Customer Reviews for Thompson Center Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Thompson Center Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight

All-steel, compact peep sight with locking adjustment for windage and elevation. Will fit all Thompson/Center muzzleloading rifles except the Scout?. Fits Hawken, Renegade, Big Boar, White Mountain Carbine? and Pennsylvania Hunter? models.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Review 1 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Meridianville AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needed a different rear tang sight.

Date:February 15, 2010
I shoot a Lyman Deerstalker .50 cal carbine.
This gun only shoots tight groups with only one
bullet which is a Thompson Center Arms 275 grain
Maxi-Hunter. The new TCA tang style sight mounted
well although I used a 1/8 inch thick shim because
otherwise the elevation had to be ajusted to it's upper
limit because my front sight pin is very elevated so
I have a very clear full view of my target. Once mounted,
& ajusted & locked down, I was shoting 2" groups at 50yds
& 4" groups at 100 yds. Very solid design, unlike my old 575 ML which was very poorly designed & rickety..
I'm completely satisfied with this TCA tang style sight!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

T/C Hunting-Style tang peep sights

Date:February 15, 2010
My purchase of your T/C peep sight exceeded my expectations. Went from average of 7-8in. grouping at 100yds with regular hunting sights, to average of 5in. group at same yardage with peep sights. Thanks from an old man.
PS. You might consider selling a kit that includes drill and tap needed for installation. Had a hard time locating individual Tap and Drill for job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: high desert of Southern California 4,000' + elev
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:November 26, 2009
I built my Thompson Center Hawken from a kit back in the early 70's. I hadn't fired it in years, but now that I'm retired I really have the time to spend on black powder shooting and the very necessary clean up afterwards. I have really been enjoying my Hawken and the two cap and ball revolvers that I purchased at Cabela's. The only problem I found was that my eyes could no longer deal with the standard sights on my Hawken. I ordered the T/C hunting-style tang peep sight and what a difference. Yesterday using Harvester Sabots and Hornady .451 230grain HP/XTP bullets I was able to fire a five shot 1 3/4 inch group at 100 yards. Four of the rounds grouped right at an inch, and all were in the black. I was amazed at the accuracy that I was able to get using this tang peep sight from T/C. It is one of the best groups I have ever fired, even including scoped cartridge firearms. Just remember that you have to have the equipment to drill and tap the tang, or find someone that can do it for you. If your eyesight is not what it used to be this is a great upgrade for your rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: SW Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Precautions

Date:November 22, 2009
First of all, I like this site, made a great improvement over the stock sights on my T/C Hawkins, mounted easy enough. Adjusting the sight was kinda wierd, when loosening the set screws, the sight became quite flimsy, and was hard to tell how much was really being adjusted until you tightened it up and shot again. Just not much precision possible. Guess thats bp for ya.
Biggest issue I had was when out hunting, threw up my rifle, and the diopter had disappeared. I did tighten it real good, but I guess all the moving around and possible rubbing must have worked it loose. Guess some sort of set screw would be good, or use some loctite to keep it in place, now I have to find another diopter(yea right), or buy a complete new site for a $2 part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vancouver WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

peep sight

Date:November 19, 2009
I found the sight to be a perfect fit.
Quality was very good.
Did exactly what i bought it to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: n.c.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

peep sight

Date:November 2, 2009
must drill a hole in tang to mount this sight. don't even think about it if no drill press and tap set. careful with the adjustments, as the elevation screw is very easy to strip. with careful use, a big improvement over the factory sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Must have

Date:February 26, 2009
Great upgrade for non-scoped guns,deadly accuracy at 100 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: western PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Addition to my TC Hawkin

Date:December 8, 2008
This was a tough decision. I really cherish my Hawkins rifle and using the open sights (a PA requirement) have killed over a dozen deer. But as I near 50 years old, I needed all the help my aging eyes could use. So, I made the switch and am thrilled with the results. This is a high quality sight with all the features you expect from Thompson Center. I definitely recommend this sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Muzzleloader Upgrade

Date:November 25, 2008
I installed one of these sights on each of my T/C caplock Muzzleloaders and what a difference in accuracy! I can now group under 2" @ 50 yards which was impossible with the standard sights for my older eyes. Target acquisition is fast, and larger apertures are available if you need them. Great product, solid, easy to install and use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tang Peep Sight

Date:October 14, 2008
Easy to find and order in Cabela's online catalog. Fast delivery. My 50 Cal. Hawken's is now sighted in at 50 yds. with last three shots grouped in a 3" circle. Excellent product. Ready for black powder season!
Thanks,
BG
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

easy to install and very accurate

Date:September 23, 2008
everything they were claimed to be, very happy with this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: I live in Eau Claire, WI, I am 66 & love to hunt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Customer Review

Date:January 16, 2008
The Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight I ordered arrived on time, was in perfect condition and I am very satisified with Cabela's on-line system. I used the "Pay Later" option and that works well for me.
I love Cabelas--keep up the good quality at reasonable prices.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: North Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Peep sight for a Hawkin rifle

Date:July 2, 2007
The aperture is too small. If the peep sight was located further back on the barrel, it would probably work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pgh,pa/61 yrs young,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

t/c 50cal flintlock/peep sight

Date:June 18, 2007
u can now use peep sight in PA.[reg] muzzle season.installed t/c peep 90gr. fff 245gr power belts,put all shots in bull at 50 yds,great sight picture for these aging bifocals,plus,no flinching.highly recommend this sight for older/all eyes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thompson Center Hunting-Style Tang Peep Sight
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Peep Site for Muzzleloader

Date:November 24, 2006
In my state, it is not legal to hunt with a muzzleloader mounted with a scope. A peepsight was the natural best choice for a beginner shooter. The peepsight easily installed on the tang of my Son's Renegade. This dramatically inproved his shooting and allowed him to quickly acquire the target and consistantly hit the bullseye at ranges up to 75 yards. I recommend a peep sight for all beginner shooters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.