Customer Reviews for HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

HODGDON POWDER Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder

A favorite of handloaders since 1946, Hodgdon powders have long delivered superior match-grade accuracy.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(289 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 289 reviews
5 Stars
264
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
284 out of 289(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Review 201 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GLENDALE AZ.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SMOKLESS GUN POWDER

Date:October 19, 2009
WORKS VERY WELL IN MY 45 ACP KIMBER AND 40 SW
BERETTA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 202 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Clays Smokeless Powder

Date:October 19, 2009
5.2 grains of Hodgdon Clays, pushing a 200 grain .45 caliber bullet is the perfect load for my wife. 5'4'' and all of 130 lbs., she loves the load out of her Ruger Vaquero Bisleys. Chronographed at average 500 ft. per second out of the pistols and 750 ft. per second out of Model '94 Marlin Sporting Rifle. Said she could shoot all day. Recommended by a friend and I do the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 203 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Toccoa, Georgia.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H380 POWDER

Date:October 12, 2009
THOUGH NOT WIDELY USED THIS IS A GREAT POWDER IN THE 308 WINCHESTER. METERS PERFECTLY AND BALLISTICS ARE UNIFORM.
THIS HAS BEEN MY POWDER OF CHOICE FOR YEARS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 204 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Way

Date:October 8, 2009
It is great to order and have it at the front door. If there are problems they are resolved quickly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 205 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hodgdon powder

Date:October 7, 2009
the whole family of Hodgdon powders are great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 206 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salem VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trail Boss

Date:September 30, 2009
Trail Boss smokeless powder is the best. Burns completly clean and meters great thru powder dispenser. I can't say enough good things about it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 207 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Napa, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HP 38 for H&R top-break

Date:September 10, 2009
Just got some HP38 to reload .38 S&W for my top-break H&R. Worked out perfectly, using a mild load (2.2 gr.).
I also loaded some black powder cartridges for this gun using Pyrodex, but only for comparison sake (also because original cartridge for my H&R was black powder). It of course left more residue, and surprisingly had much more kick. I will stick to the light smokeless load from now on...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 208 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Products

Date:September 10, 2009
I have been using these products for years and i am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 209 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

reliable powders

Date:September 10, 2009
I am new to reloading, but in my limited experience I found the Hodgdon powders consistent and easy to use. I also like the Hodgdon web site which is a big help in working up loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 210 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: danville va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

varget powder

Date:September 9, 2009
it works really well in several cal. that i reload for. it just works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 211 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon powder

Date:August 17, 2009
Always good product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 212 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hodgdon h4895

Date:August 11, 2009
this powder performed very well in my custom
.22-250. i would reccomend it to my reloading buddies.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 213 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hodgdon Smokeless Powder

Date:August 3, 2009
Powder works perfectly. I'll be ordering more as soon as I run out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 214 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Weatherford, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent powder

Date:July 29, 2009
I purchased Hodgdon H4831SC. This powder has the quality that you would expect from Hodgdon. It flows through powder measures much easier than regular H4831. I am a second generation reloader and for all our rifle ammunition we have used H4831 powder and it has never failed nor differed in its performance. Highly recommend for most large rifle calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 215 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H4350 and H4895

Date:July 21, 2009
I tried numerous powder and bullet combinations in my Ruger M77 MKII .30-06 (including all the "classic" powders that are supposed to be most accurate) and was at the point where I thought I'd sell the gun, as it just wouldn't shoot. Before doing so I figured I'd try one last thing and picked up a pound of H4350. Shooting one grain below max I'm able to keep 3 rounds at MOA or less with 150, 165, and 180 grain bullets from different manufacturers, all with excellent velocities (as good as or slightly better than factory loads). Max loads tended to open the groups up to about 1.5 MOA, still very acceptable. I can't ask for more. It's now the only powder I'll use for full-power loads out of that rifle.
I also use H4895 in the .30-06, but for an Encore pistol. Using 125 grain Sierra ProHunters, all rounds are typically at MOA and average around 2700 fps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 216 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H4831SC

Date:July 7, 2009
This powder works well for me. I was dissapointed that it was not offered in the 8# bottle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 217 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Very Versatile Powder!

Date:June 30, 2009
I've been really happy with TiteGroup for everything from 9x19 to .38 Super to .40 S&W. It just fits the bill for so many loads!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 218 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: coventry ct.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Titegroup power

Date:June 24, 2009
This power meters well and is a gbood selection for use in cowboy action shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 219 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: littleton colorado, retired
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

clay's gun powder

Date:June 23, 2009
Have used clay's gun powder for both rifle and pistols in
cowboy action shooting the last 3 years very happy with
product it burn's very clean and and is very resonable to
buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 220 for Hodgdon® Smokeless Powder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long Island, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Using HP 38

Date:June 22, 2009
Works like a charm. No problems. No misfires. No fowling of the barrel. What else can you say about powder:) It seems to only come in grey :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 201-220 of 289