Customer Reviews for MEC MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader

MEC MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader

All MEC reloaders incorporate features that allow you to produce shotshells that will outperform factory loads at a fraction of the price! These top-quality features include: flip-top measure to permit powder and shot containers to be inserted or removed without spillage. Adjustable rammer tube for applying proper wad-column pressure. Cam-operated crimp for precise crimping and closing pressure. Spindex2 crimp starter for automatic rotation and realignment on the original factory crimp. The 600 Jr. Mark 5 is the No. 1-selling shotshell reloader in the world. This smooth-operating single-stage reloader produces factory-like shells. Cam-operated crimp can perform six- or eight-point crimps with minor adjustment. Plus, it "remembers" the proper reloading sequence. Long-stroke mechanism allows reloading of high- or low-brass shells, including 3" shells. Automatically resizes high or low brass as it punches out the spent primer. Adjustable rammer tube lets you apply the proper wad-column pressure. Comes with charge bar for loading trap or light hunting loads and complete instructions. Other charge bars and powder bushings can be purchased separately. Does not include the automatic primer feed. Made in USA. Available: 10 gauge, 12 gauge, 16 gauge, 20 gauge, 28 gauge and .410.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
80 out of 83(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Review 1 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reloading

Date:November 14, 2006
I found this to be an excellent reloader. The only bad thing encountered was that there were no definitive assembly instructions. Just blown up parts pictures. I was able to put it together following these drawings but an assembly guide would have been nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mec 600 JR Mk 5 reloader

Date:November 17, 2006
I having using the Mec 600 JR MK 5 reloader for the past 20 years. I use it to reload my own 12 ga spreader loads for shooting skeet and sporting clays with much success.
Recently, I bought 3 more Mec 600 JR to reload the 20ga, 28 ga ae well as the 410 ga. The Mec 600 JR is very useful to reload the small amount of ammos I need for my game. It is particularly useful for reloading the small 410 ga shotshells. I can reload more 410 shells faster than my friend who uses a progressive machine due to processing errors and left no mess on my reloading table.
I am pretty happy with the machine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC 600 JR Mark 5 Reloader

Date:November 20, 2006
I've been reloading for some 40 years. My first reloader was a MEC 600 JR. Since then I've upgraded to a MEC 9000G which I set up for 12 ga reloading projects. I needed something for 410 ga, something I wouldn't be loading much of & wanted a reloader that was affordable, reliable, and something I could use to introduce other's to that were new to shotgun shell reloading. The MEC 600 JR is perfect for the task on hand. It's great for low volume reloading projects & great for a beginner as well as an experienced reloader like myself. Nothing on the market compares.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakeland, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent review for the 600 Junior

Date:November 21, 2006
I thoroughly enjoy using my new reloader. As a novice shotgun reloader, with minimal experience, I found the 600 Jr. to be a very good tool for the beginner and the experienced reloader. It's smooth and consistent reloading ensures the best loads for all applications. I believe that I will buy more 600 Jrs. for more shotguns to further expand my reloading experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bakersfield, CA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mec 600jr

Date:November 21, 2006
I have used this reloader for aprox. 5 years now, and it's been worth every penny. The only thing I have had to replace was the charge bar and the bottles, but that's just normal wear and my loads changed. Great mec product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The industry standard in reloaders for home use

Date:April 10, 2007
My MEC 600 Mark V was purchased in .410 gauge and will also be used to load 28 GA and 20 GA by installing the available die sets.
I've owned and still use a MEC 600 Jr., in 12 gauge, that was purchased over 40 years ago. Many of the parts and supplies for the new Mark V are identical to those used on the older 600 Jr.s.
The quality of the new reloader is outstanding. It's completely American made and is very well constructed. The reloads it produces look like factory loads.
If you shoot skeet, trap or sporting clays, the MEC 600 Jr. Mk V is a great way to beat the ever increasing price of ammunition. This is one of the few products a sportsman can buy that actually pays for itself in a few months, very quickly if you shoot .410 or 28 gauge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Review of MEC 600 Jr

Date:April 25, 2007
Easy to use and does a great job. Is the first reloader for most people due to how simple it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Coarsegold CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My first press

