Customer Reviews for THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®

THOMPSON/CENTER Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®

The Thompson Center Original Maxi-Ball has been used extensively by target shooters and hunters for almost 20 years. Utilize wide lubricating grooves and are pre-lubed with Natural Lube 1000+ Bore Butter™. Its reputation as an exceptionally accurate bullet which is easily loaded in the field is unequalled. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
43 out of 48(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Review 1 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

group well

Date:December 16, 2014
Group well ahead of 85gr pyrodex out of my sidelock at 50 yds. Have yet to get a shot at a whitetail and will determine further recommendation upon actual hunting usage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best you can get, hands down.

Date:July 29, 2014
These don't look high-tec, and aren't all shiny and all that... they don't need to be. If you want the best, easiest to load, most accurate bullets along with FAST, easy clean up.. get these!!
I started out using Shockwave sabbots, and could only shoot two or three before it was almost impossible to load a round! These maxi-balls you can shoot the whole box without cleaning! They are incredible bullets with superb accuracy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

more than good enough

Date:December 20, 2013
Been using this same maxi for over 20 years with excellent results. Short tracking jobs. Yeah! They are deadly and very accurate from shot to shot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to load, easy to shoot.

Date:September 17, 2013
Prefer this projectile over the sabot style. Loads easily into my inline rifle and hits where I aim it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

perfect

Date:November 26, 2012
easy to load and shoots like a pro can,t go wroung.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

black power acc.

Date:November 19, 2012
easy to use. work very good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

320 grain

Date:October 27, 2012
By far the best option out there. Great penetration. Great Expansion, Great Accuracy. I have tried all the "new stuff" and this one continues to beat them all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Effective

Date:September 18, 2012
This bullet is the only bullet I will use on Elk while hunting with a muzzleloader. It is accurate and delivers a massive amount of energy. Out of a TC Omega, over 135 grains of loose 777, this bullet performs great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great product

Date:May 31, 2012
I have been using this product for many years in my flintlock muzzleloader and my recent purchase lives up to what I have been using all these years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good luck charm

Date:May 2, 2012
I have shot two bull elk and several mature mule deer using a TC Renegade with TC Maxi-balls. They all have been one shot kills with very little tracking involved. I have tried many different sabot combinations, round balls and conical bullets. I get the best consistency, accuracy and performance from Maxi-balls out of my traditional Hawkin type. Maxi-balls are what I carry exclusively and they are legal in Colorado where I hope to hunt this Fall.
On one of my elk hunts, I was sitting on an elk wallow approximately 85 yards up on a side hill. I broke a dead branch out of a nearby tree to use as a shooting stick. I shot a nice bull as he drank out of a seep just above the wallow before he cooled himself. I retrieved the maxi-ball from the bull elk just under the skin on the opposite side of the entry. The maxi-ball had mushroomed/flattened out perfectly while taking out a rib on both sides. I carry it for a good luck charm in my medicine bag around my neck on every hunt now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MAXI-BALL

Date:March 28, 2012
GREAT PRODUCT--LUBED WELL--HANDLED EXTREMLY WELL WITH 100 GRAINS OF 2F BLACK POWDER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy Issues

Date:March 28, 2012
Probably won't find a better Elk round especially for those in Colorado that must use full bore sized ammo. Unfortunately, I still cannot seem to group in my Thompson Omega. Triwd 80-95 grains of both Pyrodex and Triple FFF. Will continue to experiment as I want to use these on Fall Hunt in Colorado.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florissant, MO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy loading, accurate, and lethal

Date:January 21, 2012
370 grain Maxi Balls are my choice for blackpowder elk; I have tested the competition and none are as easy loading and accurate from my T/C Endeavor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakewood Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

King of the conicals

Date:January 15, 2012
I have tried all types of conical muzzleloading bullets and these are by far the best I have found. I started using Thompson Center Maxi-Balls many years ago and spent years experimenting with others. The hunting regulations in the state of Colorado in which I live limit hunters to using conicals during the muzzleloading big game hunting seasons. Sabots are not permitted. Thompson Center Maxi-Balls load easily,are accurate, and stay in one piece allowing for deep penetration. It is the only conical I use now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Falls, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:January 12, 2012
As accurate a bullet as I am. When my shooting form is proper my groups are nice and tight out to 100 yards; When it's not, I don't think it's the bullets fault. :) As a hunting round I find it provides good penetration and excellent knock down power.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bullet

Date:November 30, 2011
This bullet does as advertised. If you make a good shot at a reasonable distance for a muzzleloader then you will collect your game. My hunting partners and I have used them for almost 20 yrs on elk. Some elk have died right on the spot. Most are down within a hundred yards a few others required some tracking and a follow-up shot or two. But hey, I have seen elk carry multiple good hits from a modern rifle halfway across a mountain too. Elk are tough! as are some deer. Accuracy seems to be from gun to gun. My TC Renengade threw about 10 inch groups until I installed a Green Mountain barrel. Some of my hunting partners had the same issue and others had guns that would drive tacks with the stock TC barrels. Ease of loading seemed to vary between guns too. I can load about three before it gets real sticky. Bullet weight retension and expansion have usually been real good. The Maxi-ball gets a 3 as I dont think there is a magic bullet, but if you do your part this big slow no plastic real muzzleloader classic will get the job done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: olivia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

tarible sluggs

Date:November 20, 2011
ok i went to shoot my smoke gun today and the bullets load good but they dont fly true one flew strate the other one went 3 ft to the left so dont buy them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albion, IN
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Bullet Ever

Date:September 23, 2011
I had never lost an animal until I tried hunting with sabots. I was very disapointed with them after loosing 2 Whitetails in the same season. Went back to the MaxiBall and haven"t lost one with my T/C Thunderhawk since. They load great shot after shot with great accuracy. Never will use anything else again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, MT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Maxiballs

Date:July 25, 2011
These bullets are very accurate out of my T/C Renegade with 90 grains of GOEX 2F. I would recommend them to anyone looking for an all-around hunting bullet that will perform well in most reasonable hunting applications.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thompson/Center Maxi-Ball®
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great projectile

Date:May 6, 2011
These are a great projectile if you have to use a conical. Setting up a new rifle for a Colorado hunt and have found these to be very accurate and they load quite easily. Should do a very good job on my mule deer hunt but I think these would be fabulous for elk too. Big, heavy, and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 48