Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

LYMAN Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle

The Great Plains Rifle features a 1-in-60" twist for superior accuracy with patched round balls. This percussion rifle features a 32" octagonal barrel, double set triggers, a Hawken-style percussion "snail" with clean-out screw, and a reliable coil-spring lock. Right hand. Overall length: 50". Weight: 9 lbs. Calibers: .50, .54.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Review 1 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Price, Excellent Performance

Date:November 7, 2011
This Muzzleloader is absolutely worth every penny. I just started muzzleloading last fall, and struggled with three Thompson Center Hawkins muzzleloaders. I finally had had enough and ordered this gun. It is without a doubt one of the best purchases I have made from Cabelas. I harvested a trophy class pronghorn with it this fall. He was 85 yards away, and this gun performed magnificently. One shot did the job. I like this firearm so much that I am purchasing one for my father for christmas. You will be impressed by the quality of this muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lyman GPR .50 cal. Lefthanded Flint.

Date:July 4, 2013
I am a lefthanded shooter, and over the decades, I've fired numerous flintlocks, almost all custom made, and all right handed.
I returned to black powder rifle shooting after spending a lot of range time with numerous cap & ball revolvers. Once more firing a flintlock at my range, I decided it's time to get my own. Happily Lyman has a reasonably-priced and well-made lefthanded model, and one is now in my gun vault. For a factory built rifle, fit is OK, finish was completed with my own hand-rubbed oil finish. It is mandatory to disassemble the rifle, and completely clean it inside & out before your first trip to the range. The lock should be sprayed down with aerosol carbuerator cleaner, then lightly oiled at all friction & pivot points. The barrel has a tenacious coating that must be removed before shooting. The lock needs removal and complete cleaning for smoother function, and the set triggers need work to adjust them for smooth and crisp release.
If you have thoughts of getting a flintlock, best fire one first and get an idea of how to properly load and prime - it will save a lot of frustration from having to go thru the learning curve alone and from scratch.
properly loaded and primed with either 3F or 4F black powder (never Pyrodex) ignition is immediate. A little reconfiguring the flash hole liner will result in better/quicker ignition. I enlarged/tapered the inside of the liner for more thorough powder feed up into the liner, and also drilled out the touch hole to .064" with a #52 drill bit.
For now, a 65 -70 gr load of 3F pushing a .490" ball with .018" lubed patch (tallow + beeswax+ olive oil) gives me a 1 3/4" group at 50 yards, opening up to 3" at 100 yards. Other GPR shooters comment that 100-200 rounds need be fired before the barrel can be considered broken in. I'm approaching 100 now, and precision seems to be increasing. Eventually, I'll try other powder charges for optimum accuracy, but for now 65-70 gr. loads perform just fine.
If I can get easy 1" groups from a 35 year old Lymam Deerstalker in .54 cal., I expect to do better with the GPR after it's broken in.
Flints: find some Tom Fuller flints, available thru several well-known on-line retailers. I prefer lead to leather to wrap the flint & it's more a personal preference than any particular advantage. Knapped flints also seem to work better than ground/lapped flints, and are cheaper, too. Never hurts to have a handful of flints on hand; 3/4" wide X 7/8" long is the flint size you want.
Pan primers: there are several spring-loaded Ampco or Brass pan primers available. They only work with 4F powder. If you can't easily fall into a cheap can of 4F, fear not, because 3F really does work every bit as quickly as 4F, & is just that much less stuff you need to buy.
Lyman Ramrod Tips: IMPORTANT - be sure your brass tips are cross pinned, since mine Weren't. Simply drill a 1/16" hole crosswise thru the base end (away from the threaded end). Insert a tight fitting finishing nail, clip off both ends, leaving a little to peen flush. File flush & finish with fine emery cloth.
The importance of this is to avoid the embarrassment of running a bore brush down, only to get stuck in the smaller diameter patent breech & having the brass end separate from the wooden rod end. It's always best to use a nylon bristle brush if you find you actually need a brush.
For percussion: I've never had issue with CCI #11 caps, although some folks have. I have found it necessary yo remove the cleanout screw to clean out with a length of pipecleaner on occasion, since the cap flame has a long way to travel & soot or crusty powder residue build up can interrupt or delay ignition. If you have an ongoing cap ignition problem, consider a 6 x .75mm Musket cap nipple. Ampco are tougher & longer lasting, but Stainless are more cost effective.
Pyrodex in caplock rifles will give you surprising accuracy, so if you can't easily get real black powder, Pyrodex RS (2F) for .54 cal & P (3F) for .50 cal. is an acceptable substitute.
For more consistent accuracy and ease of loading, I swab out the barrel every 3-5 rounds with a damp (not dripping wet) cleaning patch and soapy water (several drops of dishsoap in a 1:1 mix of rubbing alcohol & water). Afterward, dry the bore with a fresh cleaning patch before loading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Rifle

