Customer Reviews for PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver

PIETTA Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver

This .44-Caliber 1858 New Army Target is a highly realistic reproduction of the Remington Model 1858 that includes target sights for increased shooting accuracy, a polished brass trigger guard for style and classic good looks and a walnut grip to complete this timeless pistol. Rear sight is adjustable for elevation and windage. Barrel length: 8". Overall length: 14". Weight: 2 lbs., 11 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.661 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
64 out of 65(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Review 1 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 Rem

Date:May 29, 2013
Very good except that trigger was not as good as I expected, kind of heavy and jerky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Lemont, IL
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:January 18, 2011
First of all this is a fun gun to shoot. Very accurate right out of the box. I was dead on at 25 yards. Don't let the weight of the barrel throw you. It keeps the recoil down nicely.
I installed a .45 Colt conversion kit. It cost me more than the gun. Only smithing I had to do was to take down the bolt which indexes the barrel. It was a few thousands too tall. I also polished the bolt and gave it a slight rounding to prevent cylinder scraping. I do my own reloading so I save a ton on cartridges.
I did find that the bluing on the frame was coming off about the cylinder. The cylinder pin is sort of soldered or sort of brazed together. I await it's failure. Not sure if was original design or short cut taken in the manufacturing.
I do suggest when you clean the gun between uses that you make sure all the screws are tightened. I did tighten all screws except the rear sight. Those are the ones that got me. Sight came lose and I was a bit perplexed as why my targeting was off. I put some lock tight on those screws.
Other than that nice gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Finger Lakes, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

OK but not the best.

Date:October 30, 2008
This revolver is pretty well made in terms of fit and finish. The cyclinder timing is good. My main complaint is the loading. When loading the ball, the cylinder must be in EXACT position with the barrel. If the cylinder is rotated just slightly past the barrel cone, the ball will jam. The only way to clear the jam is to manually drive the ball into the cylinder. This is a major annoyance. On the other hand, the pistol shoots well. Given the choice, I would opt to pay more money for a better designed pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed rating

Date:October 12, 2008
Looks great, shoots great, as accurate as any of my modern pistols. However, the plunger link pin fell out the first time i used the gun and will not stay in (hole is too large or pen is too small). Therefore, I give an overall 3 stars. I have not tried to contact Cabelas yet, hopefully they will send new parts, as the gun shoots so well I do not want to get rid of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver

Date:July 24, 2007
Just received the gun and haven't fired it yet. The finish has tooling marks on the frame and the inside was full of metal shavings. I ended up having to completely strip down the gun to remove all of the metal flakes and shavings before I could cock the hammer or move the loading lever down. I was suprised by the lack of quality control on this gun and was expecting better. I hope shoots better than it looks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top Quality

Date:May 16, 2012
This would be a 5 star for sure if I wouldnt have had to file the rear sight down because there wasnt enough adjustment to sight in with. Now after filing it down this is the most accurate pistol I have. This thing shoots straighter and more accurately than my 22 pistol with the 9 1/2 inch barrel. This is so much fun to shoot and I plan on getting another cylinder when i can afford one.
Red
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hazelwood, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army Target Revolver

Date:January 11, 2012
Received revolver after it was back-backed, manufacturer failed to meet its own production time-line. No fault of Cabelas, the fit and finish was OK, there were some gaps between the back strap and wood grips. Hope the case-harden finish holds up, modern finish processes are not as durable as the older processes.
Overall it is fine for now, until Cabelas offers the authentic Colt replicas this will have to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it's got True Grit

Date:February 9, 2011
Very Happy with this revolver,
I was not sure at all what to expect out of this gun,
I always kinda wanted one. I am Very happy with it.
It actually groups! Glad I got the adjustable sights as
It was shooting High & left out of the box. the finish on mine is quite good, you can see some tool marks on the hammer and some of the small parts, but in my opinion the price to finish ratio is quite high.
I chose this model over the others because of the ease that the cylinder can be removed from the frame, makes cleaning easy.
Oh one last important thing I found out about black powder shooting.
-If You Don't like to clean guns,
Black Powder Is Not For You.
it's Fun to shoot,
but Very messy & you must clean soon after using as
black powder residue is corrosive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Farmington, NM
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal!

