Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Great Plains Bullets

HORNADY Hornady® Great Plains Bullets

Great Plains bullets are made especially for hunting. They feature an innovative, three diameter bearing surface that makes them easy to load, yet assures a good tight fit in the bore. The base diameter which is smaller than the bore of the rifle makes the bullet easy to start; the middle diameter is slightly larger and engages the rifling; the top diameter fits tightly and embeds in the grooves of the rifling. Upon firing, the thin skirt of the hollow base expands to engage the rifling and seal the bore. This engineered design makes the Great Plains bullet more accurate in most styles of muzzleloaders, Pre lubed for easy loading and cleaning. Per 20. Available: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.575 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
43 out of 47(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Review 1 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate/No Tracking

Date:March 24, 2014
I hunt with a .54 Lyman Great Plains and switched to a drop-in hunter barrel ,with a Lyman Peep sight for the Great Plains to increase my range. I tried casting my own maxi balls with mediocre accuracy. I started trying the Lyman Great Plains Bullet testing different loads and using or not using a wonder wad between the powder and lead.
I found it necessary to swab between shots if using black powder. Using a black powder substitute that is cleaner burning I swabbed about every third shot.
The load I use for my rifle is 100grains of FFF with the Lyman great Plains Bullet seated on top of a .28 gauge wonder wad to protect the base.
I was able to get 1" groups off a benchrest at 100 yards.
I later took a nice Axis Buck ranged at 167 yards. I held the sight on the top of the shoulder and bullet broke the spine.
Naturally the buck dropped in his tracks. I recovered the bullet which I found where it almost cut through the hide.
The bullet was a perfect mushroom and was about the size of a nickel.
Be advised this load gives a good wallop on both ends but will surely put meat in the freezer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knockdown power

Date:September 17, 2013
I've taken 4 bulls on public ground in Colorado with these. 2 have dropped within 30 yards, the other two ran 100-200 yards then were out. All lung shots. great damage, great blood trails, good accuracy, overall I am very happy with these bullets as they have helped to keep my freezer full.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Groupings

Date:April 16, 2013
I'll explain these bullets in a nutshell. They are supposed to be slightly oversized to the bore diameter. The bottom of the conical bullet is slightly smaller than the bore and it gets larger as you move towards the tip. This is on purpose. #1 it engraves the rifling/centers it ( It also has a hollow base which expands when firing to engage rifling), #2 it scrapes some fouling out of the rifling. It is supposed to fit tightly and load with a bit of force. I have had great luck shooting these out of my TC Renegade. 90 grains of Pyrodex RS and 1.5" groups at 100 yards every time and it will hit a deer like a freight train!! The packaging for these bullets are second to none, They are always kept perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great bullets

Date:February 16, 2013
I really like these bullets. Good quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great choice

Date:December 6, 2012
These were not my first choice but now that I have used them they will be from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One shot, one kill

Date:December 5, 2012
In Oregon you have to have open sights on muzzle-loaders. This bullet shoots straight and knocks whatever is in it's way down from white tail to elk. Zero complaints here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One Great Bullet

Date:November 8, 2012
I needed to find a new bullet for an elk hunt because Colorado doesn’t allow the sabots that I normally use. These Hornady Great Plains bullets were excellent. After researching and reading the reviews of different bullets, I decided to give the 385 grain a try with the idea to go to Powerbelts if they didn’t work well. No worries there, after going through one box at the range I decided to stick with them. They are very accurate and load well in my Remington Genesis 50 cal. The elk I hit at 145 yards only went about 10 yards and dropped dead. I still haven’t tried Powerbelts so I can’t compare the two but I don’t see any reason to spend double the money for Powerbelts when the Great Plains are this awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only hunting bullet I use

Date:November 2, 2012
I have been using the Hornady Great plains bullet for many years in my old T/C Hawkin rifle side lock in .45 cal. Round balls in .45 cal only weigh about 128 grs. or so, too light for deer in my opinion. So, when they first came out I tried the Hornady bullet. The Hornady bullet in .45 cal. weighs 285 grs. At the range they gave me great accuracy using 80 grs. of real 2F black powder. I do not use a wad between the bullet and the powder. My thought is that would impede the skirt from expanding to engage the rifling. But you can try it if you like. As far as a deer load goes, it's simply amazing! I have shot a number of deer with these bullets. Everyone was a one shot kill. One nice 8 pointer I shot looked like he was picked up and thrown down for the count.
The only negative was it does kick. At the range, I put a piece of foam on my shoulder. In the woods, you don't even feel it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding performance

Date:October 11, 2012
Tried out previous reviewer's load specs with a TC Renegade .54 cal, 28" 1:48 twist barrel, 100g 3F, wonder wad btwn powder and bullet, lubed with bore butter. Sub-2 inch groups at 100 yds with iron sights. Limb saver pad helps keep recoil manageable. Very confident with this bullet and load. Can't wait to take it into the field this year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb Bullet

