Customer Reviews for HODGDON Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

HODGDON Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

A favorite of handloaders since 1946, Hodgdon powders have long delivered superior match-grade accuracy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.884 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(346 Reviews) 346
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 346 reviews
5 Stars
318
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
341 out of 346(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Review 201 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011

good powder

By
Location: moudsville wv
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
cabelas always has what i need
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2011

Good groups.

By
Location: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got 1/2" groups at 100 yards with this and Sierra MKs. Good stuff. Not the cleanest around, but cleaning your gun is half the fun right?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Good Match

By
Location: Glendale, AZ
I'm getting great results using Hodgdon's Varget powder at 43.5gr and CCI Bench Rest primers in my Ruger MKII .308.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2011

big bang actual, not theory

By
Location: Shoreview, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Use H110 for multiple uses. 357 mag light (140 gr bullet) loads, 44 mag (240 and 300) and 22 hornet.
In Super Redhawk 9 1/2" barrel, heavy 300 load gets everyone's attention at the indoor range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Hodgdon Clays

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My son and I enjoy shooting sporting clays, trap and skeet, he moreso than I. When our expenses started to climb, we took up reloading. We tried several different powders, but found them to be dirty. Some people recommend these powders, saying that they 'coat' the barrel. Well, yes, they do... and everything else. My main problem with them is that they leave unburnt powder everywhere. If you have a semi-auto or pump, you understand that they are harder to clean than a sxs or o/u. Clays burns really, really cleanly. It costs a little more, but for shot consistency and cleanness, it cannot be beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

Clean Burn

By
Location: Green Cove Springs, Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good performing clean burning powder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2011

Give Varget a try

By
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Hodgdon's Varget is now the "go to" powder for my 30/06. In my Ruger with the right brass, three different primers and Nosler bullets sub-MOA groups are now the norm. Cold-weather performance is great with this powder. Work your loads up carefully and see what Varget can do for you.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2011

IMR 4895

By
Location: Litchfield County, CT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My go to powder for my M1A.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Makes a bang

By
Location: Colorado plains
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very consistant which makes for great accuracy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Excellence Powder

By
Location: Cheyenne, Wyo
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used Hodgen power for years and am very satisified with the performance, plus it's cheaper that the other powders.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 211 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011

Powder

By
Location: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good product, very consistaint ignition with minimal shot to shot varince
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 212 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2011

powder

By
Location: windham,ME
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
excellent product.flawless performance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 213 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Hodgdon Smokless - Great Stufff

By
Location: Grand Rapids, MI area
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very satisfied with performance of this product. Ignition is good and consistent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 214 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Powder

By
Location: Ventura, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
H4831sc is the first powder I used as a novice re-loader, and is still the only powder I use today for my Remington 700 .270. The powder shoots great leaving me no excuses but to be a better aim!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 215 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2010

Versatile powder

By
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Versatile powder I've been using for over 10 years for .223 REM, .30-30 WIN, .308 WIN and .45-70 GOVT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 216 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2010

Hogdon Varget Rifle Powder

By
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Great powder, I use it for loads for my .308, .243 and 30-06.
Always provides excellent accuracy with the correct bullet combination.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 217 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010

Great Price For Your Win. 308 & 30-06 Cartridges!

By
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been looking for this powder for months both at local shooting stores & internet, and finally found it @ Cabela's. It is the best deal you can get, and I am glad that Cabela carry it. This powder burns pretty clean for my M1A, Win. 308. I will try it on the M1 Garand 30-06 shortly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 218 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010

Hodgdon Clays

By
Location: Pittsville, WI
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good, reliable, gun powder for the purpose in its name.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 219 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

clays powder

By
Location: Hooper, Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
perfect for most handguns
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 220 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2010

h1000 powder

By
excellent powder uniform vecolitys, clean burning, dependable
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 201-220 of 346