Date:January 14, 2011
This target model is great deal! Good quality at a great price. Beautifully finshied and everything fits well. The action is authentic, it feels exactly like the original Remmington 1858s. The trigger pull is a dream. In the cocked position the cylinder is locked tight. The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that:
1. The loading lever had not been completely machined and had a place where the plunger would catch, preventing it from correctly engaging into the cylinder. I fixed this in less than 10 minutes with a needle file.
2. The hammer spring was set way too tight. I had to back out the adjusting screw out past flush to get the correct amount of tension. Not a big problem.
3. The hammer did not contact the nipples squarely. This is kind of serious because coupled with too tight of a hammer spring, this condition can damage the nipples. Once the nipples are damaged, the #10 caps will no longer fit properly. This can lead to both chain firing and non ignition. I fixed thhis by using my Dremel tool to re-grind the angle on the contact surface of the hammer so it will hit the nipples squarely. This seems to be a problem with these reproductions. I also bought the stainless steel model and it had this problem too. In this case I did not discover it until the nipples started showing signs of damage.
These problems are easily corrected. I do strongly recommend that any gun repairs be made by an experienced gunsmith.
Again, for the money this is great deal!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: southern Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My second BP revolver, my first strait shooter

Date:August 23, 2010
Forty years ago I got a wife and, on the same day, a '51 Navy Colt that didn't shoot strait. The wife turned out great but I hung the gun on the wall. I recently purchased the 1858 New Army Target with renewed enthusiasm for a strait shooter. I got a great one with only a minor reason not to rate it five stars. It was a little high at 25 yards with the rear sight at it's lowest position. The sight blade is removable so a little filing was an easy matter. Thanks to Pietta for the craftsmanship and to Cabelas for there service and price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Balt. MD. blackpowder only retirement is great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice gun but!

Date:September 12, 2009
On the outside it looked great but I had problems. Nipples were so hard to remove I had to bring in a friend to get them out for me. A burr on the loading lever latch cut my finger the first time I open the lever. A little filing took care of that burr plus the one on the end of the trigger and two more on the inside of the frame. One was on the screw hole that adjusted the main spring and another on the screw hole that holds the cylinder pin and loading lever into the frame. It shot high to the point the target sights would not bring it on bull so I epoxy a brass piece on top of the front sight to fix this. The gun is fun to shoot and groups well. I found that .454 balls work best in my gun with a load of 25 grains of 3f black powder. I use crisco with a touch of bees wax to stiffen it up a bit in the summer time. Cabela's has been nice to deal with. Given the price I paid I would not consider the above problems a real big deal. I would recommend gun screw drivers if your going to work on revolvers much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army

Date:January 1, 2009
I just purchased a 1858 New Army Target Model and find it very accurate at 25 yards, in the area of 2 Inch groups if I do my job. I have a few things however I didn't like.
(1) The nipples were so tight in the cylinder that I broke two nipple wrenchs trying to get them out. I had to cut off the nipple wrench and hand file a grove in it after breaking the second one. The factory machine must be set for high torque that installs them. I also purchased a extra cylinder and it was the same problem.
(2) Also the loading lever does not line up with the cylinder if you allow it to lock in the cylinder locking lug, you have to be in between the locking lugs to use it.
(3) The adjustable site would not go low enough at 25 yards it was shooting 3 inchs high, after removing the site and filling the the bottom it then would go low enough.
The gun does shoot very accurate and the workmanship is very good, for the price you can't beat it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern Orygun
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pietta's has improved

Date:November 3, 2008
My new 1858 Target model has surprisingly good fit and finish. Only one fault, lot of trigger creep, but that is an easy fix if your a graduate of the Wiley E Coyote School of Gunsmithing. The TINY screws on the rear sight are a pita, once you get it sighted in you can loctite them and they are secure. Over all a great bang for the buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hartford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:October 27, 2008
My 1858 target model arrived with a cracked left grip. Not all the way through, but close enough. Cabela's customer service instructed me to order new grips from a 3rd party and fax them the invoice, they'd then send a refund check (aside from the grips, I was very happy with the product, so didn't return it).
It's been a bit of a hassle, and I'm still waiting for the 3rd party to find the proper grips after sending back a pair that didn't fit at all. But Cabela's sent me a check and the crazy-glued grip is holding up fine.
The sights are a little sketchy. They work well, but the front sight is not seated flush into the barrel when looking straight at the bore. One side is sticking up a little. I hope this spot won't corrode over time, as the barrel is thinner due to the front sight slot and surely residues could collect here.
I've not adjusted the rear sight as of yet. There are traces of some sort of rust-colored epoxy looking gunk around the sight plate, and the plate is slightly loose. Not to a bothersome extent, but if I press on either side with a fingernail, it will seesaw just a bit.
I checked-out a display model 1858/target at the local Cabela's just today, and its sights had similar flaws.
I picked up 5.5" bbl 1858 along with the target model. Here's where I'll compare and contrast a little.
I've been told that it's very rare to get a Pietta 1858 that has no trigger creep. My target model has no perceivable creep. On the shorty it's quite noticeable, though they both break clean. I'm not sure if they do a trigger job on the target models, but there's a significant difference between mine.
I very much prefer the sight picture of the 'original' model 1858s over the target model's 3-block look. Cabela's online pictures give no indication of what the rear sight looks like, or the complete sight picture for that matter, But the original 1858's design has a nice 'v' rear built into the frame that the front sight fits into perfectly. To me it seems more precise.
I'd accept having to compensate with the fixed sights over the sight picture of the target model, and the loss of originality and smooth lines that the target model lacks.
I've only had the opportunity to put about 50 balls thru the target model thus far. Not enough to tell how accurate it could be, but with 25gr of APP it was accurate enough, and the most fun I've had with a gun in a long time.
These are my first C & Bs, and I'm more than happy with the purchase.
I'd intended to return one of the 1858s. Despite the minor flaws, I feel the overall quality is well worth the price and probably more. I'm keeping both of mine.
Just as an FYI - Remington #10 caps fit both of my 1858s best by far. CCI 10s are too small and 11s fall right off. Let your nipples absorb some lubricant before you try to remove them, or there's a serious risk you'll break your wrench.
Sorry for the long review, but I wanted to cover all the bases, understand?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 caliber wads

