Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver

Although designated as a Navy revolver, the Model 1851 saw heavy use among Army officers who favored .44-caliber firepower. It was constructed of brass because of the South's limited supply of steel. Patterned after the original, the Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver features a brass trigger guard and frame, blued octagonal barrel, blued cylinder and walnut grips. Spare cylinder (sold separately) provides quick reloads. Barrel length: 7.5”. OAL: 13.25”. Wt: 2.625 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.596 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(342 Reviews) 342
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 342 reviews
5 Stars
254
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
323 out of 342(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 280 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2016

What I didn't know

By
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is my 1st black powder weapon. I had some legal issues several years ago and the government took my inalienable second amendment right away. I wanted something that I could own legally to defend my home and take with me on hunting trips. This gun was on sale and looked like it fit the bill. It's also legal for me to own where I live.Out of the box this is a beautiful gun. The mechanism is tight and smooth and has more weight than I expected. To fire this thing is a little tricky. I read a lot of reviews and answered questions and this is what I did. At the gun store you buy: .454 lead balls, Pyrodex P powder (the green one), a powder measure, and #10 percussion caps, A small funnel is also helpful. I don't use the bore butter the ball leaves a ring of lead on the top side of the cylinder which i feel is a decent enough seal to prevent chain firing. It's also more goop to clean off the gun. I pour 20 grains into the cylinder then pack the ball with the loading lever and spin the cylinder to remove the lead ring leftover. This is all done with the hammer half cocked. Once I load all the cylinders i come back and add the percussion caps and the gun is ready to fire. This is what I did not know. Black powder residue gets EVERYWHERE! After firing 20 to 30 rounds through this thing the hammer started to stick and firing was difficult. I had to take the whole gun apart. Not just a field strip cleaning. The whole mechanism was covered in residue. I washed it with soap and water and cleaned with a toothbrush and it's good as new. This was very strange for as I have owned cartridge weapons in the past and you never get water near them. Only oil. Not the case here. Definitely wash with warm soapy water, let dry, then lightly oil.I read another reviewer suggest to to thread lock the screws. Don't do this! The screws are going to have to come out often to clean the gun. All this being said I like the gun overall. I deducted 1 star because it shoots high to the right. I can adjust for it but can see no way to right the sights. Anyway, hope this helps.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2016

Poor Quality Revolver

By
I purchased this gun originally and ran maybe around less than 100 .44 Hornady .454's through it at 15-20 grains of FFFg powder. One day during cleaning, a portion of the trigger sear fell through the bottom of the trigger guard, so I promptly returned it to Cabelas for a replacement thinking it was a manufacturer defect. With my second pistol, I was only able to run about 20 shots through the gun before the trigger seat broke again. Seeing as it is an "on sale" piece of equipment I can't say it wasn't expected, up friends of mine have purchased other Pietta models and have found great success so I guess it just must be the 1851. Try the 1858 Remington model if you want a more solid product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2016

Blueing vs Color Case Hardened

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
There are a few reviews that state the loading lever is poorly blued. It's not blued at all. The cylinder and barrel are blued, the loading lever and hammer are color case hardened.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2016

I got a dud...still hopeful

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The bolt broke on mine before ever firing it. Seems a fairly common issue is the bolt spring breaking with keeps the cylinder from locking up. Mine was just the opposite...the two tabs on the end of the bolt that the hammer cam pushes to dissing...one of them broke, so gun stays locked rearguards of hammer position. Sent back for exchange...just posted one star to catch others eye who may have this issue...plus it is pretty bad that the piece broke...never had that happen in a firearm before.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

smoke and smell

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I really like this hand gun lots of fun to shoot, also added a 1860 army barrel which is a perfect fit. Fit and finish are very descent for the cost. 10 minutes loading 5 minute shooting and20 minutes cleaning all fun but the cleaning. Actually more fun than my other hand guns because of the boom and smoke. If your thinking about it do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2016

Excellent BP starter pistol.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This Pietta Colt copy is a good place to get started shooting BP pistols. Stay well within the mfg recommended black powder loads for best accuracy. 12 grains of FFFG Pyrodex works great for general target practice, and is an easy clean up with hot, soapy water on the barrel and cylinder; just dry it all thoroughly. Four stars - because the spent caps, or parts of them, can occasionally get down inside the trigger/hammer area and jam the works. Usually, you can see the chunks with a flashlight, and fish them out with a pick, but sometimes disassembly is required. It is simple to take apart.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2016

