Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20

Thompson Center’s Maxi-Hunter bullet incorporates all the features of the world famous Maxi-Ball®, superb accuracy and easy loading, with the added benefit of maximum expansion on deer-sized game. The greatly improved terminal ballistics for blackpowder/muzzleloader deer-sized game have made the Maxi-Hunter the primary choice of those who specifically concentrate on hunting the special deer seasons. Maxi-Hunters® are pre-lubed with Natural Lube 1000 Plus Bore Butter™, eliminating the need to wipe the bore clean between shots. Solid base, lubricating grooves, slight hollow point. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
48 out of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Review 21 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2011

Awesome, in the right gun...

By
Location: Shell, Wy
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
For those shooting the more traditional rifles, mostly those with a 1-in-48 twist, this is an awesome bullet. The problem, with most of those who have had bad luck with them, is when you try to shoot a conical (ANY conical) in a gun with a 1-in-24 twist. Those guns generally perform better with sabots. Pick the right bullet for the gun and enjoy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2011

My Favorite .50 Round

By
Location: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I carry a .50 T/C Hawken and this is my preferred round for hunting. I have used sabots and I just don't like them as much as the Maxi-Hunter.
I have killed 2 large bucks, many does, and a large hog with these rounds. They are very accurate and the bore butter on the round helps season the barrel which makes cleaning much less labor intensive.
Also, unlike the sabots they leave much less residue in the barrel which means I do not have to clean between shots. I can usually shoot 4 or 5 times without having to clean the barrel and it doesn't effect accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2011

MAXI

By
Location: NEBRASKA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Have killed several elk with these. partnered with 115grain of triple 7, have had complete penetration and a nice size exit hole.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

.54 cal powder ammo

By
Location: cleve.,ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
most accurate ammo i put thru my t/c .54 w/110g black powder at 100yds w/open sites dead on the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2010

Deadly

By
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
As mentioned in another review, these bullets work well in T/C Omega rifles with 90 grains of BP. Above that the accuracy seems to fall off abruptly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010

Outdoorsman605

By
Location: Streetsboro, Ohio
I really enjoy shooting these Thompson Center Maxi-Hunters.
Even after firing the tenth round through my T/C 54 Cal Muzzle Loader, they were so easy to load without having to swab the barrel with a patch. Each one loaded into the barrel as if it were the first. No Hesitation at all. I also noticed that I was able to keep a tighter group pattern on the target with these loads. When cleaning the barrel, it seemed to take less time due to each round is pre-lubracated with Bore Butter. I wanted to try out these loads, because a friend of mine who hunts with them highly recommended them. He told me that when he shot a couple of deer with these loads, the deer were knocked down off their feet on impact and did not get back up. I was really impressed with these loads at the range, and can not wait to actually hunt with them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2010

one bad bullet

By
Location: va.
I shoot a 50 cal encore and had a 1 in 48 twist barrel made for it deadly combination. these bullets are not made for 1in 28 twist but some inlines will shoot them ok i shoot 80 gr trip 7 and a 275 gr max hunter great combo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

.45 In-Line

By
Location: Traverse City
Shoots great, loads easy, bore butter coating makes cleaning a snap. I would highly recommend this bullet to anyone serious about whitetail hunting with a .45.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

maxi hunters

By
Location: Richmond, ME
these are very accurite in my .54 cal t/c newenglander with a 1:48 twist. I used 90 to 120gr of black powder and just a standard #11 cap on my side lock, and was very impressed. at 100 yrds i was shooting a 3in group with the 435gr bullets. shoulder got a little sore after a day at the range, but wont have to track any thing with these maxi- hunters either. fair trade off i think. I also get the same if not a little better accuracy with .020 patch and hornady round ball. But for knock down power I am going to use maxi-hunters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009

THE hunting bullet for traditional rifles

By
Location: Central Valley of California
I've been hunting with these in .50, .54 and .58 caliber traditional half stock ML rifles for quite some time now. I used to use the TC Maxi-Ball but the Maxi-Hunter expands so well, and shoots so accurately from my rifles that I would not go back. I shoot iron sights and heavy charges of traditional black powder. They also shoot well out of my .50 caliber Pennsylvania rifle, despite the slow twist of the long gun. I've taken Black bear, Mule deer and one very nice Bull elk with these bullets, and with well worked up loads and careful bullet placement, none have needed a second shot. A side note: I have friends who shoot modern in-lines who have only limited success with these bullets. As a result, I recommend these bullets for traditional ML rifles with barrels that have a rifling twist of 1 in 48" or slower.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2009

