Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Patterned after the original made with a brass frame to conserve the South’s limited supplies of steel. Although designated as a Navy pistol, it saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It features a blued octagonal barrel; plain blued cylinder; tough, attractive walnut grips; and brass trigger guard. Reloads quickly with a spare cylinder (sold separately).  Barrel length: 7-1/2". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs., 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(309 Reviews) 309
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 309 reviews
5 Stars
228
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
294 out of 309(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
52 Questions | 246 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Completely satisfied

Date:March 24, 2014
I puchased this revolver last month. It is my first experience with black powder, and also my first purchase from Cabela's. This is a great looking gun, and it functions perfectly. I've only put around 50 rounds through it so far (20 grain loads) but I haven't had a single issue yet. Remington #10 caps work like a champ on it. I'm having a blast with this gun, and I'm already planning on spending a little more cash on a steel frame in the future.
Also, customer service was the best I've ever experienced. I had a problem with an incorrect delivery address (my fault), and their shipping dept. went above and beyond in rerouting my order. Very courteous and helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good beginner Black Powder Revolver..

Date:March 4, 2014
Shotguns, center fires, rim fires... This was my first BP revolver.. Its a blast... I wish I would have went BP years ago.. Good quality starter Revolver... If you don't like it, not much invested.. Great deals at Cabela's!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap shooter

Date:February 7, 2014
great revolver. just started shooting black powder since its cheaper than cartridge ammo. the only issue i had was i cant get the wedge out without a hammer. i tried adjusting the screw above but it didnt work. how am i supposed to do a rapid cylinder change when it takes longer to pull the wedge out than load all the chambers?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 cal confederate navy revolver

Date:February 2, 2014
Beautiful black powder cap and ball revolver. I already have the sheriff edition, now I have the 8 1/2 inch barrel edition as well. Timing of the weapon is spot on and the feel matches the look, awesome. I would recommend this pistol to any of my friends and family. This is not only a weapon but a work of art. I love this revolver, and this pistol will make number 4 to my black powder cap and ball collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent buy.I use it for backup.

Date:November 5, 2013
great buy .only problem is the #11caps staying on ..maybe need to use #10.maybe they can figure out way to use 209 caps like you use on 50 cal rifle.great gun you won't be disappointed .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replica Colt Navy

Date:October 22, 2013
This is great gun fun to load and shoot very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havnt shot it yet

Date:October 22, 2013
It looks great but have not shot it yet so cant comment or give it 5 stars yet but it is definitely 4 star worthy just on its looks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loads of fun

Date:October 5, 2013
If you want to have loads of fun, get one of these inexpensive 1851's. It's extremely accurate out to 25 yards. The one thing I would like to reiterate is the powder charge. There is NO reason to use more than 20 grains in these brass frame revolvers.. I have ran thousands of rounds thru my brass 1851's and tried just about every charge combo, bullet type, bullet diameter, conical bullets and I will tell you that with a 451 ball, a lubed wad and 18 grains of Black Powder this gun is at its best.. 454 ball works well also but why add additional pressure to the gun when the 451 is just as accurate..If you want to hunt, shoot longer ranges, shoot bigger loads and heavier balls, get a steel frame1858 in .44 cal and blast away ( I have 3 and they are just as fun as the 1851 to shoot).. if you just want to have a nice gong and plinking gun, this is the way to go....Another thing to consider is getting the stainless nipples..makes a world of difference.. the factory ones are ok for awhile but they start mushrooming after a couple boxes of balls and that causes unwanted headaches at the firing line.. Cabelas sells the stainless nipples in the accessories section.. well worth the money if you shoot these revolvers a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Firearm

Date:October 4, 2013
I just bought the 1851 confederate. The gun has an excellent feel in your hand. The quality in craftsmanship is excellent I haven't fired it yet. But I would recommend this firearm to anybody. Ive always had a love for black powder firearms. My plan is to buy all the pistols for my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

neat little six shooter

Date:September 29, 2013
I am overall really pleased with this purchase. Pietta is making some really nice guns. The bluing is good,, the brass polished, and the fit on metal and wood good. The grips have a nice oiled look. The only complaint I have is that the timing was off and the bolt head a bit to wide ofor the cylinder slots. This is an easy fix with a hand file and had to do the same on my 1860 army. The action is smoothe and the trigger crisp. Overall love my 1851 brass navy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:September 28, 2013
Contrary to some reviews, the fit and finish is very good.
Shoots 1 1/2" vertical string ( 5 rounds) at 50 feet, 7-8 ring top centered using #11 CCI primers (unable to purchase any #10's) and the balls from the starter kit.
Velocity at 10' ~590 f/s with 15gr of Pydrodex P.
Buy one (or two) you should like it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black Powder 1851 44 caliber