Date:December 28, 2012
The Lyman GPR .54 cal percussion is a wonderful weapon. I first bought one in flintlock, which I just could not get to fire consistently, so I sent it back and ordered the percussion, which turned out to be a great choice. No issues whatsoever! #11 caps, 100 gr. of FFFg and .535 ball, .015 lubed patch, and BOOM every time! just took it out today in snowy 10 degree weather, with not problems. Absolute joy to shoot, three shots in 1.5 inches at approx. 80 yards, shooting prone unsupported in the snow. Would absolutely feel very comfortable hunting deer or elk with this combo at 100 yards or so, just using the buckhorn sights, which were dead on, out of the box. No need for the peep sight, since this isn't really a long distance weapon I love it, right up there with my modern semi-auto rifles, in the fun department!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great on Hogs

Date:December 1, 2012
Small amout of assembly required. Put it together in about 10min. shot 3 shots to get sights on target. 20 min in the tree stand a large Boar comes out and bacon on the table. If you shoot round ball like me you will want to have a larger powder charge then you typicaly do for deer. Big Boars have a very think layer of cartalige that will catch a ball with anything less the 100 Grns. Look for a quarting away shot if possible. I shot 2 shots and 2 dead pigs so this thing is as accurate as eveyone else says it is.
Good Luck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mass.
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

the best

Date:April 6, 2012
i am 14 i built the kit and it turned out mint best gun ive ever shot well worth the money prodct info does not lie on this one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A GREAT buy!

Date:March 5, 2011
My ONLY "complaint" on this rifle is that it is not available in .58 caliber. Do replace the 6x.75mm #11 nipples with 6x.75mm musket nipples and you'll be a lot happier. Depending on your state's restrictions, you might want to change the front and rear sights to a peep sight system. Overall this is a GREAT rifle and the ONLY reason I did not go five stars is because of my personal belief that nothing is 'perfect'.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Born/raised in West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Plains Lefthand .50 Cal.

Date:February 14, 2011
Extraordinary quality firearm...Good value for money. enjoyable to shoot and accurate, too!!! Looking forward to hunting with it this Fall in Iowa. Wish that Iowa had a Primitive only Muzzleloader season in October. Hope Lyman continues to produce this fine rifle for years to come...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a great gun!

Date:January 29, 2011
It's easy to see why this gun is rated so highly. It looks great, it shoots great, what more could you ask? The darkly-stained walnut stock on mine is just unbelievable for a muzzleloader, very nice. The only thing I would change are the sights, and I probably will - - - Lyman sells the aperature sights for it. The front sight that comes with it is very wide and completely fills the rear sight picture, but I guess it could be filed thinner, or replaced. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with this rifle if you're looking for a traditional style BP gun. The 1:60 twist with the 32" barrel makes round balls very accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: W. Pa.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good choice

Date:October 10, 2010
My gun had some minor fit issues .I would have returned it but the stock had a beautiful curl to it . Glad I kept it .The first time out just expecting some thick smoke ,I was hitting 12oz plastic pop bottles at 100 yards . Two other people were shooting it and they were doing the same . 490 round ball with homemade dry lube patches . When I dial this gun in it will be 1" groups at 100 yards .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:September 5, 2010
I owned a Lyman 54 cal. in the past and not being much of a shooter myself, I took this gun out and hit every target, right down to the whistle pig at 200 yrds. I've been trying to talk my husband into letting me have another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get This Gun

Date:October 19, 2009
I just bought my left handed 54( Pan not Per). this week. I was shooting a 50. traditions(Not a bad gun its great for people that want to get their feet wet in the sport). I will be honest this is my best hunting purchase I have ever payed for. This gun will shoot perfect right out of the box. This gun is amazing for both target shooting and hunting. It is a beautiful gun. I can relate to some of these reviews where people say they almost didn't want to take it out in the woods in fear of dinging it up. This is a solid gun. Very easy to load and clean. I am ordering my lyman peep sites this week. I got a hand made sling and flash powder horn to go along with it. I took it out this saturday hunting and boy I was shocked. It was about to go completely dark and I could just make out a mature doe in the pine fields about 65-75 yards out BANG! when the smoke cleared there was a dead momma. Keep in mind this is right out of the box! All I can say guys is if your thinking about it you have my word you will not be disappointed. This gun will last a life time if the rumors I hear are true. Final verdict- GET IT!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Everett, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent rifle

