Customer Reviews for Catch-All H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Catch-All H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks

These high-tech synthetic stocks are computer designed for a perfect fit. All you have to do is remove the barreled action from the original stock and bolt it in. Made of a rugged Kevlar&reg, carbon fiber and fiberglass composite filled with fiberglass-reinforced injection molded urethane foam to last a lifetime and remain unaffected by weather or temperature extremes. Finished with a textured, non-slip, non-reflective, durable, baked-on polyurethane finish with a full-length machined aluminum bedding block to ensure barrel/stock contact for consistent accuracy. Available in two colors and includes Uncle Mike's Ultra-Mag Recoil Pad and sling swivel studs. Weight is about 2-1/4-lbs. L.O.P. 13.5". Stocks are available in two designs, a classic sporter and a varmint model with a wider forearm.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.635 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
48 out of 52(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Review 21 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CASPER, WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shipping will happen someday

Date:December 30, 2008
stock was good, but they don't ever ship for four days, I tryed to by it at the store but it wasn't in stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks

Date:December 15, 2008
I have a couple of these, and they are everything HS says they are. You won't be sorry if you get one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Auburn, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Sure Yet

Date:November 1, 2008
I replaced the factory stock on my old Rem 700 BDL with an HS-Precision, black web finish, about a year ago. I've been pleased with how it shoots at the range. Yesterday was the first I'd put it through a hunting situation in heavy rain. After only about 3 miles of hiking with the rifle slung over my shoulder, I noticed the web textured finish on the side of the receiver toward the top of the pistol grip had worn smooth. The rifle had been riding against the soft outer material of my Badlands Monster Fanny pack while slung over my shoulder and simply rubbed off from the rain and friction. The finish was streaked down the side of my stock like wet paint. My wood stocked rifles have never been bothered by my pack, so I'm sure the pack has nothing to do with it. I'm guessing the textured finish was not properly cured. Let's see what HS-Precision or Cabela's can do about it. I'm not pleased right now; however I know Cabela's outstanding customer service will take care of me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: St George, UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Seems a little fragile.

Date:September 17, 2008
I am not sure if it came this way or if I did it during while bedding the action, but the bottom of the stock cracked a little near the front action screw. I called H-S and they said it would still work fine and maybe it will, but in general I don't like broken looking stuff. I didn't feel like I could return the stock at that point because I'd just bedded it. I would not buy another H-S stock.
Otherwise the stock fit my Model 70 well and did improve the accuracy of the rifle (the factory wood stock never fit right).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

better than factory

Date:September 12, 2008
Originally I bought the cheap remington synthetic stock and it took an hour of grinding to get it to fit my 30.06 Rem. 700 BDL. This stock fit right off the bat with no altering required. A tad heavy but that just means its solid. Barrel floats nicely like it should. I wish it had a monte carlo cheek piece but I drilled two holes in the butt and added a sniper cheek rest I bought. The gun feels solid and new. Tomorrow I will paint the stock with camo paint. Great investment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Quakertown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H S Precision Stock, Model 70

Date:August 30, 2008
Best replacement stock I have purchaced that the " non gunsmith" can install with confidence. Bedding was easy with the included insturctions and compound. Only required a little sanding at the bottom metal forward screw and a dremel to recess a little at the bolt stop area. This was due to a action variation as it was not an issue on my other H S stock I have since installed on a second Model 70 rifle. It took 25 minutes to complete the gob. The rigidity was a drastic improvement over the factory stock. Accuracy improved as well. Excellent fit. Feel and finish is nicer on the web model for my tasts. It is a sad you can't get off-the-shelf non standard barrel channels for this product as I would restock other rifles with this product. Barrel channel is perfict for 300 win. mag. but there is be a bit of gap on the 30-06 Featherweight if this type of thing bothers you. The channel will not fit my heavy barreled Model 70 , 375 H&H.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Midwest, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-S stock for Win M70 heavy barrel

Date:May 6, 2008
I have several H-S products and have always liked the stocks this one was no different. This stock installed with no problems and improved accuracy for the really long shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks

Date:April 15, 2008
A great product, high quality and durable, at a great price. The replacement stocks were used on my .375 H&H Magnum and my .300 Win. Magnum, and were installed with minimal effort. Overall, the rifles feel and "point" better and are more enjoyable to shoot. The well made synthetic stocks compliment my stainless steel rifles and provide an "all weather" approach to hunting in Alaska.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: UT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 24, 2008
The
H-S precision stock is extremely well made and light. It came complete
with new screws and bedding materials. Bedding was very simple to do
without mess and special tools, took about 20 minutes. It's a solid
piece of hardware that I would recommend to anyone looking for a
quality replacement stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding!

