Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver

Patterned after the original made with a brass frame to conserve the South’s limited supplies of steel. Although designated as a Navy pistol, it saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It features a blued octagonal barrel; plain blued cylinder; tough, attractive walnut grips; and brass trigger guard. Reloads quickly with a spare cylinder (sold separately).  Barrel length: 7-1/2". Overall length: 13-1/4". Weight: 2 lbs., 9 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.623 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(318 Reviews) 318
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 318 reviews
5 Stars
236
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
302 out of 318(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
53 Questions | 263 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:January 20, 2015
This purchase was for a company employe retirement ,fit and finish was great Cabelas price could not be matched any where .and shipping only took three days !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851pietta

Date:January 11, 2015
great product. Anyone who doesn't like it is just a hater. this thing is a beauty. crisp trigger, clean lines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol!

Date:December 20, 2014
Bought the 1851 brass frame a few days ago and took it to the range yesterday. I hadn't owned a BP revolver for a lot of years and was expecting minimal accuracy and reliability. Well, I was wrong! I put 36 rounds through it with nary a problem and the accuracy was WAY better than I thought it would be. Yes, it shoots about 8" high from point-of-aim at 50 ft, but with a bottom-of-target hold, and rested, it put 4 shots in one ragged hole with one flyer about an inch outside of that (the first shot was high, as mentioned above). All in all, I highly recommend this pistol!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most bang for your buck

Date:December 9, 2014
Pretty bluing, nice wood. I was impressed. Everyone that I've shown it to said "Beautiful!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new hobby

Date:December 9, 2014
I have had an interest in black powder revolvers for many years and a trip to Cabela's where I could actually hold one was all it took to own one. My questions were answered, the supplies I needed were readily available, and getting started was affordable. The Confederate 1851 Pietta is a beautiful reproduction and I have taken it to a local range several times. My new hobby is a learning process, which is a joy at my age. Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this gun

Date:December 2, 2014
This was my first BP gun. Since then my 15 year old son has gotten into BP shooting as well with a .36. She's a very pretty piece and lots of fun to shoot. I'm using Pyrodex and felt wads and have not experienced much fouling. The only negative thing I can say is make sure to check your screws tightness. The loading lever screw fell out and another screw was really loose. Apply Locktite and the problem's solved. I'm buying a Walker next!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lots of Fun!!!

Date:November 11, 2014
You just can't beat the price on the Pietta 1851. The black powder guns are just a ton of fun to shoot....messy...but fun. I've read some reviews where people have not been thrilled with the build quality of the revolver. The revolver has scratches, or things were loose. Mine was in perfect condition right out of the box. I have nothing negative to say about this revolver at all. It is a great replica that I would recommend to anyone. Plus, Cabela's has fantastic customer service and will honor the products they sell. If you have an issue, take it back and they will make it right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nice gun

Date:October 8, 2014
nice looking gun but dont shoot it often
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent pistol

Date:August 5, 2014
I received this today and surprisingly quickly. The revolver is solid and well manufactured. I showed it to a friend and now he wants one. Even my fiancee was impressed with the revolver. While this is my first black powder revolver, I will definitely buy from here again for other models.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Completely satisfied

Date:March 24, 2014
I puchased this revolver last month. It is my first experience with black powder, and also my first purchase from Cabela's. This is a great looking gun, and it functions perfectly. I've only put around 50 rounds through it so far (20 grain loads) but I haven't had a single issue yet. Remington #10 caps work like a champ on it. I'm having a blast with this gun, and I'm already planning on spending a little more cash on a steel frame in the future.
Also, customer service was the best I've ever experienced. I had a problem with an incorrect delivery address (my fault), and their shipping dept. went above and beyond in rerouting my order. Very courteous and helpful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good beginner Black Powder Revolver..

Date:March 4, 2014
Shotguns, center fires, rim fires... This was my first BP revolver.. Its a blast... I wish I would have went BP years ago.. Good quality starter Revolver... If you don't like it, not much invested.. Great deals at Cabela's!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap shooter

Date:February 7, 2014
great revolver. just started shooting black powder since its cheaper than cartridge ammo. the only issue i had was i cant get the wedge out without a hammer. i tried adjusting the screw above but it didnt work. how am i supposed to do a rapid cylinder change when it takes longer to pull the wedge out than load all the chambers?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta .44 cal confederate navy revolver

Date:February 2, 2014
Beautiful black powder cap and ball revolver. I already have the sheriff edition, now I have the 8 1/2 inch barrel edition as well. Timing of the weapon is spot on and the feel matches the look, awesome. I would recommend this pistol to any of my friends and family. This is not only a weapon but a work of art. I love this revolver, and this pistol will make number 4 to my black powder cap and ball collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent buy.I use it for backup.

Date:November 5, 2013
great buy .only problem is the #11caps staying on ..maybe need to use #10.maybe they can figure out way to use 209 caps like you use on 50 cal rifle.great gun you won't be disappointed .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Replica Colt Navy

Date:October 22, 2013
This is great gun fun to load and shoot very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Havnt shot it yet

Date:October 22, 2013
It looks great but have not shot it yet so cant comment or give it 5 stars yet but it is definitely 4 star worthy just on its looks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loads of fun

Date:October 5, 2013
If you want to have loads of fun, get one of these inexpensive 1851's. It's extremely accurate out to 25 yards. The one thing I would like to reiterate is the powder charge. There is NO reason to use more than 20 grains in these brass frame revolvers.. I have ran thousands of rounds thru my brass 1851's and tried just about every charge combo, bullet type, bullet diameter, conical bullets and I will tell you that with a 451 ball, a lubed wad and 18 grains of Black Powder this gun is at its best.. 454 ball works well also but why add additional pressure to the gun when the 451 is just as accurate..If you want to hunt, shoot longer ranges, shoot bigger loads and heavier balls, get a steel frame1858 in .44 cal and blast away ( I have 3 and they are just as fun as the 1851 to shoot).. if you just want to have a nice gong and plinking gun, this is the way to go....Another thing to consider is getting the stainless nipples..makes a world of difference.. the factory ones are ok for awhile but they start mushrooming after a couple boxes of balls and that causes unwanted headaches at the firing line.. Cabelas sells the stainless nipples in the accessories section.. well worth the money if you shoot these revolvers a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Firearm

Date:October 4, 2013
I just bought the 1851 confederate. The gun has an excellent feel in your hand. The quality in craftsmanship is excellent I haven't fired it yet. But I would recommend this firearm to anybody. Ive always had a love for black powder firearms. My plan is to buy all the pistols for my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

neat little six shooter

Date:September 29, 2013
I am overall really pleased with this purchase. Pietta is making some really nice guns. The bluing is good,, the brass polished, and the fit on metal and wood good. The grips have a nice oiled look. The only complaint I have is that the timing was off and the bolt head a bit to wide ofor the cylinder slots. This is an easy fix with a hand file and had to do the same on my 1860 army. The action is smoothe and the trigger crisp. Overall love my 1851 brass navy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value!

Date:September 28, 2013
Contrary to some reviews, the fit and finish is very good.
Shoots 1 1/2" vertical string ( 5 rounds) at 50 feet, 7-8 ring top centered using #11 CCI primers (unable to purchase any #10's) and the balls from the starter kit.
Velocity at 10' ~590 f/s with 15gr of Pydrodex P.
Buy one (or two) you should like it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 318