Date:September 17, 2013
This is my first venture into black powder. Shooting this pistol has been a blast. More fun than anticipated. Cabela's was right on target with the shipping and handling. Thanks guys!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

back to. basic shooting

Date:September 17, 2013
Like the gun except it locks up on occasions.hammer and cylinder will not function without disassembling.is a fun gun to shoot otherwise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Purchase Satisfactor: 5 STARS

Date:September 9, 2013
The best purchase, to date, I've have ever made without having first seen it and touched first!
Being utterly new to shooting of any kind, let alone BP, and having a desired to learn this aspect (BP) for my historical knowledge and satisfaction as a hobby, I must have dang near Googled this item into a plowshare!
I found it so amazing, the drawbacks people who deemed themselves to know so much in this area bad mouthing the Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver, from (not only) an historical replication down to the barrel wedge.
After receiving this item, it was several wasted days of enjoyment before I began to become familiar with my ".44 Brazzer" which I have begun to refer to it (when not calling it "Lilly"!). It was the fear of attempting to remove the barrel wedge that was my nemesis.
Reading both manuals, Cabella's and Pietta's did nothing to put my nerves at ease. Trust in what they were informing did!
Two raps with the hard plastic handle end of a screw driver (a Craftsman) while holding it in my hand and the dang thing slid out and stopped, without coming all the way out to the table top AND without having broke the attached little piece that acts as a spring, as I had seen an authority do in a YouTube video!).
Needless to say, but yet I will, I am fully on my way to learning a new hobby!
That you all at Cabela's: customer service was excellent when I called; and Pietta.to whom I say to tell Luigi the Gorilla Wedge Setter for having a good look out for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great beginner BP revolver

Date:September 8, 2013
Picked one of these up for a buck eighty including a starter kit. The revolver itself if great, very well built and the action is timed perfectly.Easy to load and operate, it has a 2 pound trigger which is nice. Since this is a brass framed revolver it is normally loaded light with pyrodex only!! triple 7 is too hot for this gun generally.Personally im loading mine with 25 grains of Pyrodex P and .454 cal ball and it feels great. These are loaded Powder>Ball>Grease. You will need a wonderwad under the ball for charges smaller than 22 grains i found. Ive shot over 100 rounds thru mine with no problems other than a little fowling on the cylinder preventing a rotation but thats expected the soot will start to build up pretty good after 6 cylinders or so needing a quick breakdown for a wipedown at the range. Makes a cool sound too its not like a modern firearm whereas it produces a high pitch clap sound when fired this makes more of a low pitch BOOOM sound followed by fireball and smoke pretty epic. Get yours now!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent first blackpowder pistol

Date:September 6, 2013
First but definitely not my last. Great craftsmanship! Fair price fast shipping and a blast to shoot. Hearing protection is definitely required. It's really loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

what a deal

Date:September 1, 2013
I have been shooting BP for over 35 years. This gun is one heck of a deal. The Pietta guns of late are great in quality and fit and equal to any other out there today. This Confederate revolver is a close replica of the famous Schneider and Glassaik navy revolver made in and for the Confederacy. I wish Calelas would have it in 36 cal like the originals, but still this pistol is great and the price is great too. I would not use more than 20 grains of 3F BP in this gun, and if you do, it will last for years of fun shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:August 31, 2013
Nice revolver, action is very smooth. Metal fit and finish was very good. Disappointed in the grip fit. Grips were cut very small behind the trigger guard exposing over an 1/16" of the unfinished brass grip frame.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cowboy Action Frontiersman

Date:August 27, 2013
I bought a pair of these for use in Cowboy Action matches when I shoot the frontiersman category. I was not sure whether or not I would like cap and ball shooting so I purchased the least expensive brass models. Now I am hooked and have since purchased another pair of the 1858 Remington models. I shoot them an average of 60 rounds per match so they have seen a lot of service. They have been utterly reliable and accurate. The hammer is easy and the trigger is light and crisp. I have shot in many modern matches such as IDPA but can't remember the last time I had as much fun as I have had with these Pietta 1851 Colt Navy revolvers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:August 20, 2013
Great looking, good quality, good ,accurate shooting.
Fun factor with this revolver is extremely high!
Cabela's service was the best, I've bought four of the Pietta's revolvers from Cabelas and have been extremely pleased with all of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 309