Customer Reviews for Green Mountain Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Green Mountain Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel

This 28" blued carbon steel, .50 caliber percussion barrel includes a breech plug, under-rib, and thimbles. Features a 1 in 28" rate of twist for increased accuracy. Shoots sabots, conicals or patched round ball. Fits T/C Hawken?, Renegade?, Big Boar?, Lyman? Trade Rifle and Deerstalker, Cabela's and Kassnar Hawkens. Width Across Flats: 15/16" or 1".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Review 1 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: orygun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mountain barrel

Date:April 21, 2008
it fit the stock with no modifications,for that it gets a 5. the offhand grouping was less than consistant with patched roundballs. i had shot the exact same gun in .45 cal the week before and shot nothing but centers at 25&50 yards. i havent shot sabbots in it yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Malad City, Id
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain .50 Hawken replacement barrel

Date:December 15, 2008
I was disappointed when I found out the barrel was on back order. I was hoping to get it in time for the muizzle loader Elk hunt. It showed up with 2 days left in the hunt. Just my luck! I havent shot it yet. However, I was amazed that it came with Williams fiberoptic sights, both thimbles AND a polymer ram rod. I had not expected the ram rod. It is a ready to use drop in replacement. One note: You might have to put a small bend in your wedge pin as mine is loose with the new barrel, but the wedge pin is a tweak you have to make on kit guns when you build them anyway. If it shoots as good as it looks ( Excellent craftsmanship etc.) It will be an asset to my muzzle loading adventures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green mountain barrel

Date:September 17, 2009
I have not had a chance to shoot this barrel yet but I was a little disappointed when it arrived. The Wilson fire sight at the front of the barrel had the fiber optic plastic tube broken. I found it in the box the barrel came in as the barrel was also in a plastic sleeve. The fiber optic tube element was at the bottom of the sleeve. Wilson does not put anything around the fiber optic plastic element and apparently they are easily broken. I have rated the barrel high because the sight really does not reflect the barrel's quality, but as I said at the beginning, I am a little disappointed. I am going to try and find a different brand fiber optic front sight to substitute for the broken one. I have glued the remainder of the sight in place and I suppose it will work. We'll see what happens when I fire it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roundup Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain Barrel is a great investment

Date:May 27, 2009
I purchased a Green Mountain Barrel for one of my Renegade Thompson Center rifles. Results so far are very good. The 1/28 twist has remarkable accuracy even with PATCHED ROUND BALLS that whistle to the target like a coniclal bullet.
I also have tried 390 grain hollow center bullets prevalent in the War Between the States. They shoot a bit lower so you need to adjust the sights. Sabots whistle out and fly true with a .429 hard cast bullet that really smashes into an old Dish antenna (made of steel) and through plywood. My secret is to use 30 grains of 3 FG and 70 grains of 2FG for good ignition and power. I also use WD40 to swab the barrel after each round for accuracy. WD40 disapates quickly and removes the carbon residue quickly and does not foul the nipple.
I believe TCArms makes a fine barrel, but the Green Mountain 1/28 LRH (long range hunter) is a very accurate long range addition to your stock 1/48 twist barrel. I would like to have a GM barrel for every black powder rifle I own.
I would certainly buy more...good shooting!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel

Date:April 25, 2009
I purchased this barrel .50cal over nine months ago and just had a chance to use it this week. Before ever taking my TC Hawkin Rifle to the range, I took off the old worn original barrel and put this one on. Perfect fit! Actually this barrel went in better than the original. The sights are great with their fiber optic glow which allows me to keep the bead on target. Back to the range.....I benched the rifle at 50yrds with a base load of 50grs. FFFg black powder and fired three shots. All three shots grouped within 1.5 inches, but at nine o'clock about ten inches off center. Adjusting the rear site, (which is done with a screw), brought all subsequent groupings in for multiple 10Xs. First barrel I've ever shot so consistently and I've been shooting BP for over 40 years! Great buy and great barrel! Anyone thinking about a replacement barrel for their Hawkin, need look no further!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Los Molinos, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel

Date:April 20, 2009
Fit Great, Shoots Great! Good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

UPGRADE THAT OLD HAWKEN

Date:February 26, 2009
These barrels are superior to the original for shooting sabots. Why buy a new gun when you can keep that traditional look with deadly long range accuracy.Thay have the same twist as an inline.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Long time hunter, muzzleloader (30 yr). Omaha, Ne.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OldBPshooter

Date:July 14, 2008
Needed a replacement barrell for my 30 yr old Hawken from TC. Tried this one. Gave the barrell a good cleaning inside and out before using with solvents to remove any rust inhibitors or shipping grease. Final oiling before setting aside, swabbed with dry patch before firing.
Fit was a bit tight with stock, but with a bit of coaxing, got it to fit and was a snug set-up.
Started at 50yards, 70 grains of Pyrodex, patched round ball.
A few minor adjustments to open sights brough it to two inch group at 50 yards. I am very pleased, as included materials indicated it would not shoot round balls, but it does so, and in excellent fashion.
Top quality product that perfoms very well. I am thrilled!
I would whole heartedly recomend to others whose old barrell has seen better days.
Cleans up easily, nipple and clean out plug came out as expected pretty easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ellensburg, Wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Barrel

Date:March 23, 2008
The barrel on my old Hawken was 33 years old and just plain wore out. I purchased the 50 cal. Green Mountain barrel through Cabelas and it fit perfectly. At 85 yards with 85 grains of triple 7 and a 275 grain maxi hunter, im hitting 1 and 2 inch grouping. couldn't be happier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain .50 Cal. barrel replacement

Date:September 24, 2007
I have a Cabellas Hawken percussion cap rifle. Originally it was in .54 cal, 1:48 twist. That barrel was OK, but just didn't handle sabots or minis as well as I would have liked and I really wanted something a bit better than round-ball so partly out of necessity (they didn't have any more .54 cal barrels) I ordered up the 50 cal barrel.
It took a tiny bit of inletting work to seat to the stock Once mounted, I had to bend the snail outward to make sure it struck the cap squarely. The front site notch would not hold the front site tightly; a gentle rap with a bronze drift and a small hammer fixed that.
Using open sites, the 1:28 twist is holding 385 grain mini's within a 6" bullseye at 100 yards! At that range, the front site pretty much covers the entire target though. At under 100 yards I can drive nails with it! If I was using a scope, I think I could just bring that strike radius down a bit more.
I am very satisfied with the barrel's performance, although I am not reeeeaaaaly satisfied with the stock fit.
I called Green Mountain for some technical advice and found them very helpful.
Right now, my confidence in my ability to drop any deer or elk out to about 125 yards is pretty high. We'll know in a couple of weeks. Definitely a good purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A very accurate barrel

Date:June 17, 2007
For those who have wished their sidelock would shoot like an in-line, this is the way to do it. I've used one for about 10 years with great satisfaction. It shoots a variety of conical and sabot bullets accurately. A rear tang peep sight may improve your accuracy depending on your eyes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

change your range

Date:December 14, 2006
This barrel is will do wonders for your down range accuracy on your traditional smokepole. It will change your game if you are restricted to regulations like I am in my state. Can not say enough good praises about this barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Green Mountain™ 28-Inch Blued Replacement Barrel
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Columbia , Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great barrel

Date:November 10, 2006
Need I say more the name speaks for itself. This is one of the most accurate barrels I have ever used. I am achieving sub 1" groups at 150 yards pushing a 250 grain sabot with 105 grains of 777 loose. Not to shabby with the iron sights.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.