Customer Reviews for HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

A favorite of handloaders since 1946, Hodgdon powders have long delivered superior match-grade accuracy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.878 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(294 Reviews) 294
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 294 reviews
5 Stars
269
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
289 out of 294(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Review 201 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon BLC-2

Date:December 7, 2009
I find BLC-2 to be the best powder for .223, .308. I haven't loaded in 30/06.Clean burning.
Some of the best groups have been achieved with this powder at the manufactured velocities.
I recommend this powder for reloaders with the calibers the powder is designed for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-380 in my 22-250

Date:November 30, 2009
H-380 has produced some amazing groups with my 22-250 and 55 gr. Sierra Blitzkings. The fine grains flow very reliably through my powder measure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

powder

Date:November 24, 2009
powder works well in my 9 mm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BLC2 powder.

Date:November 18, 2009
After years of handloading, close to 40, I had never loaded for the .223 Rem or used anything but extruded powder. Hodgdon BLC2 and H335 proved to work extremely well with Hornady 69 gr hpbt match bullets. I worked up a couple of loads that gave me honest 1/4" groups at 100 yds out of my new AR15. Of course the 24" DPMS SS barrel and the Timney match trigger helped some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Iberia, La.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgon Powder

Date:October 26, 2009
Exctllent !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GLENDALE AZ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SMOKLESS GUN POWDER

Date:October 19, 2009
WORKS VERY WELL IN MY 45 ACP KIMBER AND 40 SW
BERETTA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Clays Smokeless Powder

Date:October 19, 2009
5.2 grains of Hodgdon Clays, pushing a 200 grain .45 caliber bullet is the perfect load for my wife. 5'4'' and all of 130 lbs., she loves the load out of her Ruger Vaquero Bisleys. Chronographed at average 500 ft. per second out of the pistols and 750 ft. per second out of Model '94 Marlin Sporting Rifle. Said she could shoot all day. Recommended by a friend and I do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toccoa, Georgia.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H380 POWDER

Date:October 12, 2009
THOUGH NOT WIDELY USED THIS IS A GREAT POWDER IN THE 308 WINCHESTER. METERS PERFECTLY AND BALLISTICS ARE UNIFORM.
THIS HAS BEEN MY POWDER OF CHOICE FOR YEARS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Way

Date:October 8, 2009
It is great to order and have it at the front door. If there are problems they are resolved quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hodgdon powder

Date:October 7, 2009
the whole family of Hodgdon powders are great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 211 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salem VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Boss

Date:September 30, 2009
Trail Boss smokeless powder is the best. Burns completly clean and meters great thru powder dispenser. I can't say enough good things about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 212 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Napa, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HP 38 for H&R top-break

Date:September 10, 2009
Just got some HP38 to reload .38 S&W for my top-break H&R. Worked out perfectly, using a mild load (2.2 gr.).
I also loaded some black powder cartridges for this gun using Pyrodex, but only for comparison sake (also because original cartridge for my H&R was black powder). It of course left more residue, and surprisingly had much more kick. I will stick to the light smokeless load from now on...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 213 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Products

Date:September 10, 2009
I have been using these products for years and i am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 214 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reliable powders

Date:September 10, 2009
I am new to reloading, but in my limited experience I found the Hodgdon powders consistent and easy to use. I also like the Hodgdon web site which is a big help in working up loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 215 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: danville va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

varget powder

Date:September 9, 2009
it works really well in several cal. that i reload for. it just works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 216 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon powder

Date:August 17, 2009
Always good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 217 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hodgdon h4895

Date:August 11, 2009
this powder performed very well in my custom
.22-250. i would reccomend it to my reloading buddies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 218 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Smokeless Powder

Date:August 3, 2009
Powder works perfectly. I'll be ordering more as soon as I run out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 219 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Weatherford, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent powder

Date:July 29, 2009
I purchased Hodgdon H4831SC. This powder has the quality that you would expect from Hodgdon. It flows through powder measures much easier than regular H4831. I am a second generation reloader and for all our rifle ammunition we have used H4831 powder and it has never failed nor differed in its performance. Highly recommend for most large rifle calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 220 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H4350 and H4895

Date:July 21, 2009
I tried numerous powder and bullet combinations in my Ruger M77 MKII .30-06 (including all the "classic" powders that are supposed to be most accurate) and was at the point where I thought I'd sell the gun, as it just wouldn't shoot. Before doing so I figured I'd try one last thing and picked up a pound of H4350. Shooting one grain below max I'm able to keep 3 rounds at MOA or less with 150, 165, and 180 grain bullets from different manufacturers, all with excellent velocities (as good as or slightly better than factory loads). Max loads tended to open the groups up to about 1.5 MOA, still very acceptable. I can't ask for more. It's now the only powder I'll use for full-power loads out of that rifle.
I also use H4895 in the .30-06, but for an Encore pistol. Using 125 grain Sierra ProHunters, all rounds are typically at MOA and average around 2700 fps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 201-220 of 294