Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®

Thompson Center’s Maxi-Hunter bullet incorporates all the features of the world famous Maxi-Ball®, superb accuracy and easy loading, with the added benefit of maximum expansion on deer-sized game. The greatly improved terminal ballistics for deer-sized game have made the Maxi-Hunter the primary choice of those who specifically concentrate on hunting the special deer seasons. Maxi-Hunters® are pre-lubed with Natural Lube 1000+ Bore Butter™, eliminating the need to wipe the bore clean between shots. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.42 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
45 out of 50(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Review 21 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cleve.,ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 cal powder ammo

Date:February 12, 2011
most accurate ammo i put thru my t/c .54 w/110g black powder at 100yds w/open sites dead on the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly

Date:September 22, 2010
As mentioned in another review, these bullets work well in T/C Omega rifles with 90 grains of BP. Above that the accuracy seems to fall off abruptly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Streetsboro, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outdoorsman605

Date:April 5, 2010
I really enjoy shooting these Thompson Center Maxi-Hunters.
Even after firing the tenth round through my T/C 54 Cal Muzzle Loader, they were so easy to load without having to swab the barrel with a patch. Each one loaded into the barrel as if it were the first. No Hesitation at all. I also noticed that I was able to keep a tighter group pattern on the target with these loads. When cleaning the barrel, it seemed to take less time due to each round is pre-lubracated with Bore Butter. I wanted to try out these loads, because a friend of mine who hunts with them highly recommended them. He told me that when he shot a couple of deer with these loads, the deer were knocked down off their feet on impact and did not get back up. I was really impressed with these loads at the range, and can not wait to actually hunt with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: va.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

one bad bullet

Date:February 26, 2010
I shoot a 50 cal encore and had a 1 in 48 twist barrel made for it deadly combination. these bullets are not made for 1in 28 twist but some inlines will shoot them ok i shoot 80 gr trip 7 and a 275 gr max hunter great combo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Traverse City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.45 In-Line

Date:December 6, 2009
Shoots great, loads easy, bore butter coating makes cleaning a snap. I would highly recommend this bullet to anyone serious about whitetail hunting with a .45.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Richmond, ME
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

maxi hunters

Date:December 6, 2009
these are very accurite in my .54 cal t/c newenglander with a 1:48 twist. I used 90 to 120gr of black powder and just a standard #11 cap on my side lock, and was very impressed. at 100 yrds i was shooting a 3in group with the 435gr bullets. shoulder got a little sore after a day at the range, but wont have to track any thing with these maxi- hunters either. fair trade off i think. I also get the same if not a little better accuracy with .020 patch and hornady round ball. But for knock down power I am going to use maxi-hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Valley of California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE hunting bullet for traditional rifles

Date:December 3, 2009
I've been hunting with these in .50, .54 and .58 caliber traditional half stock ML rifles for quite some time now. I used to use the TC Maxi-Ball but the Maxi-Hunter expands so well, and shoots so accurately from my rifles that I would not go back. I shoot iron sights and heavy charges of traditional black powder. They also shoot well out of my .50 caliber Pennsylvania rifle, despite the slow twist of the long gun. I've taken Black bear, Mule deer and one very nice Bull elk with these bullets, and with well worked up loads and careful bullet placement, none have needed a second shot. A side note: I have friends who shoot modern in-lines who have only limited success with these bullets. As a result, I recommend these bullets for traditional ML rifles with barrels that have a rifling twist of 1 in 48" or slower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devastating Impact

Date:September 20, 2009
On Monday, Sept 14th I took my first deer with a muzzle loader using the .50 cal version of the Maxi-Hunter sitting in front of 90 grains of Blackhorn 209 powder. I hit the deer at the base of the neck and the bullet passed between the spine and throat leaving a wound channel that was about 2 inches in diameter and an exit hole about the size of a quarter. The shot was taken at a distance of 110 yards using a Remington Genesis with open sights, the animal literally dropped where it stood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