Date:June 23, 2007
My first reloader was a 600JR and let me tell you, I loaded a TON of shells on it. My parents sold it while I was in the Army or I would still be abusing that machine and still be banging away. Oh wait, that was back in the days of lead for ducks.
Ok, so I would be banging dove and phesant. At any rate, this is a fine press and a good machine for new reloaders because it only does one thing at a time and the 9000G or another "more advanced" machine, should quite honestly be for a more advanced reloader simply for safety.
If you have an avid shooter and don't neet the taller steelmaster, this will work.
Oh, the resizer is just a ring so if you shoot an auto you might consider a 3 reload limit for hulls or get a Super Sizer. Well, actually, if you get a Supersizer, might as well just get the steelmaster and be done with it as it has the better resizer.
Durability kicked it to 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Uxbridge , Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader/.410

Date:July 7, 2007
This product has as performed as expected, a couple of minor adjustments (a normal proceedure) and I was in buisness. This is my third MEC press as I have a size masters for 12ga., and 28ga.. This press has in a short time loaded 500 rounds of . .410 without so much as a hiccup. The re-loaded ammo has functioned without a problem and as I shoot them thru tubes in a 12ga. over under which can be tempermental.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC 600 Jr Mark 5 Reloader

Date:July 23, 2007
My first Mec loader A1 quality single stage loader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:August 18, 2007
The best thing about the 600 is the rugged simplicity. You can monitor and control every shell at every station, completely resize every shell, and you don't have to worry about all that Rube Goldberg mechanical stuff that, in the long run, just slows you down. I would rather use the 600 (I own four of them) and spend my time loading instead of repairing expensive, poorly designed progressive loaders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MEC 600 Jr.

Date:September 5, 2007
Great Reloader. The only thing I have had to add-on is the bushings. It is a great little reloader for shot shells. My next one will be a MEC .410!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA. Durango, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Still Awesome

Date:October 17, 2007
I have the MEC 600 Jr.'s in both 12 and 20 gauge. Although they've been around awhile, they're still the fastest, simplest press for the money. I size/prime all my hulls first and this seems to speed up the process. I can load about 75-85 rounds an hour doing it this way. If your loading consistently sized hulls, you set it and forget it. I check the tightness of the bolts/screws every 100 to 150 rounds, and it produces good, consistent ammo, saving about 25-35% over store bought.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kirkland Lake, ON
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

don't forget to order this extra piece

Date:January 7, 2008
Love the reloader for loading 410 smaller shells but to reload with the 3" conversion you need a seperate charge bar not included with the 3" conversion kit. You can order from cabela a 11/16 charge bar (order 302 for single stage 502 for progressive)but it is not included in the conversion kit.
Setup and use with smaller shells was simple and easy. As with loading 410 our #6 pellets jammed a lot so far. A common problem loading 410. However, this loader has a simple jam clear option by tipping the bottles and passing a dowel/screwdriver etc through the top enabling the pellets to drop into your shell. Overall very pleased... once the new charge bar arrives.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mec 600 jr Mark 5 Reloader

Date:January 7, 2008
I have relaoded several hundred shells with my Mark 5 and I am very pleased with it. It is practically foolproof. You can't remove the shell from the charging station until powder, wad, and shot have been placed in the shell. The crimping is also practically fullproof. The crimp starter rotates so that you can't make a mistake. It self aligns. One of the best purchases I ever made. Now if I only had more time to go to the trap range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent

Date:January 7, 2008
Product worked perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Uxbridge,Ma.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mec Press

Date:February 12, 2008
I am loading steel shot loads,so speed and quantity,are not an issue.The mec gets the job done at an affordable price..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

600 jr

Date:March 7, 2008
Be sure to get primer feeder, that they offer when you buy this, will save you money, an get the better charge bar too..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saskatchewan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:March 14, 2008
It'seasy to use and does a great job.I was able to find a load that patterns very well in my shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MEC® 600 Jr. Mark 5 Reloader
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Anwsome

Date:March 31, 2008
Cabela is so Anwsome....This is a Anwsome loader at a great Price. For the begainer or Pro..another thing makes this loader so Great is... can change gauges, dies, fast an eazy....thx Cabela
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 83