Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Great Plains Bullets

HORNADY Hornady® Great Plains Bullets

Great Plains bullets are made especially for hunting. They feature an innovative, three diameter bearing surface that makes them easy to load, yet assures a good tight fit in the bore. The base diameter which is smaller than the bore of the rifle makes the bullet easy to start; the middle diameter is slightly larger and engages the rifling; the top diameter fits tightly and embeds in the grooves of the rifling. Upon firing, the thin skirt of the hollow base expands to engage the rifling and seal the bore. This engineered design makes the Great Plains bullet more accurate in most styles of muzzleloaders, Pre lubed for easy loading and cleaning. Per 20. Available: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.527 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
44
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
50 out of 55(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Review 1 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

This bullet is fantastic!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This bullet shoots amazing thru my Lyman Great Plains .50 cal flintlock. I consistently shoot 1.5" groups at 50 yards and have even shot a couple 1-1.25" groups as well. I use 95 grains of Goex FFG. The only thing I do is scrape off just a little of the waxy lube it comes with and put a little "Bore Butter" around the bullet. It makes it shoot just a little better. I hope to nail a pronghorn this fall with this combination. I would love to see Hornady make a lighter bullet in exactly the same configuration. Maybe 310 or 315 grain, somewhere in that weight range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

great bullet

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These bullets shoot great out of my Lyman great plains rifle. Easy to load, and groups 2 inches at 100 yards
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2015

BANG!

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I don't hunt. I just shoot targets for fun. This bullet with 100 grains of Pyrodex makes a one gallon plastic milk jug filled with water completely explode. Lots of fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2014

Accurate in Pedersoli Hawken

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have found these to be very accurate in my Pedersoli Hawken with 100 grains of Buckhorn 209 powder ignited with CCI 209 magnum primers. I purchased the Pedersoli 209 conversion nipple. The Hawken has a 1-48" twist. Just waiting for late muzzleloader season to give it a try on whitetail deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2014

Ideal Multi-purpose, Target & Hunting Bullet

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've loaded these bullets in both my 50 and 54 cal. Flintlocks with outstanding results. At the range, I have shot for hours with no more than an occasional swabbing of the bore and enjoyed easy loading and consistent accuracy with the last shot as well as the first. The performance on the range gives me confidence in the field that these bullets will do the job.
The design is similar to the Keith-type bullets developed in the last century for magnum handguns. They are stable and punch a clean hole on the target. They maintain their velocity well, as evidenced by a flat trajectory. In the field, the hollow point design insures good expansion and energy transfer, for excellent stopping power.
They are well worth the cost.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014

Accurate/No Tracking

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I hunt with a .54 Lyman Great Plains and switched to a drop-in hunter barrel ,with a Lyman Peep sight for the Great Plains to increase my range. I tried casting my own maxi balls with mediocre accuracy. I started trying the Lyman Great Plains Bullet testing different loads and using or not using a wonder wad between the powder and lead.
I found it necessary to swab between shots if using black powder. Using a black powder substitute that is cleaner burning I swabbed about every third shot.
The load I use for my rifle is 100grains of FFF with the Lyman great Plains Bullet seated on top of a .28 gauge wonder wad to protect the base.
I was able to get 1" groups off a benchrest at 100 yards.
I later took a nice Axis Buck ranged at 167 yards. I held the sight on the top of the shoulder and bullet broke the spine.
Naturally the buck dropped in his tracks. I recovered the bullet which I found where it almost cut through the hide.
The bullet was a perfect mushroom and was about the size of a nickel.
Be advised this load gives a good wallop on both ends but will surely put meat in the freezer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2013

Great knockdown power

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
I've taken 4 bulls on public ground in Colorado with these. 2 have dropped within 30 yards, the other two ran 100-200 yards then were out. All lung shots. great damage, great blood trails, good accuracy, overall I am very happy with these bullets as they have helped to keep my freezer full.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2013

Excellent Groupings

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'll explain these bullets in a nutshell. They are supposed to be slightly oversized to the bore diameter. The bottom of the conical bullet is slightly smaller than the bore and it gets larger as you move towards the tip. This is on purpose. #1 it engraves the rifling/centers it ( It also has a hollow base which expands when firing to engage rifling), #2 it scrapes some fouling out of the rifling. It is supposed to fit tightly and load with a bit of force. I have had great luck shooting these out of my TC Renegade. 90 grains of Pyrodex RS and 1.5" groups at 100 yards every time and it will hit a deer like a freight train!! The packaging for these bullets are second to none, They are always kept perfect.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2013

great bullets

By
I really like these bullets. Good quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2012

