Varget works extremely well in 223. Very accurate & meters well for a stick powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 167 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rapid City, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Smokeless Powder

Date:January 11, 2012
Really like this when reloading Win 300 Short Mags. Buddy was able to hit at 400+ yards (Twice!)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 168 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Feasterville PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TITE GROUP

Date:January 11, 2012
Been using tite group for .45 acp and 9mm with great results - a little goes a long way so it is very cost effective. .40 S&W will be my next load for this powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 169 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wahoo, NE
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Benchmark

Date:January 11, 2012
used on prairie dog loads for my 22-250
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 170 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NC Atlantic coast
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Varget Smokeless Gunpowder

Date:January 11, 2012
Works good for me! I use H-Varget for reloading rifle cartridges, including .223 cal., Rem., .30-06 cal. and Mauser 8 mm. H-Varget meters smoothly during reloading, burns clean in firing and I have been pleased to note very good consistency and accuracy. I have been fully satisfied with this gunpowder. I started with this 1-lb. size after switching from another brand, but now buy in the 8-lb. size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 171 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

7mm Rem. Mag. and 243 Win.

Date:January 11, 2012
Retumbo works excellent for my 7mm Rem. Mag. with 162gr. Nosler Accu Bonds,and Varget is great for my 243Win. with 105gr. Berger VLD's. These powders give me max. velocities and great accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 172 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, Il.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clays

Date:January 11, 2012
I shoot a minimum of 5,000 shot shells a year. Hodgdon Clays powder is the cleanest shotgun powder I have ever used. I started with Alliant Red Dot but lack of it at my local store made me try Clays. I will not use anything else now and do not foresee me changing even if something new comes along. I am more than satisfied with it's performance in 2 3/4 and 3 Dram loadings. residue is a light ash and I have gone over 1,000 shots fired from a Beretta 391 without cleaning and the powder fouling was all but non existent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 173 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape Girardeau, Mo
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:January 11, 2012
Reloading 223 with 55gr bullets. Shoots a 1/2in group . at 100yds . Burns clean. Have no complliants about this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 174 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Home
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

All Around Powder

Date:January 11, 2012
I have been using this powder for over forty years, H4831 has proved to be highly accurate, and very versatile, My wife and I use for our 270 and 300 WM, plus other calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 175 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Universal Clays, Varget and H110

Date:January 11, 2012
Universal Clays is an excellent and versatile shotgun powder, I use it happily to reload both 20 and 12 gauge.
Varget is an excellent and versatile rifle powder, I use it to reload both 243 and 30-30 with excellent performance for both.
H110 is an amazing powder for certain loads and is fantastic for the Hornady 140 grain FTX, producing way more fps than any other powder. It is however a pain in the neck to use unless you use a trickle powder measure perhaps. It gums up the charging bar on my Dillon press, I had to take the powder measure apart and clean the heck out of it to get it to move worth a darn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 176 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sebago, Me
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H4831SC, H414, Hybrid 100V and Varget

Date:January 13, 2012
I have had no problem developing very accurate loads for .243 .25/ 06 ,.308 win and 7mm rem mag with these powders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 177 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One pound of BL-C(2)

Date:January 13, 2012
I bought a pound countainer of BL-C(2) and have found it to be consistently grained and reliably measured through my powder measure. It is a good all-around powder for many cartridges, and I load it in the .223 as well as in an 8mm Mauser. It is clean-burning and consistent as far as velocity also. I can duplicate factory .223 results on the target with Sierra soft points and am very pleased with its versatility and performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 178 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Varget

Date:January 14, 2012
I use Hodgdon Varget in my 22-250 reloads. I am very happy with this powder.
From shooting coyotes in below freezing temps, to shooting woodchucks on a 75 degree day, always the same result, clean and consistant!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 179 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lebanon NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

new user

Date:January 14, 2012
First time using this powder. Seems to work fine in reloading my 270 shells..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 180 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hot Load for my Nagant

Date:January 16, 2012
Loaded my Mosin Nagant with BLC2 and a .311 150 grain bullet.....clocked it at 3000 ft/sec. Group just over an inch at 100. Beats my 30-06 by 50 ft/sec. Not too shabby for a rifle built in 1929. Great powder!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 161-180 of 294