Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Patterned after the original made with a brass frame to conserve the South’s limited supplies of steel. Although designated as a Navy pistol, it saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It features a blued octagonal barrel; plain blued cylinder; tough, attractive walnut grips; and brass trigger guard. Reloads quickly with a spare cylinder (sold separately).  Barrel length: 7-1/2". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs., 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(310 Reviews) 310
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 310 reviews
5 Stars
229
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
295 out of 310(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
52 Questions | 250 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Cedar Rapids,Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Handling Pistol

Date:October 13, 2006
I definately like the look and feel ,of this revolver,acuracy is not the greatist,but still fun to shoot
Loading is fairly effortless,and it handles very nicely and is fairly well balanced overall
Personally i have found it to be a very reliable pistol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: LC, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice starter BP revolver

Date:November 11, 2006
I have purchased 2 of these for my husband. They are great starters for anyone interested in BP revolver shooting.
I have shot them and they are fun and easy to use. I'll be buying for myself soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 navy colt

Date:November 20, 2006
It is a very good black powder revolver, which shoots very accurately. However it is much harder to change the cylanders than the army colt is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy Colt

Date:November 21, 2006
I ordered this pistol and am very happy with it. Loading is not a chore....and shooting it is a fun experience.
I intend to order more of these replicas in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Texarkana Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 44cal

Date:November 21, 2006
well for a gun that was never produced by colt its cheap to buy and fun to shoot. unlike the 36 navy there is no cartrige conversions avalible for the foks like me who do conversions. Brass frams also cant handle the large powder charges the steel frams can. its a great starter gun for someone wanting something cheap to try out the black powder seen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mountain Home, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gift - 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:November 27, 2006
I purchased the gift as a going away gift from the unit for an extremely dedicated troop. It made a great gift and he proudly displays it at his new duty location. It looks sharp displayed in a wooden stand and a great talking piece. Thanks for making his farewell one he will always remember.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bluffton, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great fun, great price

Date:November 29, 2006
Tons of fun, shoot all day for pennies. Action is a little stiff, but very reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spavinaw, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Confederate .44 Black Powder Revolver

Date:December 10, 2006
This has to be one of the finest Revolvers available for the money. I was shocked at it's quality and workmanship.
I will be buying more as gifts soon. The balance of this Revolver is fantastic, and it fits like a glove.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: El Paso, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brass Frame Confederate Pistol...What A Suprise!

Date:January 24, 2007
By far Cabela's best blackpowder pistol: The Brass Frame Confederate Octagon Barrel .44 Pistol. Not only their best, but their least expensive pistol to boot! This one is fantastic...go figure, it has a brass frame, so naturally you have reservations. Not so with this beauty. I never thought so much brass on a pistol could be so beautiful, especially when it has out-performed its steel frame counterpart in every way, first by having the big .44 round, as well as better sights and lighter weight along with easier handling. It shoots much straighter with tighter groups, and the sights aren't off to the right or left or up or down at all. Fantastic! Cylinder indexing is spot-on, and the barrel pin comes out much, much easier than the steel frame version (which was a nightmare to remove on its steel frame counterpart). A couple of taps with a brass punch and a brass hammer, and presto! It comes right out. Just make sure you get this one and not the rounded barrel version. I tried the rounded barrel version, and well...don't bother and get this octagon barrel version. Trust me on this and you won't be sorry. DON'T get the steel frame .36 version!!! I got rid of mine in the worst possible way (and threw away a lot of money in the process, which is a long story that I still regret to this minute). Just listen to me and get this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marysville, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 black powder revolver

Date:April 5, 2007
I am very satisfied with the purchase of Cabelas .44 cal cap and ball revolver. Price was a nice perk (about $30 less than the competetion), but service was the deciding factor. Using standard shipping, I received my purchase in about 8 days - by far the fastest I have ever had.
The video on the internet on loading and firing a black powder revolver made by Cabelas was very informative, and appreciated.
Again, service seems to be #1 to Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy This Pistol!

