Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

Although designated as a Navy revolver, the Model 1851 saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It was constructed of brass because of the South's limited supply of steel. Patterned after the original, the Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver features a brass trigger guard and frame, blued octagonal barrel, blued cylinder and walnut grips. Spare cylinder (sold separately) provides quick reloads. Barrel length: 7.5”. OAL: 13.25”. Wt: 2.625 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.628 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(333 Reviews) 333
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 333 reviews
5 Stars
250
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
316 out of 333(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 272 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 Confederate brasser

Date:January 12, 2016
I bought this for a friend as a Christmas gift. He was and is very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My favorite gun

Date:January 9, 2016
I've had this gun for a few years now, at least 300 rounds through it and it still brings a smile to my face every time I shoot it. It's accurate, but especially at long range. I ranged it out to 75 yards and out of 6 shots spun a .22 target around once and the other 5 were all very close (shooting into snow). I can't imagine doing that with another hand gun. These things are so fun and so cheap anyone who loves shooting owes it to themselves to pick one up. Make sure to source Remington #10 caps though, CCI #10's do not fit. CCI #11's will work but very loose. No reason not to use the ones that fit .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A great example of craftsmanship

Date:January 5, 2016
This is my first exposure to black powder pistols. It was on sale at Cabela's and I couldn't resist. I couldn't be happier with my Pietta 1851 Colt. The machining and fitting of the parts is excellent. It has been so much fun to shoot, I've ordered a Pietta 1858 Remington. I would recommend the Pietta brand to anyone interested in black powder pistols. A tremendous value for the money spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shooter

Date:January 5, 2016
A fun and decorative purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Much Fun!!

Date:December 29, 2015
This is the first black powder firearm I have ever had. I have thought they looked interesting for some time though. I had the opportunity to fire it for the first time on Christmas day 2015. Even loading it was a fun experience. After the first shot I was hooked.
Looking forward to much more fun on the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:December 13, 2015
Fit and finish is perfect. The weight and balance is really good . Blueing on loading lever could be better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun

Date:December 1, 2015
Purchased this gun a few weeks ago, and I am very happy with my purchase. The quality of this product is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Positive

Date:November 18, 2015
This is my first black powder revolver. I will admit, I have not fired this yet.
However, after examining the gun, it is very well balanced and the action is perfect with great sound and feel.
The finish is also excellent.
I read a couple reviews that say it is faster to reload than to swap cylinders. I'm not sure what they mean, I disassembled my gun with two slight taps to the retaining pin, barrel pulled right off with no tools. Re-assembly was just as quick.
Great firearm, great price, I will definitely be getting another.
Also, Cabela's shipping is superb, I called and ordered the gun over the phone, I had it delivered to my home in less than 3 days
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy!

Date:April 20, 2015
Love this pistol! I was suprised like many on how nice this gun is. This gun would be worth the money just as a wall hanger. It is beautiful, but far from just a wall hanger, the accuracy and action is great. I took it down and smoothed the action even more and adjusted the sights. I've shot hundreds of 18 grain loads through it with no stretching or damage to the brass. In fact I like it so much I often take it hiking or camping with me. I also believe it would be decent for self defense as it will not over penetrate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

used gun

Date:April 10, 2015
Not a New gun blueing was off the Hammer and loading lever.looks like a new cylinder but used on sale should have been a red flag.Will not buy another gun on line.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851 SA

Date:March 27, 2015
This is my first ever cap and ball pistol. When I got it in the mail, I wasn't expecting such high quality brass for the frame. Very attractive firearm. I took it out the other day to shoot it. At about 15 yards I have to aim 1.5 to 2 inches low to hit my target. I'm not complaining considering its my first, and 2nd: all I gotta do is lower the rear sight to shoot flatter if I wanted. I recommend this to all those who want to reenact and/or shoot black powder
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Customer Service

Date:February 25, 2015
Great/beautiful gun. Received a flawed gun, the cylinder would not come off the gun. Took it back to Cabela's in Tualatin, Oregon and they more than went out of their way to be sure that I was taken care of. Thank You Cabela's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great gun

Date:February 18, 2015
Amazing firearm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Replica

Date:February 11, 2015
Bought this on sale as a Christmas present to myself so I'd have a Colt pattern cap and ball gun to go along with my new Pietta 1858. Fit and finish is outstanding. Pietta really stepped up their game. It would make Sam Colt proud. The brass frame is very nicely polished. I went with the brasser for the looks and because it's a .44 and Cabela's best seller. I'll probably shoot it when I have more time, like when I'm retired. It was back ordered, so I just shipped it to my store for free and picked it up a few weeks later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun!

Date:January 23, 2015
Bought this a year ago, my first BP revolver. Out of the box, this gun was as perfect as it gets. Fit and finish, timing, smoothness of action are really nice. About a hundred rounds through it now, 20gr. Pyrodex and .454 balls and no wear on anything. I did have spent caps jamming the works until I ordered stainless nipples in no#11 size, and that pretty much cured that problem. There's a lot of horror stories out there about brass frame guns failing quickly, but so far, mine shows no wear at all. Buy one, have fun!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:January 20, 2015
This purchase was for a company employe retirement ,fit and finish was great Cabelas price could not be matched any where .and shipping only took three days !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1851pietta

Date:January 11, 2015
great product. Anyone who doesn't like it is just a hater. this thing is a beauty. crisp trigger, clean lines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pistol!

Date:December 20, 2014
Bought the 1851 brass frame a few days ago and took it to the range yesterday. I hadn't owned a BP revolver for a lot of years and was expecting minimal accuracy and reliability. Well, I was wrong! I put 36 rounds through it with nary a problem and the accuracy was WAY better than I thought it would be. Yes, it shoots about 8" high from point-of-aim at 50 ft, but with a bottom-of-target hold, and rested, it put 4 shots in one ragged hole with one flyer about an inch outside of that (the first shot was high, as mentioned above). All in all, I highly recommend this pistol!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most bang for your buck

Date:December 9, 2014
Pretty bluing, nice wood. I was impressed. Everyone that I've shown it to said "Beautiful!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My new hobby

Date:December 9, 2014
I have had an interest in black powder revolvers for many years and a trip to Cabela's where I could actually hold one was all it took to own one. My questions were answered, the supplies I needed were readily available, and getting started was affordable. The Confederate 1851 Pietta is a beautiful reproduction and I have taken it to a local range several times. My new hobby is a learning process, which is a joy at my age. Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 333