Date:September 26, 2009
I've owned a GPR in percussion in .50 since 1983, and after initial fiddling with it, it has performed in a workmanlike fashion ever since. They give you enough front blade to file down and the sights are blocky and bold for close woods work in low light. The rifle is heavy enough up front with the 32" barrel so it sits still long enough to take a steady off hand shot. I've pretty much settled on a load of 80grns black with a pillow ticking patch (I cut 'em) of .018" thick. A .490 Speer ball and things are very tight going in. I soak the patches in Lube 1000 in a tin can over heat. Not a tack driver, but I can hit a 3" target all day long at 75yds offhand, dry swabbing between shots and wet swabbing after about ten. Same results at 90yds off a bench. Most shooters can do no better with a Winchester 30-30 with open sights. I agree with other posts that Remmington caps are hotter. Or, CCI Magnum caps will work because they have gotten the message. In any case, you'll benefit from hotter caps if you use Pyrodex - which I don't. I find that I get hangfires too much. In my opinion, it's because the flash must turn a 90 degree corner to ignite the charge. Plain old BP will go off easier, so I don't test my luck. I just go with what has worked for centuries. Pyrodex is best for revolvers, which are more of an in-line vent, and tend to get very dirty with BP. Here in western Washington State, you don't get many shots over 50 yds at deer, so it's an ideal close in hunter. The trigger on mine is creepy, but I've gotten used to it and I've never been hasty anyway. I agree with other posts about replacing the nipple. I can't remember what I used, but I think it's Uncle Mikes, and it's defnitely stainless with a tiny flash hole, plus venthole, to prevent backflash - which was a problem with the original nipple. I've also long since replaced the wood ram with an aluminum one I made, using a shotgun cleaning kit and brass jags. Much superior to any wood ram in the field. It simply won't ever let you down, and will pull any bullet by use of a thread-on handle I made. Just invert the rifle and stand on the handle and pull the gun off the bullet. I also like the authentic style of the rifle. No fancy brass to flash or other silly stuff. The dark browning is perfect and mine has no machine marks on the barrel. Very fine finishing - of course, much of it is now worn off due to heavy use. The barrel comes off easy so you can clean thouroughly with no fuss. Pick your method: hot soapy water or solvent. Either way, it's a snap. For a good, utilitarian deer rifle, you can do much worse, and there are very few better, since good round ball shooting is largely up to the shooter. For the record: I've harvested 21 deer with this rifle and none of them has ever gone more than 30 yds before expiring. Most of them go down within ten. The little .50 cal ball goes right on through at ranges out to about 60 yds. Buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GPR

Date:August 8, 2009
Go this gun a couple of days before July 4 and went out to shoot it on the holiday. Loaded it up and a pigeon lit about 40 yards out in the hay field. First shot out of the gun....FEATHERS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rural Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Blackpowder Rifle

Date:June 16, 2009
I purchased one of these rifles a few years ago in .54 cal. After breaking the barrel in with at least 100 patched balls, and adding a set of Lyman peep sights, I am shooting 1" groups at 50 yards consistently. When I go to the range to prepare for deer season, this rifle produces better groups than most scoped in-lines at the range. In fact, it does better than most scoped shotguns shooting sabot slugs. The .54 cal round ball is more than enough to take a deer with a well placed shot.
My only complaint is that the curve of the metal butt-plate is for someone with a skinnier shoulder than my own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rifle

Date:May 1, 2009
This rifle is great. One secret, IMPORTANT one at that. Do not use CCI caps. Some folks have good luck with them, some don't. As for me, Remington #11's fire off perfect every time! CCI, are about a 50/50 proposition on this rifle.
Also changing out the nipple helps. But do note that the Red Hot Nipples Cabelas sells will not fit. Go another direction, but between changing out the nipples and using Remington's this rifle is a blast.
I have to say Blackpowder shooting is now my thing, I never touch modern firearms anymore after my experience with this and some of the BP revolvers sold on the site.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WI-MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Lyman great plains rifle

Date:February 9, 2009
The rifle exhibits excellent accuracy out to 100 yards. A unique combination of traditional style and modern performance, based on the original Hawken Plains Rifle, the Lyman Great Plains Rifle has improved design features, with hidden modern improvements in the lock, and an attractive price, make the Lyman Great Plains Rifle a compelling value for the big game hunter or serious shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Des Moines IA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Plains percusion rifle

Date:December 10, 2008
I have had this for 5 years now and I have never had a single problem. What a great buy and very accurate. I have shot 3" groups at 75 yards. :)
I would buy again if I had to do it all over again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent rifle

Date:September 29, 2008
I worked with this rifle over the last summer, and found it to be an excellent shooter. I taught black powder shooting at Philmont Scout Ranch, using this rifle and was, pardon the pun, blown away. we generally shot around 200-250 shots a day, every day for three months, and had virtually no problems. I would suggest however, that if you are going to be shoot lots of shots over a day, to use #11 magnum caps, preferably Remington, although CCI magnums are not bad. Overall, a great rile, loved the sights, very accurate I was able to plug a percussion cap tin (about 2 in across) form 50 yards in one shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cookeville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This one is a Keeper !

Date:July 28, 2008
I've had my gun for 5 to 6 years. It is so pretty that I almost hate to use it. The Walnut stock is dark and has a very fine figure. The fit and finish is very near perfect. My gun is a .54 caliber with a 1:60 twist. This is the perfect gun if you are going to shoot roundballs and it does a pretty good job with a hollow based minnie ball. I have only used Pyrodex in my gun and I get 2-3" groups at 50 yards. If you want a high quality traditional style muzzle loader, this may be the gun for you.
I sure do like mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman Great Plains Percussion Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Jefferson County, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.54 cal. Cap/ball, 1 in 60 twist

Date:July 11, 2008
This is a great gun. I've had mine since 1987. Very accurate. I've used it in blackpowder rendevous competition and deer hunting. I won a custom built .50 flintlock Tenn. rifle with it. Any deer that I shot at is in the meat locker. Longest shot for hunting was right at 110 yds. I use only black powder. Highly recommend this rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25