Date:May 16, 2012
I used the .54 cal 425gr in my Great Plains with fast twist barrel. 100 grains of FFF black powder or 777 with same results. The black powder will require swabbing the bore after around three shots.
I did use a felt pad between the charge and bullet which improved the groups from 2.5 to 1.5 at 100 yards and shooting from a bench with sandbags.
Plan on using shooting sticks next and trying out to 150 yards just to see.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bullet

Date:April 12, 2012
These bullets work well in my Lyman Great Plains Hunter rifle. Have not take a deer with them yet but the accuracy seems to be there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glenwood Springs, CO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

meat seeking missile

Date:January 10, 2012
I have purchased and used Hornady Great Plains bullets from Cabelas for over a decade, in both .54 and .50 caliber. These bullets have always given me the advantage when one shot is all you get. This past muzzleloading season, I harvested a 180 class mule deer buck using the Hornady Great Plains bullet in .50 caliber. With the "Great Plains" and correct shot placement success is guaranteed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

outstanding bullet

Date:January 9, 2012
I have used the great plains bullets for 10 years they are outstanding in the open or dense brush
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Willow River, Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

andoman

Date:December 10, 2011
Super bullet. I have been using this one for years with my Hawkins 50- cal. I've shot over 10 deer with this 385 gr. bullet, and none have gotten away. Don't need a patch either since the bullets are pre-lubed. Dead on at 100 yards!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent - Even in Slow-Twist Barrel

Date:November 20, 2011
I have been looking for a conical that will shoot well with my .54 caliber Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken...and I found it in the Hornady Great Plains Bullet. I tried several other conicals including the T/C Hunter and Buffalo Bullets and Ball-ets, but just could not get the groups I wanted. I had about given up and figured the patched roundball was going to be the only projectile to group well out of the slow 1-65 twist barrel but decided to give these a try after reading all the great reviews. VOILA! 2" farthest center to center groups at 100 yards and at 50 I laid them nearly in the same hole! That's with a tang peep sight and a front blade sight utilizing a rest and swabbing the barrel with one patch between shots and 90 gr FFg Triple Seven powder. Perfectly round holes in the target, so no wobble or "keyholing." I think the nice "skirt" on the butt end of these bullets securely grabs the rifling when shot and accounts for some of this success. Also, EASY loading! You must force the final band into the rifling, but that's easily done with a short starter. Then it just slides down the barrel with virtually no pressure on the ramrod. I'd highly recommend these bullets to anyone whether shooting a traditional rifle or a modern one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Joliet, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Traditional over Sabot

Date:October 10, 2011
When I progressed from my sidelock percussion Hawken type rifle, I turned to the H&R Sidekick rifle in .50 caliber to take advantage of all the hype surrounding fast moving .44 caliber bullets in sabots. I suppose they are okay. But my particular rifle loves the Hornady Great Plains bullets. They load easy and with 80 grains of Pyrodex, I get 3" groups at 100 yards. (scope assisted-my aging eyes were another reason to retire the conventional muzzle loader.) I haven't had a chance to connect with game yet, but from my experience with lead conical bullets on elk and deer, coupled with others' testimonies, I have no doubt that 385 grains of lead being accurately directed into the boiler room of large game will show positive and predictable results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best bet for traditional rifles

Date:September 30, 2011
I shoot a .54 cal Hawken style rifle and have been using the 425 gr. slug for years. When loaded in my 1-48 twist rifle over 110 gr. of powder, I consistantly have 3 in. groups at 100 yds. This setup produces manageble recoil and exceptional terminal performance.
I have had clean, one-shot kills on elk, bighorn sheep, caribou, mule deer, and whitetails. These big pills will definately let the air out of them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida -hunt also in Colorado, Georgia, Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

385 grain Great Plains Bullet

Date:May 4, 2011
I tested these beside 320 grain T/C Maxi Ball, 275 grain T/C Maxi Hunter, 350 grain Barnes copper bullets, and 295 grain Powerbelts.
I fired all of them in a T/C Renegade with a 21 inch 1:24 Green Mountain Barrel, using 90 grains of FFG Triple 7.
Sights were a T/C Tang peep with a HiViz front sight.
Each shot was followed by a greased patch and a dry patch.
All were fire at 100 yards
The best group was a 3 shot 1 1/2 inch (center to farthest center) using the 385 Hornady Great plains bullet.
The next best group was with the Barnes 350's, but they were very difficult to start and several had deformed skirts in the process.
In my particular rifle, the Great Plains is the bullet of choice - it loads easily, is very accurate, did not lead the bore and is the most economically priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Solid Performance

Date:January 24, 2011
Shot these out of a .50 cal Hawken and got good performance. Groups were good to 100 yds, and I killed a nice 4x4 muley with them. Got a full mushroom on the buck with about 98% weight retention.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Great Plains Bullets
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northwest Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang-Flop!

Date:October 13, 2010
This bullet has been a consistent performer for me. Year in year out, this bullet has done the job. I have tried several other types of bullets, but the Hornady Great Plains bullet just drops them in their tracks! I have shot 8 deer with the 385 grain .50 cal. bullet and not one of those deer had to be tracked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 47