Great choice

By
These were not my first choice but now that I have used them they will be from now on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

One shot, one kill

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
In Oregon you have to have open sights on muzzle-loaders. This bullet shoots straight and knocks whatever is in it's way down from white tail to elk. Zero complaints here.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2012

One Great Bullet

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I needed to find a new bullet for an elk hunt because Colorado doesn’t allow the sabots that I normally use. These Hornady Great Plains bullets were excellent. After researching and reading the reviews of different bullets, I decided to give the 385 grain a try with the idea to go to Powerbelts if they didn’t work well. No worries there, after going through one box at the range I decided to stick with them. They are very accurate and load well in my Remington Genesis 50 cal. The elk I hit at 145 yards only went about 10 yards and dropped dead. I still haven’t tried Powerbelts so I can’t compare the two but I don’t see any reason to spend double the money for Powerbelts when the Great Plains are this awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2012

The only hunting bullet I use

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using the Hornady Great plains bullet for many years in my old T/C Hawkin rifle side lock in .45 cal. Round balls in .45 cal only weigh about 128 grs. or so, too light for deer in my opinion. So, when they first came out I tried the Hornady bullet. The Hornady bullet in .45 cal. weighs 285 grs. At the range they gave me great accuracy using 80 grs. of real 2F black powder. I do not use a wad between the bullet and the powder. My thought is that would impede the skirt from expanding to engage the rifling. But you can try it if you like. As far as a deer load goes, it's simply amazing! I have shot a number of deer with these bullets. Everyone was a one shot kill. One nice 8 pointer I shot looked like he was picked up and thrown down for the count.
The only negative was it does kick. At the range, I put a piece of foam on my shoulder. In the woods, you don't even feel it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2012

Outstanding performance

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Tried out previous reviewer's load specs with a TC Renegade .54 cal, 28" 1:48 twist barrel, 100g 3F, wonder wad btwn powder and bullet, lubed with bore butter. Sub-2 inch groups at 100 yds with iron sights. Limb saver pad helps keep recoil manageable. Very confident with this bullet and load. Can't wait to take it into the field this year!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Superb Bullet

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I used the .54 cal 425gr in my Great Plains with fast twist barrel. 100 grains of FFF black powder or 777 with same results. The black powder will require swabbing the bore after around three shots.
I did use a felt pad between the charge and bullet which improved the groups from 2.5 to 1.5 at 100 yards and shooting from a bench with sandbags.
Plan on using shooting sticks next and trying out to 150 yards just to see.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2012

Good bullet

By
Location: Northern Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These bullets work well in my Lyman Great Plains Hunter rifle. Have not take a deer with them yet but the accuracy seems to be there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2012

meat seeking missile

By
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have purchased and used Hornady Great Plains bullets from Cabelas for over a decade, in both .54 and .50 caliber. These bullets have always given me the advantage when one shot is all you get. This past muzzleloading season, I harvested a 180 class mule deer buck using the Hornady Great Plains bullet in .50 caliber. With the "Great Plains" and correct shot placement success is guaranteed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

outstanding bullet

By
Location: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used the great plains bullets for 10 years they are outstanding in the open or dense brush
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2011

andoman

By
Location: Willow River, Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Super bullet. I have been using this one for years with my Hawkins 50- cal. I've shot over 10 deer with this 385 gr. bullet, and none have gotten away. Don't need a patch either since the bullets are pre-lubed. Dead on at 100 yards!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2011

Excellent - Even in Slow-Twist Barrel

By
Location: Minnesota
I have been looking for a conical that will shoot well with my .54 caliber Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken...and I found it in the Hornady Great Plains Bullet. I tried several other conicals including the T/C Hunter and Buffalo Bullets and Ball-ets, but just could not get the groups I wanted. I had about given up and figured the patched roundball was going to be the only projectile to group well out of the slow 1-65 twist barrel but decided to give these a try after reading all the great reviews. VOILA! 2" farthest center to center groups at 100 yards and at 50 I laid them nearly in the same hole! That's with a tang peep sight and a front blade sight utilizing a rest and swabbing the barrel with one patch between shots and 90 gr FFg Triple Seven powder. Perfectly round holes in the target, so no wobble or "keyholing." I think the nice "skirt" on the butt end of these bullets securely grabs the rifling when shot and accounts for some of this success. Also, EASY loading! You must force the final band into the rifling, but that's easily done with a short starter. Then it just slides down the barrel with virtually no pressure on the ramrod. I'd highly recommend these bullets to anyone whether shooting a traditional rifle or a modern one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 55