Date:March 8, 2008
I put this stock on my Remington SPS in 30-06, shot a group you could cover with a nickel! Feels much better than the plastic stock as well. Really turned my rifle into a whole new gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stock

Date:February 27, 2008
Great replacement stock, perfect fit, no adjustments necessary taking less than 5 minutes. Point of impact unchanged after replacement. Highly recommend to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Norwalk, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HS Precision - Model 70 post '64

Date:February 25, 2008
I have just completed replacing the factory wood stock on my post '64 Winchester model 70 .300 win. mag with the HS precision stock. Gun looks great. Groups have gone in half from 1.5" to .75". It was apparent the original wood factory stock had bedding issues. However, this is not a true drop in stock! Yes, the action may drop in and bolt in, but the recoil lug had .025" clearance between the action and aluminum bedding block. The recommended bedding procedure does not address this issue. I'm told by the benchrest shooter that ultimately helped me bed the action that the compound supplied doesn't hold up. If you are going to do this job right, and plan on getting everything you can out of this stock, plan on having it bedded properly by an expert. It's worth it. But if you simply purchase this stock and expect everything to fall perfectly into place, you are going to be disappointed. Apparently HS also knows this as the instructions attempt to address proper bedding for the model 70's. Otherwise, I now expect great things from this rifle for many years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hawaiian Islands
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remington 700 Classic in 30-06

Date:February 23, 2008
My 06 is a tack driver putting my Barnes reloads and several factory brands into less than .5 moa groups with a laminated stock. For some reason it started shooting inconsistently. I thought it was the scope and had that replaced but it did not solve the problem....figured it was a bedding problem and ordered the HS Precision stock. The fit and finish is excellent and thankfully my rifle still shoots .5 moa but now consistently in the same spot. Its a bit pricey but well worth every penny!!! you'll remember the quality long after you've forgotten the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H-S Precision Stock LH

Date:February 20, 2008
Excellent drop-in fit for my Remington 700! I'm a left-handed shooter, so I'm extremely thankful that H-S Precision does not neglect this segment of the shooting fraternity. If you are also a left-handed shooter, you know exactly what I'm talking about! Our options are limited in so many areas, to include rifle manufacturers, rifle calibers, and any after-market parts or accessories. If you are wanting an off the shelf, rugged and durable replacement stock for your trusted Remington 700 rifle...look no further! H-S Precision has you covered!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stock

Date:February 20, 2008
This is a great stock. The only problem i had with it was that i just bought a remington model 700 brand new and the new triggers wont let the action or barrel seat correctly in the stock. i just had to grind a little bit of the aluminum and kevlar back for the trigger and the barrel floats perfectly and everything bolts up nicely which is what you should expect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Kimberly, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

crack in stock

Date:February 18, 2008
Stock would not fit rem. model 700 SPS LA with new X mark trigger. Stock had a crack near front of bedding block, and a chip near the rear of bedding block. HS Precision said they would not replace stock, only repair it. Not acceptable for a new stock. I am returning the stock to Cabela's for a refund. I will try another brand of stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:February 8, 2008
I thougt I needed to buy a new rifle. Becasue I liked the action but the grooping was not what I wanted. A friend reccomended I try an H-S Precision Stock. I did. It is like I have a brand new very accurate rifle. Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

700 CDL 30.06

Date:February 3, 2008
Perfect fit with my Timney, this stock has a great feel to it! Well worth the wait. Nice looking light webbing not to much. I have ordered from Cabelas before and have no hesitations, great customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Incorrect fit - Returned

Date:February 1, 2008
After receiving the stock, it was determined that the stock is designed for a rifle with a magizine floor plate. Yet the Winchester model 70 that I have has no floor plate. This sort of information should be made available in the description of the stock. Even a call to H-S proved that they "assumed" all Win M70 rifles have floor plates. They offered no solution to the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for H-S Precision Replacement Rifle Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

h-s stocks

Date:December 14, 2007
The best stock money can buy! I got these stocks on 2 of my rifles not a single problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 52