Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®

The Thompson Center Original Maxi-Ball has been used extensively by target shooters and hunters for almost 20 years. Utilize wide lubricating grooves and are pre-lubed with Natural Lube 1000+ Bore Butter™. Its reputation as an exceptionally accurate bullet which is easily loaded in the field is unequalled. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
43 out of 48(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Review 21 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No Sabot allowed

Date:February 20, 2011
For the States that Sabot's are not allowed these are by far the best you can get, and I have tried them all....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maxi Balls Thumbs Up

Date:February 18, 2011
I started using Maxi Balls after I was not able to find Buffalo balls. I us an older kit gun and do not care to run "flaming PLASTIC" out my barrel. The gun was buitl for lead and thats what I want for it. The Maxi Balls hit at 100 yards like my 3030. with 1 1/2" groups and that is fantastic for me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yelm, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Conicals

Date:October 18, 2010
I use a .50cal CVA Buckhorn Magnum with a 24" barrel and 1:28" twist. I have used these conicals (320gr Maxi-Ball) in my rifle with great success. I have fired these from 50-100 yards with 60-80gr of FFg black powder (approx. 1370fps with a mild #11 cap) and the accuracy is roughly 2-3" at 100yds (off the iron sights).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 maxiball 430gr

Date:August 30, 2010
i shoot these bullets out of my remington 700mls and i couldn't be happier. carries 2"-3" groups with ease at 50 yards, more than enough accuracy for hunting. and another plus is the massive weight will take anything down when it makes a hit. best round i've ever fired out of a blackpowder rifle!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hemlock, Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

54 cal. Maxi-Ball

Date:July 29, 2010
I had high hopes that the 54 cal. Maxi-Ball would group in my T/C White Mountain because it won't group sabots. These would not group these either. I shot a circle around an 8" paper plate at 100 yds. using 100 grains of 777. I guess that I am stuck shooting round balls with this gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buy it

Date:April 17, 2010
if you like a clover leaf at 100 yards us them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ADK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

They work well.

Date:November 30, 2009
I shot a Black bear at 75 yards with my .54 T/C Hawken using 110 grains of Pyrodex; The Maxi-Ball entered the bears Neck and exited through his ribcage on the opposite side. He was dead before the smoke cleared. awsome Bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Thornton, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Like these projectiles

Date:November 18, 2009
Easy to load and accurate. Big enough for elk or muleys
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cental California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 cal. Maxi-Balls

Date:October 27, 2009
I received some good advice from friends when I told them I just bought my first muzzle loader for an elk hunt in Oregon: Try using the T/C Maxi-Ball bullets! I did and on my first visit to the range I got the first few rounds on to the paper at 50 yards and then moved out to the 100-yard line. It didn't take but a few rounds to get on target. I fired 14 rounds total and the last 6 were two 3-shot groups measuring right at 3 inches.
I think I can do better with a little more practice with a brand new rifle. But if I don't, it is shooting good enough for the heavily wooded area I'll be hunting in considering the size of an elk's kill zone! The Maxi-Balls work as advertised. I'll up date this review if I get lucky enough to fill my elk tag and I'll share how the bullet performed on large size game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for accuracy

Date:October 14, 2009
purchased these for my cva optima 45cal and i canot get a consistent groupe at 50 yards. best i can get is bout a nine inch group n thats cleaning between every shot. But thay load easily and i believe thay would do very well on game if u can hit them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Maxi-Ball 370 Grain 50 Cal

Date:March 13, 2009
In my Omega 50 cal, these 370 grain Maxi-Balls shoot better than any Power Belt or other conical I've tried. Much more accurate than the Maxi-Hunter. My load is 90 grains of Triple 7 FFG. Saboted bullets are more accurate but I hate having to swab between shots. With the MaxiBall, which have Bore Butter on them, I don't have to do that. I haven't used these on deer yet but I have no doubt that they will do the job as they are actually for larger game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kimball, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maxi-Ball, .54 caliber, 430 Grain

Date:February 17, 2009
This bullet must use some sort of high tech miracle alien material. Mere lead couldn't have the knockdown power this bullet gives! The 430 grain death-ray has never failed, in fact, the furthest my future dinner has traveled is maybe 15 yards and 90% fall ON THE SPOT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maxiball

Date:February 1, 2009
The best of it's type for big deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Costa Mesa, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TC Maxi-ball

Date:January 20, 2009
Didn't shoot as well as the Power belt bullets (Plain lead with green plastic base). Was using a Ruger 77/50 with Pyrodex pellets, 2 50gr pellets. Also used Triple 7 and Swiss 1.5 about 100gr each. The above mentioned Power belt bullets shot about 4 to 5 inch groups off the bench iron sights only. For some reason lead only bullets (I used TC and Hornady) both didn't do as well as the Power belts mentioned above. Those pretty Copper jacket saboted bullets did very well, but the Power belts did almost as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DANSVILLE N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THOMPSON CENTER MAX-BALL

Date:December 15, 2008
THEY ARE EXCELLENT. I GOT A 58 CAL HAWKENS. THE OLD BUCK DIDN,T KNOW WHAT HIT HIM. THEY SHOT GREAT AT 125 YARDS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: granby,co
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC maxi balls

Date:September 23, 2008
We have used these for 10 years, we have no problems with these maxi balls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Work Well

Date:September 23, 2008
I started using these years ago and have never had a reason to change. Most of the deer I've shot go less than 50 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lewiston, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC Maxi-Balls

Date:August 26, 2008
A good option for getting some extra grains of weight in a small caliber projectile like my .45 Kentucky muzzleloader. The pre-lubed rings made them easy to fully seat. They are a little hard to get out of the box without getting the lube all over your fingers, barrel and lockset. I am still working on loads with Hodgson 777 but accuracy with this bullet is very good thus far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Downingtown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

t/c maxi-balls

Date:August 25, 2008
I tried these bullets in my traditions deerhunter rifle, and they have proven to be extremely accurate. The only problem I've ever had was a deer never walked out in front of me while hunting with them. Supremely accurate bullet, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maxiballs

Date:August 22, 2008
I have always had good luck with these. They are really good in older side hammer muzzleloaders like my T/C Renegade. They also do well in inline muzzleloaders, but for guns with a lower rate of twist like 1:48 they are a must have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 48