Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Patterned after the original made with a brass frame to conserve the South’s limited supplies of steel. Although designated as a Navy pistol, it saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It features a blued octagonal barrel; plain blued cylinder; tough, attractive walnut grips; and brass trigger guard. Reloads quickly with a spare cylinder (sold separately).  Barrel length: 7-1/2". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs., 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(325 Reviews) 325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 325 reviews
5 Stars
242
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
308 out of 325(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 269 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy!

Date:April 20, 2015
Love this pistol! I was suprised like many on how nice this gun is. This gun would be worth the money just as a wall hanger. It is beautiful, but far from just a wall hanger, the accuracy and action is great. I took it down and smoothed the action even more and adjusted the sights. I've shot hundreds of 18 grain loads through it with no stretching or damage to the brass. In fact I like it so much I often take it hiking or camping with me. I also believe it would be decent for self defense as it will not over penetrate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

used gun

Date:April 10, 2015
Not a New gun blueing was off the Hammer and loading lever.looks like a new cylinder but used on sale should have been a red flag.Will not buy another gun on line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 SA

Date:March 27, 2015
This is my first ever cap and ball pistol. When I got it in the mail, I wasn't expecting such high quality brass for the frame. Very attractive firearm. I took it out the other day to shoot it. At about 15 yards I have to aim 1.5 to 2 inches low to hit my target. I'm not complaining considering its my first, and 2nd: all I gotta do is lower the rear sight to shoot flatter if I wanted. I recommend this to all those who want to reenact and/or shoot black powder
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Customer Service

Date:February 25, 2015
Great/beautiful gun. Received a flawed gun, the cylinder would not come off the gun. Took it back to Cabela's in Tualatin, Oregon and they more than went out of their way to be sure that I was taken care of. Thank You Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:February 18, 2015
Amazing firearm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Replica

Date:February 11, 2015
Bought this on sale as a Christmas present to myself so I'd have a Colt pattern cap and ball gun to go along with my new Pietta 1858. Fit and finish is outstanding. Pietta really stepped up their game. It would make Sam Colt proud. The brass frame is very nicely polished. I went with the brasser for the looks and because it's a .44 and Cabela's best seller. I'll probably shoot it when I have more time, like when I'm retired. It was back ordered, so I just shipped it to my store for free and picked it up a few weeks later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun!

Date:January 23, 2015
Bought this a year ago, my first BP revolver. Out of the box, this gun was as perfect as it gets. Fit and finish, timing, smoothness of action are really nice. About a hundred rounds through it now, 20gr. Pyrodex and .454 balls and no wear on anything. I did have spent caps jamming the works until I ordered stainless nipples in no#11 size, and that pretty much cured that problem. There's a lot of horror stories out there about brass frame guns failing quickly, but so far, mine shows no wear at all. Buy one, have fun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:January 20, 2015
This purchase was for a company employe retirement ,fit and finish was great Cabelas price could not be matched any where .and shipping only took three days !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851pietta

Date:January 11, 2015
great product. Anyone who doesn't like it is just a hater. this thing is a beauty. crisp trigger, clean lines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol!

Date:December 20, 2014
Bought the 1851 brass frame a few days ago and took it to the range yesterday. I hadn't owned a BP revolver for a lot of years and was expecting minimal accuracy and reliability. Well, I was wrong! I put 36 rounds through it with nary a problem and the accuracy was WAY better than I thought it would be. Yes, it shoots about 8" high from point-of-aim at 50 ft, but with a bottom-of-target hold, and rested, it put 4 shots in one ragged hole with one flyer about an inch outside of that (the first shot was high, as mentioned above). All in all, I highly recommend this pistol!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most bang for your buck

Date:December 9, 2014
Pretty bluing, nice wood. I was impressed. Everyone that I've shown it to said "Beautiful!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new hobby

Date:December 9, 2014
I have had an interest in black powder revolvers for many years and a trip to Cabela's where I could actually hold one was all it took to own one. My questions were answered, the supplies I needed were readily available, and getting started was affordable. The Confederate 1851 Pietta is a beautiful reproduction and I have taken it to a local range several times. My new hobby is a learning process, which is a joy at my age. Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun

Date:December 2, 2014
This was my first BP gun. Since then my 15 year old son has gotten into BP shooting as well with a .36. She's a very pretty piece and lots of fun to shoot. I'm using Pyrodex and felt wads and have not experienced much fouling. The only negative thing I can say is make sure to check your screws tightness. The loading lever screw fell out and another screw was really loose. Apply Locktite and the problem's solved. I'm buying a Walker next!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of Fun!!!

Date:November 11, 2014
You just can't beat the price on the Pietta 1851. The black powder guns are just a ton of fun to shoot....messy...but fun. I've read some reviews where people have not been thrilled with the build quality of the revolver. The revolver has scratches, or things were loose. Mine was in perfect condition right out of the box. I have nothing negative to say about this revolver at all. It is a great replica that I would recommend to anyone. Plus, Cabela's has fantastic customer service and will honor the products they sell. If you have an issue, take it back and they will make it right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nice gun

Date:October 8, 2014
nice looking gun but dont shoot it often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent pistol

Date:August 5, 2014
I received this today and surprisingly quickly. The revolver is solid and well manufactured. I showed it to a friend and now he wants one. Even my fiancee was impressed with the revolver. While this is my first black powder revolver, I will definitely buy from here again for other models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Completely satisfied

Date:March 24, 2014
I puchased this revolver last month. It is my first experience with black powder, and also my first purchase from Cabela's. This is a great looking gun, and it functions perfectly. I've only put around 50 rounds through it so far (20 grain loads) but I haven't had a single issue yet. Remington #10 caps work like a champ on it. I'm having a blast with this gun, and I'm already planning on spending a little more cash on a steel frame in the future.
Also, customer service was the best I've ever experienced. I had a problem with an incorrect delivery address (my fault), and their shipping dept. went above and beyond in rerouting my order. Very courteous and helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good beginner Black Powder Revolver..

Date:March 4, 2014
Shotguns, center fires, rim fires... This was my first BP revolver.. Its a blast... I wish I would have went BP years ago.. Good quality starter Revolver... If you don't like it, not much invested.. Great deals at Cabela's!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap shooter

Date:February 7, 2014
great revolver. just started shooting black powder since its cheaper than cartridge ammo. the only issue i had was i cant get the wedge out without a hammer. i tried adjusting the screw above but it didnt work. how am i supposed to do a rapid cylinder change when it takes longer to pull the wedge out than load all the chambers?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 cal confederate navy revolver

Date:February 2, 2014
Beautiful black powder cap and ball revolver. I already have the sheriff edition, now I have the 8 1/2 inch barrel edition as well. Timing of the weapon is spot on and the feel matches the look, awesome. I would recommend this pistol to any of my friends and family. This is not only a weapon but a work of art. I love this revolver, and this pistol will make number 4 to my black powder cap and ball collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 325