Devastating Impact

By
Location: Grand Junction, CO
On Monday, Sept 14th I took my first deer with a muzzle loader using the .50 cal version of the Maxi-Hunter sitting in front of 90 grains of Blackhorn 209 powder. I hit the deer at the base of the neck and the bullet passed between the spine and throat leaving a wound channel that was about 2 inches in diameter and an exit hole about the size of a quarter. The shot was taken at a distance of 110 yards using a Remington Genesis with open sights, the animal literally dropped where it stood.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

South FL Boars

By
Shot a 275 lb Boar in S. Florida using the .58 cal version of the Maxi Hunter. 560 grn. infront of 110 grn of BP out of a Hawkins flint lock (also from Cabelas). Bullet went all the way through and liquified the heart and lungs. Devastating! The pig ran about 40 yds and dropped dead. Great bullet. Looking forward to trying them on an elk this year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 22, 2009

Deer stopper

By
Location: north central Illinois
I hunt with a Traditions brand .54 cal muzzeloader, the Thompson Center maxi hunter bullets that I've been using were 540 grains. I see that they have lowered the grains since I purchased these bullets last, however I have taken 5 deer with these rounds, from a small doe to a 170 class 8pt buck. Each and every deer dropped dead in its tracks!! I would never use anything else! The bullet fits very tight in the barrel, no sloppy play at all. I shoot this round with 90 grains of black powder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2009

Shoots great in my inline

By
I know these are designed for traditional guns but I get cloverleaf groups at 50 yards with a 45 cal knight in-line and 90 grains of triple seven. Much better than powerbelts in my gun and very easy to load. I started using them because I got frustrated loading sabots which I could barely get down the barrel on the second shot. They've quickly dropped two deer. My only small gripe is that they did not pass through either animal, but they dropped within 40 feet so that's not much to complain about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2009

IndianaDeerTS

By
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Best of it's type for even bigger deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

T/C Maxi hunter

By
Location: Illinois
Outstanding bullet! Great lube very accurate out of my .54 cal Hawkens with 100 grains of Pyrodex RS powder.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2008

Best bullets I've found, and I've tested them all

By
Location: Southfield, MI
I hunt exclusively with traditional muzzleloaders, and I am employed as a full time range instructor for a metro detroit police department....so I know how to test a bullet.
These bullets shoot great from every gun I've tried them in: 1:32, 1:48, 1:60, even a Kentucky pistol! And the Kentucky pistol generated over 1100 fps, while still shooting a 3" group at 50 yards!!!!
I have shot numerous deer with these bullets, and every deer goes down like it was hit by a truck. Unfortunately I can not say that about other bullets. And round balls? Forget about it.
These bullets: Absolutely awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008

Conical Bullets

By
Location: Dorsey, IL
I have found these to be fairly accurate and highly effective on whitetails from my Cabela's .54 L/H Hawken. For those who aren't happy with this bullet's accuracy from inlines, I would recommend sabots. Some people are shooting these from 1 in 28'' and 1 in 32''twist guns. These were designed for 1 in 48'' barrels. I think you will all find sabots give much better accuracy out of the faster twist barrels. I know the sabots are the only thing to shoot in my T/C Omega. Happy Huntin'!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2008

for those people complaining about these bullets

By
Location: Virginia
T/C Maxi Hunter bullets are the BEST ammunition if you shoot a TRADITIONAL black powder rifle. They are not designed to shoot well out of modern rifles. They have the best knock down power I've seen yet. I have harvested over 30 deer in the last 5-6 years in PA, WV, and VA and I have never been unable to find any of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Hunter® Bullets – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2008

.58 cal 560 grn Maxi-Hunter

By
Location: Yukon Territory, Canada
My first time out with my muzzle loader and I got a beautiful brown phase, black bear with a .58 cal 560 grn Maxi-Hunter, over 110 grains of FF powder at 60 yards. Perfect pass-through of the "boiler" and the bear was clean dead after a 30 yard sprint. My father has also hunted with these for years and they perform great, with outstanding penetration and huge entrance and exit holes leading to fast, humane kills. Highly reccomended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 53