Date:September 12, 2007
I get better accuracy by placing a wad under the ball, but when placing a wad over the ball it sometimes hangs up the cylinder, overall performance was great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1858 New Army Target .44 Revolver

Date:November 20, 2006
This cap-and-ball revolver is a close copy of the Remington New Army, used in the Civil War and the post-war West. Made by Pietta, the revolver has excellent fit and finish, a beautiful dark bluing. I bought the Target model with adjustable rear sight so I could work up a load that grouped well and then dial it into the bullseye. While the Target model isn't strictly authentic, it makes for a better shooting experience.
I found the trigger pull had too much creep, and felt a little rough, but I was able to hone it into near-perfection. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. This problem may not exist across the line, because my Pietta 1851 Navy .44, also purchased from Cabela's, had a much-better trigger pull out of the box.
Advantages of the New Army include the strong, solid frame, and the ease of swapping cylinders. You can watch Clint Eastwood do it in seconds, in the movie Pale Rider. I have a second cylinder. I load both and can then fire 12 shots without stopping to reload. (I use .454 round balls over a lubricated felt wad and about 18 grains of 3F blackpowder.) Takedown for cleaning is also easy, an important consideration in a blackpowder firearm. One small screwdriver to remove the grips is really all you need.
The New Army is a good first choice for cap-and-ball shooting, especially the Target model. I think the price is very reasonable, and it's a very attractive revolver besides!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: mn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.44 target remington

Date:November 20, 2006
this is a solid bp revolver that gave me no problems. it is a lot of fun to shoot. i use a .451 round ball. accuracy at 15 yards is pretty good but i am not a pro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Black Powder Shooter's Dream

Date:April 25, 2014
I ordered the Pietta 1858 Army Target Model 'on Sale' only to discover it was backordered. A few days later I happened to be in the vicinity of Cabela's Buda, Tx. store, so I dropped by and to my amazement and good fortune found they had it in the store in stock. I took one home with me that day and took it to the range the next. I already own a Buffalo model of the same revolver so I knew it was a quality piece; I was not disappointed. Shooting off a bench with Round Ball and 25 up to 30 grs FFFg I was able to set the sights where I was keeping the shots inside the 10 ring at 25 yards. Moving out to 50 yards didn't seem to affect the grouping much. I'll be interested to try some conicals and SWC style cast bullets, but I need to get a loading stand first. The opening for the loading ram is a bit small to accomodate anything taller than a round ball, so they'll have to be loaded outside the gun. You can't go wrong with one of these guns: well made, accurate, and a lot of fun for a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Target sights make this revolver a serious shooter

Date:March 14, 2014
While I have traditional style 44 Pietta 1858s for CAS, it was important for my 63 y.o. eyes to have one with modern sights for general shooting, and the improved accuracy gained is a great confidence booster. Putting white paint spots on the sights also helps hugely. Using 45LC cartridge conversion cylinders (loaded with low pressure cartridges, either CAS smokeless, or BP and substitutes) makes this revolver a viable carry gun. I bought the Triple K holster (sold by Cabela's) specifically made for this model with the 8" barrel. A nice snug fit, it will gradually wear in, and, using a Triple K belt as a bandolier, it all works together perfectly as an effective shoulder rig for concealed carry under a jacket (no need for any extra straps, but can easily be added if desired) besides as a hip rig. Unreservedly recommended for lovers of SA revolvers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pietta Model 1858 New Army Target .44 Caliber Revolver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Revolver

Date:December 3, 2013
Shoots well with both balls and conical, made well, all good quality, blued finish was good, stands up to rigid cleaning well. I had a front sight screw break, I e-mailed Pietta and they immediately responded and sent me 4 screws at no charge. Excellent customer service. The only thing I would change is the rear sight, it adjusts from two separate screws trapping the sight blade instead of the better ones that adjust for windage with one screw. The sight is well constructed, but poor design. I would recommend this gun over any other black powder I have bought, it is one of my favourite guns and I have owned a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 65