44 cal black powder

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Solid well built pistol that once you learn how to load it correctly is accurate and fun to shoot.
Use the correct kind of powder and measure it accurately. It cleaned up well and I've enjoyed shooting it with my son and grandson.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2016

Great for first-time blackpowder

By
I have owned this for several years now and am happy with the workmanship and functionality. I use Pyrodex and clean the revolver after every shooting session.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2016

Poor Quality

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased one of the confederate Navy 1851 and one laser engraved 1851 Navy. Appearance wise they are beautiful.
Mechanical function they should be used as a boat anchor. Both had the exact same problem. The first cock of the hammer it was ok. Then the cylinder locked up. You can only pull the hammer back about a 1/4" and the cylinder locks up. I got the confederate model working half way decent, but the lazer engraved model is ok, when you take it apart and re-align the cylinder on the locking dog at the bottom of the frame that locks the cylinder in place. But on the very next pull of the hammer its locked again.
I had to go overseas and was unable to take em out and see how they shoot. When I get back home I will work on em some more. don't waste your time with this junk. I have been purchasing items from Cabela's for over 25 years, and this is the worst piece of junk I have ever purchased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2016

1851 Confederate brasser

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this for a friend as a Christmas gift. He was and is very pleased with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2016

My favorite gun

By
I've had this gun for a few years now, at least 300 rounds through it and it still brings a smile to my face every time I shoot it. It's accurate, but especially at long range. I ranged it out to 75 yards and out of 6 shots spun a .22 target around once and the other 5 were all very close (shooting into snow). I can't imagine doing that with another hand gun. These things are so fun and so cheap anyone who loves shooting owes it to themselves to pick one up. Make sure to source Remington #10 caps though, CCI #10's do not fit. CCI #11's will work but very loose. No reason not to use the ones that fit .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

A great example of craftsmanship

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is my first exposure to black powder pistols. It was on sale at Cabela's and I couldn't resist. I couldn't be happier with my Pietta 1851 Colt. The machining and fitting of the parts is excellent. It has been so much fun to shoot, I've ordered a Pietta 1858 Remington. I would recommend the Pietta brand to anyone interested in black powder pistols. A tremendous value for the money spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Great Shooter

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A fun and decorative purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

So Much Fun!!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is the first black powder firearm I have ever had. I have thought they looked interesting for some time though. I had the opportunity to fire it for the first time on Christmas day 2015. Even loading it was a fun experience. After the first shot I was hooked.
Looking forward to much more fun on the range.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2015

Great purchase

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fit and finish is perfect. The weight and balance is really good . Blueing on loading lever could be better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Great Gun

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased this gun a few weeks ago, and I am very happy with my purchase. The quality of this product is outstanding.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2015

Positive

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is my first black powder revolver. I will admit, I have not fired this yet.
However, after examining the gun, it is very well balanced and the action is perfect with great sound and feel.
The finish is also excellent.
I read a couple reviews that say it is faster to reload than to swap cylinders. I'm not sure what they mean, I disassembled my gun with two slight taps to the retaining pin, barrel pulled right off with no tools. Re-assembly was just as quick.
Great firearm, great price, I will definitely be getting another.
Also, Cabela's shipping is superb, I called and ordered the gun over the phone, I had it delivered to my home in less than 3 days
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2015

Great buy!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Love this pistol! I was suprised like many on how nice this gun is. This gun would be worth the money just as a wall hanger. It is beautiful, but far from just a wall hanger, the accuracy and action is great. I took it down and smoothed the action even more and adjusted the sights. I've shot hundreds of 18 grain loads through it with no stretching or damage to the brass. In fact I like it so much I often take it hiking or camping with me. I also believe it would be decent for self defense as it will not over penetrate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2015

used gun

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Not a New gun blueing was off the Hammer and loading lever.looks like a new cylinder but used on sale should have been a red flag.Will not buy another gun on line.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1851 Confederate Navy .44 Caliber Black Powder Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2015

1851 SA

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is my first ever cap and ball pistol. When I got it in the mail, I wasn't expecting such high quality brass for the frame. Very attractive firearm. I took it out the other day to shoot it. At about 15 yards I have to aim 1.5 to 2 inches low to hit my target. I'm not complaining considering its my first, and 2nd: all I gotta do is lower the rear sight to shoot flatter if I wanted. I recommend this to all those who want to reenact and/or shoot black powder
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 342