Date:April 14, 2007
I am a first time black powder shooter. When a friend of mine told me to check out Cabela's 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver, I honestly didn't think I would be very much impressed. Boy, was I mistaken! This pistol is quality merchandise at an unbelievably low price. It performs flawlessly, has tight tolerances, the cylinder cycles precisely, it looks great. feels great and is very easy to disassemble and reassemble for cleaning and maintenance.
When I first read about the thorough cleaning black powder pistols and rifles need to keep them functioning properly, I thought I didn't want to waste the time and energy doing that immediately after every time I shoot it. But with the new solvents and cleaners available now, it takes no more time to clean this pistol than a modern smokless powder one.
I really enjoy owning and shooting this pistol! It is everything it is advertized to be and is well worth the rather small monitary investment. Buy this pistol now if you are wanting to get into black powder pistols like I did. You'll be glad you did!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Confederate pistol

Date:June 27, 2007
The pistol is great. I love it. I have shot a deer with it that I ran up and the balance is great for easy control in thick brush when you need a fast shot. Its easy to clean and take apart. It is very dependable. Now that is my hunting side arm of prefrince out of all my other side arms.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy Colt .44 cal.

Date:August 30, 2007
You cannot anywhere beat the prices of Cabela's. The .44 cal. I have, has got the brass,where if I had done anything different,I would have gotten the Steel, had I known then what I know now,just from the aspects of a conversion cylinder later. I own 2 Colt 1851's,and I would recommend the .44 cal to anyone.I shoot 30 fffg's in my .44 cal. with no problems.Good Gun z,Great price.Thanks,Cabela,s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shelton NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:September 13, 2007
I have been shooting black powder for some years now, I wanted a 44 cal. That was small framed but had the 44 kick, I bought the 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
From Cabela’s, the gun has a good feel to it and the weight to carry the 44 round. I load 25gr of powder, and it gives the gun a nice kick in the palm of your hand, the V notch in the hammer for sighting on mine is very accurate to about 45 yards.
The style holds close to the original Confederate Navy .44, the action is smooth and easy, the trigger is a bit soft, and it will fire with very little pressure. Over all an excellent gun at a price that is very hard to bet, I highly recommend this Black Powder gun to anyone wanting a fire arm more than worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

inexpensive though well made entry level revolver

Date:September 26, 2007
I've never shot black powder before, but I watch a lot of history channel and wondered how the revolvers of the civil war era compare with modern firearms. I've also wanted to fire these just for fun.
This is great, inexpensive entry level piece. I have not yet fired it, but have been disassembling and reassembling it.
It's actually quite well made. It has a nice balance and feel overall. For a firearm made of brass, the workmanship is excellent. Easy to take apart and put together, solid feel, and the single action has a feel of precision one would not expect at this price.
I have shot modern cartridge long guns and hand guns for a while. The videos and instrunctions on the website plus the Cabelas and mfg manuals that were shipped give anyone with modern firearms experience the confidence needed to use one of these.
No complaints about the appearance either. The parts fit together well, and both metal and wood are nicely finished.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:September 30, 2007
Good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: civil war & span-am reenactor for the last 15yrs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 confederate navy .44 colt revolver

Date:October 1, 2007
I found this revolver to be useful in the civil war reenacting that I do. It is a well balanced hand gun that is easy to care for. I do not however intend to live fire. I have a steel frame for that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH, The live free or die state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BIG BANG FOR YOUR BUCK

Date:November 25, 2007
1851 WOW Nice sidearm for your dollar, I am very happy with the finish and the workmenship on this gun. The gun has a nice historical feel to it. This is now my new sidearm when hiking and camping in the north woods.
It will knock a bear down if need be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin Rapids, WI.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Navy Rebel Revolver.

Date:December 27, 2007
Great entry level cap & ball revolver. Had one like it 20+ years back in .36. the fit and finish of this one is much better. Pietta Arms has really tightened its shot group for quality. This one actually locks up like it should and doesn't mis-index. And you can't beat the price. Thanks again for the great deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: sacramento, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:January 7, 2008
Great gun, was more than I expected. This is my first black powder pistol and my experience buying the pistol has made me order another. The shipment came on time and the pistol exceeded what I thought I would receive, I highly recommend this piece. Price can't be beat and quality is more than sufficient.
One can find cartridge conversion kits on the internet, if you wish to convert this to a black powder cartridge round pistol I would get the steel frame as it is stronger than the brass and they seem to not recommend it. I enjoy the use of my fingers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 310