South FL Boars

Date:September 9, 2009
Shot a 275 lb Boar in S. Florida using the .58 cal version of the Maxi Hunter. 560 grn. infront of 110 grn of BP out of a Hawkins flint lock (also from Cabelas). Bullet went all the way through and liquified the heart and lungs. Devastating! The pig ran about 40 yds and dropped dead. Great bullet. Looking forward to trying them on an elk this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north central Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer stopper

Date:June 22, 2009
I hunt with a Traditions brand .54 cal muzzeloader, the Thompson Center maxi hunter bullets that I've been using were 540 grains. I see that they have lowered the grains since I purchased these bullets last, however I have taken 5 deer with these rounds, from a small doe to a 170 class 8pt buck. Each and every deer dropped dead in its tracks!! I would never use anything else! The bullet fits very tight in the barrel, no sloppy play at all. I shoot this round with 90 grains of black powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots great in my inline

Date:April 21, 2009
I know these are designed for traditional guns but I get cloverleaf groups at 50 yards with a 45 cal knight in-line and 90 grains of triple seven. Much better than powerbelts in my gun and very easy to load. I started using them because I got frustrated loading sabots which I could barely get down the barrel on the second shot. They've quickly dropped two deer. My only small gripe is that they did not pass through either animal, but they dropped within 40 feet so that's not much to complain about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IndianaDeerTS

Date:February 1, 2009
Best of it's type for even bigger deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Maxi hunter

Date:December 23, 2008
Outstanding bullet! Great lube very accurate out of my .54 cal Hawkens with 100 grains of Pyrodex RS powder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southfield, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bullets I've found, and I've tested them all

Date:December 21, 2008
I hunt exclusively with traditional muzzleloaders, and I am employed as a full time range instructor for a metro detroit police department....so I know how to test a bullet.
These bullets shoot great from every gun I've tried them in: 1:32, 1:48, 1:60, even a Kentucky pistol! And the Kentucky pistol generated over 1100 fps, while still shooting a 3" group at 50 yards!!!!
I have shot numerous deer with these bullets, and every deer goes down like it was hit by a truck. Unfortunately I can not say that about other bullets. And round balls? Forget about it.
These bullets: Absolutely awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dorsey, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Conical Bullets

Date:November 21, 2008
I have found these to be fairly accurate and highly effective on whitetails from my Cabela's .54 L/H Hawken. For those who aren't happy with this bullet's accuracy from inlines, I would recommend sabots. Some people are shooting these from 1 in 28'' and 1 in 32''twist guns. These were designed for 1 in 48'' barrels. I think you will all find sabots give much better accuracy out of the faster twist barrels. I know the sabots are the only thing to shoot in my T/C Omega. Happy Huntin'!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

for those people complaining about these bullets

Date:October 31, 2008
T/C Maxi Hunter bullets are the BEST ammunition if you shoot a TRADITIONAL black powder rifle. They are not designed to shoot well out of modern rifles. They have the best knock down power I've seen yet. I have harvested over 30 deer in the last 5-6 years in PA, WV, and VA and I have never been unable to find any of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yukon Territory, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.58 cal 560 grn Maxi-Hunter

Date:September 26, 2008
My first time out with my muzzle loader and I got a beautiful brown phase, black bear with a .58 cal 560 grn Maxi-Hunter, over 110 grains of FF powder at 60 yards. Perfect pass-through of the "boiler" and the bear was clean dead after a 30 yard sprint. My father has also hunted with these for years and they perform great, with outstanding penetration and huge entrance and exit holes leading to fast, humane kills. Highly reccomended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bossier City, LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thompson Center Maxi-Hunter

Date:May 27, 2008
Shoot equally well in my in-lines and my traditional muzzleloaders. I use both the 50 and 54 cal. The expansion of each is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One shot

Date:January 20, 2008
They are very effective with good hits and easy to load.Some of the sabots I have used are very difficult to load but the maxi-hunter or maxi-balls can be started with your thumb.The lube also makes cleaning much easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the only bullet

Date:January 7, 2008
This is the only bullet I will use for blackpowder hunting. I have had trouble with every other bullet I have used except this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 50